Donegal v Dublin

So many people slate Dubs fans on this forum and everywhere else but we were, yesterday, (as we normally are) first to congratulate the opposition and extremely gracious in defeat and always quick to acknowledge the failings of our own side on the day. Well done to Doneagal, enjoy that wonderful feeling. We will be back next year stronger than ever, make no mistake bout that.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 02/09/2014 08:34:36    1646507

Congrats to Donegal, that was some win. Perhaps Donegal are on their way to matching Tyrone and winning 3 All Irelands within a couple of years of eachother. Of course they have a long way to go yet :)

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 02/09/2014 08:36:33    1646508

Still hurting like every Dub and will do for sometime but dark days make the good ones taste all the sweeter. Donegal played some fantastic stuff not just defensively but going forward they were ruthless and economical wasting almost nothing. Once you concede 3goals you have a mountain to climb and unfortunately it just wasn't Dublin's day. Blankets and Tactics will be given the credit for Donegal's victory but at the end of the day Dublin still ran up quite a large score and could easily have had two goals at least. For me Donegal won the match in their forward division not their backs.

The Dublin players and management have done us and the GAA proud & will continue to do so, perhaps now the hate campaign and frankly ludicrous anti-Dublin nonsense will stop with regard to splitting the county in two and stopping funding.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 02/09/2014 08:42:13    1646511

The Donegal players on the Dublin team debate is a bit futile because as people have mentioned it's really a horses for courses type scenario, with players being more suited to certain team strategies than others.
That said, going on Sunday's evidence.

Paddy McGrath > Mark Fitzsimons
Neil McGee > Rory O'Carroll
Karl Lacey > Johnny Cooper
Frank McGlynn > Jack McCaffrey

Murphy would get on any team he wanted.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 02/09/2014 11:41:31    1646646

I've always had the height of respect for the Dublin team and their fans, sure we'll try winding each other up before a match,but it's only a bit of craic,one of the things I love so much about Gaelic games is we sit side by side with opposing fans,and can congratulate or commiserate with each other when the match is over.
The GAA is a fantastic association,but we must be carefull the direction Croke Park is going in,it's our stadium for Gaelic games first and foremost.
If the Dubs had a sterner test in the quarter final it might have prepared them better,as JOD said after the Limerick replay,those 2 games were better than 2 months training,match fit and battle harderned counts when your in the white heat of battle.
The Dubs will be back next year with a fire in their belly,I don't think we'll ever see media hype like that for a long time.
I see the final as being 50/50. If anything I'd make Kerry slight favourites because of their tradition and JOD and Donaghy,going to be hard to cope with them,our defence was suited to the Dubs style,now if Kerry lump high ball over the blanket to Donaghy and he's laying it of to JOD it could be an interesting day.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 02/09/2014 13:13:34    1646734

First chance to post since the weekend. I am so proud of our lads and their performance on Sunday and was easily the best performance I've seen from all my time watching Donegal. When you take into context that it was an All Ireland Semi, against the reigning champions, in Dublin and without really sparking all summer I thought it was a magnificent achievement. Lots of people now questioning if Dublin are a great team but I don't. Dublin are still the fantastic team they were last week but just got nullified by a manager who had their number and had the talent to carry it out.
Special mention to the Dublin fans beside me at the game. Watched both games beside them and never met a more witty bunch in my life, great lads and very gracious in defeat. Dublin will have gained valuable lessons on Sunday which in my opinion will make them even better in 2015.
As for Donegal, we're in a final against the superpower of GAA football. Kerry teams have a belief that the will win every All Ireland final they play in and some of this team will still be hurting from 2011. It is a massive challenge now for Jim to ground the team and try to get the same level of performance for the final. It will be a much lower scoring final and Donegal won't find the same space against a very well drilled defence in Kerry. Kerry played a defensive approach in the demolition of Cork and will likely set up the same again as we have struggled with defensive teams already this year in Monaghan and Armagh.
Should be a cracker.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 02/09/2014 13:17:43    1646744

cacsmckilly

Congrats to Donegal, that was some win. Perhaps Donegal are on their way to matching Tyrone and winning 3 All Irelands within a couple of years of eachother. Of course they have a long way to go yet :)

I would settle for 2 all irelands and then a quiet spell to rebuild. Besides, prefer the route to a final through the front door, it means one or 2 extra ulsters on the way!!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/09/2014 13:25:57    1646760

Was sitting beside guys from Oliver Plunkett's, good chat before and after. Nice people and were very courteous at the end. They ,and like many others really, are a true representation of the Dublin GAA people and are the same people that traveled to Ballybofey in 2013 for the league game.

This was a fantastic game of football and one that I am glad I did not miss, how could you when it's almost a way of life. We certainly rode our luck in opening 25 minutes but thankfully we had the wherewithal to continue to play and plan for such eventualities. Lots of surprises in the game, big one for me is Eoghan O'Gara not taking on the goal chance himself. Sucker punch if it had went in. The rest of the game speaks for itself.

Dublin do have huge resource of players and will, undoubtedly, be back in 2015.

Mammoth task in the All Ireland. Nevertheless, great to be there.

DL17 (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 02/09/2014 15:19:49    1646912

waynoI

Hahahaha good stuff Wayne, Can't wait for Sunday this team will not let us down.

No they won't.

You will be proven right. We will win on Sunday. Might not be easy but we will win and thats all that matters.

Yikes! Looks like the media hype ruined dublin once again and the dublin fans got on board this time and thought they only needed to show up to beat Donegal. Pretty sad to be honest. Well done to Donegal fantastic performance

^^^^^^^^

Just after seeing this beautiful Meath.

Wow, Bet you couldnt get on to Hoganstand quick enough to slaughter us ? :)

Don't see you all year round on this thing but soon as us Dubs are beaten, You're back on to give their fans a roasting.

For the record, I believed in my team. Not the hype. I thought that my team would win. I didnt believe Donegal would beat us. I did believe we would be far too good. Not based on what the media say, You know me long enough to know i have my own mind and my own opinions, I dont need to listen to so called experts or read papers to formulate a view/opinion of my own.

Ultimately, I was wrong and Donegal shocked me. They beat us. We will take it on the chin and be gracious after the fact, As many Donegal fans on here will back me up on, We have great humility us Dubs, We can accept when we are beaten by a better side on the day.

And yea, Maybe before-hand our confidence was high, And sure why wouldnt it have been ? Defending All Ireland champions, One step away from a second final in a row, Not like we went into the game with confidence based on nothing. Life is such that shocks can happen in any sport. This was one. But every Dub on here to a man/woman has been unbelievably gracious in defeat (And Donegal fans in victory too, to be fair). Unfortunately, A few of your own county men and women (minority by the way) arent that way inclined after you are on the receiving end of a bad defeat. Sour grapes and all that

Funnily enough though, I actually thought you had gotten over your childishness, Evidently by your above post i was well wide of the mark. To come on here so soon after the Dubs are beaten to bask in our disappointment is sad and pathetic and if anything, It just shows how far the mighty Meath have fallen. Meath don't win Leinsters and All Irelands any more though, suppose its only natural you get your kicks somehow.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2014 15:36:18    1646930

I've always had the height of respect for the Dublin team and their fans, sure we'll try winding each other up before a match,but it's only a bit of craic,one of the things I love so much about Gaelic games is we sit side by side with opposing fans,and can congratulate or commiserate with each other when the match is over.
The GAA is a fantastic association,but we must be carefull the direction Croke Park is going in,it's our stadium for Gaelic games first and foremost.

Very good post :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2014 15:59:20    1646962

Wayne: wow still licking the wounds I see. You always say this to me about me not posting on here it's laughable really I'm around all year meath posters on here see my posts. I don't need to write 5 essays a day on here to be a poster and a fan of the website. Secondly I am not childish at all I was simply blown away over the past few games at your so called 'belief' you have no idea how belittling you can be to other teams and I honestly had no idea you would start this messing you did of saying we WILL beat you today to the teams you faced. I think it's sad and something I have picked up on therefore decided to say it. But you to comment back to me and call me childish and talk about me trying to get kicks out of it?? Very mature of you also pot kettle black ;)

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 02/09/2014 16:44:02    1647003

Wayne: wow still licking the wounds I see. You always say this to me about me not posting on here it's laughable really I'm around all year meath posters on here see my posts. I don't need to write 5 essays a day on here to be a poster and a fan of the website. Secondly I am not childish at all I was simply blown away over the past few games at your so called 'belief' you have no idea how belittling you can be to other teams and I honestly had no idea you would start this messing you did of saying we WILL beat you today to the teams you faced. I think it's sad and something I have picked up on therefore decided to say it. But you to comment back to me and call me childish and talk about me trying to get kicks out of it?? Very mature of you also pot kettle black ;)

Licking wounds ? Nah, Honestly we're over it. It happens. Can't win them all!! As i said since the game, Donegal where the better team, I've been congratulting them on a fantastic performance as we all have.

Believing my team will win is belittling other teams ?explain how having confidence and letting my confidence known is so offensive (belittling) to other teams if you want though. Like i said, I felt we would win, I said we would, And in the end, we didn't.. But i'm still here wishing Donegal well. Thats what its about. That's not arrogance.

Anyone who is offended by a fan of an opposition team claiming they will win a game of football against their side on fora like these are very, very insecure people.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2014 17:05:46    1647038

I have to say that it is a bit disappointing to see some of the negative stuff on HS after the weekend we have just had.

In Donegal we are on a high that no amount of Jamaican Woodbines would ever give you & can only imagine the disappointment felt by Dublin supporters. I suppose it would be a bit like how we felt after being beaten by Monaghan last year in the Ulster final.
However to a man & woman their supporters have been gracious & good humoured with not a rancorous statement to be heard either on HS or in Croke Park.
Hold your heads high lads & lassies, you will win All Irelands with this team & if ye beat us along the way ye will have taught us how to respond.

P.S. Has anyone seen DubJohn about? I'm really starting to get worried!!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/09/2014 21:08:32    1647200

i think a lot of it is due to some previous behaviour of people before the game muckross both here and the media in general...and since a return to a winning ways for the dubs in terms of all irelands has made them truly hated again

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/09/2014 21:22:31    1647216

In Donegal we are on a high that no amount of Jamaican Woodbines would ever give you & can only imagine the disappointment felt by Dublin supporters. I suppose it would be a bit like how we felt after being beaten by Monaghan last year in the Ulster final.
However to a man & woman their supporters have been gracious & good humoured with not a rancorous statement to be heard either on HS or in Croke Park.
Hold your heads high lads & lassies, you will win All Irelands with this team & if ye beat us along the way ye will have taught us how to respond.

Firstly, Let me say well done again Muckross. For Donegal fans like yourself i'm happy for you. For us, It's back to the drawing board. We simply weren;t good enough and that is the plain and simple fact. Nobody can dress it up or sugarcoat it.

As for the disappointment, Look i can only speak for myself, And not all Dubs, But for me its gone. This year is done and dusted. Ultimately like many years supporting any team in any sport, Its ended up in failure but at the end of the day, We lost to a team that on the day, where better than us. Bottom line, No complaints. No conspiracy theory, No referee to take the blame, Just ineptitude on Dublins part and excellent preparation, game plan and performance on the day from the best Donegal side ever to play the game..

For the record, We've won an all ireland with this team (don't mean to sound so pretentious). But because of that, I'm confident looking forward that in years to come, We will be competing and hopefully winning All Irelands. Sunday was your day, Next day out, It could be Kerrys. That's just the manner of sport. It wont always go your way. The quicker you accept that after a painful defeat, The better.

The very, VERY best of luck in the final, And i really hope you enjoyed what must have been a fantastic weekend for both your sides in CP, And every TirChonaill man woman and child in the North west.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2014 21:43:34    1647229

Well' well Well..!! Just getting a Chance to post on Here.

I am not going to Gloat' So with the Exception of the "Cocksure" Dub fans on Here and the Ones outside of Dublin Who wanted to see us Humiliated' I cant say enough Good about the vast majority of Dublin fans that i encountered Over the Weekend.

My Family was one of the few Donegalians Walking around O'Connell St on Saturday Evening and all the dub fans we meet' it was all friendly enough Banter.Early Sunday morning it was much the same' pre and post and during the game match. Good sett of fans and decent friendly people.

The Game itself has been well enough talked about..And needless to say it was one of the best days i ever had at Croker.
I think i was the only poster on here' that mentioned the fact about Donegal goals pre match.I knew we needed goals to beat this Dublin team and Jimmy knew it too as he mentioned after the game.I also knew we had the players and the know how to get Goals.

The two lasting memories i will have of this Game is the Once faithful Hill in Full chorus turned into a motionless picture of despondency. And The smile on Colm Mcfaddens face as he Superbly netted the 3rd Goal. It was like a massive Weight had been lifted of his Shoulders and should boost his Confidence for the final.

I will hold my hands and Say' yes i was probably the 1st poster on Here to have the opinion that he Should be dropped from the starting 15. Im know very glad that he wasnt. The chance he got and Took superbly was down to his experience and skill. If that ball had of fell to another they may possibly have rushed the chance and squandered it. Really happy for Him.

One other thing of note that made me smile "not that i needed anything else other than the result" was the banner that I saw on the newes which read:

HI SIR..!!
ID RATHER BE A CULCHIE
THAN BE A DUB.

Here' Here i Say To that.LOL.

The Dubs will be back' No Doubt about That.

But What a Manager' What A Team' What a Result..!!

Happy Times in the Hills once again. And i never was a doubter.

And I have to Say it ALoud'

UP DONEGAL' WOOHOO' .

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 03/09/2014 11:51:27    1647392

As I mentioned in two previous posts, I expected Donegal to win but was pleasantly surprised at the panache and dynamism with which they did it. I also posted an opinion before the game that my main concern was that they would put so much into it this victory that they might be unable to conjure up a repeat for the AI Final. It is now obvious, from the thought and planning put into Sunday's game that McGuinness will not allow this to happen.
As regards Dublin, any team with footballers of the calibre of Flynn, Connolly and Andrews is bound to win an All-Ireland or two in the next ten. They can, however, forget about the six-in-a-row that supposedly was in the stars while they were still designated by the clueless pundits as "unbeatable".
An added pleasure at the end of the game on Sunday was watching the three talking heads retreating from their opinions of ninety minutes earlier and trying to distance themselves from their earlier analyses with a barrage of adjectives such as "amazing" and "outstanding", while simultaneously conveying the impression that the idea of an unbeatable Dublin was a universal belief that had descended on everybody in one fell swoop.
There was, of course, no hint that they and a few dozen of their columnist and pundit colleagues had created this Unbeatable Dublin monster and, in the period since this match-up seemed possible, fanned it into an infallible tenet.
Astute pundits such as Kevin McStay and Alan Mulholland have the intelligence and ability to be able to look beyond the obvious to more intangible gauges such as the ability of a team to raise its game to suit the situation.
The rest seem incapable of this and based their lazy and shallow forecasts on such skin-deep justifications as: Dublin had won by greater margins than Donegal, had scored more heavily, had very fast backs, superior players, and a bench that was, in essence, the second best team in the land. The old canard of the 2011 semi-final was resurrected constantly, the contest egregiously called Civilization versus the Dark Ages, by some writer whose name I forget, Donegal's main attribute depicted as blanket defence and, as a gratuitous insult just before the throw-in, it was asserted that only Murphy would definitely get on the Dublin team.
Few among these opinion formers pointed out that Dublin's margins and heavy scoring were achieved against teams that were much less capable than a McGuinness-prepared Donegal would be; that while defenders such as the McGees were no Ursain Bolts, they possessed acknowledged footballing ability and would be chosen by most ahead of the touted speedsters; that six of the Donegal team were 2012 All Stars and that the final three for the 2012 Footballer of the Year were among them; that this semi-dormant ability had shown signs of a fresh awakening; that Donegal's silverware collection indicated that they knew how to win the big games; that the awful tactics displayed in the 2011 game were a one-off; that the marvellous Donegal running off-the ball of 2012 was almost certain to be resurrected for the 2014 semi-final; that the additions of McHugh and MacNiallais had made this a more effective Donegal team; and so on….
The result on Sunday has surely finished forever the collective canonization that has grown frenzied over the past month and I hope that most of these columnists and pundits find more suitable niches for their skills.
The AI Final should be a classic between two very "beatable" teams who each combine a high degree of tactical awareness with all the skills that make Gaelic football great. I have no intention of betting on this contest because I have accepted I will never again get the silly odds offered for last Sunday's game that will help greatly towards financing an unexpected Adriatic holiday. Next year, it looks as if it will be back to Bundoran for that invariably wet weekend - after a hotly contested championship during which a coronation is never mentioned.

FredOnMuckish (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 03/09/2014 18:31:11    1647636

Prosiac stuff Fred

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 03/09/2014 21:33:20    1647728

Ulysses GAA style :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/09/2014 21:49:24    1647741

Fascinating stats from the game. Donegal scored 17 from 25 attempts ( wide or saved ) 68pc the highest recorded in 3 years

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 03/09/2014 21:51:58    1647746