Are Dublin overrated?

I havn't read the report but i will in due course. I'm sure it will make interesting reading. As one statistic alone it appears in 2013 Dublin received over 1.5m in games development. Not a huge sum by any means. But how much revenue do Dublin generate for the organisation? Move down the report to club grants and we see other counties with far higher numbers than Dublin! Where did this revenue come from?

Or perhaps if the above posters got their way Dublin GAA should be given no money. Fair enough we will roll with that, all the revenue that we generate goes directly into the Dublin County Boards accounts. Now my question is, would that figure of 1.5m for games development be above or below what we could generate as a separate entity!

Also the GAA targeted Dublin Hurling. How much of the 1.5m was spent on Hurling Development? I'd imagine Hurling development costs are higher that football.

If this is what people are reduced to explain Dublin resurgence then its a lost cause i'm afraid.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 15/08/2014 20:15:43    1637438

If the GAA have pumped money in to capital hurling, I suggested recently it might have been a waste of money. A lot of capital hurlers are opting for football. Maybe hurling funds should go to other counties?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7879 - 15/08/2014 20:27:42    1637443

Excellent post Seany

It's head scrathing stuff isn't it...

Is the phrase

Bite the hand that feeds you?

Hear say guff from people devoid of fact.

Dublin generates many millions for the GAA

Probably more so now than ever before

But you don't see any blogs on that do you...

All conveniently forgotten about by people with bitter and agendas

Again, excellent post. Of course a large chunk of any central funding is going to hurling

Of course as we know the more money you pump into hurling the better your footballers get!!!!

Everyone knows that

You have to laugh... Empty vessels make the most nose.

Hear say, baseless guff spouted out with no thought put into the whole

We'll just keep doing what we're doing

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 15/08/2014 20:36:01    1637450

15/08/2014 20:27:42
legendzxix

If the GAA have pumped money in to capital hurling, I suggested recently it might have been a waste of money. A lot of capital hurlers are opting for football. Maybe hurling funds should go to other counties?

Didnt you post the same thing straight after our defeat, or are you Dory from finding Nemo in disguise ? in which case I will respond in two to three weeks when you come out with same crap again .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/08/2014 21:22:49    1637466

legendzxix

1637443 If the GAA have pumped money in to capital hurling, I suggested recently it might have been a waste of money. A lot of capital hurlers are opting for football. Maybe hurling funds should go to other counties?

You havent a clue about Dublin hurling , as Damo alluded to , you were first on after our defeat to Tipp to put the boot in. Classy.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/08/2014 21:46:45    1637485

jimbo,

You are just embarassing yourself at this stage with your Dub V The Rest fixation.

The GAA is responsible for fostering the games & culture throughout Ireland & abroad yet you reduce everything to what is good for Dublin & to hell with everyone else.

If these figures are right, then there is obviously something going on that needs explaining. There may well be a rational explanation for how Dublin gets so much more than everyone else, but quite honestly I am struggling to think what that explanation might be.

Nothing in this is a criticism of Dublin & how they handle their affairs, the questions have to be asked of those who disburse the monies.

But turning every topic into a Dublin V The Rest diatribe helps no one.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/08/2014 08:51:35    1637497

It was not a boot in at all. If ye wish to get the incorrect impression, fair enough. It was simply off the back of The Sunday Game discussion.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7879 - 16/08/2014 09:17:26    1637501

Cork got more money from GAA this year. Fact. That is based on playing numbers and clubs which is right. There are nine adult hurling divisions in Dublin and a multiple of that underage. The money WE raise spreads thinly. And we are still terrible according to Legend from the great hurling county of the Kingdom so don't see what the problem is :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/08/2014 10:46:27    1637520

Dublin are not (and hopefully won't become) as dominant in the AI championship as they are in Leinster. Dublin's position in the province came about with different teams and players, a lot of who never achieved AI success, so this is far from a new problem. The real question is how to breath new life and vigour back into Leinster? Until the Dubs got there in 2011, it had been a full decade since a Leinster side got into a decider. There's such a thing as healthy dominance, where a good team gets its just deserts in a competitive championship, and that's what I see in the AI series right now. Kerry in the 70's and 80's dominated the country like the Dubs dominate Leinster, where most teams went out to meet them beaten already, but people accepted this as natural. It wasn't healthy, but it wasn't Kerry's fault. Should it be up to the Dubs to go backwards in Leinster, or even ultimately in Ireland, to enable counties standing still to close the gap, or should we all not just concentrate on becoming more competitive in response?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/08/2014 10:52:17    1637521

I agree with you betmay. talk of "losers" and "bottlers" is nonsense.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/08/2014 11:03:11    1637527

Pericles

Dublin are not (and hopefully won't become) as dominant in the AI championship as they are in Leinster. Dublin's position in the province came about with different teams and players, a lot of who never achieved AI success, so this is far from a new problem. The real question is how to breath new life and vigour back into Leinster? Until the Dubs got there in 2011, it had been a full decade since a Leinster side got into a decider. There's such a thing as healthy dominance, where a good team gets its just deserts in a competitive championship, and that's what I see in the AI series right now. Kerry in the 70's and 80's dominated the country like the Dubs dominate Leinster, where most teams went out to meet them beaten already, but people accepted this as natural. It wasn't healthy, but it wasn't Kerry's fault. Should it be up to the Dubs to go backwards in Leinster, or even ultimately in Ireland, to enable counties standing still to close the gap, or should we all not just concentrate on becoming more competitive in response?
______
Excellenet post. The most intelligent in this whole debate.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2014 11:11:32    1637529

Pericles

______
Excellenet post. The most intelligent in this whole debate.

This is all fine and well but Dublin's average winning margin this year must be about 15 points. This is not going to encourage them to be more competitive, it's going to discouraging them from bothering at all.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 16/08/2014 13:28:04    1637572

Cork got more money from GAA this year. Fact. That is based on playing numbers and clubs which is right. There are nine adult hurling divisions in Dublin and a multiple of that underage. The money WE raise spreads thinly. And we are still terrible according to Legend from the great hurling county of the Kingdom so don't see what the problem is :-)

Fact eh?, seeing as the 2014 accounts aren't published until congress next year I don't know how you could claim it as fact.

I would be very suprised if Cork turn out to get more than Dublin this year. The reason I would be suprised is that for 2013 Cork got 1,026,149 in 2013. Dublin got 2,223,373. Dublin got 1,509,631 in games development grants. Cork got 95737.

All there in black and white.

http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/Annual_Congress_Final_Report2.pdf

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 16/08/2014 13:48:32    1637585

Dublin have been the most consistent team in the last couple of years. This can be attributed to numerous factors. They have an incredible panel . Their subs would walk onto any county team in Ireland. Financially they now have the brand name to pull in whatever mo eye they need. So its all rosy in the garden at the moment but ask yourselves this who is going to go and pay money into Croke Park to watch your county play the Dubs and know in your heart Nd soul that you are going to b hammered. You might go this year but you won't go next year. So fair play to the Dubs they deserve their success and they have worked hard for it but think of the bigger picture.

61123 (Wicklow) - Posts: 172 - 16/08/2014 14:01:20    1637589

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/cork-board-set-to-receive-biggest-slice-of-gaa-cake-again-270284.html

There you go realman. What did you do with all the money you got from the horsey set who thought they could buy an All Ireland :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/08/2014 15:06:09    1637614

whats more accurate though hurlingdub?..an article or the gaa document itself?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 16/08/2014 15:31:24    1637624

Read the fkn article. Sick of listening to this loser whinging talk. If you want to beat the Dublin footballers grow a pair :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/08/2014 16:14:47    1637647

sweet jasus is this still going on.
Can i point out something with all this crap about money and this and that and the other

Here is a stat.
Dublin won an all ireland in 1995 / 2011 / 2013 / and maybe 2014
thats potentially 4 all ireland in 19 years ????
No Hurling all ireland in same period ??

No kilkenny have 9 all ireland since 1998 isnt it sorry im too lazy to google the specifics but i think thats accurate

Now would those that are constantly giving out about dublin tell me why nothing was said about Kilkenny (kilkenny supporters im sorry but i have to use a specific i think what ye did was brilliant)

When kerry dominated the naughties no one says a word and i think the won 6 in ten years ??

Why is it just dublin ??????????

Why pick on them just cause they are on the crest of a wave in football ???
If kerry start to dominate again should we give out about them

People give out about the size and pick of dublin but no one takes into accout the draw of other sports on dublin and how are clubs work to retain the players from countless other sports

Do me a favour allow dublin to enjoy their wave it never last no team ever dominates for long and for christ sake stop these stupid threads and the money

Dublin are successful now cause of efforts made 20 years ago by fellas training under eights on a saturday morning at their local clubs

and i wish alot of the begrudgers spent more time at their clubs rather than stupid derogatory negative attacks on dublin

Shur with our development in cork i suppose were going to be next ????

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 16/08/2014 16:45:47    1637664

The Dublin panel have been blessed with natural footballers/athletes who's skills are now finely tuned thanks to many years of hard work at ground level. The next bunch might not be quite as talented, then all this will go away... until the next time.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 16/08/2014 17:18:53    1637675

As I was saying...

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 31/08/2014 17:10:59    1645258