Lee Keegan's red card

Fabio8....

I'm completely objective. I've said already it was a laughable sending off. But Cluxton was sent off for the same offence. And certain posters on here said it was a "definite sending off".

My objective point is that you either agree these are all straight reds, or all not straight reds.

When an offence like this occurs you can only look to similar offences and see how they were handled.

People who said Cluxton should have been sent off are now saying Keegan shouldn't. Thats not consistent.

The refs are criticised for lack of consistency, and when they are consistent they get slaughtered.

Do I think Keegan deserved to be sent off? Well yeah, ya gotta enforce the rules.

Do I think there was much in the incident .... No. Do I think players should be sent off for that kinda offence. No.

But you cant cry wolf either. Mayo folk were critical of Cluxton after the league game, Keegan done the exact same thing. Its no different.

Honestly, its not a Dublin v Mayo thing, its just Cluxton was a very similar offence thats in the recent memory. I seen the Keegan kick and like Cluxton I thought "you doughnut"....you are getting sent off.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 26/08/2014 21:17:37    1642688

Master

My last post on this. JayP sums it up for me perfectly. I'm pointing out your inconsistency. That's all. Mayo posters here feel they have to defend their man. They shouldn't. Coldrick officiated within the rules. He got the call correct. As I said earlier, luckily LK won't miss a final, pif yous win.

The point about MIck McAuley is irrelevant. If he'd of been shown red I'd of made no excuse for him. I didn't see kick but not disputing it. The ref made wrong call there if he saw him kick out.

If BB gets shown a red for kicking I won't make excuses for him in next match.

I was rightly f+++ed off with Cluxton in National League.
p.
95% of pundits are bleating about refs been inconsistent week in week out. Coldrick makes correct call, soft or not , and there all over him. More inconsistency.

Not being holier than thou.Just making a point.

To the Mayo lad who thinks LK worries Dublin. Funny! Match to be played first.

Fabio can't reply to lad who won't say where he's from.

A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 26/08/2014 21:39:54    1642718

Just watching the game again and at 16:50 on the clock mayo get a free lee keegan picks up the ball and punches JOD in the stomach, check it out the ref doesn't see it at the time, otherwise he would have had to go to the line earlier.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/08/2014 20:53:09    1643216

Nice try... He was pushing JODs hand away.

ExilEd1014 (Mayo) - Posts: 280 - 27/08/2014 20:59:52    1643219

He wasn't anywhere near jod's hand, it just shows keegans petulance , and Buckley was tackling the ball not punching keegan.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/08/2014 21:22:24    1643237

Tackling the ball after the whistle for play to stop?

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 27/08/2014 21:42:39    1643253

Jesus lads get over it he was sent off correctly by the ref. If Mayo are good enough they will win the replay... Simple as that,

croker16 (Louth) - Posts: 349 - 27/08/2014 21:58:22    1643263

Did Marc O Sé have a red card rescinded a few years ago? I seem to remember he met a Cork player with a shuddering wallop along the sideline in a Munster match and got a straight red. It looked bad at the time as the Cork player ( I think it might have been Conor McCarthy) had his back to him or was blindsided. Am pretty sure the match was a draw and Marc played in the replay. May be all wrong but somebody reading this will hopefully correct.

JackMurphy (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 28/08/2014 09:34:37    1643289

Whats all the fuss about?

KEegan was sent off, technically it was the correct decision. He walks the tightrope in many games, and gets away with it most of the time. When he doesnt, then he has got to accept the consequences.

He would be available for the final would he not if mayo were to get that far?

I think that mayo played many times better without him and they should focus on the game now rather than this side show, as it could turn into a distraction

Good game to look forward to on saturday. Fancy mayo to win handy enough.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 28/08/2014 09:44:59    1643292

JayP
to address TheMaster, I cant believe what you are posting up here.
Lee Keegan done EXACTLY what Stephen Cluxton done in the National League

Where did keegan kick a guy as he was walking away? Where did he actually kick him at all? Where did the opponent get knocked to the ground? Where were the two opponents who manhandled and struck cluxton and still had a hold of him when he reacted?

Buckley had a punch at the ball (standard GAA nonsense on awarding of frees), Keegan kicked out at Buckley.

Listen, you know what buckley was doing, so do I, so does everyone, so why keep up the charade? He was trying to get keegan to react. And no, you cant swing a big haymaker into the ball when someone else has it, it is dangerous play and is a free against you. You can strike at the ball at close range, but if buckley done that in open play, it would be a free against him, thus he didn't do it until the whistle had already gone and the free already given. Keegan's problem was he was just too honest. If he went down pretending the punch done a load of damage then it would be buckley in trouble. So how can you say that buckley didn't do anything wrong?

McGloughlin kicked Cluxtons hands as he placed the ball to prevent a quick kickout, Cluxton kicked out at McGloughlin.

McLoughlin never kicked cluxton at all. It is so obvious that this is the entire motivation behind your biased stance, and it never even happened. McLoughlin slowed down his kickout, he put his hand on the ball - so what? That happens all the time out the field. He turned to move away and cluxton, under no duress, aimed a full kick at him, struck him fully and done so with enough force to knock him off his feet.

If they are the same, then paudi o'se's punch and diarmuid Connolly's punch on the Donegal lad are exactly the same also... They obviously aren't, and Im not biased enough to even pretend that they are. You on the other hand clearly are. As Fabio and cuederocket have pointed out.

What keegan done is the exact same as what mcauley done - they are almost carbon copies. In fact the biggest difference between them was that keegan was probably getting worse treatment. If you were any ways honest you would be comparing those two incidents.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 09:46:21    1643293

Aido that is fair enough, you are entitled to think that. I happen to think that neither keegan nor McAuley should have been sent off, but cluxton should. If keegan, or mcauley for that matter, had swung a full kick and connected with someone who was walking away, getting on with the game, knocking them to the ground, then Id say he deserves to get the line. They didn't do that but cluxton did.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 09:57:56    1643298

Torcail
Maybe Buckley didn't hear the whistle, that can happen in the heat of battle you know,
and master I'm sorry but that was no haymaker of a punch from Buckley there was more power in the punch that keegan gave JOD in the 16th minute and 50th second of the game only difference was JOD didn't lash out which must have been hard for him considering the harsh treatment he was getting all day from the mayo players, and the reff left mayo boys do what they want to him.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/08/2014 10:32:47    1643319

So who thinks Lee will get his red recended? The intent was there the first day so I can accept he can blame nobody but himself...he but the ref in a position where he had to send him off.

But it will be interesting to see if he gets off, as Connolly got off on this one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRaI1PDU2xw

If he gets off great, if not get on with it and some other player gets his chance and who know may win the game for us.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 28/08/2014 10:40:09    1643327

yew_tree

So who thinks Lee will get his red recended? The intent was there the first day so I can accept he can blame nobody but himself...he but the ref in a position where he had to send him off.

But it will be interesting to see if he gets off, as Connolly got off on this one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRaI1PDU2xw

If he gets off great, if not get on with it and some other player gets his chance and who know may win the game for us.

I'd have no objections if he gets off. The ref was technically right but these things need a bit of flexability.
Football isn't designed to be played to the letter of the law.
I'd be surprised if he does get off. I think they have to back the ref in what was technically a correct decision.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 28/08/2014 11:00:04    1643342

If Connolly got off for throwing a punch, Keegan should surely get off for a little flick of the foot.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 28/08/2014 11:05:22    1643346

KingdomBoy1, maybe buckley didn't hear the whistle? Then maybe keegan was swatting a bee away from poor buckley with his leg...

Listen I am aware he lifted his leg when he shouldn't have, Im not denying that. But buckley swung a punch into the general direction of the ball and keegan's midriff. Im also aware that he can be banned within the letter of the law, but I think that it would be better for the game if common sense could prevail in these situations. The logic seems to be that just because he used his leg it is automatically a red card and ban. Yet we seen in the Donegal - Armagh match, one of the magees push an Armagh lad out over the advertising boards on purpose, but just because he pushed him and didn't lift his leg, he gets away with it. Common sense should prevail more, we should look at intent to injure far more than the actual movement.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 11:06:07    1643348

I hope that Lee Keegan gets off because it was the most harmless lash out at two players who were hanging out of him. What else are you supposed to do? Secondly, as a proud Kerry man I thought that the actions of Donncha Walsh and Buckley were disgraceful. Have no time at all for anybody who tries to get soemone sent off for something as stupid as last Sunday.

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 28/08/2014 11:17:33    1643356

kingdomfan I would agree with your sentiment. If Kerry were to win the next day and JOD were sent off for the same thing as keegan then I would want him to play in the final, no question about it. Also I agree with you on JB and DW, as a player Id take more umbrage if an opponent done what they did than if someone done what keegan did, I think most of us would. No more than the time AOS went down holding his face in the tyrone match, as a proud mayoman I was ashamed of it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 11:47:31    1643373

What's the problem here? The Mayo fella kicked out at his opponent right in front of the referee and the rules quite clearly say that this is a red care offence; he didn't give the referee an option. However given the nonsense over the black card and the way officials are not implementing it properly leaves people in doubt as to how rules are being interpreted. As someone else said does anyone really believe a Dublin player would have been sent off in similar circumstances? Not in a million years if games involving them this year are anything to go by.

Naturally, This particular poster comes onto a thread that has nothing to do with Dublin, And brings them into it. Gas.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/08/2014 11:54:08    1643380

Themaster,I am one of the 5% of Dubs,who firmly believe Keegan should not have walked.It was pathetic.

Cue, You're absolutely hell-bent on making the culchies love you aren't you ? :o)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/08/2014 11:56:50    1643385