Are Dublin overrated?

For a Roscommon man you have a massive interest in all things Dublin handymoran. The Dublin team have all the preparation and treatment that professional athletes get for a sustained period. That isn't knocking them either, it is just an accurate observation on the level of their preparation. Thomas Clarke has made very good observations as regards the physical improvements of their lesser lights. This facetious point where you ask if they get paid is serving no purpose. People are just making correct observations about their level of preparation etc, no need to get so militant about it all the time. Why is it such a struggle to have an open and honest conversation about it? What would you rather? That we ignored it and just took turns paying homage to the all-powerful Dublin side? I don't see what some Dublin lads want from people. If we aren't telling you that you are great in every way we are deemed biased, our own county derided and ganged up on.

Also, maybe post under your actual username from now on, instead of this rather sad alter ego. The fact that you are clearly from Dublin and posting under a fake account automatically undermines any genuine point you might try to make.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 12:58:52    1636245

Very average team this Dublin side. Only going for there 3rd all Ireland in 4 years having won back to back leagues and a heap of Leinsters. Its all only happennd because they havent been tested in all that time. Not by Mayo not by Kerry not by Cork not by Donegal...

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 13/08/2014 13:22:10    1636276

Handy Moran 'You could say the same about Dublin rebuilding from 96-2010 when Kerry won 6 All Irelands'

No you can't because your not taking into account the receptive championship records of the two counties. Dublin since the 1920s have been a county that wins a couple of All Irelands once every generation of so: 1 title in 40s, 50s, 60s, 80s and 90s, 3 in 1970s and 2 in 2010s. They have never matched Kerry's consistency and to say that Kerry benefited from Dublin 'rebuilding' for a period of 14 years is a disingenuous comment. They just had a poor team by their standards for most of that time, like Kerry have had in 2012 and 2013. kerry are at the tail end of their rebuilding process and there is a lot of optimism down here that they will be the team to beat in 2015/6 and maybe they might even mature a year earlier in the next few weeks

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/08/2014 13:25:13    1636283

1636203 Naysayer in ten years time when people are talking about this era they'll say "that was Donegal's greatest ever team" and "Mayo's greatest team in 60 years" , so I think your wrong to say the standard is poor , i think your trying to take away from Dublin's achievements. And to put Dublin as a contender in the 00's is a joke , yes we'd give the odd big gun a game but we'd never win and were never serious contenders.

They might also say it is Monaghan's best ever team, Tipperary's best team in 90 years. It does not change my view that we have a little bit of a lull at the minute in terms of strong contenders.

If you had went to the bookies in the 00's you would have saw Dublin at the top or very close to the top of the list.

I believe that all things considered Dublin underachieved in a big way from the late 90's until 2011.

For me one of the major reasons for this was an inability to deal with the pressure of playing for Dublin with the massive following and massive expectation that went with it.

The current incumbents have shown that they can handle these pressures and concentrate on playing football which makes them a very formidable animal today and probably for a few years to come.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 13/08/2014 13:26:47    1636286

Ulsterman when Derry bet us in the league you told everyone on hs that no Dublin team would ever physically bully a northern team now your saying that's the reason why were winning hehe , also were not good to watch? If were not good to watch then who is? I personally think we great to watch and listening to sports shows and pod casts they all think the same as me.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/08/2014 13:29:01    1636290

Tell me themaster, what are Dublin doing that Mayo aren't or kerry or any of the other top 6?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/08/2014 13:30:08    1636294

Cluxton, Philly, Rory, James Mc, Kevin Nolan, Johnncy Cooper, Cian O'Sullivan, Connolly, The Brogans, Andrews, Mannion, Costelloe, Rock, Flynn, I could go on...
Everyone of them is a gifted talented natural footballer. The only players on the Dubs panel who are not de facto natural footballers are MDMA and EOG and they aint too bad either :)

There isnt another 15 in Ireland with as many naturally gifted starters and subs as Dublin :)

NOT ONE.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/08/2014 13:32:45    1636299

But in 00's there was two teams capable of winning Sam so now there's only one in your eyes not much difference really.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/08/2014 13:37:15    1636310

HandyMoran
County: Roscommon

12/08/2014 14:48:58

1635655 Interesting point on the whole comparison to the Kerry teams of old. If Dublin win 7 all Irelands can they be considered as good? Even if they rotate through a glut of different players in that period? That isn't really a Dublin team, but rather a win for the Dublin setup that is producing de facto professional gaa players.

are they getting paid or something?
----
Yes but what creates this de-facto professional athlete? Hard work. At what price hard work? Nothing. Every county has a setup. Some are just more setup than others. Harding working and better organised. Donegal's excellent 2012 win with a relatively threadbare squad is testament to that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2014 13:39:02    1636313

Stayed on to watch the 1st half of the Dublin game last Saturday to see how good the Dub's are. They are a serious outfit, all big strong athletes that can play football. Monaghan did well for the 1st 20 mins when they stuck to their gameplan but that went out the window after the 1st Dublin goal. Hopefully Jim will have a plan & Donegal stick to it, even if they go 4/5 pts behind.
After watching them for 35 mins last week, I don't think they are over rated, but I hope I'm wrong!!!

92dl (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 13/08/2014 13:43:27    1636318

Apologies Clondalkin that was 09 my mistake. Still the same Kerry team tha hockeyed is. We bottled it last year IMO and in 97 big time. That team in 06 beat and average Dublin team , got a nice run to the final. They didn't bottle it, they were just nowhere near the standard.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 13/08/2014 14:03:37    1636336

The Flaker they hammered a completely different Dublin team in 09 so it's not the same, our full back line was paddy Andrews Denis Bastick Alan Hubbard (Henry went off injured very early).

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/08/2014 14:09:55    1636349

A team of athletes, they say.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 13/08/2014 14:13:27    1636353

The Flaker they hammered a completely different Dublin team in 09 so it's not the same, our full back line was paddy Andrews Denis Bastick Alan Hubbard (Henry went off injured very early).

Ah now come on, the Dublin team 04-09 were average just like Mayo. The Dublin team in 08 had a different full back line to the one you named and we know what happened against Tyrone, pick any of those years it doesn't matter, both counties had average teams.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 13/08/2014 14:37:13    1636367

Some posters are really letting us culchies down in here with the claims that teams are now intimidated playing in Croke Park in front of a big Dublin crowd. In the days of old most teams wanted as many Dubs as possible in the ground as it meant there was more of them to sicken with the final score!
This Dublin team is outstanding and like any sporting success it is all due to hardwork and a bit of luck (the luck being getting as good a bunch as this at the one time). I have never seen a footballer improve as much in such a short time as EOG - he was not great starting out but clearly has worked very very hard on his game and is now a real threat. If more counties took notice of this and put their efforts into developing players skills rather than hoping that some dreadful new tactical innovation from a new manager will get them success then there would be a lot more teams who could put it up to Dublin. This Dublin team wont be beaten many times until we start seeing the retirements of men like the Brogans and Cluxton, until then only Kerry or Mayo can hope to overcome them in my opinion.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 13/08/2014 14:45:07    1636375

I normally don't bother with threads that have no possibility of a definitive answer until some point in the future (i.e. after the semi-final or final) but have looked at some of the posts I want to say that the level of hype surrounding Dublin is unbelievable and Kerry/Mayo and Donegal must be enjoying it. No pressure on them. Dubs are playing well but the big wins don't tell all the story. Cork and Derry (especially) flattered to deceive this year and Monaghan were on their 6th game, 2nd in seven days after extra time in terrible conditions and blew up after 25 mins, while Meath failed to get out of Div 2. None of this is Dublin's fault but is definitely something to consider. Mayo ran up some impressive scores last year and it didn't do them any good in the end. So I think there are a lot of unanswered questions about Dublin this year. To those who remember back to the 70s Dublin were going to steamroll everyone forever and were the best team in the country in 1978 up until about the 20th minute of the final. Different era, different age profile for the team but the same level of hype/confidence and it came badly unstuck. One of my least pleasant childhood memories. If Dublin beat Donegal and either Mayo or Kerry then the can be given a valid rating but so far they've done nothing more than Kerry, Mayo or Donegal.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 13/08/2014 14:47:46    1636376

Jackeen
Tell me themaster, what are Dublin doing that Mayo aren't or kerry or any of the other top 6?

Well start off with the number of full time coaches compared to the other counties. So straight away you have a vastly superior level of training going on throughout the county at all levels. Then you have the facilities and of course the financial backing which ensures the best of everything in everything they do. Then of course, they are based in the same place for training, have a monstrous pick, play every game at home and are in front of a huge partisan crowd. Pretty significant. I read recently that each Dublin player gets a weekly delivery of the food they are to eat in that week. I mean come on. You can see the results in the likes of mcmanaman, flynn, O'Gara, mcauley, in fact the whole lot of them. They wouldn't be particularly classy footballers, bar alan brogan and one or two more, but you can see their physical attributes are superior. All those guys were good intercounty players who kept improving over time. That is just preparation. Now of course hard work comes into it, but if the guys in Kerry had the same opportunity to put in that work for a sustained period like that, while nobody else could, the reality is Dublin (and mayo) probably wouldn't get near them.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 14:56:50    1636386

Every top team has what you've just said the Master except we have a small county so we can all train in the same place.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/08/2014 15:07:37    1636399

Master please stop, posters on here need to get a grip instead of playing up to the notion that we can't compete. They will not dominate football for the foreseeable future. These things happen all the time, teams come and go. For all their money , strength , skill etc. their most vital player is still their keeper. Get over it lads and enjoy them for what they are, a team that play football the right way.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 13/08/2014 15:16:15    1636402

13/08/2014 12:58:52

1636245 For a Roscommon man you have a massive interest in all things Dublin handymoran. The Dublin team have all the preparation and treatment that professional athletes get for a sustained period. That isn't knocking them either, it is just an accurate observation on the level of their preparation. Thomas Clarke has made very good observations as regards the physical improvements of their lesser lights. This facetious point where you ask if they get paid is serving no purpose. People are just making correct observations about their level of preparation etc, no need to get so militant about it all the time. Why is it such a struggle to have an open and honest conversation about it? What would you rather? That we ignored it and just took turns paying homage to the all-powerful Dublin side? I don't see what some Dublin lads want from people. If we aren't telling you that you are great in every way we are deemed biased, our own county derided and ganged up on.

Also, maybe post under your actual username from now on, instead of this rather sad alter ego. The fact that you are clearly from Dublin and posting under a fake account automatically undermines any genuine point you might try to make.

Im a proud Rossie,i had the proud of playing minor for the county.I played club final in dublin and my husband is a Jackeen so I enitled to follow my adopted county.I think you need to worry about your counties troubles than continously talking about the Dubs.

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 13/08/2014 15:23:19    1636406