Lee Keegan's red card

crossfieldball

Interesting to see the "rule riders" here it was a straight red, the rule this the rule that bla bla..

Bottom line it was a super game with no malice throughout. No red card, just a free end off. Referee should have used to head and McEneaney should have more cop on then to push refs to live by the rules in a game where they need to be implemented with common sense.

What a load of rubbish. Ref did the right thing implementing the rule.It was an attempted kick no dispute and is a red card.all this bull about not in the spirit of the game so on so on. We will only have consistent referees when they implement the rules as in the rule book.Not following the rule book causes frustration with players managers and spectators as no one knows how the ref will react. The TV pundits are a classic example of this. Tommy Carr is getting it wrong all the time. He clearly does not know the rules and should not be doing analysis on what he doesnt know as displayed again yesterday.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 25/08/2014 09:51:29    1641497

People, stop all this harking back to the Connolly incident. The reason Connolly's "red" was rescinded was not some pro-Dublin bias at headquarters, it was because it Dublin CB reps argued correctly that proper procedure according to the rules was not carried out by referee Maurice Deegan.

According to playing rule 1.2 (x) (c) under duties of the referee, the match official is expected "to order off a player who commits an ordering off foul/infraction by taking his name (if not already taken) and showing him a red card".

IMHO, justice was done in that instance as the stuff out of the 2 Donegal players involved (Rory Kavanagh was one I think and also the No. 18) was equal if not worse.

Let's be honest, if it had been Connolly who kicked out yesterday he'd be currently being pillories for immaturity and petulance, unlike Keegan.

For the record I was surprised at Coldrick taking out the red even though he was entitled to under the rules. Having said that, I think he allowed Mayo's players to be far more physical in the tackle re: not targetting the ball than their Kerry counterparts before and most definitely after the sending off.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 25/08/2014 10:33:12    1641525

A Red card all day.
Keegan is a fantastic player who is well respected within GAA circles but im afraid mate you don't get away with those.
If your man enough to do a thing like that be man enough to make your punishment.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 25/08/2014 10:52:29    1641541

Going by the rule book it is a red card and there can be no arguments.
But look, realistically if there was nothing done after that incident and just a free given there wouldn't even be a Kerry man asking why there was no red card given.
I was standing beside a Kerry man at half time watching the replay and his words were 'that's scandalous getting sent off for that' quickly followed by 'he should be locked up for GBH' but I will take his first reaction as the genuine one.

Can people stop going on about Connolly's red card, it was 3 years ago and if it wasn't him people wouldn't even remember it.
It was rightly rescinded due to Deegan's mistake, I would like to see if it would have been rescinded anyway as there was no striking action?

Unfortunately for Mayo I can't see Keegan playing in the replay, but he might still have another day out in Croker yet this year.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 25/08/2014 11:05:32    1641550

Lads if keegans red card is recinded then we might as well forget about having referees all together , just let 2 teams go at it helter skelter for 70 mins and use the pundits to sort out any incidents after the game, this crap of oh it was soft or only a tap , I bet if it had happened to a Kerry player ye would be calling for his head like ye did for Galvin Tomas o'se Darragh o'se.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2014 11:09:50    1641555

I don't see how people are saying it should be a red.
I like Keegan and I'm sure he is kicking himself today (no pun intended) but you cannot do that and get away with it.

People give out about refs all the time but you simply cant do stuff like that. Rory Kavanagh got sent off in League Final for another moment of stupidity where nobody was hurt but rightly deserved his red card.

I think ref was 100% correct to give out red. Now I do think they should just come out and admit the black card was a stupid idea. If yesterdays game was a league match there would have been 5/6 black cards. Same with Donegal/Armagh game and pretty much every other game I have watched in the championship should have had at least 1/2.

This is where the rules are being let down. They are not adhered to enough and that is why people give out when they are used. because they feel hard done by because x and y got away with a similar or worse offence.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 25/08/2014 11:18:53    1641562

If Lee Keegan's boot merited a red card then Johnny Buckley's tackle with his right fist surely merited the the same punishment. Some shocking refereeing in that game and Mayo got more than their fair share of it. Peter Crowley's foul for the Mayo penalty deserved a black card, not yellow.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 25/08/2014 11:53:09    1641582

Ailteoir

1641582 If Lee Keegan's boot merited a red card then Johnny Buckley's tackle with his right fist surely merited the the same punishment. Some shocking refereeing in that game and Mayo got more than their fair share of it. Peter Crowley's foul for the Mayo penalty deserved a black card, not yellow

Under what rule would you have issued the black card?

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 25/08/2014 12:07:10    1641590

Ailteoir Just to answer your few questions. The penalty call was correct and so was the yellow. The tackle on Vaughan was a shoulder into the back ie. a mistimed shoulder. The penalty for this is yellow or red. Not black. Johnny Buckley punched the ball so certainly not a red and going by the rules the ref was correct in giving the red to Lee Keegan. I am 100% neutral and am certainly looking forward to the replay.

croker16 (Louth) - Posts: 349 - 25/08/2014 12:11:07    1641593

@Torcaill - the black card is supposed to be applied to instances of cynical fouling and I'd say Crowley's tackle was in that category.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 25/08/2014 12:15:20    1641599

croker16
County: Louth

1641593 Ailteoir Just to answer your few questions. The penalty call was correct and so was the yellow. The tackle on Vaughan was a shoulder into the back ie. a mistimed shoulder. The penalty for this is yellow or red. Not black. Johnny Buckley punched the ball so certainly not a red and going by the rules the ref was correct in giving the red to Lee Keegan. I am 100% neutral and am certainly looking forward to the replay.

To charge an opponent in the back or to the front is a noting infraction not a yellow. He got a yellow as he was previously "noted".

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 25/08/2014 12:17:30    1641601

SOS was clearly fouled before ODonoghues shot that hit the upright that decision could have cost Mayo the match also there was persistent fouling by Kerry 50-60 yards out the field with no bookings.

Mayo need to be a lot more scenic the next day

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 25/08/2014 12:17:55    1641603

meant *scenical* above

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 25/08/2014 12:24:26    1641610

Ailteoir

1641599 @Torcaill - the black card is supposed to be applied to instances of cynical fouling and I'd say Crowley's tackle was in that category.

There are 5 catagories in which the black card is to be issued. There was no deliberate trip, no deliberate pull down, no deliberate body collide with a player after the ball has been played, no remonstration with the ref in an aggressive manner or no abusive or provocative language / gesture to a player.

So while the act may have been cynical it did not fall into one of the above catagories, and as such was not worthy of a black card.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 25/08/2014 12:24:47    1641612

colndalkdub

It was a punch,granted he kind of missed from point blank range...

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 25/08/2014 12:25:20    1641614

centerfield, come on now, Mayo were given carte blanche to tackle the man in the second half, Kerry were penalised on several occasion for similar tackling instances. Mayo's tackling was deemed as passionate by the commentary team, all I saw was persistent fouling which wasn't being penalised.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 25/08/2014 12:46:12    1641638

centerfield

meant *scenical* above

Cynical ?? by any chance?

freddy2 (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 25/08/2014 13:02:08    1641651

For all the "Technical Rules" aficionados out there. Peter Crowleys point (punched?) should have been disallowed - he clearly "hand passed" the ball over the bar - you can see it clearly in the action. If the ref is wired up with the goal umpire - then he should have been consulted.

Westie41 (Mayo) - Posts: 1 - 25/08/2014 13:04:38    1641654

Dublin v Mayo, National League Div 1.

McGloughlin attempts to kick ball I off kicking tee as Cluxton is placing the ball.

McGloughlin kicks Cluxtons hands.

Cluxton petulantly trips McGloughlin up.

Harsh, yes, sending off, yes!

Lee Keegan....... Discuss.

(Note an awful lot of posters who were stating rules are rules are now saying actually rules aren't rules)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 25/08/2014 15:08:39    1641767

He lost his head for a split second and lashed out at the kerry player in front of the ref leaving him no choice but to give a red card. It worked out to mayos favour as they played differently in the second half, they knew they had no choice but to go for it, kerry looked the better team when playing against 15 so mayo should have the confidence next wkend to go for it from the start. Pity about it being in limerick though

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 25/08/2014 16:10:25    1641829