Ways to offset the "inevitable" dominance of Dubs

Interesting article in today's Times. A third of the people living in Dublin were not born here. Kind of alters the population flog I would think. Maybe the way to keep us back is to breed us out ;-)

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 21/08/2014 13:06:36    1639884

Sorry, I thought this thread was about Dublin. Why is the subject matter the goings on in the counties of anyone who comments on the actual topic? If people want to talk about Kildare start a thread about Kildare.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/08/2014 13:10:33    1639889

So players and managers from other counties just decided to play for the love of the jersey did they realman :-)

Who manages your hurling affairs in Dublin?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/08/2014 13:16:48    1639891

Ha, you want to talk about population advantages do you?
There is no doubt that Dublin is the biggest population centre in the country, even the rocket scientists have that one figured out, but population alone does not equate with automatic success.
The next 5 biggest populations after Dublin, (excluding counties in the north that would have a 'split' demographic) are Cork- 518k, Galway-250k, Kildare- 209k, Limerick- 191k and Meath- 184k. Of these neither Kildare or Limerick have an All Ireland in the last 30 years, Galway have 2, Cork 3 and Meath have 4, one more than Dublin. The one thing all the counties that have won it have had in common is the luck to have had an exceptional group of players, generally led by an exceptional manager, come through at the right time.
At the moment Dublin are the team in that position, and like it or not, its because of how the Co board has invested the money at their disposal ( no matter where it came from) over the last 10-12 years. A concious decision was made to invest in coaches at a local level and development squads at a county level to raise the standard of players coming through, and it has worked. Counties like Tipp, Roscommon and Cavan in football, Limerick and Carlow in hurling are just some examples of counties that are starting to benefit from their county boards adopting a slightly longer term view and making their responsibilities to the future of our games rather than trying for short term success with 'big name' senior managers.
For people to dismiss Dublins current success as being solely down to population does a major disservice to the efforts of all involved in the development of Dublin football, but more importantly provides a handy excuse for their own county boards not to put the work in that is required of them.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 21/08/2014 13:30:08    1639905

Sorry, I thought this thread was about Dublin. Why is the subject matter the goings on in the counties of anyone who comments on the actual topic? If people want to talk about Kildare start a thread about Kildare.

Agreed Dublin strategy on this forum is to not address points raised but to attack the counties of non-Dub posters. Have you not noticed this yet?

The fact that these counties don't have multi million sponsorship deals, multi million games development grants, play every game at home and a huge playing participation advantage seems to get lost along the way.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/08/2014 13:31:52    1639909

JackoDub

Counties like Down, Armagh, Kildare, Meath and Cork should be doing consistently better than they do.

I agree totally, and hopefully the division of Dublin's current GAA funding to develop GAA in counties like Kildare, Down, Meath, Armagh and Cork will contribute to raising these counties and others to a competitive standard.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 21/08/2014 13:38:51    1639915

lads lads lads..............even this thread is becoming a slag fest

WOULD YE CALM THE FECK DOWN !!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/08/2014 13:56:09    1639931

The problem with the culchies is they got caught in a moment and now they cant get out of it

Dublin GAA had it's worst decade in it's entire GAA history during the 00's

They didnt reach 1 final across that decade

They competed in semi-finals losing by a point or two, they won quite a few Leinsters

But again... it was still the worst decade in the history of Dublin GAA

Did the culchies think this was going to last forever????

Form is temporary, class is permanent and that aul saying is currently shining through

We worked our arses off to put things right, have been superb both on and off the pitch

Brought the game to a whole new level

The norm has been restored - Dublin GAA is back where it should be and that's competing in AI finals

I'm sorry if that's hard for some of you to take

But get used to it folks... the 00's are long gone. :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/08/2014 13:57:45    1639934

I think were going to have to start courting the Dublin women and dilute the gene pool a bit, it's the only answer lads walk up the aisle with a "Howya"..........

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 21/08/2014 14:42:07    1639973

realman, if you can't take it don't give it. Not only do Kildare get more pro rata than Dublin but you had vast amounts of money that you gave to individuals rather than putting into your structures. Truth hurts but there you go.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/08/2014 14:47:19    1639978

Richieq

I think were going to have to start courting the Dublin women and dilute the gene pool a bit, it's the only answer lads walk up the aisle with a "Howya"........

Steady on Richie. Did ye not try that experiment already with disastrous consequences...?

..... Ashbourne

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 21/08/2014 14:51:49    1639983

National - Ways to offset the "inevitable" dominance of Dubs

The inevitable dominance of the dubs....... The unthinkable to some people will happen on Sunday week when Donegal send Dublin packing for this year........ So we can put this thread aside until next year after they waltz though the Leinster championship again without breaking sweat..... Because this is the only tournament they have dominated recently...... 3 all Ireland's in 20 years is not dominance, sure minnows like us have won 2 of them in the same 20 year period........

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 21/08/2014 14:55:18    1639988

There is no doubt that Dublin is the biggest population centre in the country, even the rocket scientists have that one figured out, but population alone does not equate with automatic success.
The next 5 biggest populations after Dublin, (excluding counties in the north that would have a 'split' demographic) are Cork- 518k, Galway-250k, Kildare- 209k, Limerick- 191k and Meath- 184k. Of these neither Kildare or Limerick have an All Ireland in the last 30 years, Galway have 2, Cork 3 and Meath have 4, one more than Dublin. The one thing all the counties that have won it have had in common is the luck to have had an exceptional group of players, generally led by an exceptional manager, come through at the right time.
At the moment Dublin are the team in that position, and like it or not, its because of how the Co board has invested the money at their disposal ( no matter where it came from) over the last 10-12 years. A concious decision was made to invest in coaches at a local level and development squads at a county level to raise the standard of players coming through, and it has worked. Counties like Tipp, Roscommon and Cavan in football, Limerick and Carlow in hurling are just some examples of counties that are starting to benefit from their county boards adopting a slightly longer term view and making their responsibilities to the future of our games rather than trying for short term success with 'big name' senior managers.
For people to dismiss Dublins current success as being solely down to population does a major disservice to the efforts of all involved in the development of Dublin football, but more importantly provides a handy excuse for their own county boards not to put the work in that is required of them.

My god, Im not putting it down to population alone, a dublin poster started on the population. I've have talked about:
1- Provided figures showing Dublin get huge development grants, more than every other PROVINCE
2- Have huge sponsorship deals. Almost all other counties get 10% as much
3- play every game at home
4- Have a playing participation advantage

its funny the dubs as fabio points out now using the population argument to say they should get more money when before they said it didn't have any influence on how good their team was.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/08/2014 15:00:29    1639996

realman, if you can't take it don't give it. Not only do Kildare get more pro rata than Dublin but you had vast amounts of money that you gave to individuals rather than putting into your structures. Truth hurts but there you go.

show me those figure please Hurlingdub where you can show kilare get more than Dublin pro rata in games development?

Also please show me your evidence that we paid individuals?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/08/2014 15:03:25    1640001

Simple divide Dublin into five make more competitive football championship and Dublin posters are always saying how parts of Dublin play little or no Gaa so it would encourage areas where the Gaa is weak to grow and develop.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 21/08/2014 15:06:15    1640003

1 - Ban any person whose known-by name ends in an 'O' - Anto, Decco, Jayo etc
2 - Change the constitution to make contraceptives mandatory for any decent looking woman within the County while she resides in the County.
3 - Neuter all Dublin males.
4 - Make them travel beyond the Pale to play matches.
5 - Stop funding them and take back the millions pumped in to the County in recent years, redistributing the money to Antrim.
6 - Let down the tyres on the team bus.
7 - Neuter all Dublin males.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 21/08/2014 15:19:04    1640010

1640003 Simple divide Dublin into five make more competitive football championship and Dublin posters are always saying how parts of Dublin play little or no Gaa so it would encourage areas where the Gaa is weak to grow and develop.

Ha yeah simple. No one would have a problem with that.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/08/2014 15:21:53    1640012

Lads can we stop all these stupid threads about Dublin. That goes to the Dub posters and the lads from outside the pale, enough is enough!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 21/08/2014 15:31:00    1640019

It's good to see Dublin doing well. They have put the structures in place their players train hard they have invested in coaching and facilities
It's up to everyone else to figure out how to do things to bring their own counties up to the standard
When a club in a county is dominant then the other clubs have a decision either moan and belly ache or get up to the required standard set by the dominant club
When Ulster teams dominatwd a few years ago the rest upped their game
That will happen now as well
God on you Dublin

ochonlir1 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 21/08/2014 15:36:26    1640025

Realman

My god, Im not putting it down to population alone, a dublin poster started on the population. I've have talked about:
1- Provided figures showing Dublin get huge development grants, more than every other PROVINCE
2- Have huge sponsorship deals. Almost all other counties get 10% as much
3- play every game at home
4- Have a playing participation advantage

its funny the dubs as fabio points out now using the population argument to say they should get more money when before they said it didn't have any influence on how good their team was.

Dublin has always had a larger population than any other county.

1. Dublin has similar population size as Munster and also the rest of Leinster, has nearly 3 times the pop of Connacht. Not sure about Ulster but Dublin's pop is larger than Ulsters GAA-friendly pop.
2. Huge sponsorship deals because they have a larger population. Pro-rate per head it evens out considerably.
3. Your own county voted to play its home League match v Dublin last year in Croker for money. Talk to the Leinster Council and your own County Board as well as the others in Leinster if you have an issue with that. This is the most boring aspect of your "arguments".
4. What are you on about? Got any figures to back this up?

I don't expect you to respond to these points. You don't appear to have much to go on underneath the initial bluster.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 21/08/2014 15:36:55    1640026