Jim McG compares Dublin to Chelsea

I don't have a problem with Jim McGuinness. I am aware that many counties need more funding. I am also aware that many of these counties could actually use more themselves of their own initiative prior to increased funding to help their cause. I have no problem with them getting more funding from the GAA in due course.

What I do have a problem with when it comes to this debate about Dublin's resources etc. is the amount of ignorance and general parroting of baseless insinuation that goes on. People who have no idea what they're talking about going on about Dublin's conditioning, nutritional expertise etc etc. This is all guff. It in itself doesn't bother me, it denigrates the skill level and commitment of the Dublin players at worst. So what? People are always have their opinions on those matter.

But always ALWAYS bubbling under these arguments lurks the notion of SPLITTING DUBLIN. This is where I do tend to get a bit irked. As some posters on this thread have shown they'll piggyback on this issue about Dublin's resources with their assertion that Dublin needs to be split up.

It's not up to any person from any other county to start spouting about their legitimacy of another county's existence.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 20/08/2014 13:25:13    1639313

Muck, cool the jets old boy
Tis only all a bit of craic!!

But for the record, anyone who thinks JMcG was being complimentary and nice about Dublin....ye would want to read between the lines lads!!
He was in his eye!!!

Muck, u incl me in the "Hatred" camp??!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/08/2014 13:32:56    1639316

2. There is a nervousness in Dublin about this game what it would mean id Dublin somehow lost.

Listen, I couldn't care less about that type of comment or tabloid journalism/editing but where did you get the above from?
If we lose, we'll be back again next year and the year after so what does this statement mean exactly?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 20/08/2014 13:40:30    1639321

Liamwalkinstown

Muck, cool the jets old boy
Tis only all a bit of craic!!

But for the record, anyone who thinks JMcG was being complimentary and nice about Dublin....ye would want to read between the lines lads!!
He was in his eye!!!

Muck, u incl me in the "Hatred" camp??!

No liam, I don't include you in the "hatred" camp and I have to say that your being first out of the traps, knee jerking at 1,000 mph, surprised me.

As for "reading between the lines", give me strength. God help us all if he did come out with something controversial, some fellas here would keel over!!.

What is it about JMcG that gets to people? The same thing happened a couple of years ago when he said that the league wasn't a priority for Donegal. People went ballistic, but he had said nothing that any of the top managers had said before or said since.

I just don't understand the animosity.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 14:08:37    1639338

Yes indeed it's a sly little dig for all to see. Saying Dublins success is down to strength & conditioning and diet is an insult to the Dublin footballers. Keep em coming Jim.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 20/08/2014 14:13:32    1639343

Muck,

People go ape sh*t on here all the time over petty stuff, it's the ol' build 'em up and knock 'em down mentality.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 20/08/2014 14:14:13    1639345

ballydalane
County: Kilkenny

1639127 Ultimately, it's a thinly veiled swipe at Dublin's success; comparing them to Chelsea is implying, deliberately or otherwise, that they've somehow "bought" their success.

I think it's a stupid argument. The 15 (or 20) lads that play for Dublin on a given day are all Dubs who grew up playing football in their home county. None of them were bought in. Sure, fitness coaches, nutritional experts and the like can help to an extent, but if the players aren't good enough they won't win.

It's a bit rich (no pun intended) seeing Kerry and Mayo fans on this whinge aswell. You can be damn sure that the Kerry and Mayo footballers lack for absolutely nothing that the Dublin players are getting.

I think that is what is being lost in the "Dublin have the best of everything stakes".
Yes they have better preparation for matches more so than the weaker counties. But Kerry as Jim mcG alluded have always made sure their players had the best of everything over the years (coaching ,nutrition, jobs etc) . Mayo over the last 3 to 4 years have incorporated a similar approach, . You can be dam sure the Kerry and Mayo boys programs for diet and training is not too dissimilar to the Dubs, so what will separate the teams on the pitch .
The players ability and belief in what they have to do. If they havn't got that all the rest is irrelevant.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 20/08/2014 14:14:28    1639347

realdub

2. There is a nervousness in Dublin about this game what it would mean id Dublin somehow lost.

Listen, I couldn't care less about that type of comment or tabloid journalism/editing but where did you get the above from?
If we lose, we'll be back again next year and the year after so what does this statement mean exactly?

Ah now realdub, you know a bit better than that.

There are some guys here who have Dublin crowned already & not just this year but for the next 5 years. It isn't everyone but there is a significant number who have written Donegal off completely & yet JMcG is someone they are wary of. They are just not 100% sure of him & I think there is a nervousness amongst a small few that this could go wrong & leave them looking very foolish.

I hasten to add that this does not apply to all Dubs & most of them see the game in the same way as most Donegal supporters do. Dublin are overwhelming favourites, yet in a 2 horse race.......

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 14:14:53    1639349

Gleebo, I will take what I said back so. It was silly remark on my part. Fingers quicker than brain :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/08/2014 14:20:48    1639355

Muck what LOADS of people on HS are saying and in the national chat are saying, without actually explicitly saying it is this

"Dublin are only winning all irelands cos they GAA gave em a wad of cash and do whatever Dublin tell them to do. They dont have footballers they have athletes and REAL football counties have to compete with out these advantages. Dublin success is tainted and in fact counts for little. We wont be happy until Dublin are useless again"

And Jim coming out with his Chelsea reference only feeds into that myth.

Let me tell ye all something lads. Want to know why Dublin are winning matches?
Is it cos of the money the GAA pumped into Dublin to keep the game alive in the capital as Leinster Rugby threatened to take a stranglehold on the city? No
Is it because all their games are in Croker? No
Is it because the GAA "want" Dublin to win? No

Dublin are winning matches because right now, Dublin have the best panel of footballers in Ireland and thats the cold hard truth of it.
But some lads, many here, we all know who (not you Muck) just cant and wont accept this and will look for any excuse to bitch and moan and give out and fail to see the reason their own county hasnt won an All Ireland (in half a century in some cases) is nothing to do with Dublin getting preferrential treatment and more to do with the fact their own team hasnt produced a top class forward since Johny Logan asked us all.....Whats another year....

(see what I did there Muck ;) )

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/08/2014 14:27:45    1639359

Muck,

don't be letting that bother you, this is a forum and only reflects the views of a handful of people really, chill man, you're a decent poster and I think Donegal will make us sweat big time, at least!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 20/08/2014 14:28:42    1639361

Look I decided to do a bit of research into Dublin Gaa and compare it to Kerry, Cork, Galway, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Meath.

I hear all the time Dublin have a bigger population but that counts for nothing its the amount of clubs they have that shows the bigger pick. Dubs then try to say they have had great under age structures in place but so have some other counties stats going back 10 years.

Dublin 78 football clubs, 1 MFC, 3 u21FC
Kerry 58 football clubs, 0 MFC, 1 u21FC
Cork 48 football clubs, 0 MFC, 2 u21FC
Galway 46 football clubs 1 MFC, 3 u21FC
Mayo 49 football clubs, 1 MFC, 1 u21FC
Donegal 39 football clubs 0 MFC, 0 u21FC
Tyrone 49 football clubs 3 MFC, 0 u21FC
Meath 52 football clubs 0 MFC, 0 u21FC

Then it comes to funds and sponsorship AIG are a multi national companies all the rest are Irish owned and head quarters in Ireland. Kerry Group, Chill Insurance, Supermacs, Elverys, Donegal Creameries, Hunky Doreys, Tayto Park. And finally Croke Park i've said it for a few years that if they were on the road more often they wouldn't have won all the Leinsters they did. Imagine them having to travel down to wexford or navan for a championship game they would find it alot more tougher. Going into the quarter finals they had already played 3 championship games there and monaghan and armagh had played one with no one else playing there in championship.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 20/08/2014 14:31:27    1639366

20/08/2014 12:34:39
MuckrossHead

A little disappointed but not at all surprised to see the kneejerk reaction from the usual suspects.

I read the article in yesterday's IT & knew straight away that although there wer no mind games, no criticism, no stirring of any sort that the sky would fall in on top of JMcG.

Last week fellas were complaining that the was trying it on by saying that Lacey had an injury. He comes out yesterday & says that Lacey will be ok & has responded well to treatment and the result is.......silence.

It's hard to know what fellas want, Paul Grimley got dog's abuse for not talking to the media, JMcG makes a couple of well reasoned points about where things are going & he get's dog's abuse. People complain about anodyne & boring interviews from managers when someone tries to make an observation about something other than "we'll do our best but we are really up against it" he gets dogs abuse.

I think this thread shows up a couple of things.

1. There is a visceral hatred of JMcG, Donegal & Ulster GAA in general.

3. There are some people who should lie down in a cool dark room for a while before committing their thoughts to HS.

4. There are one or two who really need help.

In conclusion I would have to say that this sort of reaction really saddens me. I had thought that as GAA people, there would be an element of fairness & sportmanship in our dealings here. Yes, I enjoy the banter, slagging & oneupmanship as well as the next man but there is an undercurrent of parochialism & sheer nastiness emerging here this last while that makes me feel that maybe I'm in the wrong place & should give it up altogether.

Hoganstand would drive you demented with crackpots. begrudgers and the Mayo fundamentalist. But let it fly over your head (no pun intended). Only thing I'll pull you up on is there is no nervousness in Dublin over this game. Yes some Dub supporters are getting ahead of themselves, theres nothing you can do about them. But Jim Gain and most Dublin supporters will show every bit of respect to Donegal, because they have certainly earned it. Personally its going to be an incredible game of chess and as long as we can avoid what Murphy done to Mayo in the first five minutes of the 2012 AI (which was battered the sh*t out of them) we'll be in for some game. As for the article....well much a do about nothing.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 20/08/2014 14:35:59    1639373

ackos_Wacko

Look I decided to do a bit of research into Dublin Gaa and compare it to Kerry, Cork, Galway, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Meath.

I hear all the time Dublin have a bigger population but that counts for nothing its the amount of clubs they have that shows the bigger pick. Dubs then try to say they have had great under age structures in place but so have some other counties stats going back 10 years.

Dublin 78 football clubs, 1 MFC, 3 u21FC
Kerry 58 football clubs, 0 MFC, 1 u21FC
Cork 48 football clubs, 0 MFC, 2 u21FC
Galway 46 football clubs 1 MFC, 3 u21FC
Mayo 49 football clubs, 1 MFC, 1 u21FC
Donegal 39 football clubs 0 MFC, 0 u21FC
Tyrone 49 football clubs 3 MFC, 0 u21FC
Meath 52 football clubs 0 MFC, 0 u21FC

Then it comes to funds and sponsorship AIG are a multi national companies all the rest are Irish owned and head quarters in Ireland. Kerry Group, Chill Insurance, Supermacs, Elverys, Donegal Creameries, Hunky Doreys, Tayto Park. And finally Croke Park i've said it for a few years that if they were on the road more often they wouldn't have won all the Leinsters they did. Imagine them having to travel down to wexford or navan for a championship game they would find it alot more tougher. Going into the quarter finals they had already played 3 championship games there and monaghan and armagh had played one with no one else playing there in championship.

Having forced myself to read all that Jacko, one point stands out for me. When you say "and finally Croke Park i've said it for a few years that if they were on the road more often they wouldn't have won all the Leinsters they did. Imagine them having to travel down to wexford or navan for a championship game they would find it alot more tougher"
Tell me Jacko on that theme, how many All Irelands would ye have won had ye been in Leinster or Ulster down all the decades? Getting to All Ireland Semi Finals by winning only one real game when Dublin, Down etc were having to win 5-6 proper games to get to the same stage ??

How you like them apples.....Jacko

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/08/2014 14:49:13    1639382

Muckrosshead,
If someone expresses an opinion different to your own, it doesnt make them any less of a GAA person. What an Un-Irish thing for you to insinuate...

Re: what Jim McG said or didnt say, what he meant or didnt mean, reading what he said, reading between the lines, and after that taking a deep breathe and having a cup of tea... you cant be shocked that certain dubs fans have come out fighting on this
Believe it or not, there is an agenda to split Dublin which, for me, would mean id never go to a GAA match again. That's how much it means to me. So you cant blame ppl for being passionate and expressing their opinions.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 20/08/2014 14:50:59    1639384

Muckross

The article is fair enough, No moaning about resources or splitting Dublin in two , everyone has to up their game, but the Abramavich and Chelsea analogy ? Understandably Ulster lads go mad feeling they don't get enough credit for playing decent football are and always being picked up on the negatives.
Us Dubs at times feel we never get the credit for the hard ground work that is put in all over Dublin on parks and pitches every weekend. The thousands of volunteer coaches that train these lads. There is no doubt we have advantages being the capital city as regards jobs and distances lads have to go to make training. Croke park also.
But when Chelsea is used as a comparison it wouldn't of mattered who said it. If Horan said it their would be the same reaction . Though for me its mainly of amusement and here we go again, change the record.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 20/08/2014 14:53:17    1639387

Liamwalkinstown

Muck what LOADS of people on HS are saying and in the national chat are saying, without actually explicitly saying it is this

"Dublin are only winning all irelands cos they GAA gave em a wad of cash and do whatever Dublin tell them to do. They dont have footballers they have athletes and REAL football counties have to compete with out these advantages. Dublin success is tainted and in fact counts for little. We wont be happy until Dublin are useless again"

And Jim coming out with his Chelsea reference only feeds into that myth.

Let me tell ye all something lads. Want to know why Dublin are winning matches?
Is it cos of the money the GAA pumped into Dublin to keep the game alive in the capital as Leinster Rugby threatened to take a stranglehold on the city? No
Is it because all their games are in Croker? No
Is it because the GAA "want" Dublin to win? No

Dublin are winning matches because right now, Dublin have the best panel of footballers in Ireland and thats the cold hard truth of it.
But some lads, many here, we all know who (not you Muck) just cant and wont accept this and will look for any excuse to bitch and moan and give out and fail to see the reason their own county hasnt won an All Ireland (in half a century in some cases) is nothing to do with Dublin getting preferrential treatment and more to do with the fact their own team hasnt produced a top class forward since Johny Logan asked us all.....Whats another year....

(see what I did there Muck ;) )

Very clever Liam, very clever.

Where I disagree is that JMcG is "feeding" into anything. I know the man & I can assure you that the more fevered imaginings of HS are a foreign land to his thinking. There is no chance that he was aware that there is a big debate on HS and thought to himself "I know what I'll do. I'll compare Dublin to Chelsea & drive dubjohn, jimbo & clondalkin up the wall".

What he was expressing was a concern that I would share, namely with Dublins's demographic coupled with their superb organisation & conveyor belt of up & coming talent, it is going to be very difficult for other counties, no matter how hard they try, to compete on a level playing field.

I agree with what Dubs say that this is not Dublin's fault, but I do think that the authorities have to see what they can do to ensure that we have a meaningful championship in 5 or 10 years time, even if that means skewing funding, otherwise interest will wane as it did in hurling for a number of years when Kilkenny swept all before them

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 14:53:28    1639388

hurlingdub

Gleebo, I will take what I said back so. It was silly remark on my part. Fingers quicker than brain :-)

Fair play to you, hurlingdub, takes a big man to admit when he's wrong. I should know, it happens to me often enough ;)

Dublin have the strongest panel and will be around for quite a while. However, that doesn't mean that they can't have a bad day, or be caught by one of the stronger sides. I think there's a lot of knee-jerk reactions flying around at the moment due to Dublin's success. These things tend to go in cycles, and there will be challengers around in the years to come.

Arguments about resources, sponsorship, Croke Park etc. all serve to distract from the main question: what are other counties going to do to provide the Dubs with a real challenge?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/08/2014 14:58:24    1639395

@HenryHill exactly. all this talk of nonsense talk of resources feeds ultimately to that insidious idea of splitting dublin. Anger would be a natural reaction for any GAA person from anywhere around the country should they be faced with threats to their county team's existence.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 20/08/2014 15:02:20    1639400

Muck, I see your point, but tell me this. You use the KK Comparison, and it might be valid if this team goes onto the things i think its is capable of, but not yet. And the thing is, that KK team was lauded by all in sundry. The greatest team of all time, national heroes all of them. Loved by everyone not from Tipp or Cork! Or Wexford! Given massive respect by one and all. Legends in their own life time....

This Dubs team only has 3 All Irelands in 20 years, but we get no credit from many, no respect from more and all we are hearing is "split dublin split dublin, this isnt fair, its a conspiracy father..... waaaawaaaawaaaaawwwaaaaaa"

Not from you Muck, but ye all know the kinda gasun i am talking about!!

Re Jim McG, he is a very very clever man and I honestly dont think the Chelsea reference was "unfortunate", he knew what he was saying.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/08/2014 15:02:27    1639401