Jim McG compares Dublin to Chelsea

an tseabhac

1640059 Just read the last few pages on this and it's making my blood boil.
However, what really drives me nuts is a poster making an insinuation that the footballers of Áth Cliath are "professional"- and then ignoring the issue when people correctly try to make him back it up with any evidence.

Real big man there.

Tut tut, I have read through the last few pages and I have read reference to the professional team that is Dublin GAA, but in no post have I seen professional Dublin Gaelic footballers mentioned. Have posters really stooped so low as to make up lies and post untruths to support a flawed argument. Shame on you an tseabhac.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 21/08/2014 17:26:54    1640113

i think the point being made is though that largely due to the large sponsorship dublin have brought in there isnt any major need for special funding which they are currently receiving..i mean funding in relation to getting as much or more than provinces which is quite silly when you take into account the money from sponsorship they have received...attacking other peoples counties when this point is raised doesnt contribute anything to the debate

Why would Dublin bother working to get sponsorship in then? why go to all that hard work? think people, for crying out loud.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 21/08/2014 18:02:44    1640134

Fionn

realdub

They will never be happy.
Even if Dublin were made play all our games outside Croke Park, and got No funding but relied on private sponsorship deals, there would be an outcry of unfairness.
Take note of the counties these posters are from... says it all imo.

Well donegal posters will get involved if it involves Jim Mc. Dublin posters will get involved because it involves dublin. The field may be involved for their own reasons, but, it is interesting that the thread was indeed stated by a Jackeen, and responded to by other jackeens before the culchies got involved in the first place :)

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/08/2014 18:32:07    1640147

Hopefully Dublin will be able to hang onto more of the massive revenue they generate for the GAA...

I mean it's all about what we get

Nothing from the hear say brigade about what we give back.. and gets spread to everyone..

The many, many millions that have been spread to enrich the GAA off the back of Dublin GAA, it's players, it's volunterrs and it's supporters.

If they want to cut funding fair enough

But we should surely be getting more of the revenue generated seeing that we generate the most to the pot

That sounds fair to me.. those that give the most should get the most.

Jaysus jimbo, even by your standards this is poor stuff.

If we are going to talk about who is putting money where, we should talk about the many millions spent by honest country folk in Dublin year in year out on their visits to Croke Park.

Think of all the employment created on these occasions for otherwise shiftless & unemployable Dubs, barmen, programme sellers, flag sellers, lockhards, burger flippers, stewards, the list is endless.

Only for us, north county Dublin would be a barren wasteland with tumbleweed rolling down the Drumcondra Rd & I think it is high time that Dublin recognised this & told the GAA that they didn't want any more money & to distribute it pro rata among those counties who played in Croke Park during the year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/08/2014 18:35:36    1640148

Dublin should not have to share any of their sponsorship income. They earned it, they keep it. They are the biggest county and will have the biggest deal. But the massive funding advantage they got from central council is a problem. The GAA pumped money into the capital which has done its job brilliantly but will lead and is already led to a uncompetitive championship.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/08/2014 18:39:19    1640149

In fairness Donegalman, I should have clarified I was referring to the non Donegal posters.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 21/08/2014 19:06:41    1640162

realman2

They will never be happy.
Even if Dublin were made play all our games outside Croke Park, and got No funding but relied on private sponsorship deals, there would be an outcry of unfairness.
Take note of the counties these posters are from... says it all imo.

Sorry if moaning about Dublin having a playing population advantage, a funding advantage, a home advantage advantage & a sponsorship funding advantage means we are all cry babies. You clearly know better that all these advantages add up to having no advantage.

-----
Yes but just what did you do with the €1.35m that you spent in 2012? Almost €10 per head of population. €100k per year rolling in from Brady's Ham also. Yet still €700K from Dublin gate receipts bails you out. Stick to the horseys. Leave contact sports to the big boys.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/08/2014 19:09:59    1640164

realman2

Dublin should not have to share any of their sponsorship income. They earned it, they keep it. They are the biggest county and will have the biggest deal. But the massive funding advantage they got from central council is a problem. The GAA pumped money into the capital which has done its job brilliantly but will lead and is already led to a uncompetitive championship.

-----
Yes but where do you think the GAA got this money from in the first place? It isn't from the massive crowds in Newbridge anyway. But yes let's take your idea but let's apply it across the board. That's fair isn't it? So counties should be funded through their sponsors only. Dublin receive 800K per year from AIG, Kildare receive 100K per year from Brady's Ham. So Kildare would need 7 years worth of sponsorship to be bailed out the next time. That's a lot of ham!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/08/2014 19:17:51    1640169

Gavvygavgav

Why would Dublin bother working to get sponsorship in then? why go to all that hard work? think people, for crying out loud.

We are thinking. Dublin have achieved their status of wealth through financial aid from Bertie's government, allied to enormous financial aid from the GAA. Dublin are now in a position to fund themselves from private sponsorship. The money previously allocated to Dublin by the GAA should be used to develop Gaelic Games in other parts of the country.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 21/08/2014 19:20:48    1640171

Fionn

In fairness Donegalman, I should have clarified I was referring to the non Donegal posters.

I did kinda cop that Fionn, but just wanted to join in the spirit of the thread. Lots of frustrated folk jump in on threads that takes their fancy, and move on to the next one as soon as it emerges. No doubt there will be something very soon, such as a manager should only be from their own county, or a player should not be allowed to be seen in a bookies etc etc. who knows. Amusing though.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/08/2014 19:49:03    1640183

Same old posters wilth ill informed comments and negativity towards the county that pays the bills.

Sure Dublin should get no funding, return to mediocrity and the GAA will return to the good ol'days.

JASUS, take their money, but don't let them be successful! Down with that sort of thing.

Sure still waiting on a certain poster to explain how Mayo will bridge the Leitrim gap in advantages. Seems to disappear every time he's asked though.

Typical!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 21/08/2014 20:09:42    1640193

Dublin's money isn't going to pay for bar licences and helicopters and houses for players. Enough said.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/08/2014 20:24:25    1640197

Muck

The culchies filth the place up!

Costs a fortune to clean up after yiz...

Don't get me started on your kids that head to Dublin to be educated

Every Wed, Thur, Fri, Sat night

Fighting, puking, pissing, littering, filling A&E's, front line services stretched, massive clean up costs, anti-social crime, damage to property,

You culchies flee the twitching net curatins, head to Dublin wreck the place

Costing the state 100's of millions a year

A few days a year in Croke Park doesn't make up for that...

Listen man you know it

Dublin GAA is bigger than Jesus

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/08/2014 20:30:13    1640199

oh yes jimbo dubs dont contribute to these problems at all..what about the various 'useful' dubs we see in o connell street almost daily..and its more than drink their on..city is full of them

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/08/2014 20:48:15    1640206

yes dublin gaa is so big that they can only sell out croke park once a year and they need a county like donegal to aid them in doing so...not much of a brand if you ask me

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/08/2014 20:57:58    1640214

bryanadams

Gavvygavgav

We are thinking. Dublin have achieved their status of wealth through financial aid from Bertie's government, allied to enormous financial aid from the GAA. Dublin are now in a position to fund themselves from private sponsorship. The money previously allocated to Dublin by the GAA should be used to develop Gaelic Games in other parts of the country.

----
Yes but give us these figures?

- financial aid from Bertie - how much did Dublin get?
- 'Enormous' financial aid from the GAA - you obviously have the figures as you can size it. How much did they get?
- private sponsorship. This is an easy one for you. I'll give you a hint, it's public knowledge! Now tell us what is the figure

Now the real question, again, what did Kildare do with the proportionately enormous figure of 1.35m that they spent in 2012? Single code county with a population of 140K approx. That's a staggering figure and still 700K bailout required from the Dubs' gate receipts.

You're clearly not thinking buddy.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/08/2014 20:58:38    1640215

21/08/2014 15:42:16
Jackeen

Fielder I'm not disputing the advantage dublin have in croke park at all it is an advantage. I'm questioning the amount of posters especially recently that throw about statements about funding and resources without having a notion of what they are talking about

Fair enough I get were you're coming from. This goes on in these forums all the time from posters from all counties

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 21/08/2014 21:08:46    1640219

TheMaster has been schooled on here by myself, Snuffy, Liam, Jimbo, Aido, Fionn and of course Jackeen (sorry if I left anyone out)

He has never won an argument against the Dublin posters as we tend to back up our points and arguments with relevant facts and info that help develop a discussion.

"The good of the GAA"

He says that now and then, I don't get that. Most of his thoughts on Dublin aren't beneficial for the good of Dublin GAA, and when presented reasons why, and why his thoughts are detrimental to the association in general he just tells people they are wrong, repeats himself and eventually runs.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 21/08/2014 21:15:29    1640223

I think it's a wonderful brand myself. Horses for courses though!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/08/2014 21:36:51    1640237

the brand had more reliable supporters in the 00s it seems...and before people go on about the recession and all..its not much of an expense to go to dublin games for dubs when compared with somebody from the west with all the travel involved and so on..jayp i never see you talking about much besides dublin...fanboy yeah?..you and jimbo would probably be the best in terms of most unobjective posters

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/08/2014 21:43:10    1640245