Jim McG compares Dublin to Chelsea

How can we compete with that kind of financial backing of Donegals and Dublin, all our lads would be lucky to get a day in ballybunnion and no week off work either, we are in for some hiding on the 21st me thinks.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/09/2014 14:13:46    1650098

A bit less of that oul guff kingdom!!

I still haven't got over the shock of you getting Sky in for the uncles. They must have a fair few bob under the mattress for you to abandon your principles in such a desperate way

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/09/2014 15:00:20    1650131

For a League Final Jim wanted to ensure his team were far removed from the Football world and took them to Portugal
but a lot more is at stake now and the isolation and concentration are even more critical. So jim is going belt and braces and taking his team to a place where there is no chance they will be bothered by people with any knowledge of what is at stake - Where better than Fermanagh,

-

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 09/09/2014 15:07:03    1650134

Don't be giving the poor mouth kerrymen. Below is an extract of an interview from October last year.

"Kerry Group will contribute €1 million to the Centre of Excellence project which is budgeted to cost €5.8 million in total over two phases of the development programme.........Patrick O'Sullivan, the Kerry County Board Chairman, thanked Kerry Group for their 'very generous contribution'........O'Sullivan confirmed that the purchase of the lands at Currans - 48 acres in total - has been concluded and that the trustees of the Kerry County Board are now the official owners.......O'Sullivan, who says the centre 'will provide us with a much-needed training base especially during the winter months', also informed the meeting that a recent fundraising trip to New York raised $220,000 dollars which will be ring-fenced for the centre's development"

And this one from the examiner in 2012

"One million euro in grant aid from the Munster Council will help kick-start Kerry GAA's centre of excellence in 2013, the provincial council have confirmed"

Plenty of finances in Kerry!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 09/09/2014 15:33:42    1650161

Muck
The uncles have bad backs their mattresses are bulging so much, and they have a bit of LAND as well ;-) no in fairness what ye do with ye'r money is ye'r own business I was only blagarding , and as the Beatles sang money can't buy me love, or can it !

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/09/2014 16:08:27    1650191

That's why kingdom got Sky in for the uncles.

He was afraid they would leave the farms to the Kerry County Board for the Centre of Excellence.

I've said it before & I'll say it again, you couldn't be up to them!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/09/2014 16:08:43    1650192

A few people in Donegal have referred to Kerry as Brazil. It's not much of a compliment after this year's world cup and is more of an insult! If JMcG is to refer to Kerry as Man U, it will be quite an insult as well with the way they are playing at the moment!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7859 - 09/09/2014 18:14:21    1650265

would u settle for Argentina instead of Brazil?

5 days in fermanagh sounds more like a borfest than a break 2bh.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/09/2014 18:22:02    1650268

Considering Donegal are at a major disadvantage compared to many other top counties, is a £20,000 5 day camp really that much?
This will be Donegal's 3rd camp of the year, all 3 likely came in under £100,000 in total cost.

They are currently building a centre of excellence, which will come to approximately £1.7 million in total. As of yet 2 pitches are finished, but they don't even have changing rooms or actual buildings at it in Convoy. Hell even Derry have a state of the art complex at Owenbeg outside Dungiven, compared to that Donegal don't have a pot to p*ss in.

The main reason Donegal are getting scrutinised here, is because they had the audacity to mention Dublin's spending. How dare Jim McGuinness mention such a thing, and the be swanning off on lush trips to er......Fermanagh!!

I'm sure if we start looking at all the top counties, I reckon Donegal would be well down that list of big spenders. I say this, as I know that the Donegal fans have contributed quite a lot of money to the Donegal training fund. 10's of Thousands have been raised by ordinary fans all year, which is to be admired.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 09/09/2014 19:39:08    1650300

And meanwhile everyone chats about finances and what Donegal do off the pitch, taking the attention away from the players and the all ireland final ahead in a game they are now favorites for the first time all year really.

McGuinness dropped that line about Dublin, fully believing Donegal would beat them - giving everyone something else to talk about and it's worked an absolute treat. Well played Jim.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 09/09/2014 19:51:47    1650308

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=222903

i wonder what Banty thinks of Donegal training camps??

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 09/09/2014 21:38:04    1650364

HandyMoran
County: Roscommon

1650364 http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=222903

i wonder what Banty thinks of Donegal training camps??

Be interesting all right, he said most Dublin players dont have full time jobs, jaysus the Donegal lads must hardly ever see their missus this weather, what with portugal and the the 5 day trips away. Donegal keep this sucess up and their will be a few divorces .

Only messing lads ,keep up the good work. Although if the big bad Dubs were on these junkets jaysus Banty would go balistic, Thankfully we are out of the media circus for a while ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 09/09/2014 21:49:36    1650374