Are Dublin overrated?

So will I actually realdub, but I am also aware that I am not the only poster from my county on the forum, and therefore cant speak for them all.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/08/2014 18:12:04    1635874

So will I actually realdub, but I am also aware that I am not the only poster from my county on the forum, and therefore cant speak for them all.

Hallelujah, I hear them say :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 18:27:03    1635883

Seeing your county Captain lifting SAM MAGUIRE!!!!.....an unbeatable feeling!!!!

Mayo have tried it many times....they just aint good enough and never will be to make it a reality!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/08/2014 18:29:38    1635884

Has anyone ever lost 8 AI finals in a row?

That's a long list of captains...

In fact has anyone ever lost 7 finals in a row.....

Sure even Jimmy White had sense to give up after 6....

Poor git.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 18:48:25    1635895

Poor ol' Jimmy 'White Flag' White,
still feel for him to this day!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 18:51:55    1635899

The bookies don't want people lumping on dublin now do they hence the short price.simple really,dublin are a brilliant team and a class apart at the mo

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 12/08/2014 18:55:39    1635902

Are Dublin overrated? No.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 12/08/2014 19:00:38    1635906

Down in kerry I think we believe this dublin team are there for the taking, while dublins open expansive football is admirable to do it against kerry and JOD this year would be just naieve! Alot of other young players in the kerry team are also totally being ignored, the likes of fionn fitz, johnny buckley and paul geaney! There is a lot of disrespect then to the likes of marc o'se, declan o'sullivan and bryan sheehan in righting of this kerry team! Kerry know the importance of keeping the best performance for september and they have been just moving through the gears so far this year! My belief is if kerry get dublin in the final kerry will have the dubs beat after 20 mins, but we will just have to wait and see!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 12/08/2014 19:08:10    1635913

I am perfectly delighted with all our all irelands and long may it continue. I couldn't care less what some fella from mayo thinks. Seriously lads its like feeding time at the zoo here lately!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/08/2014 19:08:20    1635914

Hey lads, if you want to wind up the thread thrasher from our own county go ahead, but don't start insulting Mayo for the craic, there are some genuine posters on here so give it a rest.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 12/08/2014 19:22:07    1635921

as-ky

It's after the first 20 minutes that counts

You scored 3 goals in that time last year

You ended up losing by 7

Just saying :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 19:22:54    1635922

as-ky. Surely Kerry have not forgotten last years semi-final. Kerry thought they had won last years ALL-Ireland Semi-Final after 20 minutes and in the end they lost by 7 pts. Don't tell me they are going to fall into they same trap again.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 12/08/2014 19:35:27    1635937

True enough Flaker

But unfortunately... well...

You know who you have to thank

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 19:37:54    1635939

Jimbodub,

Absolute cracker there lad!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/08/2014 19:51:21    1635945

Ah sure jimbo we wont bother letting ye score at the other end though this year ;-) I gave huge respect for eamonn fitz, he came in with a long term plan and he is implementing it well, and we are alot further down the road than we were this time last year! We have a good trainer as wel and im sure kerry are startig to fine tune themselves now for the business end! We will be a lot closer to ye in the physichal stakes this year and then it comes down to footballing ability! The brogans have it and pauk flynn who doesnt get half enough credit has it, not sure is that enough to beat kerry though!

Before I get torn into as well, I am just being a fan, supporting my county and while I may have rose tinted glasses on its alot better way to be than talking down your own county! This thread at least has fellas defending their own county for once which is a rarity in HS, except for Meath that is and to be fair to them you cant defend the undefendable and even if they could I dont think meath are that fond of defending anything from what I seen this year ;-)

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 12/08/2014 19:52:00    1635946

The Flaker.

That made me laugh. Very good. You have my sympathies. A terrible burden.

Aido.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 12/08/2014 19:52:45    1635948

TheFlaker

Hey lads, if you want to wind up the thread thrasher from our own county go ahead, but don't start insulting Mayo for the craic, there are some genuine posters on here so give it a rest.

Maybe you should direct your post towards said posters instead of 'lads', thank you!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 20:00:14    1635952

Haha realdub you're on fire lately! !!:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/08/2014 20:03:13    1635953

Not left ask for the truth? Whys that?

football_dude (Roscommon) - Posts: 34 - 12/08/2014 20:06:21    1635956

Are Dublin overrated? In my opinion yes they are.
Are they are great team? Yes they are 2 all Irelands in 3 years speaks for itself. However like a lot of posters have said Dublin have speed, power and strength in abundance but certain players do lack skill and make up for it with athleticism.

I think the Kerry team from 04-09 are a different class compared to the current Dublin team never mind the team from 70/80s.
Anyone willing to say who they think would win there match ups here and this is the kerry team from 06:
Marc O Sé vs Bernard Brogan
Mike McCarthy vs Eoghan O Gara
Tom O Sullivan vs Alan Brogan
Tomas O Sé vs Diarmuid Connelly
Seamus Moynihan vs Kevin Mac
Aidan O Mahoney vs Paul Flynn
Darragh O Sé vs MDMA
Tommy Griffin vs Cian O Sullivan
Paul Galvin vs James McCarthy
Declan O Sullivan vs Johnny Cooper
Sean O Sullivan vs Nicky Devereux
Colm Cooper vs Philly Mc
Kieran Donaghy vs Rory O Carroll
M.F Russell vs Mick Fitz

Now yes Dublin look stronger in certain areas but I ask all ye who are saying Dublin would be this Kerry team to call who would win the match ups for Dublin.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 12/08/2014 20:20:31    1635965