Your Counties/Clubs Worst Defeat

They did rcarragh!

It was Leinster semi final when Kildare ran Wex close. Wexford beat the Cats in final and played Cork. Drew with them and then replay in Pairc Ui caoimh?

Memory fading. Kildare had decent hurling team those days but was fkn disaster for us as had big expectations. Nothing changes perhaps :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/08/2014 15:04:52    1636862

If there are any Armagh men out there which one is worse? '04 or '05? I would have thought 2004 because as far as I could see Armagh were the best side in the country. But 2005 has had to be painful as well. That late free from Canavan in a semi final

Both of them hurt a lot. I look back on 2004 with regret, no disrespect to Fermanagh but we should have beaten them that day and we would have beaten Mayo to get to another All Ireland final. But 2005 hurt more, the team give everything that year and to lose to a last minute free kick to your arch-rivals after throwing away a 2 point lead was hard to take. At least in 2004 we had the consolation of watching Mayo beat Tyrone afterwards ;).

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 14/08/2014 15:43:57    1636880

Armagh 2010 in Crossmaglen. We were literally laughed out of the place. Was definitely a case of the darkest hour coming before the dawn.

Makes last weekends victory very sweet and the last 4 years are just an amazing success when placed in this context.

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 14/08/2014 15:47:35    1636883

hmmm....where to begin...well the worst game I have ever been at was last years match against Monaghan. Horrible stuff, beautiful weather and great pitch was just ruined by two teams who couldn't pass, score or move. Monaghan even had a man sent off and Antrim still kept one forward in the attacking half and scored something ridiculous like 0-6 over 70 minutes....at least I got a sun tan that day!!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 14/08/2014 16:31:02    1636907

Meath 91
Donegal 92
Derry 93
Down 94
Armagh 02
Mayo 06
Tyrone 08
Kerry 09
Cork 10
Kickhams losing in 13 was painful

The best thing about losing these games

Is that it made 1995, 2011, and 2013 all the more sweeter

2011 will always be a special moment

The sheer emotion unleashed at the final whistle was something I'll never experiene again

People went ape poo. A very special day, truly amazing.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 14/08/2014 20:08:45    1637001

And don't forget jimbodub, losing to Kildare in the 2000 Leinster Final replay when the Dubs werer 6 points up at half time and ye were rocked with two early second half goals that ye never recovered from. An early Earley strike that turned the game on its head.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 14/08/2014 20:32:05    1637009

Monaghan's 2007 All-Ireland QF defeat to Kerry. Physically ill for a couple of days and couldn't watch a match for weeks after. Was a v good Kerry team and would've really fancied our chances against that Dublin team in the Semi. Cork would've beaten us in the final however. So many what-ifs. 2013 QF defeat to Tyrone also full of what-ifs, last Sat not so much !!!!

PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 14/08/2014 20:48:54    1637014

jimbo, that's a fair few matches any reason for not including the 2007 Semi, you ran us pretty close that day until Cluxtan had a brain-fart and dropped ball right into Declan's hands.

Same question for 2004 against us. Did that come as no surprise or were ye expecting Dublin to get show on road after Westmeath defeat?? Poor Tommy Lyons, he got some awful heckling leaving pitch that day I recall. Dubs around me I was talking to couldn't wait for him to step down.

Pearsebro, if there was any game over that decade we rode our luck in it was that game in 2007, one of those days when better team on the day lost I'd consider. If I was a neutral I'd been devastated for ye.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/08/2014 21:09:30    1637026

TheHermit,

I saw '07 as disappointing but a decent show against a team I expected to win, '04 was poor enough and we got what we deserved!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 14/08/2014 21:36:06    1637044

God as a Mayo man where do i start 1992 semi v Donegal, can't remember (and don't want to) if it was 91 or 93 semi v Cork ashamed to say where i was from after both matches (u12s would have played better) but i'd have to say 1996 final v Meath both games (should have won) and 2004 and 06 final v Kerry (we were blown out of the water when we felt we were in with a great chance), 98 Connacht champ v Galway and 99 semi v Cork would be very close as well but games where i felt like running onto the pitch and kicking the Mayo team up the arse was this year in the League v Dublin and Derry both in Croke Park and chanp v Roscommon, Galway and Cork and i guarantee it will be the same v Kerry. We live in hope

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 15/08/2014 11:56:27    1637160

TheHermit

jimbo, that's a fair few matches any reason for not including the 2007 Semi, you ran us pretty close that day until Cluxtan had a brain-fart and dropped ball right into Declan's hands.

SHHHHHH!!!!!!! best ever, remember!! you'll get hunted off here for bringing something like that up!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 15/08/2014 14:38:02    1637272

Hermit, yeah '07 was a great battle, there was a lot of respect from both sides towards eachother, had great craic with Kerry lads afterwards, knew we'd witness an epic match. Perhaps it's easier to lose those ones. When Mayo beat the Dubs got beaten in '06 there was probably a good bit of disappointment towards themanner in which they let a 7pt lead go, couldn't say that about the performance in '07.

Cluxton has had more than a couple of brain-farts in his career, remember getting sent off v Armagh in 03, and Mayo earlier in the year. But he's always come back from them. Wouldn't change him in a fit.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 15/08/2014 17:17:27    1637363

Tomsmith here

For a Cavan Gaels man going for 9 in a row and to loose out in controversial circumstance, we never recovered and it impacted on our Senior County Team

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 16/08/2014 11:27:31    1637536

Portlaoise losing to Kilmurrey Ibricane in the AL club semis in 2010 will haunt my club for a long time.... a disaster from start to finish.

Laois hurlers loss to Cork when they scored 10-20 was horrific.

Laois footballers loss to Wicklow in 1986.

Baxter (Laois) - Posts: 282 - 16/08/2014 12:30:04    1637554

The worse result ever has to be the 5 minute All Ireland Hurling Final Offaly v Limerick in 1994, as a GAA fan it was heartbreaking to watch Limerick lose that game when 5 or 6 points ahead in injury time, it has taken them nearly 20 years to get to those heights again. Its a different matter when there a point or 2 in it and end up losing but that was awful for Limerick and awesome for Offaly. Hurling is still the greatest game on earth, Our Lords sport

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 16/08/2014 16:02:28    1637638

I just remembered this when talking to someone yesterday. I once saw Kildare lose to Kilkenny. In football ! Admitedly it was a Leinster Junior match so it was Kildare's Juniors v Kilkenny's seniors as it were. Worse, it was the lowest scoring game I ever saw. 0-5 to 0-4 or maybe even 0-4 to 0-3. Anyone else from Kildare out there who remembers it better ?

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 23/08/2014 21:55:19    1640991

I've never got too upset about being beat by a better team on the day. I still remember poor refereing decisions though.

Such as in the 1995 Final when Canavan's last-minute equaliser was disallowed for alleged handling on the ground which noone but the ref (who was un-sighted anyway) "saw". A replay would have been fairer to sort the thing out properly.

I also remember Kerry in the 1986 Final. We expected to be walloped (quite a few older Tyrone suporters refused to go as they were adamant
that no Tyrone team would ever beat Kerry) but against all expectations we played great stuff for 3/4 of the game and were 7 points or so up with about 20 minutes left. We couldn't believe it. Then a combination of Pat Spillane heroics and never-say-die attitude from him (he was tremendous in fairness - at times it seemed there were two of him, so many runs did he make up the right wing in the last quarter, long hair bouncing - he just refused to be beaten and he was key to Kerry winning that game - a real leader on the field) allied to some poor Tyrone defending in the last quarter let Kerry back in to win and they had the big match experience and know-how to do that - Tyrone hadn't. (Tyrone's habitual half back, the very sticky and physical Sean Donnelly from Trillick, was out injured and had been replaced by Clonoe's Kevin McCabe, an excellent pacey forward, but a man who had little interest in defending and kept running forward to join the attack, ignoring his defensive duties. Eugene McKenna's injury which meant he was taken off didn't help either. With our best midfielder out and one of our backs more intent on scoring than on defending, there was a hole in our defence in consequence and Pat took full avantage.) But had we been bate off the field from the start, I wouldn't have minded so much. Tyrone had prepared for everything apart from being in fron with 20 minutes to go! Being jeered at by Dublin gurriers afterwards didn't help either : ) I wasn't that impressed with the ref either and marvelled at the fact that he was from Cork instead of from a neutral province, though in fairness we only had ourselves to blame.

But the one that still rankles the most is the 1988 Ulster Final, Tyrone v Monaghan. We were 3 points down in stoppage time and Noel
McGinn our full back stormed upfield and stuck her in the net. Draw - or maybe win it from the next kick-out! On the way through, his jersey had been tugged, lightly. McGinn was as strong as a bull and it didn't impede him in the slightest. Despite this, the referee, a man from a neighbouring county living on the border with Tyrone and a man with a well-known spite at Tyrone all his life (he should not have been let within a mile of officiating at any game involving Tyrone), disallowed the goal and called the ball back for a Tyrone free. Which was pointed. He then immediately blew her up, Tyrone lost of course by two points, and the ref ran off the field to a chorus of boos with a wee smile on his face. Technically within his rights of course, but a shabby display of cynical begrudgery which I've never forgotten to this day.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 24/08/2014 13:38:09    1641068