Jim McG compares Dublin to Chelsea

no surprise here. all the nordies club together and all the dubs think no one has any right to question their moumental resource base. don't need mcguinness to tell us the resources the dubs have. sure its in the interest of the GAA that the dubs get to a semi final every year at least for gate receipts. final does not matter as it would be a sell out irrespective of who would be involved. jim if he is trying to make a point is using it for mind games. my take out of all this is the attention as always is taken from the kingdom and remember 'he who smiles seldom will have the last laugh'. mayo unusually quiet as well which tells me that the winner of sam will be the on sunday. dubs donegal forget there is a final after it seems.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 19/08/2014 12:42:06    1638821

Usually people save their excuses and whinging for afterwards :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 19/08/2014 12:45:35    1638823

A Galway man talking about Dublin being guaranteed getting to a semi final.

You could not make it up. Dublin have to actually win games to get to a semi final :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 19/08/2014 12:47:40    1638824

Ok The Master, so everyone cares, except me, as in it doesn't bother me that he said that, I'd thank you for your concern but when it comes to Dublin, you're always concerned!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/08/2014 12:48:03    1638825

bubba83, if that is the case then why not give it up? Then we can see how good Dublin actually are. I don't mean that negatively either, dublin might well be the best gaa county in the country, but we will never know until they are on an even footing with those they are competing against, and so people will continue to point to their advantages, much like people will continue to point to man city's advantages or Chelsea's advantages. That is just the reality of it. Dublin seem to want to be seen as a great gaa county, up there with Kerry, but that will never happen in their current guise. That is just the reality of it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/08/2014 12:53:15    1638829

God did jim not get the memo that said don't say anything about the Dublin setup as some of their fans are very sensitive. Did you even read the article Liam or just see the headline and think I need to go onto hoganstand and complain. Jim even said in it he tried to do the same thing in donegal over the last 4 years.

It's true though without the massive investment Dublin I have had over the last 10 years can be compared to Chelsea. He never mentioned anything about Dublin buying championships etc but without that investment Dublin wouldn't have the setup they currently have (Dublin minor teams had more money pumped into them than other counties senior setup when desie Farrell was in charge and that's benefiting the senior team now)

ringerbell (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 19/08/2014 12:53:37    1638831

Jim McGuinness seems to be quite genuine and complimetary of Dublin so I dont see whats the problem with his comments.

breakingball22 (Louth) - Posts: 419 - 19/08/2014 13:07:40    1638844

well which tells me that the winner of sam will be the on sunday. dubs donegal forget there is a final after it seems.

And how did you come to this conclusion?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/08/2014 13:10:11    1638847

He's wrong, I'd say we're more like City.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/08/2014 13:12:22    1638851

Dublin lads before you get your knickers in a twist please just read the article .... Him isn't knocking Dublin ot trying to makeup mind games..... He is merely stating the truth with the resources they have, which the dubs feel very sensitive about but the reality is no other county has them...... Good luck to yous for that..... But please don't let the truth get in the way of a good story.......

As for some of the posters suggesting that he says these things because he is under pressure and is trying every trick in the game to unsettle Dublin, well that's just ludicrous because Donegal and JMG go into this game with absolutely no pressure on them, Jim Gavin and his team carry all of that as they are being heralded the best team that ever graced a pitch.....

Sure we are just going there to try and keep the scoreline respectable..........

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 19/08/2014 13:20:12    1638853

ok lads here is the thing i cant understand and iv said it before

Dublin won three all irelands from 1995 to 2013

Thats hardly a dominant force of the gaa.

So what i can understand is this. When kerry won so many all irelands in the last decade why was no one calling for kerry to be broken up. Why was no one taking about the money or the trainers or facilities.

Like wise with kilkenny
they won NINE all irelands since 2000 and again no one wanted to break them up . Hell they won 4 in a row and no one threw half the abuse at them that dublin have to put up with . If the monies and trainers and resources were such a huge factor would Dublin not be dominating in both codes.

It smakes of hipocracy to me. Its just cause its dublin. THe have a well manager extremely well conditioned team. But (and dublin im defending ye here so go easy) Last year the won the all ireland against mayo by a point. In 2011 they won again by one point. So thats not exactly blowing away the opposition.

My point is this can we please please please stop all the crap being thrown at dublin. Im from cork born and bred and reality is i have no affiliation to them but im sick of reading week in week out about dublin being this that and the other. Here are the fact. Dublin has been the biggest populated county since 1884
Have had the biggest resourses for donkeys years. But right at this moment in time they have the best team in the country its that simple
Just like kerry
there time will come and go and in a few years there will be another power house to comment on
Talk about the games the fact dublin have raised the game and our counties need to match that level

Its not dublins fault they are fitter .
So Jimmy here is a fact for you Man city Chealsa have spect millions and yet Liverpool nearly won last year Man United did win the year before that and lost the year before that on gaol difference

Money is handy but can make players winners

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 19/08/2014 13:23:51    1638856

Why are Nordies always going on about soccer!!?? You see more British soccer jersies at Ulster championship matches than GAA jersies, they even like to pretend one of them is Irish ba ha ha

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 19/08/2014 13:28:03    1638857

Chelsea (or Celtic) don't get to play all there games at home so he was being a bit harsh there on Chelsea

tonto21 (Donegal) - Posts: 181 - 19/08/2014 13:28:22    1638858

hey liam mate

you take the bait everytime

I bet the little fingers could not stop typing the minute you seen the head line lol

fkm leitrim (Leitrim) - Posts: 88 - 19/08/2014 13:28:46    1638860

A real GAA county like yourselves with your two All Irelands in 130 years Master :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 19/08/2014 13:45:37    1638864

The irony in jims comments astounds me! Maybe he was being complimentary but comparing dublin to Chelsea is laughable because as far as i can see jim mc Guinness is the gaa's answer to jose mourinho as far as mind games go ' no such mullarkey from jim gavin who has total faith in his players to do his talking on the pitch!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 19/08/2014 13:48:25    1638865

As an earlier poster said, people need to come down off their high horses. Everyone do themselves a favor and go and read the article. Re read it. There is nothing disingenuous about it.

As for managers side stepping questions from the media, why should they, unless its liable. We would have a very boring and robotic script if managers just said, we prepared well, one step at a time,we respected the opposition , the job is only half done, there are no medals handed out today. Boring. It shows personality to answer questions that are not part of some program or off a script.

We all respect Dublin, I do anyway, they are the best team I have seen play football.
Yes they do have resources, but is it not up to the field to aspire to, or to put in situ a similar structure? that is the core message of JMG's answer to a question that most likely has been taken out of context. Such a racket about nothing.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/08/2014 13:54:34    1638866

Everyone is entitled to an opinion, but first at least try to inform yourselve. What facillites has Dublin GAA got? They train as hard as Donegal, probably the same type of training, they have 15 players. Dublin unlike Chelsea don't buy players nor pay wages there is NO comparison that is worth making.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 19/08/2014 13:58:33    1638867

Nail on head bad monkey!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 19/08/2014 14:02:14    1638870

Bad Monkey......

Have you been at many ulster championship games? Or are you ,asking that observation from a far...... Probably yes all kited out in your favourite baseball teams jersey......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 19/08/2014 14:10:13    1638871