Westmeath show some honour

I think the real reason for pulling them from the competition would it would save them a few euro, plus there's a full round of senior and intermediate club hurling fixed for this weekend which might have meant altering these fixtures. Pity cause our only chance of a bit of hurling success is these B competitions.

overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 230 - 14/08/2014 10:15:08    1636701

valley84
County: Westmeath

1636690 This is a disgraceful action by our county board.
Would never happen to the footballers.

Footballers getting hit too....

"Members of this year's Westmeath U21 football panel have suffered the consequences for not handing back their jerseys after being asked to do so by the county board"

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=222373

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 14/08/2014 10:20:43    1636705

It stints of.... lets not be seen to have double standards for our hurlers and footballers here lads...remember those football jerseys from way back in february?

Ironic that it makes the news this week!

Shambles of a county board.

jobdonewell (Westmeath) - Posts: 33 - 14/08/2014 11:56:24    1636761

If you steal things then you should have to pay for it.

Westmeath CB seem to have more morals and backbone than people who are supposed to be running the country.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/08/2014 12:12:57    1636767

but it's not double standards, both hurlers and footballers messed around, so both are punished.

freddy2 (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 14/08/2014 12:32:09    1636781

Well done to the Westmeath County Board for standing up to some of these young fellas.

These guys seem to have notions about themselves which are at complete variance with anything they have achieved.

To imagine that the county board can keep coming up with €1,500 for new jersies at every turnaround is ludicrous. A good clip on the ear would be more suitable for some of them!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/08/2014 12:36:07    1636785

That article is total lies. The players took the jerseys after they were knocked out against Longford, having not received any gear all year. Co. Board are some disgrace

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 14/08/2014 12:36:32    1636787

Not privy to the inner workings of the Westmeath County Board but the argument of punishing innocent players and management unfairly does not hold water for me. It takes more leadership and guts from within the set up the force the wrongdoers to the top but it seems to me (and I could be wrong) that the guilty players have been protected here. This was a disgusting act and if it were thieves who entered a dressing room while a club team were out training we'd be furious so whats the difference?

breakingball22 (Louth) - Posts: 419 - 14/08/2014 12:52:52    1636795

What Muckross said.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/08/2014 14:20:57    1636842

They didn't get jerseys so that's an excuse for breaking into the Armagh women's dressing room?

FFS.

No wonder this country is fked.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/08/2014 14:27:04    1636846

the full story isn't being told here in relation to the minor hurlers or U21.
it will come out.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 14/08/2014 15:11:07    1636864

hurlingdub

It will be excellent life lesson for them. Too many people think they can do whatever they want with no consequences. Might help them become men.

An excellent life lesson, are you having a laugh hurlingdub? You need to get out of Dublin and spend some time in a weaker county where some youngsters couldn't give a hoot about the county and only go along for the free gear and to see if there's any craic. Do you honestly think the perpetrators are the least bit bothered by this? Life lesson my eye, if they read what you posted they'd be falling around laughing at you.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 14/08/2014 20:22:12    1637005

Eh, I think you are proving my point. Personally I couldn't care less about them. Brats have been given a lesson. If they broke into my house, this would be the leas of their worries I can assure you :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/08/2014 21:00:15    1637019

Lord help us surely it's only a lesson if they feel they have suffered some consequences. You don't seem to understand that the types who did this didn't give a hoot at the time and still don't give a hoot. It's all a laugh. How have they learned a lesson?

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 14/08/2014 22:00:20    1637070

Firstly the stealing of the jerseys was wrong and the players involved have let themselves and their county down. I understand there were about 7 or 8 jerseys stolen and nothing else such as wallets or phones was taken. I believe this could have been handled discreetly in-house and all the jerseys returned. It seems Westmeath county board wanted to publicly name and shame the individuals involved but no one was willing to squeal. The county board have made a bad situation even worse by withdrawing from the competition and in the process tarred the whole squad as guilty. Talk about washing the dirty linen in public this is a PR disaster for the county as a whole. The CB have shown poor judgement on this issue and in general their handling of public relations over the last few months has been shambolic to say the least

Brendanj (Westmeath) - Posts: 67 - 15/08/2014 08:41:19    1637079

I'm told the decision to withdraw the team was taken by the team management after the PSNI & Gardaí had opened up lines inquiries on the stolen property.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 15/08/2014 15:09:24    1637288

I would sorry for the Westmeath squad, but IF ( and I say IF) its a case where all the players know who did it but dont want to "rat" on their thieving teammates then they have got what they deserve.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 16/08/2014 18:15:40    1637693