Jim McG compares Dublin to Chelsea

Gavvygavgav

I don't have a problem with Jim McGuinness. I am aware that many counties need more funding. I am also aware that many of these counties could actually use more themselves of their own initiative prior to increased funding to help their cause. I have no problem with them getting more funding from the GAA in due course.

What I do have a problem with when it comes to this debate about Dublin's resources etc. is the amount of ignorance and general parroting of baseless insinuation that goes on. People who have no idea what they're talking about going on about Dublin's conditioning, nutritional expertise etc etc. This is all guff. It in itself doesn't bother me, it denigrates the skill level and commitment of the Dublin players at worst. So what? People are always have their opinions on those matter.

But always ALWAYS bubbling under these arguments lurks the notion of SPLITTING DUBLIN. This is where I do tend to get a bit irked. As some posters on this thread have shown they'll piggyback on this issue about Dublin's resources with their assertion that Dublin needs to be split up.

It's not up to any person from any other county to start spouting about their legitimacy of another county's existence.

-----

Well said. Most of the people who bang on about Dublin's "huge resources advantages" have absolutely no idea what they are talking about, no concept of the actual figures and it is usually thrown about in order to deflect from their own county's (County Board's) shortcomings.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/08/2014 15:15:11    1639411

I love to see Dublin play, and theri attacking style is wonderful to watch. I do thonk Jim McGs comments were rather mischievous, but There is a seriuos point undrneath
Dublin look vastly superior at present and have the following advantages
1/ Playing numbers; their clubs also seem to be thriving
2/ financial backing
3/ all matches at home

I do worry we may be looking at an unstoppable train, and other counties simply may not be able to compete. The next few years will tell

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 20/08/2014 15:23:38    1639419

Exactly Joxer. I've heard podcasts with Fermanagh players and interviews with Wexford (?) and Roscommon players talking about rumours and what they've heard of Dublin's advantages when it comes to resources and conditioning. The people they need to be directing their concerns are to their own county boards. They're the ones who can do something about it. They need to stop whining about Dublin and get their own counties to take more action.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 20/08/2014 15:28:02    1639424

Liamwalkinstown

Re Jim McG, he is a very very clever man and I honestly dont think the Chelsea reference was "unfortunate", he knew what he was saying.

I think the point he was making about Chelsea was that Abramovich changed the dynamic of the Premier League completely when he arrived. Once he came on the scene wages & transfer fees exploded & the whole game changed to the extent that outside of the top 4 or 5 have no chance ow winning the league.
I am old enough to remember Brian Clough winning promotion for Nottingham Forest in 76-77, winning the First Division in 77-78 & then winning the European Cup in 78-89. There is no chance that that cold happen now.

The difficulty is that other soccer clubs, being professional, could respond to Chelsea by getting big backers of their own. That cannot happen in GAA & what JMcG is the concern that even if other counties do their best they will never be in a position to replicate what Dublin are doing now.
They won't have the numbers of players or the finance. That is not an excuse for lying down & whinging but it is something that the authorities will have to examine if, as expected, Dublin dominate football for the forseeable future.

I admire what Dublin have done, in a lot of way Donegal are doing the same things. I am on record here as being opposed to splitting Dublin or bringing them down in any way. The population difference is something none of us can do anything about but I think what could be done is to look at funding on the whole & ensure that counties are not disadvantaged compared to others because of lack of money.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 15:34:35    1639427

Forget how well the dubs are sponsored and the great resources they have.
Thats their work they put in and fair play to them.

My issue is them always having their championship games in croke park!
If theres a reasonable, fair excuse for it, I'd love to hear it.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 20/08/2014 15:34:52    1639428

@fielder

You should address that question to the County Boards of the other counties in Leinster.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 20/08/2014 15:40:52    1639430

Maybe we can introduce a Loan syaten in IC GAA!!!!
Or maybe Dublin lads who cant get a game for Dublin will declare for the counties of their parents birth,,,

;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/08/2014 15:44:34    1639432

Its pathetic of Mc Guinness makin these sweeping statements about the Dubs. All hes tryn to do is distract from the game and the reality that nobody likes Donegal's version of football. Totally inappropriate for the manager of a Gaelic Intercounty team to be makn comparisons with an English soccar team, eh hello.......think its time he devoted his time to Celtic...

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 20/08/2014 15:48:17    1639435

fielder

Forget how well the dubs are sponsored and the great resources they have.
Thats their work they put in and fair play to them.

My issue is them always having their championship games in croke park!
If theres a reasonable, fair excuse for it, I'd love to hear it.

-----
No point in asking us, ask the GAC. Dublin want to play outside of CP but the GAA Financial Controller clearly has other ideas. Besides, see my post earlier in the thread and the example I used of the AI final. Mayo played 5 times in CP in 7 months and their fans outnumbered Dublin in the final. Was there a Dublin advantage there? Granted in the earlier rounds I believe there is but from Leinster Final on the games will be played in CP anyway so really you are talking about LSFC rounds 1 and 2 and games against opposition that Dublin would probably tank in Eyre Square nevermind CP. Ironically in the past when these teams were offered the choice of playing at home or CP, they chose CP for the experience.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/08/2014 15:51:53    1639440

Same old same old....

Where was all this talk when we were winning Sweet Fanny Adam...??
We still played in Croker, had great sponsorship deals, access to facilities and a huge backroom team etc etc.

Don't see our Hurlers winning too much...!!

It is a phase - it will pass, and we will be back waiting a long time for Sam as we did before..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 20/08/2014 15:55:24    1639442

20/08/2014 15:23:38
befair
County: Down

I love to see Dublin play, and theri attacking style is wonderful to watch. I do thonk Jim McGs comments were rather mischievous, but There is a seriuos point undrneath
Dublin look vastly superior at present and have the following advantages
1/ Playing numbers; their clubs also seem to be thriving
2/ financial backing
3/ all matches at home

I do worry we may be looking at an unstoppable train, and other counties simply may not be able to compete. The next few years will tell

Just like Keryy from 04-09. Oh wait its ok for Kerry because its Kerry...

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 20/08/2014 15:58:32    1639443

Lads, we endured a 16 year famine so lets just go with the flow and enjoy the good times for as long as they last........Atha cliath Abu !!!!!!!

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 20/08/2014 16:11:53    1639453

Fielder, there was vote at Leinster Council over where to play the quarter final between Dublin and Laois/Wicklow. Only two counties voted for it to be outside Croke park. Dublin could not give a flying fart where they play and have never asked to play in Croke Park.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/08/2014 16:17:39    1639459

Mollymalone

Its pathetic of Mc Guinness makin these sweeping statements about the Dubs. All hes tryn to do is distract from the game and the reality that nobody likes Donegal's version of football. Totally inappropriate for the manager of a Gaelic Intercounty team to be makn comparisons with an English soccar team, eh hello.......think its time he devoted his time to Celtic...

It's hard to know where to start with drivel like this but sure what the hell, I'm at a bit of a loose end.

1 What "sweeping" statement was made?
2 Why would he try to distract attention from the game? You think he's hoping nobody will notice it's on?
3 Do you honestly think JMcG could give a rat's ass what anyone thinks about the way Donegal play? Anyway up here we think it's great.
4 What is "inappropriate" about the comparison? Not playing the green card I hope!!!
5 I'll be sure to pass on your opinion as to how he should spend his time, I'm sure he'll be riveted.

Apart from the above points it was a great post molly. Spelling was a bit on the ropey side, but sure we can't have everything!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 16:25:26    1639465

Michael Darragh Macauley on Hoganstand article sums it up about right. Perception is everything, but its no substitute for an informed opinion, especially when you don't know the reality on the ground in Dublin.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 20/08/2014 18:31:53    1639563

McGuinness never compared Dublin to Chelsea. He said Dublin have more money to spend than the rest which is true. What's not reported but is fairly common knowldge amongst humans is that Dublin are entitled to their cash, there's a lot of people in Dublin!

For many culchies this is seen as a 'huge unfair advantage' it's an excuse for giving up if you ever need to play them

Jimmy told the journalist some stuff, some facts not giving away too much. How the journalist wrote the story and you're interpretation of what MCGuinness said is down to each individual.

Nothing to see here folks.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7347 - 20/08/2014 20:37:23    1639642

When you mix tabloid headlines with articles that extend to at least a paragraph you will confuse a lot of people who elect not to read past the first line.
I'd put the opening post in this thread into that bucket.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 20/08/2014 21:11:44    1639655

Gavvygavgav

@fielder

You should address that question to the County Boards of the other counties in Leinster

Why?

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 20/08/2014 21:21:26    1639661

hurlingdub

Fielder, there was vote at Leinster Council over where to play the quarter final between Dublin and Laois/Wicklow. Only two counties voted for it to be outside Croke park. Dublin could not give a flying fart where they play and have never asked to play in Croke Park.

Fair enough my bad! Seen someone else on about other counties in Leinster and asking them. Wasnt aware of this. Was under the illusion Dublin were having preference to play there. Mind you, Dublin definately benefited the most out of the whole of Leinster. Im sure they didnt object!!

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 20/08/2014 21:27:19    1639666

See that's the problem Fielder. People make all these assumptions based on hear say or what they think is true. Very few people have the actual facts about what goes on in any county team setup.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/08/2014 08:33:45    1639703