Are Dublin overrated?

It's quite simple too see that Dublin have set a template that other counties, my own included will have too follow if they want too compete.
It's refreshing too watch fast free flowing attacking style with all players tuned in to there style of play.
I have too laugh a lot of posters go on about how professional gaa players are in their training and fitness, but when Dublin bring it too another level,
They cry fowl and say its too professional, you can't win.

hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 13/08/2014 16:46:38    1636489

Good idea hound. All you need is 1.3 million people, every game played at home, a glut of professional coaches, the best facilities around and a large fortune to spend. The dubs wont know what hit them...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 17:09:31    1636502

I miss moomoo(?). He/She would love this.
A69

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 13/08/2014 17:11:16    1636503

Can someone please tell me who all these unbelievable top class coaches we have are? Cause I've never seen or met any of them. Honestly the master the lads go out and train like every other team I promise you they don't do any more or any less. I've been to loads of Dublin training sessions to watch and it's a basic session that any club team is doing there's no big secret to it it's just right now we've very good players.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/08/2014 17:13:19    1636504

Of the four teams that are left...

Dublin are over rated. Defo. Not as good as they're being made out to be. They've played quite poor teams thus far.

Kerry are over rated too imo. I think they are the least likely to win Sam of the four remaing.

Donegal are being under rated imo. They've a great team and if they beat Dublin I couldn't see them being stopped by Mayo or Kerry.

Mayo are where everyone expected them to be. They haven't really played yet and they'll be in the final versus either Dubs or Donegal.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 13/08/2014 17:16:17    1636506

Master

....huge number of full time coaches..., glut of coaches, food delivered.

Where are you getting this from? Not disputing. Geniunely interested.
Your refusal to discuss the 700k Mayo spent on their seniors last year is glaring. I think to a lot of aspiring teams, that would make Mayo look quite professional. So calm down a bit. Pal

A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 13/08/2014 17:25:49    1636514

Can someone please tell me who all these unbelievable top class coaches we have are? Cause I've never seen or met any of them. Honestly the master the lads go out and train like every other team I promise you they don't do any more or any less. I've been to loads of Dublin training sessions to watch and it's a basic session that any club team is doing there's no big secret to it it's just right now we've very good players. [/b]

Hold on a sec now. All good county teams would train behind close doors apart from open sessions. Open sessions would always be run of the mill. Not a true intense training session. Unless you've got some pass to get to see their behind close doors training session then I don't think you see them train. Also I dont think you get to witness their video analysis meetings, dieticians meetings or weights training.

They have a backroom team of around 30 people so they obviously have a little more going on then your average club meeting.

I'm not saying they are doing a whole lot different than other teams, I agree they are the most talented team, only a fool would dispute this but let's not pretend they are training like a club team.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/08/2014 17:26:24    1636515

I think Dublin are underrated. I think they are unbeatable unless you score three more goals than them. Dublin will always get more scores than every other team because they have about 9 or 10 scoring forwards which is a record for an intercounty team I would think. Therefore if they will always outscore you the only way to win is to get more goals than them. Since this is nearly impossible they will beat everybody they play unless something almost freakish occurs.

The other reason they are underrated is that they almost always cover the handicap in games so they are by definition underrated by the market.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/08/2014 17:31:29    1636517

Master

....huge number of full time coaches..., glut of coaches, food delivered.

Where are you getting this from? Not disputing. Geniunely interested.
Your refusal to discuss the 700k Mayo spent on their seniors last year is glaring. I think to a lot of aspiring teams, that would make Mayo look quite professional. So calm down a bit. Pal

A.

Dublin's game development grants exceeded that of every other province in 2012. More years as well but I've only looked at 2012. Dublin got 1.5 million for the year in development grants. Ulster were the closest province. They got 1.2 million. Can post a link if you like?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/08/2014 17:36:42    1636523

Aido, go and research it, Im sure you can find out about what I have said. It is the truth also, genuinely. As for the 700,000. I don't engage in it because it is just an attempt to make it about mayo and take the focus off dublin. Pointing out what a team spent on their intercounty side doesn't tell a fraction of the story. Teams will have expenditures - Dublin actually spent a good bit more, but the real investment isn't in this figure, it is the full time coaches, the underage investment, etc etc, not what it cost to get the senior lads to training or give them a holiday. It is just a childish attempt to make it a slagging match, and Im not interested in that. The 700,000 figure will keep getting regurgitated, while the Dublin figure omitted. No point engaging with that sort of childish behaviour.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2014 17:39:50    1636525

HandyMoran, fair enough, keep spinning the yarn. Just so you know, it is pretty obvious.

jimbo, what is the obsession with the my county your county stuff? Dublin are spending multiples of what mayo and everyone else are spending, you know it, I know it and so does everyone else on the board. Pointing out only what got spent on the senior intercounty squad is just disingenuous.....

----
Well let's look at overall county spend in 2012

Mayo Population 130000 County spend. 1.7m. Per head of population €13 per head

Dublin Population 1,300,000. County spend 3.5m. Per head of population €2.70 per head

So much for superior financing within the county and all the money for full time coaches. Mayo clearly spending proportionately way more than Dublin and what have they to show for it? I think this blows the funding myth out of the water. Maybe Mayo should spend their money on more, let's not pretend that they have none, full-time coaches. Simples!

So now it's down to what we eat and home advantage. If you were at the AI final last year, it may have escaped your attention but Dublin fans were outnumbered. So much for the 'partisan' crowd. Another myth busted.

Sometimes you just have to put your hand up and say that some counties are better organised, are spending their money more wisely and are working harder to succeed. Dublin only realised this a few years ago and eventually got their act together. Nothing stopping other counties from following suit. It's 15 against 15 at the end of the day.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2014 17:48:59    1636532

Well let's look at overall county spend in 2012

Mayo Population 130000 County spend. 1.7m. Per head of population €13 per head

Dublin Population 1,300,000. County spend 3.5m. Per head of population €2.70 per head

So much for superior financing within the county and all the money for full time coaches. Mayo clearly spending proportionately way more than Dublin and what have they to show for it? I think this blows the funding myth out of the water. Maybe Mayo should spend their money on more, let's not pretend that they have none, full-time coaches. Simples!

So now it's down to what we eat and home advantage. If you were at the AI final last year, it may have escaped your attention but Dublin fans were outnumbered. So much for the 'partisan' crowd. Another myth busted.

Sometimes you just have to put your hand up and say that some counties are better organised, are spending their money more wisely and are working harder to succeed. Dublin only realised this a few years ago and eventually got their act together. Nothing stopping other counties from following suit. It's 15 against 15 at the end of the day.

AS per post above, Dublin got a development grant of 1.5 million in 2012. 0.3 More than any PROVINCE and twice as much as Connacht. So NO, the funding argument most certainly isn't blown out of the water.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 13/08/2014 18:01:50    1636537

Liamwalkinstown

Master says Alan Brogan and one or 2 others are Dublins only natural footballers

Paul Flynn is only a plodder with good application

This Dublin team is nothing special

I think we can finally put this lads views in the trash folder lads, what ye think :)

He does it to himself!

Must be great to be from Mayo!

Paul Flynn is an example of what can be done with the right mindset and application. In 2009 Dublin football was in the graveyard after being destroyed by Kerry in Croke Park. Eight of the players who played as a starter or a sub that day still feature today. EIGHT. Some are key players. Those like Flynn who went from a player who we questioned would make it to arguably the most complete player out there at the moment. Certainly in my opinion the best half forward. Many on the Dublin forum, myself included, wanted a better return from him as his shooting was awful, he went away and two seasons later he is bagging balls over the bar from all angles. I wonder why?

There are a lot of myths out there about the current side but one does the game a disservice if they fail to recognise the rise of players like Michael Fitzsimons, Denis Bastic, O'Gara and Michael Dara. Fitz and Bastic were Dublin junior players. Sheer work and dedication got them where they are today. Michael Dara was laughed at when he started playing, i wonder who is doing the laughing now. Other players like Cluxton, Connolly and the Brogans have simply established themselves as quality players, those who have been through bad days, had their character questioned, but made the breakthrough on the All Ireland level and proved themselves.

The Dublin house has been put in order and the younger players have added an extra burst to the side and hopefully will advance us further but talent will not get you there alone. Players like Flynn, McCarthy, MDMA, O'Sullivan, Cluxton, Connolly and O'Carroll have serious leadership and an appetite for adversity that has brought this team onto another level. You cannot buy their attitude and application to the cause that players such as them possess in any sport.

The current side is playing great stuff at the moment but greatness is a long way off. They have it all to prove. But dismissing the rise of players like Paul Flynn and MDMA as products of money and sponsorship etc is petty and frankly stupid. I suggest people do a little more research and come out behind their comfortable screens of repetition.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 13/08/2014 18:55:23    1636558

Yes but their OVERALL spend including grant was proprtionately LESS than, for example, Mayo. The figures are there in black and white. So bearing in mind the size of Dublin, amount of clubs, football and hurling structures to support, how in God's name did Dublin only spend twice that of Mayo where the population is 10% that of Dublin with a fraction of the clubs and with an almost 100% focus on one code I should imagine?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2014 18:56:46    1636559

I didn't see the thread going down this road lads, Jesus wept!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 13/08/2014 19:04:32    1636561

TheFlaker

I didn't see the thread going down this road lads, Jesus wept!

---
Yeah theMaster throws another grenade in and then runs for the hills

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2014 19:24:38    1636570

Dublin always had the big population and the games were always played in Croke Park. Why has this become so significant now. Is it because they have won two All-Irelands in the last few years?

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 13/08/2014 19:26:15    1636571

By the way Master, Dublin have won 1 minor title in the last 10 years, is that the dominance you are talking about, throw in a couple of U-21's if you want to make yourself feel better. Stop embarrassing us good man.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 13/08/2014 19:46:18    1636583

fainleog
County: Limerick

Dublin always had the big population and the games were always played in Croke Park. Why has this become so significant now. Is it because they have won two All-Irelands in the last few years?

I havn't pushed that excuse, although many have, so my best guess at an answer is:

It is significant now because teams are essentially semi-pro with very little to separate Dublin from, say Mayo/Cork/Donegal/Kerry in terms of training techniques, preparation, conditioning, etc.
So any little thing that can give a team an advantage is going to encourage debate - and playing all your games in one stadium in the city you live in where you can sleep in your own bed the night before, travel an hour (max) to the ground, and all your fans can access quickly and easily is one of these advantages.

The population thing becomes more relevant in harsh economic times as the standard of club football in a rural county inevitably declines with emigration, thus having a knock-on effect on the county team.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 13/08/2014 19:50:39    1636585

They're the best in the country at the minute. No doubt. Overrated ? Not for me

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/08/2014 20:04:31    1636592