Lee Keegan's red card

your both funny and predictable , who on here and I mean WHO is supprised at your stance , No-ONE , your in danger of becoming a caricature similar to Ulsterman which is a pity for you can talk sense when not wearing your county glasses .
In the words of Forest stupid is as stupid does , Ref should never have had a decision to make .

Now this I had to laugh at. Consider for a second, every single pundit has stated that the guys shouldn't have been sent off - all of them. Yet, 95% of the Dublin posters on HS think he should, many refer back to an incident with their own goalkeeper as justification, while ignoring the far more similar incident with their midfielder in the laois game... And then you say I am a caricature... You lads would want to start watching gaa, not watching Dublin play gaa.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/08/2014 16:07:16    1642392

Themaster,I am one of the 5% of Dubs,who firmly believe Keegan should not have walked.It was pathetic.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/08/2014 16:51:43    1642414

Interesting to listen to Colm Parkinson on Newstalk last night.He said the sending off was ridiculous,and people should stop hiding behind the rule book.It was the softest red card ive ever witnessed.Be it club or county.Weve some amount of posters here who,by the looks of it,never had a rule bent in the slightest in their lives.Real sticklers to the letter of the law.Id rather have an independant mind,a free spirit if you like,and regardless of some silly rule,be able to see wrong from right.Keegans sending off was wrong.Were heading down some slippery road,if similiar tiny misdeeds,are all punished in the same way.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/08/2014 17:01:37    1642423

I agree with you mesmis, and that tells us all we need to know. As I stated elsewhere, we need to look at the bigger picture, it is keegan today, after the weekend it could be someone else. We need to address this in the game going forward.

I'm with you on this.

I think Coldrick was perhaps trying to make a "big decision", if he's seen as a ref not afriad to make a correct and "big decision" then he stands a better chance of getting the Final.

He was wrong but that's the only way I can see that he came to that conclusion of a red card.

Referees are human too and sometimes that go wrong because they themselves are trying to impress.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 26/08/2014 17:17:24    1642440

I will ateempt my post fo0r a 4th time. The administrator it seems is an avid Dublibn supporter

I wud just klike to add that during the Laois game NDNA attempted to kick an opponent - punishment? yellow card ....... ooops forgot he wears that blue shirt

belmay (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 26/08/2014 17:20:14    1642444

Fair play lads. At some point you have to ask is this what we want for the future of our game? If Bernard brogan is getting strong treatment from Donegal, lifts his leg in the same manner, gets the line and misses the final - assuming they win, then we might see a very different reaction on here. That shouldn't be the case, should it?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/08/2014 17:31:47    1642464

I said it on Sunday straight after the game master.It was farcical.I cudnt believe it when i saw the red card been brandished.Thank God,it didnt ruin the game,as i feared it would.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/08/2014 17:38:28    1642470

Would expect Keegan to get 2 match suspension

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 26/08/2014 17:46:24    1642483

yew_tree

ritchie
Yer penalty was questionable for me as from what i saw it was shoulder to shoulder and vaughan made a meal of it

That is pure bull and well you know it. Donie was through on goal, why would he go down? He was pushed, watch it again. I really do wonder at people sometimes.

I did a couple of times .... I thought it was soft in the extreme at worst he hit the rear part of his shoulder !!!!
Its on u tube check for your self and take off the rose tinted glasses and u will see no hand connect with vaughan at worst it was the rear of his shoulder

Check for your self makes no difference to me im not bothered who wins being honest im just stating what i saw .....

Its not of huge relevance anyway the penalty was given and mayo struggled to a draw

and reality is Dublin will beat both of them to be fair

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 26/08/2014 17:48:05    1642487

Still whinging, unreal, just go and get the rule changed, if he wasn't sent off people would be on a different high horse. The rule may be an ass but its fairly black and white even for the serial whingers.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/08/2014 17:50:44    1642488

The point sorely missed here is the absence of responsibility in relation to the player. Exactly how was the ref wrong? If you want to start reffing according to common sense then rip up the rule book and have one referee officiate all games. Reason being their consideration of common sense will vary and any notion of consistency we currently have will evaporate.

If the same happened to a Dublin player I don't see the difference. If you strike a player you run the risk of a red card. I've sympathy for Keegan in the manner he went but the responsibility lies with him. In 2011 Connolly made two quasi attempts at a punch at a Donegals players chest who proceeded to go down holding his head. The response was embarrassing but Connolly deserved his red. Only for outdated lapses in the GAA disciplinary process got him a final appearance. Keegan will learn, I doubt he will do such a thing again...

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 26/08/2014 17:56:28    1642499

Seany,where exactly,was the strike?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/08/2014 18:17:48    1642528

to address TheMaster, I cant believe what you are posting up here.

Lee Keegan done EXACTLY what Stephen Cluxton done in the National League.

Buckley had a punch at the ball (standard GAA nonsense on awarding of frees), Keegan kicked out at Buckley.

McGloughlin kicked Cluxtons hands as he placed the ball to prevent a quick kickout, Cluxton kicked out at McGloughlin.

Exactly the same thing. Two petulant kicks and two straight red cards.

How can you say the incidents were completely different???

Again, an awful lot of posters on HS seem to think that if a Dublin player does it, or a county you dislike, the book should be thrown at them, when it happens to their own county we get the "its a mans game" or "soft sending off" nonsense.

Unfortunately Lee Keegan done something pretty silly in front of the ref. He will have to learn, much like Connolly etc that players wind you up, and you cant react. If you do, you see the line. Its pretty simple.

Refs cant win here, if they are consistent they are slated. If they try use common sense, they get slated.

Unfortunately the problem is commentators, pundits and fans. One week they are talking about common sense, the next week they are saying a guy should have been sent off. Its all very silly. Its the arbitrary nature of decision making. If anyone punches or kicks out they should see the line OR...............if it happens everyone gets away with it. Its the picking and choosing, inconsistency, that drives people mad.

As another poster put up, TheMaster likes playing both sides as his comments on the Cluxton incident suggest, he was full sure Cluxton deserved red, yet Lee Keegan didn't for doing the same thing?

That's the problem. I felt both incidents were pretty laughable and weren't sending offs, but if you are sending Cluxton off in the National League for such a feeble tap on the leg, then Keegan has to go.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 26/08/2014 18:18:40    1642529

Jayp,if i remember the Cluxton sending off,he gave his opponent a fairly forceful kick,that took the legs from under him,and ended up with the player on the ground.There is a sizeable difference to that,and Keegans air kick,that barely brushed off his opponents leg.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/08/2014 18:41:17    1642555

Why is it there is so many Dubs on here giving out, acting holier than thou, if they had there way they would be looking for his head, i think there just dissapointed he will be able play for the Final if we manage to pull it off the next day.

Mayofc (Mayo) - Posts: 95 - 26/08/2014 18:41:48    1642556

Ban, what's new? We all agree the ref was correct in his decision. All most people are
saying is that he should have used discretion and ignored an inocuous incident - just
as he let so so many other fouls go in the same game, thankfully! (and if he had done
so there would not have been a word about it since).

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 26/08/2014 19:51:15    1642615

Ban, what's new? We all agree the ref was correct in his decision. All most people are
saying is that he should have used discretion and ignored an inocuous incident - just
as he let so so many other fouls go in the same game, thankfully! (and if he had done
so there would not have been a word about it since).

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 26/08/2014 19:58:48    1642621

Cuederocket......Cluxton didnt exactly violently assault McGloughlin. A petulant kick after McGloughlin kicked his hands trying to slow his kickout. Didnt whack him, it was a little kick out intended to trip the Mayo boy.

Nothing in it. He seen red for it.

Lee Keegan..... petulant kick.

Nothing in it.

But if Cluxton had to go, Keegan had to go as both offences are exactly the same. A reaction to an opponent.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 26/08/2014 20:04:42    1642626

I think John o Keeffe in yesterday's I times got it right
The red card was justified, Keegan was all wrong to use the boot. He has only himself to blame. That should never happen. Discipline is key in this environment. As wrote by JOK.

Did E McGee not get sent off last year v Mayo in the QFinal for kicking I know Keegan did not connect but there has to be discipline and I thinks refs should take a hard line on striking or attempted striking whether with the boot or fist. Let's face it a lot of things happen on the field of play , that could be punished and should be punished. But a lot of players get away with it.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/08/2014 20:23:36    1642635

jayp wake up and argue objectively instead of always looking at it from a dublin angle

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 26/08/2014 20:54:41    1642674