Are Dublin overrated?

Flaker, time was indeed that Cluxton was our most important player. Not anymore, not even close. Dublins most important player in 2014 is 100% Paul Flynn.
He holds it all together, he links the defence and attack, he wins kick outs, kicks points, never puts a pass wrong, takes balls from the half backs and gives it to the FF's
He is probably the best player in the country to be honest.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/08/2014 15:29:10    1636419

I'd say this Mayo team have a dietician

They spent close to €700,000 on something in 2013

The way themaster bangs on about other counties and playing the poor mouth

That he forgets about his own counties substantial investments into their team

Bit much for him to be playing the "fair play" poor mouth while his own county spends well above most counties

Fairness should start at your own door step

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 13/08/2014 15:35:34    1636424

Master says Alan Brogan and one or 2 others are Dublins only natural footballers

Paul Flynn is only a plodder with good application

This Dublin team is nothing special

I think we can finally put this lads views in the trash folder lads, what ye think :)

He does it to himself!

Must be great to be from Mayo!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/08/2014 15:49:25    1636437

Clondalkin, how can every football county have way more professional coaches than everyone else in the country? How can they all have way more funds than everyone else? Nonsense man.

flaker, that is the thing, this isn't the same as just a cyclical change that you usually see in team sport. This is something different. They are dominating at all levels of the game. If it were what you were saying then other teams would dominate at different age groups - following the format that you are referring to. i.e. Dublin might have a good gang of minors this year, meath in 2 years time, etc etc. That isn't the case. Dublin are either winning or competing in every final at every grade, every year. That is a domination not a cycle.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 15:54:50    1636439

Jackeen
Tell me themaster, what are Dublin doing that Mayo aren't or kerry or any of the other top 6?

Well start off with the number of full time coaches compared to the other counties. So straight away you have a vastly superior level of training going on throughout the county at all levels. Then you have the facilities and of course the financial backing which ensures the best of everything in everything they do. Then of course, they are based in the same place for training, have a monstrous pick, play every game at home and are in front of a huge partisan crowd. Pretty significant. I read recently that each Dublin player gets a weekly delivery of the food they are to eat in that week. I mean come on. You can see the results in the likes of mcmanaman, flynn, O'Gara, mcauley, in fact the whole lot of them. They wouldn't be particularly classy footballers, bar alan brogan and one or two more, but you can see their physical attributes are superior. All those guys were good intercounty players who kept improving over time. That is just preparation. Now of course hard work comes into it, but if the guys in Kerry had the same opportunity to put in that work for a sustained period like that, while nobody else could, the reality is Dublin (and mayo) probably wouldn't get near them.
_________
Well, well, well Master. I've read some funny posts in here but that takes the proverbial bikkie- no pun intended!!! You heard it here first folks:.it's all down to the weeklyfood parcels. Yep, them there food parcels are a part of reason why Dublin have enjoyed such success.
When are some people going to actually read what they have written and see it for the bull that it is? You uncritically buy into the myth that Kerry somehow breed natural footballers. It's in the air, or the grass, or in the water they drink. Hey, I bet if a geneticist was to analyze the blood of Kerry people that he'd find that they all have a Gaelic football gene written into their DNA. You say Alan Brogan is the exception in the Dublin set-up. Let me guess why... Yep, I got it: his Mam hails from . . . you guessed it…KERRY. You have it all figured out. Listen Master, that is self-defeating nonsense and by buying into it you are more or less excusing yourself for being beaten in advance. A guy called Jacques Derrida wrote a piece called The Myth of Origins. You ought to check it out.
Dublin have always enjoyed some of the advantages you referred to and many Dublin teams trained very hard but it didn't bring them success.
WEll Master, I know someone who is very familiar with the Kerry set up and let me tell you that they have great facilities, wonderful coaching (sure how could it be any other way with all those 'natural footballers' available), and quite a number of their squad even get nice Audis etc .to drive around in. They are regarded as gods in their native county.

If you are trying to tell me that Dublin lacks seriously talented footballers your judgement is, putting it politely, skewed, and you know little about football. Paul Flynn, whom you cite as an example of a player who is not 'classy' is deemed by many to be an exceptional player in today's game as are Connolly, Cluxton, MacCaffrey, Fitzsimmons etc. As far as I know, none of their parents are from Kerry.
I am probably wasting my time arguing with you and I'm sure you'll be able to tell me that Kevin MacMac's great pick up and pass to MacCauley for the goal against Meath was all to do with some ingredient to be found in those magical food parcels.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 13/08/2014 15:58:16    1636443

Are weights in the best facility in the world ever not the same as those found in any other facility? Is food eaten by this dublin team different to the food eaten by any other team? I mean protein is protein. ALL top intercounty teams would be given diet sheets to follow. What sustained period are you talking about? I'm gonna have to stop reading any posts about population. It is what it is. Mayo have a bigger pick than leitrim, cork a bigger pick than limerick etc. That's life. In the history of the GAA its never been an issue. I genuinely would love somebody in the know for all top 6 teams to lay out in chart form just how much of an advantage all our squillions are. How much was spent on each team etc.

My gripe with you and every other poster that reverts to perceived advantages that dublin have (croke park is an advantage btw) is that you dismiss that these lads work as hard as any other county team and they are a genuinely talented team but because they are starting to see some success its all down to money which imo is bull!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/08/2014 15:59:29    1636444

Liamwalkinstown

Flaker, time was indeed that Cluxton was our most important player. Not anymore, not even close. Dublins most important player in 2014 is 100% Paul Flynn.
He holds it all together, he links the defence and attack, he wins kick outs, kicks points, never puts a pass wrong, takes balls from the half backs and gives it to the FF's
He is probably the best player in the country to be honest.

Fair enough Liam I still think Cluxton is the most important, sure we all have our opinions.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 13/08/2014 16:00:43    1636446

HandyMoran, fair enough, keep spinning the yarn. Just so you know, it is pretty obvious.

jimbo, what is the obsession with the my county your county stuff? Dublin are spending multiples of what mayo and everyone else are spending, you know it, I know it and so does everyone else on the board. Pointing out only what got spent on the senior intercounty squad is just disingenuous. How about all those full time coaches for example? Your response Im sure will be that Dublin generated that money, and some nonsense about a begging bowl, but then, self generated or not, that shows they are spending more also, doesn't it? So they are spending more then... Point proven.

Liam, I never said that at all. Don't be so childish.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 16:05:19    1636450

Aidan O'Shea,Keith Higgins,Lee Keegan & Cillian O'Connor would be the only natural footballers for Mayo.The rest are well drilled, conditioned and wouuldnt have much football ability

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 13/08/2014 16:06:25    1636451

1636424 I'd say this Mayo team have a dietician

They spent close to €700,000 on something in 2013

The way themaster bangs on about other counties and playing the poor mouth

That he forgets about his own counties substantial investments into their team

Bit much for him to be playing the "fair play" poor mouth while his own county spends well above most counties

Fairness should start at your own door step

and look what happened to Elverys €

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 13/08/2014 16:07:30    1636453

Indeed it is great to be from Mayo Liam, in fact its fantastic

theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 13/08/2014 16:09:17    1636456

Certainly nothing to touch them in Leinster for some time now & for some time to come. The Dubs look now like they'll convert that dominance into AllIrl success - when they do, will the decision-makers wring their hands and 31 counties want them to lose like they do the KK hurlers ?

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 13/08/2014 16:15:17    1636459

handy Moran, Alan Dillon, Andy Moran, Kevin Mcloughlin , Jason Gibbons not natural footballers you must be joking

theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 13/08/2014 16:18:23    1636462

13/08/2014 12:58:49

Ah there's UM now...

Went hiding after the Monaghan game

He described the game as

Ulster footballers v Lenister runners

Well football did the talking alright...

Yes Dublin are Athletes who just so happen to also be excellent footballers

Every single one of our fowrads are accurate off both feet

Our midfielders are mobile, catch, kick, score, setup attacks as well as defend back

Our defenders are tough, accurate in the tackle, mobile, setup scores, can come forward with precession, inject pace from defense into attack and they can score from play

Many of them are also capable off both feet

Our goal keeper is the best in the business with sublime distribution and he's capable of scoring last minute AI winners

Our bench is the best in the country and contains players with all the above attributes who could at any time find themselves in the starting 15

They've won minor, U-21, Senior, Junior All Ireland medals

They have won College and Club All Ireland Medals

Ulsterman... Not sure what you'd classify as a football team

But you saw what a football team did to Monaghan.... Who you descirbed as "Ulster footballers"

Well said Jimbo, but whats the point? Certain posters are only here for one thing, and that is to get a little relief from the burning hot chips on their shoulder. Dublin never win an all Ireland because we have the best footballers its because...(insert what ever bigoted myopic opinion here)

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 13/08/2014 16:18:29    1636463

Handy Moran, how is the threat of hundreds of people in elverys got to do with this thread, just what the county needs another bitter rossie

theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 13/08/2014 16:20:25    1636467

Clondalkin, how can every football county have way more professional coaches than everyone else in the country? How can they all have way more funds than everyone else? Nonsense man.

flaker, that is the thing, this isn't the same as just a cyclical change that you usually see in team sport. This is something different. They are dominating at all levels of the game. If it were what you were saying then other teams would dominate at different age groups - following the format that you are referring to. i.e. Dublin might have a good gang of minors this year, meath in 2 years time, etc etc. That isn't the case. Dublin are either winning or competing in every final at every grade, every year. That is a domination not a cycle.

They are not dominating every age group. Who won the minor last year? Let's see who wins it this year. It's only 6 or 7 years ago that we were told they were going to dominate the hurling as well. We all heard about it, we all read about it. That hasn't happened. Sit tight Master, this won't last forever.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 13/08/2014 16:21:26    1636469

Jackeen I never said dietsheet, I said they get the food delivered to them every week. That is free food for the year to your door, for the entire squad. Also, you didn't address the main point, i.e. the huge number of full time coaches in Dublin. So that is basically the best of coaching at all grades, how can they not have better players coming through?

You say that I don't take their hard work into account. Not true actually, but anyway. I think what you don't take into account, is that the kerrys the mayos the donegals would crawl over hot coals for the opportunity to put in that same work, but they don't get them.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 16:26:44    1636473

O dear god.....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 13/08/2014 16:29:25    1636476

theshamen
Handy Moran, how is the threat of hundreds of people in elverys got to do with this thread, just what the county needs another bitter rossie

Do you see many rossies pop up around the time of last year's final, have extended knowledge of the Dublin club championship, post more on the Dublin page than the Roscommon page and only start commenting on mayo when they might be facing Dublin, not Roscommon? Me neither...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 16:31:38    1636478

There is gonna be some fun on here IF Dublin and Mayo meet in this years All Ireland Final lads/lassies.

It has started already and neither have won their semi yet...

Like I previously posted, if Mayo do win SAM - I really hope it is not us they beat in the Final...
It would be unbearable... :o)

As bad and all as the Donegal style of play & system is, losing to them would be a lesser evil.....!!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 13/08/2014 16:42:40    1636488