Are Dublin overrated?

A compliment from Snuff!

It only took 13,000 posts

;) haha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 20:20:34    1635966

Ha ha Jackeen, the only part of me that's on fire are my ears, listening to all this crap regarding Dublin :D

Why can't they just be patient, we will lose someday in the near future, believe culchies, believe!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 20:26:26    1635974

It's a great Kerry team jacko_whacko, it'd be some game though, would have loved seen it played out!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 20:47:57    1635985

Are Dublin Overrated? Yes they are at this stage of the season

Why, because they have not played anything yet, they won a weak province and beat a very tired Monaghan team.... If they do progress and win the AI then I'd give them the credit you lads are all banging on about but until that happens ill say nothing.......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 12/08/2014 20:53:09    1635990

Jackos_Wacko

Are Dublin overrated? In my opinion yes they are.
Are they are great team? Yes they are 2 all Irelands in 3 years speaks for itself. However like a lot of posters have said Dublin have speed, power and strength in abundance but certain players do lack skill and make up for it with athleticism.

I think the Kerry team from 04-09 are a different class compared to the current Dublin team never mind the team from 70/80s.
Anyone willing to say who they think would win there match ups here and this is the kerry team from 06:
Marc O Sé vs Bernard Brogan
Mike McCarthy vs Eoghan O Gara
Tom O Sullivan vs Alan Brogan
Tomas O Sé vs Diarmuid Connelly
Seamus Moynihan vs Kevin Mac
Aidan O Mahoney vs Paul Flynn
Darragh O Sé vs MDMA
Tommy Griffin vs Cian O Sullivan
Paul Galvin vs James McCarthy
Declan O Sullivan vs Johnny Cooper
Sean O Sullivan vs Nicky Devereux
Colm Cooper vs Philly Mc
Kieran Donaghy vs Rory O Carroll
M.F Russell vs Mick Fitz

Now yes Dublin look stronger in certain areas but I ask all ye who are saying Dublin would be this Kerry team to call who would win the match ups for Dublin.

----
Battle of the two forward lines IMO. With the exception of EOG on McCarthy which could go either way I would expect every one of those Dublin forwards to score off their men. Similarly for Kerry I rate MF, Cooper and O'Sullivan highly. I would expect ROC to keep Donaghy quiet as he has times before but would expects the other Kerry forwards to score off their markers. Midfield a mixed bag. O'Se and Griffin good fielders but would not live with the pace and athleticism of MDMA and Cian IMO. I would call those two teams even. Two very good sides in fairness. Cluxton being the greatest keeper in living memory though would swing the match-ups in Dublin's favour :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/08/2014 20:57:24    1635992

I personally felt Meath would give Dublin a run for their money and I thought Monaghan would fare better than they did. So up until now they have probably been under rated by me. But I wouldn't be Dublin's biggest fan. I still like to think Donegal or the winners of Kerry and Mayo are capable of beating them too.

This Dublin team are probably assured of greatness already. But I would be putting them in the same bracket as Meath 96/99, Down 91/94 and Galway 98/01. I would say they would need another All-Ireland or two to join the Kerry and Tyrone teams of the noughties and probably complete domination for the next few years to be ranked alongside Kerry in the seventies. But their legacy as a great team is pretty much guaranteed even now I would say.

As for the here and now, they are on a fair run of form since half-time in the League semi-final. The games have got bigger since but Dublin have improved as each game has come along. There's still bigger to come. So that's a question mark too. The hardest games are yet to come. If they were to lose too, it wouldn't be the first time the form book has been turned upside down.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 12/08/2014 20:59:05    1635995

DUBLIN WILL FALL THIS YEAR AND THATS WHEN THEY WILL KNOW KERRY OWN THEM AND ALWAYS HAVE,36 ALL IRELANDS

colm860 (Kerry) - Posts: 75 - 12/08/2014 21:08:28    1636005

I genuinely can't see Donegal beating this Dublin team in a few weeks, unless JMG has some major trick up his sleeve, but my guess is Gavin will be ready and well able to adjust.

As far as Kerry and Mayo, which ever one makes the final will seriously have to up their game, and hope Dublin tire. I wish I had as_ky confidence but alas I do not. 2015 could well be Kerry's year though. . . fingers crossed!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 12/08/2014 21:31:43    1636024

Ok, just to sum the kerry team of the noughties this is what the dubs need to do to match them in a ten year time frame! 10 semi finals, 8 finals and five titles! Bit of a way to go yet before we can compare the dubs to them, dont mind the side of the 70's and 80's!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 12/08/2014 21:46:14    1636040

Eh why are we comparing teams at all?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/08/2014 21:51:36    1636042

no

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 12/08/2014 21:56:12    1636049

To be honest most posters here recognise that this Dublin team has a great work ethic, no showboating , a lot of players comfortable off two feet, very good at passing long balls by foot, huge hunger and improving as they go . This has got them to a semi final with the opportunity to do back to backs ,Even though yes they get more publicity They are like every other county as they have to train their asses off before and after work . At the moment they are top of the heap with huge potential and that is where it is at the moment .
Ill worry about their standing in the game compared to previous counties sides when this team finishes up, which I hope isn't for a while.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/08/2014 21:57:45    1636051

Jackos_Wacko

Marc O Sé vs Bernard Brogan
Mike McCarthy vs Eoghan O Gara
Tom O Sullivan vs Alan Brogan
Tomas O Sé vs Diarmuid Connelly
Seamus Moynihan vs Kevin Mac
Aidan O Mahoney vs Paul Flynn
Darragh O Sé vs MDMA
Tommy Griffin vs Cian O Sullivan
Paul Galvin vs James McCarthy
Declan O Sullivan vs Johnny Cooper
Sean O Sullivan vs Nicky Devereux
Colm Cooper vs Philly Mc
Kieran Donaghy vs Rory O Carroll
M.F Russell vs Mick Fitz

Interesting list of players there. That would be some match all right.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 12/08/2014 22:00:51    1636055

Well well well. That was fun:).
Let me clarify. Spillane would not make it onto bench of this team as he would be totally out of place. The game has moved on so much that it is probably unfair to make comparison. But sure you can always try. Wacko made a list and while the Kerry names stand out. One would wonder how they'd cope with Dublin this year.
Someone said something about Meath posters saying how good dubs are. Well here is the thing I've noticed on hs lately those that have not seen Dublin play in the flesh think they can be beaten while those that have seen them say they can't. That also extends to a lot of Donegal fans who stayed on. Up until then they were saying same thing

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/08/2014 08:22:21    1636059

In a word YES! While they have been impressive so far they have not played a top team and while they are undoubtedly favourites for the AI Dublin 2014 has Kerry 2005 written all over it .......... absolutely cruised through games and then the first real challenge they faced they simply did not have that edge required, but only time will tell!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 13/08/2014 08:52:30    1636068

12/08/2014 21:51:36
Jackeen

Eh why are we comparing teams at all?

To make the kerry man feel better and to assure him they are still the best and the most natural footballers and have gods given right to declare themselves as the only 'Great' team every generation. Once we accept that the rest of use can all scramble for second best. To say this Dublin team is overrated is baffling, but its Dublin the most popular subject on Hoganstand.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 13/08/2014 09:26:55    1636082

Depends on who's doing the rating! They're not a great team yet(they won lucky all ireland in 2011
And beat Mayo by 1 point in 2013) but I fear they will be. If they win all ireland this year then there won't really be any argument.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 13/08/2014 09:32:29    1636083

TheFlaker
Hey lads, if you want to wind up the thread thrasher from our own county go ahead, but don't start insulting Mayo for the craic, there are some genuine posters on here so give it a rest.

The reality is flaker, that is the way these guys operate. Attack the guy's county. Why do you think people are comparing Kerry teams to Dublin teams on a thread in the first place? It is because the thread was started by a kerryman and the response was to attack his county. Playground stuff. You aren't allowed to have a decent debate on any topic because of it. I 100% stand over my opinions, Dublin wont garner the respect Kerry have, just like teams who needed to use the blanket defence wont either. That is just the way it is. If people don't like that, sorry but that is their problem. Id rather if my county didn't sell out, that is my opinion and I am entitled to it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 09:47:13    1636086

ben1977

Are Dublin Overrated? Yes they are at this stage of the season

Why, because they have not played anything yet, they won a weak province and beat a very tired Monaghan team.... If they do progress and win the AI then I'd give them the credit you lads are all banging on about but until that happens ill say nothing.......

So did ye Kid! So did ye!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/08/2014 09:58:55    1636090

royaldunne

1636059 Well well well. That was fun:).
Let me clarify. Spillane would not make it onto bench of this team as he would be totally out of place.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm reluctant to remove your spade just yet. So, why would Pat Spillane be totally out of place?

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 13/08/2014 10:01:43    1636092