Lee Keegan's red card

Ailteoir

Peter Crowley's foul for the Mayo penalty deserved a black card, not yellow.

How in the name of God do you figure that?

I wish to God fellas would check their facts before coming on here making complete eejits of themselves

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/08/2014 16:18:17    1641838

Westie41

For all the "Technical Rules" aficionados out there. Peter Crowleys point (punched?) should have been disallowed - he clearly "hand passed" the ball over the bar - you can see it clearly in the action. If the ref is wired up with the goal umpire - then he should have been consulted.

Pssst, did you hear that they changed this rule 7/8 months ago and you are now entitled to handpass the ball over the bar - fist or open hand.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 25/08/2014 16:29:02    1641848

Cross field
Read what Eoin Liston has to say and even John o Keefe about the game and Mayo's physical approach. What players need to realise is , especially at this stage of the championship , discipline is a must and alough he did not strike , L K made the attempt which is a red card
There is no comparison with D Connolly v Donegal in 2011 , D C name never should have been mentioned here and on that day the actions of a few of the Donegal players was not very clever at all

I thought Mayo played brutal in the first half but they really uped their game in the second half. They still can't close out games , almost lost a massive lead against Cork and let Kerry take back a five point lead late in yesterday's game. They seem to depend a awful lot on certain players, A oS, CoC, A Moran ( when he is on the field of play)CB and to be honest their full back line is very suspect. But they could yet win the AI alough I doubt if they would beat the winners of Dublin/Donegal. Their backs would have to improve , especially the full back line to hold the Dublin forwards. While if they met Donegal I doubt if they would handle Donegal's defensive system.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 25/08/2014 16:38:50    1641856

aidan o shea was fouled all day and didnt get many frees his way .Refs win and lose games awful to see the effort by both teams yesterday been shadowed by bad refering they really need to get theses refs singing of the same sheet black cards seemed to have been done away with by some refs they can go to hawk eye for scores surely the same could be done for big decisions in games when ref is not sure

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 25/08/2014 16:57:25    1641870

Mayo123
If they had to used Hawkeye or some form of technology yesterday I would have thought it would have made no difference to the L K red card. But it would help refs if they got some assistance from technology at times during the game
There is so much inconsistency amongst refs, first half Donegal v Armagh , 1yellow card but there were a lot of little flash points
As regards K Lacy being held in a headlock and for at least a minute or so what is the punishment for an incident like that or is there one??
I think they will have to have a right look at things at the end of the championship because as it stands now it's hard to know what's what with the rules of the game.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 25/08/2014 17:19:55    1641892

Cluxton got a straight red for a trip and it stood

Don't see it getting over turned but stranger things have happened

Excellent player - shame to see such sidelined over something so silly but them are the rules

Mayo will miss him - any team would.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/08/2014 17:30:28    1641896

To the letter of the law you would say that it is a red card offence, but at some point you have to ask, in our national game, should a player go off the field for doing what he done? Of course not. I can never understand when people say that you cant you common sense, the reality is you should use it all the time - and it does get used. For instance, say when someone tries to kick a ball and catches a player instead. Now within the letter of the law there is a kicking motion and there is a strike. Why doesnt he go off? Because the ref has the common sense to see that it was accidental. Common sense is used all the time in our game, and it should be used even more.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/08/2014 17:33:45    1641903

TheMaster what a silly comparison. Are you suggesting that Keegan threw the leg out I search of the ball which was in his hands?
I have no problems with the red card. Its tough on the player but where do you draw the line.

This whole concept on the game being played in good spirits is a farce. If you let players away with something like that then everyone would be at it.

On Black card incidents they have clearly been told to not give them out. Yesterday there were incidents of pulling and dragging to the ground without Black card. Same in the Donegal/Armagh game.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 25/08/2014 18:04:10    1641921

The master
When Donegal played Cavan in 2011, the Cavan midfielder , as he was fielding a high ball caught K Cassidy around the head and shoulder with his boot and got a red card. It did look bad and the ref probably gave the card for dangerous play.
The problem is about some of these incidents is ::::: intent. Some are accidents but others are meant. Think back to the 2009 AI ( Nicholas Murphy v t Kennelly) and what was admitted in the book afterwords. Now the ref has a hard job at times , he has to make an on the spot decision and of course they make wrong calls.
Can't see L K getting off

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 25/08/2014 18:16:19    1641933

The thing is folks; if Lee Keegan had been wearing
a 'blue' jersey he would never have been sent off!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 26/08/2014 09:38:33    1642086

TheGateKeeper

1642086 The thing is folks; if Lee Keegan had been wearing
a 'blue' jersey he would never have been sent off!

The wooden spoon out early this morning.

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 26/08/2014 10:31:04    1642109

Ban from Westmeath and others: are you incapable of understanding what
others are saying? They are not stupid. They know the rules as well as you.
All reasonable people watching the game in Croke Park or on their sofas were
shocked by the ref's lack of discretion in the incident. The cause of the red
card was about the most insignificant swing of a leg by over thirty players
during 73 minutes of a ferocious gaelic football game. If the official had
applied that standard througbout the whole game, we would have no
football. Thankfully he didnt....!

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 26/08/2014 11:52:17    1642161

The problem with common sense it that's it's too subjective. My version of common sense would imply that Keegan in an All Irelsnd semi final being one of the best players in a side capable of winning an All Ireland should not be provoked so easily and be more disciplined. Alas, versions of common sense differ so we require rules. Keegan was very silly and should Mayo fail to progress it will be a hard learned lesson.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 26/08/2014 12:34:25    1642189

dstuction
TheMaster what a silly comparison. Are you suggesting that Keegan threw the leg out I search of the ball which was in his hands?

I am genuinely at a loss to understand how you garnered this conclusion from what I stated. My point was about the use of common sense by referees in the gaa. People say they cant and don't use it, when in fact it is used massively throughout the game as it stands. For instance, when someone tries to punch a football in the air and catches another player by accident, or someone just punches them, square in the face in a dirty act how does a ref decide what to do? The answer is he uses his common sense to see the difference between the two incidents. In actual fact, the game would be far better if it weren't constrained by exact wordings written on paper and instead the referee's discretion was trusted. People would of course say, 'oh he would get too much wrong', but wake up, we are getting it far more wrong as it stands. It is impossible to define every single possibility in one statement, therefore trying to officiate in this manner is always going to run into difficulty. Empower the refs instead of having them afraid of their lives that they have to interpret things exactly as is written or they will get in trouble. The thing is, people talk of how good mceneany was, yet he used common sense all the time - that is what people praise about him. Common sense is the way to go.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/08/2014 12:43:55    1642196

Agree Seany . The question I would ask is : Did Lee Keegan give the referee a decision to make? The answer I feel is yes .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 26/08/2014 13:03:27    1642214

seany16
The problem with common sense it that's it's too subjective. My version of common sense would imply that Keegan in an All Irelsnd semi final being one of the best players in a side capable of winning an All Ireland should not be provoked so easily and be more disciplined.

So seany, your logic is that better players should be officiated more strenuously, regardless of what is being done to them by so called 'lesser player'? That isn't actually common sense at all, that is just an overview on whether it should have happened or not. It did happen.

Common sense on this particular topic should examine what the rule was designed to punish, and whether keegan was guilty of that. Personally, I don't see how you can allow someone to be struck by a closed fist - a red card offence in itself if we want to stick to the rules 100%, and then punish that guy for lifting their leg in the direction of the person that struck them. That is common sense. It was just a bit of a skirmish that got more heated, there wasn't any premeditated intent, in fact there was probably more intent from walsh and buckley, who were trying to get him to react a little simply because he is such a good player - that happens, Im not trying to blame people, just stating what occurred in the incident. There are comings together in the gaa, if we want that to continue then we have to be understanding when players might bristle sometimes when that is happening. It would be different if buckley had loosened his grip of keegan and was walking away and keegan drew a kick at him for example, then I would agree that he should be banned, because the coming together would have been over. He had 2 lads hanging out of him, one swung a fist towards the ball and keegan's hand, even though the ref had already blown the whistle to indicate a free. I find it ridiculous that we concentrate solely on the guy who reacts in these circumstances - because that isn't using common sense.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/08/2014 13:08:32    1642222

If the referee had given Lee a yellow card instead for example.

No one, not a one, would still be talking about this incident on the Tuesday afterwards.

What Lee did was not very clever though.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 26/08/2014 13:17:09    1642227

Michael!
I'm glad you know me so well hence fully understanding what you're saying yourself - Genius really

In any sporting contest you must have rules, the greatest responsibility with respect to those rules is with the players and management.
Regardless of how harsh the sending off was in the greater context of the game - his action is covered in the rule book as a sending off offence so for anyone to say the decision was correct they would be totally vindicated, as is the ref.

Responsibility is something allot of people fail to acknowledge when things go wrong, in substitution they enter the blame game

If I was Lee Keegan I wouldn't looking too far from the mirror and I'm sure he's not giving the nature of the way the man generally conducts himself on the football pitch

Michael, I'd love to see your version of the rule book to cover your interpretation of how the game should be governed. Might take a while to produce despite you capability for understanding things.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 26/08/2014 13:27:00    1642240

I agree with you mesmis, and that tells us all we need to know. As I stated elsewhere, we need to look at the bigger picture, it is keegan today, after the weekend it could be someone else. We need to address this in the game going forward.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/08/2014 13:29:34    1642244

IF Lee Keegan wasn't sent off i feel we would be having the exact same debate from the opposite end of the spectrum!!

As a referee, you can not give the referee the decision to make by swing a leg at an opponent in that circumstance, he is the one who should of used common sense and wised up its an All Ireland Semi-Finals and his team needed him.

Lee Keegan's red card was deserved and a very silly momentary lapse in discipline from an exceptionally gifted player

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 26/08/2014 13:32:18    1642249