Jim McG compares Dublin to Chelsea

Think a few off these threads lately have gone way off the beaten track, and when stripped back all we are seeing now is certain peoples dislike of certain counties to put it mildly, silly ignorant comments from posters for and against Dublin to try and wind up the other side.
I thought this site was supposed to be about GAA, nobody minds the craic but its getting out of hand at the moment.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/08/2014 21:54:32    1640258

the brand had more reliable supporters in the 00s it seems...and before people go on about the recession and all..its not much of an expense to go to dublin games for dubs when compared with somebody from the west with all the travel involved and so on..jayp i never see you talking about much besides dublin...fanboy yeah?..you and jimbo would probably be the best in terms of most unobjective posters
---
How many west counties travelled far this year? I, like many Dubs, travelled to Derry, Omagh and Portlaoise (u21s) so probably best to have some facts before making sweeping generalisations without backing up with some facts. Besides, a lot of Dublin based PAYE workers have been badly hit by the recession so I wouldn't dismiss that as a factor.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/08/2014 22:03:55    1640266

Joxer

Your showing a lack of Geography knowledge there. You had to travel to 3 or 4 matches outside the M50. Your a mighty man.

Some of us have to travel over an hour along a bog road to see our county in a home match then add in 4 league away matches in the league, League semi in Dublin, trip to New York, Roscommon and two more trips to Croke Park (hopefully one more).

Not sure where this thread is going but there is some fair wingeing going on about the idea of cutting funding to Dublin GAA. The facts are they get a higher percentage of central funds due to population. If this continues then Dublin will dominate indefinitely and interest will drop in the rest of the country. Just like Soccer. Dublins current sponsorship and revenue form home league matches will still be more than any other county can generate so they will always be a top 4 or 6 county.

And before anyone else gets excited. Mayo aren't shy with the funds at the moment but its funded mostly from businesses and Mayo diaspora. They will pull the plug on that fairly soon and then we will go back to where Galway, Kildare and Meath are.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 22/08/2014 08:30:50    1640271

Muck

The culchies filth the place up!
Costs a fortune to clean up after yiz...
Don't get me started on your kids that head to Dublin to be educated
Every Wed, Thur, Fri, Sat night
Fighting, puking, pissing, littering, filling A&E's, front line services stretched, massive clean up costs, anti-social crime, damage to property,
You culchies flee the twitching net curatins, head to Dublin wreck the place
Costing the state 100's of millions a year
A few days a year in Croke Park doesn't make up for that...
Listen man you know it
Dublin GAA is bigger than Jesus

jimbo, jimbo

Only for culchies Dublin would collapse in a heap.

By the time your average Dub crawls out of bed, culchies have half a day's work done, educating your chidren, keeping law & order, etc etc

Listen lad, we watch Fair City & Love/Hate, we know what Dubs are like, you can't fool us.

I see where the powers that be in the GAA have taken up JMcG's point about fundng and are going to look at how scarce funds are allocated by giving more to culchies at Dublin's expense. Proper order too.

I was telling JMcG about this development after county training last night & he told me "Muckross, this is only the start. Next week I am giving an interview to the papers where I will suggest that 1/2 of all sponsorship money should be handed over to the GAA for distribution to counties outside Dublin"

The end is nigh!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/08/2014 08:56:31    1640282

Dear bryanadams,

look up the meaning of 'insinuation'.

Le meas,

an tseabhac

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 22/08/2014 09:32:27    1640288

AthCliath

Think a few off these threads lately have gone way off the beaten track, and when stripped back all we are seeing now is certain peoples dislike of certain counties to put it mildly, silly ignorant comments from posters for and against Dublin to try and wind up the other side.
I thought this site was supposed to be about GAA, nobody minds the craic but its getting out of hand at the moment.

Good post AthCliath,

On the topic itself, I don't think Jim McGuinness said anything negative about Dublin in his Interview. In fact he was very complimentary and respectful about Dublin GAA.

But Naturally the headline that was derived from this Interview, was selected to have maximum publicity Impact in the run up to a eagerly anticipated game. However that's how things are, and Newspapers need to attract customers to their particular brand.

On a personal note, I don't have any Issues with Dublin coaching funding or even their use of Croke Park for all Championship games. With a quarter of the Island's population living in one county, Natually a substancial amount of coaching staff will be needed to develope the game amongst that population.
And when one county is drawing 50,000-70,000 fans to games, It simply doesn't make sense to have them playing in some small 25,000 capacity stadium down the country.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 22/08/2014 09:39:39    1640292

Well said, AthaCliath, and it supposedly a forum for GAA supporters so Im at odds to know why people persist with goin on about other sports ie. soccar.....people should stick to facts rather than using this forum for bashing another county.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 22/08/2014 09:44:29    1640294

tirawleybaron

Joxer

Your showing a lack of Geography knowledge there. You had to travel to 3 or 4 matches outside the M50. Your a mighty man.

Some of us have to travel over an hour along a bog road to see our county in a home match then add in 4 league away matches in the league, League semi in Dublin, trip to New York, Roscommon and two more trips to Croke Park (hopefully one more).

----

You clearly have only been to the big smoke on a handful of occasions if you think that we all just pick up the ham sandwiches and stroll down the road at 10 mins to throw-in. It takes me 2hrs to travel in to Croke Park so it is a 4 hr round trip every time for me. It was a 7 hr round trip to Derry and 5 to Omagh. So save the bleeding heart please. Fair play to ye for travelling to NY to see your county though. I have to say that would be a trip too far for me and I've been all over with the Dubs.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2014 09:55:34    1640298

In terms of grant aid and the noble aspirations and concerns of our country cousins about level playing fields. All GAA Central Funding should hence forth be solely based on a perscentage sliding scale of numbers participating in ALL GAA codes. Counties with higher numbers in one code MUST re-invest the bulk of grants to redress the imbalance. I think that is only fair on the true genuine GAA counties - the duel code ones. Counties with NO hurling/football particpation should have their grant aid and funding cut to until they redress that imbalance. You see this all cuts many ways, some counties stand on soap boxes which on closer inspection are not boxes but duel code counties.

I think Dublin should be bold and just say bring it all on the table, lets discuss level playing fields, TV money, advertising, sponsorships and of course all counties to be self-financing etc etc

Dublin GAA needs to be more assertive and ruthless in the marketing game. The County Board has successfully and brilliantly pulled Camogie, Ladies Football into a single Dublin AIG brand. Now girls by the truckload are wearing the AIG top with their own unique branding, what a master stroke, we need to secure ALL that money for ourselves. The sales of Dublin shirts are just one part of the Dublin sell. There is huge potential in making a single brand out of four distinct codes. Dublin's crowds and potential is the greatest asset we have and we need to use it ruthlessly. We need more of this and to hell with this All-for-One lark !!

As for some of the other counties, spending millions on useless centres of excellance and ignoring the very basic means to finance it and expecting us to bail them them out - these guys are having a laugh.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 22/08/2014 09:56:05    1640299

So what this debate ultimately boils down to is LIFE ISN'T FAIR - well that's a shocker
If Dublin do get their funding cut and the counties who are struggling financially got more would that make the championship fairer? I don't think so.

To make the championship fairer, in some peoples eyes, the population issue is a much bigger weight on the scales of the 'level playing field' argument. What are we going to do there lads? Move people from highly populated areas into the rural parts of the country??

Back to the thread itself, Jim talks about Dublin in comparison to Chelsea, some posters have latched onto this comparison in terms of success as if to say Dublin are only successful because of their mass resources. It's no wonder that some Dublin posters are a bit offended by this as it takes away from the efforts of Pat Gilroy, Jim Gavin and the members of the back room teams that have worked so hard with Dublin GAA in winning these All-Irelands recently

I will happily admit that Dublin probably do receive more money in terms of grants etc, they have an advantage against other county teams in terms of their playing population and have more resources on hand to prepare their teams. But in regards the GAA championship, this is nothing new. This has always been the case. If it makes some posters feel better to think that Dublin are only winning All-Irelands now because of these advantages then good luck to you, moan all you want about how this isn't fair, see how far that gets you

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 22/08/2014 10:43:29    1640321

arock

As for some of the other counties, spending millions on useless centres of excellance and ignoring the very basic means to finance it and expecting us to bail them them out - these guys are having a laugh.

-----
That's the nail on the head. The question has to be asked, where is the money being spent? Donal Og had it right on the SG. Centres of excellence, white elephants, helicopter trips, houses for players....what about promoting the games, full-time coaching, getting the basics right? Some county boards it seems are run almost public sector like when it comes to finances with no accountability.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2014 10:44:37    1640323

There is profound bitterness in this island when one succeeds. We had it in 11/12 when the public rhetoric was Donegal are puke . Dublin are now going to get this for some time. I understand why Dublin receives more cash for coaching , they are competing against a vigorous soccer and rugby tradition . My only issue with Dublin is playing all their league matches at home . I know it wouldn't matter at the moment because they are so strong but this does not justify the idea . Most Dublin fans I know would rather league matches in Parnell plus it's better fun. Getting Dublin on the road adds a much better atmosphere. Even in Ballybofey last year , Dublin brought brilliant numbers considering they had nothing to play for .

Shut down this thread , people should have more maturity not to start them in the first place .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 22/08/2014 11:01:57    1640338

arock

-----
That's the nail on the head. The question has to be asked, where is the money being spent? Donal Og had it right on the SG. Centres of excellence, white elephants, helicopter trips, houses for players....what about promoting the games, full-time coaching, getting the basics right? Some county boards it seems are run almost public sector like when it comes to finances with no accountability.

Centres of excellence are very purposeful when done right, Meath are currently finishing theirs which will have numerous pitches, all weather & floodlit, training facilities, medical facilities and other facilities associated with running the GAA in Meath. The complex will also be able to host games, blitz's and underage tournaments which will take a lot of pressure of Pairc Tailteann. Meath County Board have just taken out a loan of €1'000'000 ( a mere percentage of Dublin sponsorship ) to finish this complex off, the costs and finances of which have been clearly outlined and accepted. I would also point out that in 2010 when Banty was appointed manager the expenses he was to receive was clearly and openly outlined at a county board meeting for all to see and object to if necessary, have Dublin outlined a full list of expenses to their managers & players?? Meath would love to have more full time coaches but guess what!! We can't afford them, we are developing a new training complex where our players can train in a suitably modern set up, we have a county ground to redevelop as a matter of urgency ( something Dublin don't have to worry about ) and our income or funding doesn't allow us extra coaches. Don't be so arrogant as to think that other counties aren't trying to " get the basics right" as you say and that Dublin are the sole beacon of righteousness in the GAA, come along to the next convention of Meath GAA and you will see where money is spent and then you can comment, as for your jibe about the public sector well I won't even engage in that stupidity!!!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/08/2014 11:48:31    1640378

Yes but TheRightStuff, it's lazy throwaway comments like "Dublin play all of their league games at home" that are the problem. It's part of the dub bashing that has cropped up on a series of threads now, so whether it be unsubstantiated claims of over-funding, billions of full-time coaches, all games at home...posters from other counties just keep throwing out comments without thinking and without any attempt to research facts. Unfortunately you have just fallen foul of this yourself.

Does the below suggest that Dublin play ALL of their league matches at home?

Round 1

Dublin 2-8 Kerry 1-10[11]

Round 2

Westmeath 1-7 Dublin 0-14[15]

Round 3

Dublin 0-18 Cork 1-17[18]

Round 4

Dublin 1-22 Kildare 1-12[22]

Round 5

Derry 1-16 Dublin 0-13[27]

Round 6

Dublin 3-14 Mayo 2-17[30]

Round 7

Tyrone 1-15 Dublin 3-10[35]

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2014 12:03:55    1640386

Richieq

arock

-----

Centres of excellence are very purposeful when done right, Meath are currently finishing theirs which will have numerous pitches, all weather & floodlit, training facilities, medical facilities and other facilities associated with running the GAA in Meath. The complex will also be able to host games, blitz's and underage tournaments which will take a lot of pressure of Pairc Tailteann. Meath County Board have just taken out a loan of €1'000'000 ( a mere percentage of Dublin sponsorship ) to finish this complex off, the costs and finances of which have been clearly outlined and accepted. I would also point out that in 2010 when Banty was appointed manager the expenses he was to receive was clearly and openly outlined at a county board meeting for all to see and object to if necessary, have Dublin outlined a full list of expenses to their managers & players?? Meath would love to have more full time coaches but guess what!! We can't afford them, we are developing a new training complex where our players can train in a suitably modern set up, we have a county ground to redevelop as a matter of urgency ( something Dublin don't have to worry about ) and our income or funding doesn't allow us extra coaches. Don't be so arrogant as to think that other counties aren't trying to " get the basics right" as you say and that Dublin are the sole beacon of righteousness in the GAA, come along to the next convention of Meath GAA and you will see where money is spent and then you can comment, as for your jibe about the public sector well I won't even engage in that stupidity!!!!!

----

Yes I see, so build a big white elephant, don't bother that this money could be going into full-time coaching and more importantly promoting the games. Why actually invest in the development of the sport when you can build your own bertie bowl? Ignore the fact that have the youngsters are walking around your county with Wayne Rooney jerseys but sure as long as you have swanky artificial turf and sparkling floodlights it will be grand. Build it and they will come. The money needs to go into developing the games and getting kids interested in them. In two decades time Gaelic Football will be on it's knees unless it is promoted properly within the counties. Yes centres of excellence are great when you have people to attend them but the priority has to be to get the games right first so don't make me laugh with we have no money. As for arrogance, laughable. I'm far from holding Dublin up as the beacon, the culchies are doing that for us anyway aren't they, comparing us to Chelsea and the like? The Meath CB is a shambles, a parochial in-fighting shambles. So don't put the poor mouth on and in fact the manner in which that CB has been run in recent years is very comparable to the manner in which the public sector is run in this country. It's local politics at the end of the day isn't it? I spent enough years living in Meath and associated with club football there to know that much.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2014 12:18:45    1640396

Joxer - correct , ineptitude on my behalf. I meant to state Parnell Park rather than Croke Park. I also would like to stress that I DONT believe Dublin are to blame for this . As I have referred to earlier , this is only one area I would change . Do I think it would change results : probably not but who knows .
As for the coaching aspect , Dublin obviously should get more because there are more people in the capital . I'd rather concentrate on our mammoth task next week )

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 22/08/2014 12:36:59    1640415

TheRight Stuff

Nothing better than an intelligent poster

Fair play to you

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/08/2014 12:55:51    1640435

Yes I see, so build a big white elephant, don't bother that this money could be going into full-time coaching and more importantly promoting the games. Why actually invest in the development of the sport when you can build your own bertie bowl? Ignore the fact that have the youngsters are walking around your county with Wayne Rooney jerseys but sure as long as you have swanky artificial turf and sparkling floodlights it will be grand. Build it and they will come. The money needs to go into developing the games and getting kids interested in them. In two decades time Gaelic Football will be on it's knees unless it is promoted properly within the counties. Yes centres of excellence are great when you have people to attend them but the priority has to be to get the games right first so don't make me laugh with we have no money. As for arrogance, laughable. I'm far from holding Dublin up as the beacon, the culchies are doing that for us anyway aren't they, comparing us to Chelsea and the like? The Meath CB is a shambles, a parochial in-fighting shambles. So don't put the poor mouth on and in fact the manner in which that CB has been run in recent years is very comparable to the manner in which the public sector is run in this country. It's local politics at the end of the day isn't it? I spent enough years living in Meath and associated with club football there to know that much.

The Meath County Board was a shambles, I don't see it as such now as there are people there who are progressive in their thinking. Our facilities are lacking and need to be developed and if you spent years living in Meath and associated with club football there you would know that, previous county boards fell down on developing facilities and that is accepted. I suppose no kid in Dublin wears a soccer jersey either, my God how ignorant of me to think that!!! Dunganny will have the means to generate money which is crucial, the development of Pairc Tailteann also has earning power as if done right it will be the only decent county ground in North Leinster which is why it's development is so important as well as from a health and safety viewpoint. Seeing as you seem to know so much about Meath and it makes you laugh to think we have no money tell me where is the money?? Do you think we would need to borrow a million if we had money?? Our surplus at last convention was modest, somewhere in the region of €50'000 to €60'000 recovering from a debt of over €250'000 which incidentally was the biggest debt we had incurred in years, normally we were a break even or modest surplus county. Financial operating has tightened up incredibly under this board, just ask those who work the stiles and car parks at Pairc Tailteann and they will tell you. We don't have the numerous sponsorship deals that Dublin have not do we have the grants either but we have to develop facilities like grounds and pitches and training facilities and pay for coaches from our own funds so don't make me laugh by suggesting that Meath at present can be anyway compared with Dublin, even with the best County Board in the world over the past 10 years we wouldn't be in a comparable position. Maybe if all, and I stress all, the Dublin folk now living around Meath decided to buy the local lottos and attend the Meath GAA fundraising events and fully support the county they now live in then we might get a few more rungs up the ladder. I know plenty of Dubs who do just that and also bust their ass with kids on a training field but when I see local lotto sellers being told to "F@@k Off I wouldn't give you my last cent" by lads wearing AIG jersies that use the facilities of the local GAA club in Meath well that to me explains a lot as to why we are where we are, like it or not

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/08/2014 12:59:27    1640437

Therightstuff you're dead right AND it's the same posters steering the conversation the whole time. Exhausting!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/08/2014 12:59:29    1640438

Joxer

arock

Centers of excellence is a relatively new thing to have cropped up in recent years. This usually means 3 pitches side by side, at least one of them being all weather, and some sort of a club house attached to it. The funding for them usually runs into a few million. The idea of every county aspiring to have one of these, is missing the bigger picture, as was stated here. The coaching of under age especially at primary school level is where it is at at the moment. IF this is not in situ, then it doesn't mater who gets what in terms of funding as the ground work needs to be there in the first place. That is one thing that Dublin got very right over the last decade, and it is being reflected at under age level now.

the big question is coaching and organization. Have the counties who really want to succeed got what is necessary and what it takes to do this. time will tell.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/08/2014 13:00:07    1640440