Jim McG compares Dublin to Chelsea

Does nobody focus on the fact that he said it's not a bad thing and it gives a target to strive to and beat.
Also how he mentions Kerry a decade ago, probably hinting at the fact that it wont always be the Dubs with the best resources. Some other county might land themselves a big deal and raise the bar again.

Genuine enough statement as it has its comparisons, but not mind games.
People reading headlines and getting caught up in the hoo-ha.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 19/08/2014 14:10:16    1638872

ritchie

1638856 ok lads here is the thing i cant understand and iv said it before

Dublin won three all irelands from 1995 to 2013

Thats hardly a dominant force of the gaa.

So what i can understand is this. When kerry won so many all irelands in the last decade why was no one calling for kerry to be broken up. Why was no one taking about the money or the trainers or facilities.

Like wise with kilkenny
they won NINE all irelands since 2000 and again no one wanted to break them up . Hell they won 4 in a row and no one threw half the abuse at them that dublin have to put up with . If the monies and trainers and resources were such a huge factor would Dublin not be dominating in both codes.

It smakes of hipocracy to me. Its just cause its dublin. THe have a well manager extremely well conditioned team. But (and dublin im defending ye here so go easy) Last year the won the all ireland against mayo by a point. In 2011 they won again by one point. So thats not exactly blowing away the opposition.

My point is this can we please please please stop all the crap being thrown at dublin. Im from cork born and bred and reality is i have no affiliation to them but im sick of reading week in week out about dublin being this that and the other. Here are the fact. Dublin has been the biggest populated county since 1884
Have had the biggest resourses for donkeys years. But right at this moment in time they have the best team in the country its that simple
Just like kerry
there time will come and go and in a few years there will be another power house to comment on
Talk about the games the fact dublin have raised the game and our counties need to match that level

Its not dublins fault they are fitter .

Good post Richie, Cork.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/08/2014 14:15:55    1638874

19/08/2014 13:23:51
ritchie

ok lads here is the thing i cant understand and iv said it before

So what i can understand is this. When kerry won so many all irelands in the last decade why was no one calling for kerry to be broken up. Why was no one taking about the money or the trainers or facilities.

Like wise with kilkenny
they won NINE all irelands since 2000 and again no one wanted to break them up . Hell they won 4 in a row and no one threw half the abuse at them that dublin have to put up with . If the monies and trainers and resources were such a huge factor would Dublin not be dominating in both codes.

It smakes of hipocracy to me. Its just cause its dublin. THe have a well manager extremely well conditioned team. But (and dublin im defending ye here so go easy) Last year the won the all ireland against mayo by a point. In 2011 they won again by one point. So thats not exactly blowing away the opposition.

My point is this can we please please please stop all the crap being thrown at dublin. Im from cork born and bred and reality is i have no affiliation to them but im sick of reading week in week out about dublin being this that and the other. Here are the fact. Dublin has been the biggest populated county since 1884
Have had the biggest resourses for donkeys years. But right at this moment in time they have the best team in the country its that simple
Just like kerry
there time will come and go and in a few years there will be another power house to comment on
Talk about the games the fact dublin have raised the game and our counties need to match that level

Its not dublins fault they are fitter .
So Jimmy here is a fact for you Man city Chealsa have spect millions and yet Liverpool nearly won last year Man United did win the year before that and lost the year before that on gaol difference

Thanks Ritchie. A lone voice of reason. Theres a perfect storm here. The GAA is at a cross roads and the haves are pulling away and the have nots are falling further behind.
Recession, immigration and urbanisation is also a cause of this divide. Also Dublin have their best panel in 30 years. No deficits in any line. A perfect storm.

We also have begrudery and the blame game. Something that comes easy to Irish people. Fine when we are lambasting politics and rich developers but feck yer brain up when you pick up a paper and everyone is calling for your county to be split. Sure some people on here have made it their own personal crusade (maybe they are angry that their own county have not made the grade I don't know, but its border line fundamentalism). Splitting your county? Do you know what that means to a true supporter who follows their county. Same as splitting your club. FFS people... splitting Dublin is not going to solve anything. It means the top five counties will dominate and poor Leitrim and Carlow (apologies to these counties but they seem to be example that everyone is prepared to use) will still not win an AI.

The realistic chance is that two Dublins will redraw, work harder and be a position to compete and it will be within ten years they'll be playing against each in Leinster finals and All Ireland finals. Because lets face it they still will get funding and sponsorship.

Theres bigger problems in the GAA and an honest open debate with all options should be on the table.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 19/08/2014 14:36:46    1638884

ritchie

1638856 ok lads here is the thing i cant understand and iv said it before

Like wise with kilkenny

My point is this can we please please please stop all the crap being thrown at dublin.
Aye this is a good point, and agree with absolutely everything in it, but the last bit, the thread was started by a Dublin poster.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/08/2014 14:38:40    1638886

1638829 bubba83, if that is the case then why not give it up? Then we can see how good Dublin actually are. I don't mean that negatively either, dublin might well be the best gaa county in the country, but we will never know until they are on an even footing with those they are competing against, and so people will continue to point to their advantages, much like people will continue to point to man city's advantages or Chelsea's advantages. That is just the reality of it. Dublin seem to want to be seen as a great gaa county, up there with Kerry, but that will never happen in their current guise. That is just the reality of it.

The situation with Dublin's resources has always been thus as other posters have pointed out. I don't remember you calling us out on it before 2011 when we shipped heavy championship defeats to Kerry & Tyrone. The team with the strongest panel of players should with the right management always win out, regardless of anyone else's resources. It just so happens Dublin are there today but it could be Mayo, Kerry or Donegal by the third week in September. I just think it's natural to our psyche to adopt a begrudgers attitude when anyone else achieves success. For what it's worth I don't think there is a lot wrong with what McGuinness said, the Abromavich analogy is clunky and maybe a little mischievous as the sub editors were always going to have a field day with that. Thankfully for us Dublin have strong management in place that don't let the media drag them into so called "mind games".

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 19/08/2014 14:40:13    1638888

19/08/2014 14:40:13
bubba83

1638829 bubba83, if that is the case then why not give it up? Then we can see how good Dublin actually are. I don't mean that negatively either, dublin might well be the best gaa county in the country, but we will never know until they are on an even footing with those they are competing against, and so people will continue to point to their advantages, much like people will continue to point to man city's advantages or Chelsea's advantages. That is just the reality of it. Dublin seem to want to be seen as a great gaa county, up there with Kerry, but that will never happen in their current guise. That is just the reality of it.

Can we try that experiment with Mayo and lets say your close neighbours Leitrim? Yes Leitrim. The county you guys perennially bate the shit out of every year. You my friend need to stop hiding behind your agate and username.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 19/08/2014 15:09:52    1638894

u beat me to it BDS.
Master, by your logic, ye have an advantage over Leitrim, so all yere connachts and all irelands...no, sorry, all ye're connachts must be tainted .....if your logic stands up?
Ye have WAY more population and resources and money than Leitrim, given to ye by the GAA...

WHAT SAY YOU TO THAT?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/08/2014 16:09:58    1638915

Non-story.

Really not a big deal. He can say what he wants. Thank god our players arent as offended by comments as some on here (and I include myself in this as I take stuff on here and stuff said in the media very personally at times unfortunately.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/08/2014 16:19:11    1638926

bubba83
The situation with Dublin's resources has always been thus as other posters have pointed out. I don't remember you calling us out on it before 2011 when we shipped heavy championship defeats to Kerry & Tyrone.

So because we were tolerant in the past and turned a blind eye when it wasn't having too much of an effect on the competition we now have to do it infinitum? Pull the other one.

The team with the strongest panel of players should with the right management always win out, regardless of anyone else's resources. It just so happens Dublin are there today but it could be Mayo, Kerry or Donegal by the third week in September.

How about when extra resources create that superior panel? Still fair is it?

I just think it's natural to our psyche to adopt a begrudgers attitude when anyone else achieves success. For what it's worth I don't think there is a lot wrong with what McGuinness said, the Abromavich analogy is clunky and maybe a little mischievous as the sub editors were always going to have a field day with that.

I don't begrudge anyone anything. I do have an issue with one team getting every advantage under the sun, and then their fans trying to cast themselves as the victim however.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/08/2014 16:20:43    1638929

Can we try that experiment with Mayo and lets say your close neighbours Leitrim? Yes Leitrim. The county you guys perennially bate the shit out of every year. You my friend need to stop hiding behind your agate and username.

Fair enough, but of course that would have to be extended to the all Ireland series, i.e. the same for everyone. Also, so your actual name is bluedubstar I take it...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/08/2014 16:22:30    1638931

Storm in a teacup stuff, and no mind games on Jim's part from what I can see.

As others have said the bigger debate here is that the GAA is at a crossroads and the only road I can see them going down is increased professionalism.

We nearly have it anyway in terms of training programmes and structures top successful counties have in place. Yes Dublin have a lot of investment revenues on which to rely on but down in Kerry we are also able to begin building a 6 million euro centre of excellence, have the resources to invest heavily in underage structures in last 2-3 years and have a very lucrative long term sponsorship deal with Kerry group, a multi-billion dollar global leader in its industry. Cork too are prepared to pay €75 million on a white elephant of a stadium. Big counties with successful teams will attract the most lucrative sponsorship deals and that is nothing new in the GAA, look at the fervour in 1998 when Addidas supplied jerseys to Kerry for example.

The GAA can't really do anything about the revenue streams certain counties enjoy over others, unless they are prepared to impose some thing akin to UEFA financial fair play scheme, ie impose a yearly maximum expenditure for counties preparing inter-county teams. BUT what they need to do is make sure that the central revenue they collect is reinvested as equally and fairly as possible. For example they could do something simple like ensure all counties have a standard quota of development coaches per their populations/clubs numbers etc. Their is an argument that Dublin has benefited more than most others from GAA's central funding in terms of hurling and football development at under-age in last decade. It is a ridiculous situation that counties like Dublin have hundreds while others have single figure numbers, since the population differences nowhere near justifies this. I also think the GAA needs to encourage and incentive every CB to follow example of successfully counties like Clare/Dublin in terms of under-age structures, development squads, inciting former players to become involved as coaches, mentors etc.

Now none of this is going to make the likes of Carlow able to compete consistently with likes of Kerry etc, but at least it will level the playing field as much as humanely possible, stop people looking to excuses that GAA favours investment in some counties more than others and maybe allow the weaker counties to make the most of their potential and thus continue to do as much as they have traditionally been able to do; take the odd big scalp and win the odd provincial title.

Just a few thoughts...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/08/2014 16:39:10    1638937

Liamwalkinstown

u beat me to it BDS.
Master, by your logic, ye have an advantage over Leitrim, so all yere connachts and all irelands...no, sorry, all ye're connachts must be tainted .....if your logic stands up?
Ye have WAY more population and resources and money than Leitrim, given to ye by the GAA...

WHAT SAY YOU TO THAT?

A very fair point

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/08/2014 16:46:57    1638944

TheMaster:

Mayo should be concentrating on Mayo. Mayo has less than 10% of the population of Dublin, the resource advantages pro-rata that Dublin GAA has over Mayo GAA are probably negligible. It's not Dublin GAAs fault that Mayo cannot see out a game. Look after your own house, that would be the best course of action.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 19/08/2014 16:48:45    1638948

So because we were tolerant in the past and turned a blind eye when it wasn't having too much of an effect on the competition we now have to do it infinitum? Pull the other one.
- No you don't but you do acknowledge our vast resources weren't much use when we didn't have the quality in our panel.

How about when extra resources create that superior panel? Still fair is it?
- Really? Do you think we are cloning these players in a lab or something? Just maybe as I said before we have hit a rich seam of quality players & management coming together at the same time.

I don't begrudge anyone anything. I do have an issue with one team getting every advantage under the sun, and then their fans trying to cast themselves as the victim however
- I don't see anyone making themselves out as victims. The Dublin set-up and backroom team is very well run and maximises the resources available but without the quality on the pitch and in the dug-out it counts for little as we have seen in previous years.

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 19/08/2014 16:53:37    1638951

Spot on Hermit.

"I also think the GAA needs to encourage and incentive every CB to follow example of successfully counties like Clare/Dublin in terms of under-age structures, development squads, inciting former players to become involved as coaches, mentors etc. "

Dublin are being pilloried for what people blithely call "resources". The reality is Dublin CB put training structures in place well over a decade ago to make sure kids got the proper training and were able to advance in level if good enough. These structures weren't down to money, but initiative and planning. Once these structures are in place it's far more likely that funding will be received once it is sought which happened in course. No organisation will throw cash at any old ramshackle notion, which is what is being called for by several counties (some not a million miles from Dublin). This is where I'm bang in agreement with Hermit. Gert these counties to look at what is successful, adapt these structures and commit to them for your own county and then get the funding from the GAA once it has been shown to be sound.

Finger-pointing and whining about another county's resources and nutrition (as if this is some form of arcane sorcery) etc. are just a way of turning attention away from your own lack of initiative, foresight or ambition.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 19/08/2014 17:01:05    1638958

To all the outraged Dubs. He was offending you, just stating facts and even said Donegal were trying to do the exact same things.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/08/2014 17:02:54    1638960

Liamwalkinstown

I see Jim in the Indo today taking a veiled swipe at the Dubs, saying we are like Chelsea and how we have so much more resources etc than anyone else.......

Ironic really, given that he works in the SPL for Celtic isnt it.............

I don't get what your saying Liam, how does Donegal's manager holding a job with Glasgow Celtic give Donegal more resources?
If anything that is taking managerial resources away from Donegal GAA.

I read the whole Interview, and he clearly wasn't taking a swipe at Dublin and more responding to specific questions put to him. Hell he even nodded to Donegal's own attempts to better themselves, and didn't take away from Dublin doing what they are doing. He also mentioned Kerry in previous decades,and the role of Kerry Group in giving players jobs.

I heard him speaking on to local NW man Charlie Collins last week at the same press event that the Indo column was derived from, and I have to say that Jim McGuinness has nothing but respect for Dublin.
He referred to them as the best team in the country, and the challenge is now for Donegal to try and beat them and reach a All Ireland final.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 19/08/2014 17:12:04    1638965

Very disrespectful to Dublin.

Definitely more like Barca or Real Madrid!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 19/08/2014 17:15:11    1638967

Donegalman
A very fair point

No its not. Splitting 1 team up to match the lowest populated team, while ignoring all others, is very different to splitting up one team that has 10 times the population of the average county and is a mile out in front of everyone. The first example solves no problem at all, and actually removes a high quality side from a competition that is short on high quality sides, while the other removes one team that are far too strong and replaces them with 2 teams that have 5 times the average population n their own right - or in other words 2 very capable sides.

But if you want to go down that facetious route, will Dublin be getting split up to match Longford?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/08/2014 17:23:37    1638972

To all the finger pointers and whiners: Paraic Duffy himself has said that the whole method of funding county boards will be looked at for 2015. This means that whether it's deserved or not and whether they're prepared or not, that your County Boards will probably received more money next year and Dublin less.

I'm just wondering what your excuses will be in 4-5 years time when that money should have started reaping dividends.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 19/08/2014 17:27:49    1638976