Jim McG compares Dublin to Chelsea

But as it stands now bryanadams how are the dunds decided do you know?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/08/2014 14:33:10    1639966

the dubs would want to make their minds up..one minute its cork have more players and clubs than them and their population isnt that much after all yet the next minute they are talking about how they need all this special funding due to their massive gaa population?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/08/2014 14:42:51    1639974

This kind of talk is really annoying and while JMcG might think he is playing mind games its hurting the GAA as its allowing ignorance to flourish - as evident by some of the posters here. The GAA for years was losing the battle in Dublin, a battle not to any other sport but to no sport at all. It is happening in towns all over the country but Dublin with a third of the population was the biggest problem. There seems to be the view that just because Dublin have won two All Irelands that this issue has gone away - far from it. Winning All Irelands may have a short term impact however its never going to instill in a child a love for the game - to do that you need a whole lot more and its to that that the money goes.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 21/08/2014 14:45:08    1639976

Jimbodub, couldnt have put it better myself !!!!! just wish the begrudgers would get the hell of this forum. The Dubs have kept the GAA alive in particular during times of recession and we as a county owe nothing to our country cousins. Get over it for once and for all and start playn a new record.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 21/08/2014 14:53:19    1639986

I'd agree Zinny. Fair dues for the coaching put into Dublin. It's a standard and level all should aspire to get more youngsters involved to build up that connection with clubs and love of our games. It's interesting to see an article today that some finance committee want to pull funding for that level of coaching. Is this a response to all the whining about the numbers of coaches compared to other counties. Instead of increasing the number of GPOs elsewhere sure we'll just decrease Dublin's to stop the complaints - that will solve it! Always find any reference to the likes of Chelsea or Man Utd a cheap shot when it's not a fair comparison with our games.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 226 - 21/08/2014 14:59:15    1639993

realman2

1639955 How else are funds decided if it's not on the basis of population? Genuine question bryanadams? Do you know?

I would like less money for games development and more money for upgraded stadiums, apart from croke park any stadium i've been to (and that's about 20 stadiums) is a dump.

Donegal has a population of 161,000 and 40 Clubs.(recent AllIreland winners and 3 semifinal appearances in last 4 years . Ye have a population of 210,000 and 50 clubs(a close game with Monaghan is your success story) you would rather put money into stadiums than games development , that's the kind of thinking that has ye where ye are.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/08/2014 15:00:00    1639995

Jackeen
How else are funds decided if it's not on the basis of population? Genuine question bryanadams? Do you know?

Genuine answer, give it to those that actually need it. Genuine question, doesn't that sound reasonable? Considering what Dublin generate on their own, it beggars belief that they even got funded in the first place. Giving out money on population alone will just make the good teams better and poor ones weaker, exactly what the gaa doesn't need. They would actually be better off giving nothing out than doing that.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/08/2014 15:03:14    1640000

Things that have gone out of control as a result of this thread

The Croke park home advantage. Zero argument here as far as I am concerned. Leinster council voted overwhelmingly to keep games in croke park including most delegates from leinster counties. Correct?

Plus it would not make a tiny bit of difference if Dublin were to go on the road at the moment anyway.
The only thing that will change this is if the munster council kicks up a stink about it, as they must have done in 1983 when dublin won in cork in the semi final, and in thurles, when the game v kerry was staged there in 2001. I would expect pairc ui caoimh to be used seeing as another 70 million of our money is going into it, so expect dublin to visit there within 5 championship years....

Croke park cost a hell of a lot of our money, and it should be used. I cant see the sense in Dublin going to ballybofey on sunday week when we would all be complaining about not getting tickets (well not me anyway as I am a season ticket holder). But u know what I mean. Home advantage is a blind alley when there is a much bigger issue at stake. To conclude, expect nothing to change. I dont mean that in a sense of begrudery, but in the sense that we are looking at issues that include major sponsorships, that include tv stations now. It was always going to happen inevitibly. It so happens it was dublin that got the ball roling, it could just have easily have been tyrone or kerry who upped the anti. But history will look back on the benchmark being set with dublin. It is the field who must rise now and get with the program. There will be swings and roundabouts to success, and there is nothing wrong with capitalism to lift all standards in this instance.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/08/2014 15:06:18    1640004

21/08/2014 08:33:45
Jackeen

See that's the problem Fielder. People make all these assumptions based on hear say or what they think is true. Very few people have the actual facts about what goes on in any county team setup.

Whether I know what the facts are or not, the reality is that the dublin football team is getting an unfair advantage of playing every game in croke park. Not their fault, I get you. But what about teams from outside of leinster who get to play in croke park. Whos going to be more used to the surroundings? Dubs of course. Dont worry I'll contact the leinster county boards...

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 21/08/2014 15:07:48    1640005

realman2

1639955 How else are funds decided if it's not on the basis of population? Genuine question bryanadams? Do you know?

I would like less money for games development and more money for upgraded stadiums, apart from croke park any stadium i've been to (and that's about 20 stadiums) is a dump.

Donegal has a population of 161,000 and 40 Clubs.(recent AllIreland winners and 3 semifinal appearances in last 4 years . Ye have a population of 210,000 and 50 clubs(a close game with Monaghan is your success story) you would rather put money into stadiums than games development , that's the kind of thinking that has ye where ye are.

I'd like to be able to do both development and build better stadiums but stadiums around the country defo need modernisation. I know Dubs aren't aware of this since they play every game in Croker but trust me its true. I'm mot saying this from a kildare perspective, see i think about the game nationally, something that dubs on this forum clearly don't.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/08/2014 15:25:22    1640016

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=222830

There ya go lads, they must be listening to ye, happier now? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 21/08/2014 15:33:45    1640021

Jackeen
How else are funds decided if it's not on the basis of population? Genuine question bryanadams? Do you know?

Genuine answer, give it to those that actually need it. Genuine question, doesn't that sound reasonable? Considering what Dublin generate on their own, it beggars belief that they even got funded in the first place. Giving out money on population alone will just make the good teams better and poor ones weaker, exactly what the gaa doesn't need. They would actually be better off giving nothing out than doing that.

Good man Master, you disappear off one thread and now you are jumping on this one no doubt you will repeat word for word everything from that thread on here. Zzzzzzzzz

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 21/08/2014 15:34:47    1640023

fabio8
County: USA

1639974 the dubs would want to make their minds up..one minute its cork have more players and clubs than them and their population isnt that much after all yet the next minute they are talking about how they need all this special funding due to their massive gaa population?

Yep if the question is money distribution ?
We will defend our side and use any evidence possible to argue that we need the finances. Because of Population ,playing numbers etc.(which is true)
All the culchies will defend their argument that the Dubs should be brought down a peg or two and finances taken off them , they will argue we don't have as much population or playing numbers as we calim and don't need the money, because of sponsorship deals.
If the question is success.
We will argue we havnt got the playing numbers people think and population is irrelevant its down to the players and coaching (which is true).
The Culchies will argue we have huge population numbers and massive amount of clubs so our success is tainted.

Jaysus its going to be hard to find some middle ground here lads :-)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/08/2014 15:41:22    1640035

Fielder I'm not disputing the advantage dublin have in croke park at all it is an advantage. I'm questioning the amount of posters especially recently that throw about statements about funding and resources without having a notion of what they are talking about.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/08/2014 15:42:16    1640037

realdub

Looks like they jumped the gun, that meeting was last saturday, and mcguinness interview was on monday. Maybe McGuinness was reflecting on an existing consensus but in any event, he never called for funding to be stopped in Dublin.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/08/2014 16:01:49    1640047

i think the point being made is though that largely due to the large sponsorship dublin have brought in there isnt any major need for special funding which they are currently receiving..i mean funding in relation to getting as much or more than provinces which is quite silly when you take into account the money from sponsorship they have received...attacking other peoples counties when this point is raised doesnt contribute anything to the debate

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/08/2014 16:07:43    1640052

realdub

They will never be happy.
Even if Dublin were made play all our games outside Croke Park, and got No funding but relied on private sponsorship deals, there would be an outcry of unfairness.
Take note of the counties these posters are from... says it all imo.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 21/08/2014 16:12:25    1640058

Just read the last few pages on this and it's making my blood boil. There is a real parochial anti-capital begrudgery shining through when we should be shouting with joy that the city has been saved for Cumann Lúthchleas Gael from the voluntary work of thousands of Dubs out there.
Please God we will see Liam McCarthy go to the capital, if not before the end of the decade, then soon. (Even a minor or U21 title would be very welcome).
However, what really drives me nuts is a poster making an insinuation that the footballers of Áth Cliath are "professional"- and then ignoring the issue when people correctly try to make him back it up with any evidence.

Real big man there.

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 21/08/2014 16:12:53    1640059

They will never be happy.
Even if Dublin were made play all our games outside Croke Park, and got No funding but relied on private sponsorship deals, there would be an outcry of unfairness.
Take note of the counties these posters are from... says it all imo.

Sorry if moaning about Dublin having a playing population advantage, a funding advantage, a home advantage advantage & a sponsorship funding advantage means we are all cry babies. You clearly know better that all these advantages add up to having no advantage.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/08/2014 16:44:30    1640085

fabio8
County: USA

1640052 i think the point being made is though that largely due to the large sponsorship dublin have brought in there isnt any major need for special funding which they are currently receiving..i mean funding in relation to getting as much or more than provinces which is quite silly when you take into account the money from sponsorship they have received...attacking other peoples counties when this point is raised doesnt contribute anything to the debate

Well said sir.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 21/08/2014 16:53:32    1640092