Jim McG compares Dublin to Chelsea

TheRightStuff

1639098 People on HS have reached a new low. I honestly believe that the likes of JMG should just stop doing interviews. The public read into everthing too much. It was a nothing interview. I actaully know he has profound respect for Jim Gavin and Dublin. As he said himself a few weeks back ,he is often misquoted. The journalist on this occasion must be laughing .

I wouldn't worry too much, most Dubs know its just an interview with a little bit of cuteness thrown in and sure why not.
Ye should see what made up stories we have to put up with.
Were told that we have 1,000s of fulltime GAA Coaches running around the city , 200 clubs in the capital.
A Mayo man whos county spent a fortune last year in a province with Sligo, London and Leitrim who have little or no money is lecturing us on fairness in the GAA , Ye couldn't make it up.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 19/08/2014 22:03:31    1639125

Ultimately, it's a thinly veiled swipe at Dublin's success; comparing them to Chelsea is implying, deliberately or otherwise, that they've somehow "bought" their success.

I think it's a stupid argument. The 15 (or 20) lads that play for Dublin on a given day are all Dubs who grew up playing football in their home county. None of them were bought in. Sure, fitness coaches, nutritional experts and the like can help to an extent, but if the players aren't good enough they won't win.

It's a bit rich (no pun intended) seeing Kerry and Mayo fans on this whinge aswell. You can be damn sure that the Kerry and Mayo footballers lack for absolutely nothing that the Dublin players are getting.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/08/2014 08:13:28    1639127

20/08/2014 08:13:28
ballydalane
County: Kilkenny

Ultimately, it's a thinly veiled swipe at Dublin's success; comparing them to Chelsea is implying, deliberately or otherwise, that they've somehow "bought" their success

If it is a swipe then it is deliberate, it cant be otherwise.
But once again, take your time and read the damn thing. JMG says he tries to use the same methods as Dublin, and does so to a large extent.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/08/2014 10:03:57    1639162

Possibly a storm in a teacup lads. McG is not everyones favourite manager, but I'd say the lads in the Indo are making a meal of it the same way they are with MDMA's reply. Noting controversial in that article except been compared with Chelsea, rather Man City a nice shade of blue!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 20/08/2014 10:13:56    1639170

What our people reading hear Jim has said nothing bad about Dublin, people need to read the article in full before coming out with stupid comments.

knowtherules (UK) - Posts: 181 - 20/08/2014 10:15:08    1639174

The modern internet age - people just waiting to be outraged and insulted by something....anything!!!

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 20/08/2014 10:25:15    1639185

A big fuss about nothing.

MDMC should not have even wasted his time commenting on it.

Dublin camp wont even bat an eyelid about all this.
Jim Gavin has them totally focussed on the job in hand, and anything anyone says about them will be like water off a ducks back.
Anything that needs to be said will be said on the pitch...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 20/08/2014 11:02:34    1639200

hurling dub I think you are a bit confused about my point on semi finals and vested interests. anyway I was talking about the universal game of football and not the 12ish team hurling championship. jon carter how exactly could galway have more resources than kerry mayo or donegal. combined between hurling and football yes but not for football as the counties you mention are largely football only. galway would have fewer football clubs than the counties you mention and very few dual in both codes. also resources have as much to do with sponsorship and branding as they with size. dublin in fairness are playing the most attractive football at the moment and this adds to the brand.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 20/08/2014 12:00:49    1639246

Chelsea??? Is he having a laugh? Who are they? Surely we are the Real Madrid of the GAA!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 20/08/2014 12:11:02    1639258

Fair play to the Dub supporters here , glad to see a pragmatic response . It was cuteness but harmless . Funny how Larry Tomkins actually names players today in a scathing article on Mayo and not a mention . Whether one likes JMG or not ... hip opinion always casts above a response !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 20/08/2014 12:24:04    1639266

A little disappointed but not at all surprised to see the kneejerk reaction from the usual suspects.

I read the article in yesterday's IT & knew straight away that although there wer no mind games, no criticism, no stirring of any sort that the sky would fall in on top of JMcG.

Last week fellas were complaining that the was trying it on by saying that Lacey had an injury. He comes out yesterday & says that Lacey will be ok & has responded well to treatment and the result is.......silence.

It's hard to know what fellas want, Paul Grimley got dog's abuse for not talking to the media, JMcG makes a couple of well reasoned points about where things are going & he get's dog's abuse. People complain about anodyne & boring interviews from managers when someone tries to make an observation about something other than "we'll do our best but we are really up against it" he gets dogs abuse.

I think this thread shows up a couple of things.

1. There is a visceral hatred of JMcG, Donegal & Ulster GAA in general.

2. There is a nervousness in Dublin about this game what it would mean id Dublin somehow lost.

3. There are some people who should lie down in a cool dark room for a while before committing their thoughts to HS.

4. There are one or two who really need help.

In conclusion I would have to say that this sort of reaction really saddens me. I had thought that as GAA people, there would be an element of fairness & sportmanship in our dealings here. Yes, I enjoy the banter, slagging & oneupmanship as well as the next man but there is an undercurrent of parochialism & sheer nastiness emerging here this last while that makes me feel that maybe I'm in the wrong place & should give it up altogether.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 12:34:39    1639272

Ah sure look, all part of the build up to the game and will have absolutely no bearing on the result. Media spin answers whatever way that sells most papers. Have to say I sat in front of Jim McGuiness at the league semi-final versus mayo last year. Seemed a friendly an affable guy who chatted away to people and gave autographs and took photos with people that asked him. He said very little during the actual game itself with the exception of one thing when he turned to rory gallagher and went " Dublin have some forwards". So now he is facing them again and if he manages to turn us over it will be a mighty achievement. Then you have eamon fitzmaurice putting mayo up on a pedestal about their conditioning, strength etc. etc, not to mention saying that he is happy the david coldrick referring the game. I would see this as pure kerry cuteness. Part and parcel of the business end of the championship. Frankly though I couldn't care less if Gavin and co don't get involved in any chit-chat before the game and let the lads do the talking on the pitch. What I like about gavin is he says little at times but get's his point over and other times he talks alot without saying anything.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 20/08/2014 12:42:00    1639284

MuckrossHead

I think this thread shows up a couple of things.

1. There is a visceral hatred of JMcG, Donegal & Ulster GAA in general.

2. There is a nervousness in Dublin about this game what it would mean id Dublin somehow lost.

3. There are some people who should lie down in a cool dark room for a while before committing their thoughts to HS.

4. There are one or two who really need help.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/08/2014 12:46:11    1639287

I'm with ritchie

Not a direct cut, but passion aggression, which is less dignified

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 20/08/2014 12:48:16    1639289

Sorry I didnt finish my post when I quoted Muckross head.

I dont agree with you, largely about there being an anti Ulster thing. This thread has little or nothing to do with this, it has to do with an interpretation of an answer McGuinness gave to the press about something unrelated.

I also think there is no nervousness in the Dublin camp, there may be some people annoyed by the Jim Mcguinness interview, and more likely, by the comments about the interview on this thread for instance, but I would bet very few are county footballers.

Still looking forward to the game. I read in your thread about our forwards at the weekend, which is not very encouraging news. But as you say , we live in hope.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/08/2014 12:55:49    1639298

Jesus muck you got all that from the article? Fair play!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2014 13:05:37    1639302

Do Dublin have financial advantages the rest of the country could only dream about?

Yes.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 20/08/2014 13:09:27    1639303

Sorry I didnt finish my post when I quoted Muckross head.

I dont agree with you, largely about there being an anti Ulster thing. This thread has little or nothing to do with this, it has to do with an interpretation of an answer McGuinness gave to the press about something unrelated.

I also think there is no nervousness in the Dublin camp, there may be some people annoyed by the Jim Mcguinness interview, and more likely, by the comments about the interview on this thread for instance, but I would bet very few are county footballers.

Still looking forward to the game. I read in your thread about our forwards at the weekend, which is not very encouraging news. But as you say , we live in hope.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/08/2014 13:09:50    1639304

NOt worth even think about what JMG might have said or meant. MDMA ought to have said nothing and not feed this. Jaysus, though they're all coming out of the woodwork now.
You have Tompkins on Mayo, McG on Dublin, Fitzmauriuce on Mayo. That's right Jim G: whatever you say, say nothing at all.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/08/2014 13:18:05    1639309

hurlingdub

Well said JayP. The truth. I'd say Mayo hurlers were lucky to be given a set of jersies. We have 30 adult leagues, a multiple of that underage, and county teams in ALL CLG sports at every age. We bring in vastly more money than anyone else so not going to apologise for our pro rata share.

Hurlingdub,

Mayo minor hurlers won an All-Ireland title last year. The Mayo senior hurling team reached the Christy Ring semi this year, where they fell to Kerry. They have been playing at that grade for the past ten years or so, which is a vast improvement on where hurling in Mayo has traditionally been, i.e. towards the bottom of the bottom tier. Keith Higgins also lined out with the hurlers this year. To suggest that they are underfunded relative to their playing numbers is wrong, as is the implication that the county board are deliberately impeding the hurlers.

For what it's worth, I think people should stop harping on about Dublin's advantages in resources, etc. Dublin got their structures in order some years back, and now it's paying dividends. It's up to other counties to try to emulate Dublin's success, or at least become more competitive.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/08/2014 13:22:59    1639312