Lee Keegan's red card

Yeah it was a soft red card but Keegan was stupid. Section 5 of rulebook, Aggressive Fouls, Rule 5.2 To kick or to attempt to kick an opponent; penalty: order player off. Coldrick was perfectly justified in his decision. We saw it with Clare's Brendan Bugler in the hurling against Wexford. Some players seem to think they can strike an opponent in front of a referee and then are shocked when they're sent off.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 24/08/2014 19:19:11    1641324

Agree 100% with Jerryp straight red as per rules no question and therefore appeal wont stand a chance.
Disappointed with Walsh's antics after the incident which I think certainly influenced the ref.
Aidan OShea at the same crack waving an imaginery card in the air too later on.
Why was Peter Crowley not black carded for assault on Vaughan which led to penalty ?

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1130 - 24/08/2014 19:24:08    1641328

Buckley didn't dive or go looking to get the man sent off. If ye give the referee a decision to make, you are asking for trouble. That's all I'll say about it. I didn't agree with comments that it was against the nature of the game. Before the red card I wasn't too pleased with the referee. Same in the second half as well. Donncha Walsh wasn't given a number of free. Don't know what the ref was at really. One of those making up the rules as he went along. Anyways, Limerick it is.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 24/08/2014 19:27:30    1641333

The single biggest criticism of refereeing year after year is inconsistency in applying the rules. Now people are on here arguing that because Keegan didn't really connect properly with the kick and that he is not normally a dirty player that he shouldn't be sent off. Expecting referees to consider such arbitrary and subjective factors such as how much malice was involved in an incident or how much the other guy got hurt is exactly the type of nonsense that results in wildly inconsistent refereeing decisions. Players are responsible for their actions and striking is a clear sending-off offence. I have nothing against Keegan and I hope Mayo win the all-Ireland but the ref was 100% correct today.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 24/08/2014 19:29:01    1641336

Diarmuid Connolly got straight red for clear strike v donegal and was cleared to play in final. Rules aren't always rules

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 24/08/2014 19:29:16    1641338

Interesting to see the "rule riders" here it was a straight red, the rule this the rule that bla bla..

Bottom line it was a super game with no malice throughout. No red card, just a free end off. Referee should have used to head and McEneaney should have more cop on then to push refs to live by the rules in a game where they need to be implemented with common sense.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 24/08/2014 19:32:19    1641341

As long as i have been playing and going to matches, which is quite a long time, a kick or attempt to kick has always been a red card offence. Coldrick only got one chance to see it and as i think on screen you can see him asking the linesmans opinion also, it was a correct decision however harsh. Unless you go the american football route and flag every foul for consulation or video review, there will always be many contentious decisions in every game. It will never be perfect and is part of the game, part of the cut and thrust of sport, referees are on a hiding to nothing, I think they do a great job, even commentators and pundits with the benefit of replays from various different angles often cannot agree on many incidents.

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 24/08/2014 19:46:53    1641354

Coldrick reffed it well. Played the advantage when he could, let a good game flow. I'm an anti black card person as I think many referees can't decide if an offence is a name taken, a yellow or a red, how are they supposed to decide what warrants a black card. A lot of inconsistency in inter-county refereeing. They should get some sort of post match scorecard and get a bit of coaching on decision making while refereeing. It's a thankless job. Easy prey for supporters who'd rather blame the officials than their own teams failings when they lose. Is ther any other field sport in the world with 8 match officials, including the 4th official who's actually the 8th official, and hawkeye telling you if a point is scored or wide. For me the referee does more than the other 7 put together.
Surely they could send the umpires to some fitnesss boot camp and let them patrol the endline umpire style, mic'd up and in contact with the other officials to be an extra set of eyes there. The other umpire could watch the poosts or any goalmouth action. Or scrap the umpires altogether. They always look like a pile of auld lads waiting for the pub to open.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 24/08/2014 20:09:33    1641372

ah malone magic, was wondering when someone would bring Connolly up. Clear strike me arse by the way, barely a soft cuff that'd knock a kitten over after the incident was instigated by the Donegal player (No. 18), who struck Connolly in exactly the same way simultaneously, but Connolly didnt dive. Connolly also struck by another Donegal player (No.8) who received no sanction.

Connolly's red card was correctly rescinded because proper official procedure was not followed by referee Maurice Deegan.
According to playing rule 1.2 (x) (c) under duties of the referee, the match official is expected "to order off a player who commits an ordering off foul/infraction by taking his name (if not already taken) and showing him a red card".

You can watch it all here, watch for the simultaneous "punch" from the Donegal No. 18, then watch for the far heftier strike from the Donegal No. 8.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRaI1PDU2xw

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 24/08/2014 20:14:55    1641376

Harsh red? Yes. Was the letter of the law applied? Yes. It was silly by Keegan so I wouldn't debate it too much.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 24/08/2014 20:21:36    1641379

Connolly got off because as ciaran Whelan said on Sunday game at time " it would be a shame to see him miss the final " .and that was the best defence of a fellow dub. Soft is irrelevant. sure Keegan s kick today was hardly what you'd call a leg breaker

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 24/08/2014 20:36:52    1641392

GreenandRed

They should get some sort of post match scorecard and get a bit of coaching on decision making while refereeing.
They get an assessment of their performance, and that of their team, a couple of days after each inter county match. They are regularly brought in for training, video analysis, etc.

Surely they could send the umpires to some fitnesss boot camp and let them patrol the endline umpire style, mic'd up and in contact with the other officials to be an extra set of eyes there.
Umpires, linesmen, 4th official, and Mr. Hawkeye are all mic'ed up to communicate with the ref at the Croker games.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 24/08/2014 20:38:32    1641395

Cheers Torcaill. Didn't know that, feel a bit silly now. How do you think they could improve the standard of refereeing and make the decision-making more consistent?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 24/08/2014 21:01:10    1641410

Cheers Torcaill. Didn't know that, feel a bit silly now. How do you think they could improve the standard of refereeing and make the decision-making more consistent?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 24/08/2014 21:06:34    1641418

Connolly got his rescinded a few years ago for a punch against Donegal..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 24/08/2014 21:07:21    1641419

GreenandRed

Get the players to adhere to the rules :).

Consistency is an issue that probably will never be achieved. Human nature being what it is will always result in differences of referees views / opinions, just the same as players, spectators and posters on here. Now, where is the referee robot I was trying to make.......

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 24/08/2014 21:23:59    1641430

Ziggy a punch? Hahahaha ok if you say so

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/08/2014 21:35:09    1641436

How long will he be suspended for? Big loss to Mayo he's one of their best players

CavanAgain (Cavan) - Posts: 186 - 24/08/2014 21:38:03    1641438

We will see if grab all association recind red card as they did conollys in 2011. Limerick as a venue is not fair to the travelling supporters of mayo, it's right on Kerry's doorstep, it's like selecting pierse stadium in galway. I'm a good 3 hrs from Limerick. Maugham eo Abu.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 25/08/2014 09:14:04    1641476

saddam

We will see if grab all association recind red card as they did conollys in 2011. Limerick as a venue is not fair to the travelling supporters of mayo, it's right on Kerry's doorstep, it's like selecting pierse stadium in galway. I'm a good 3 hrs from Limerick. Maugham eo Abu.

I think missing over half yesterdays game was punishment enough for the crime involved and I would have no problem if he was allowed play next Saturday. Having said that, Connolly's case was helped by the fact that the guy he 'hit' couldn't get to the ground quick enough. This was not the case yesterday.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 25/08/2014 09:28:09    1641484