Donegal v Dublin

I laugh at all these retirement rumours, brogans are not going anywhere. This current dublin team have won leagues and all irelands and are a serious serous team. Sunday they were beaten on the sideline by better tactics. Lesson learnt is that you cannot play the same style for all events. Man for man dublin are a better team and will be back but by then hopefully gavin and management will have learnt from this lesson on sunday.
well to donegal and mcg who played superbly for the whole match. What surprised me was their fitness levels and i assume this was what was done on the training grounds in meath.
Hard to call the final i actually like many others dont knwo who the better team is.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 01/09/2014 10:50:21    1645815

lilywhite1

Mayo players and supporters must be doubly sick today after Donegal's win over Dublin. Psychologically they would have fancied themselves to beat Donegal in the final.

Bizarre comment. Psychologically, Mayo fancying themselves in a final is a contradiction in terms. the reality is that they were not good enough to get passed a damn good kerry side.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/09/2014 11:11:19    1645835

I would only expect Alan Brogan to be hanging up the boots now.

I think a lot of people who didn't give McGuinness the credit he deserved in the past (myself included) will have to eat a bit of humble pie today. The guy showed exactly what his team is made of in their adaptability and their belief in their game plan. I was so impressed that even when they were 5 points down and Dublin had 2 great goal chances they still stuck to their task, saw the weak spots in around the space in Dublins half and exploited it to its full potential.

After the initial shock of the result, I don't think Dublin were that bad. Tactically we didn't adapt to the game and reverted to headless chicken play for the majority of the second half. Not to get into what if's but goal chances aside, had Dublin even taken their points the game would have been far closer. They still scored 17 points and created a ton of other scoring chances against the meanest of defences out there.
Gavin has a lot to ponder over the winter about living by the sword and dying by the sword in games like that.

If only Donegal played in Leinster, we'd be all the better for it

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 01/09/2014 11:19:11    1645838

weak teams in leinster is definately not helping dublin, one bad day in the office and were out.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 01/09/2014 11:27:50    1645846

I laugh at all these retirement rumours, brogans are not going anywhere. This current dublin team have won leagues and all irelands and are a serious serous team. Sunday they were beaten on the sideline by better tactics. Lesson learnt is that you cannot play the same style for all events. Man for man dublin are a better team and will be back but by then hopefully gavin and management will have learnt from this lesson on sunday.
well to donegal and mcg who played superbly for the whole match. What surprised me was their fitness levels and i assume this was what was done on the training grounds in meath.
Hard to call the final i actually like many others dont knwo who the better team is.

Let's have none of this "man for man Dublin are a better team" lark, if that was the case Dublin would have won end of. Donegal won because unlike other teams this year, my own included, Donegal believed they could beat Dublin even when they were under pressure in the first 20-25 minutes, that belief never wavered. Donegal are mentally strong and didn't let the theory that Dublin were almost unbeatable sink into their heads, other counties did and paid the ultimate price. The footballing tactics were the real difference yesterday, it was mental belief in their own ability and the belief that Dublin were 15 mortals like them that won the game so well for Donegal, and Dublin looked suprisingly ordinary against a team with that sort of belief. I don't think many will retire from Dublin, if any, although Cluxton is pushing on bit and even though he had a poor game by his standards yesterday he will be some loss when he does hang the boots up, he is crucial to Dublin and I don't think it a coincidence that when he is off colour the rest of the team is too

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/09/2014 11:31:41    1645852

Yesterday surely ranks as one of the best days of my life. To see so many of my fellow county men, women and children down supporting the team was awesome and the players certainly made sure the trip down was one to savour.

Like a lot of posters have mentioned previously, it looked like it was going to be a long afternoon for us the way Dublin were firing over points from all distances and angles with laser like precision. But the lads stuck to the task and I thought Christy Toye's introduction gave us a great platform to build on in and around the midfield area. MacNiallais and big Neil grew into the game aswell and things started clicking into gear.

I have to say I was delighted for Colm McFadden. God knows the stick he gets, even from his own fans at times. But he has always been a confidence player and it wouldn't surprise me one bit if he went out and hit 1-5 in the final. My heart almost stopped with the amount of time he took to stick his goal but looking back on it, it was one of the coolest finishes into the Hill that you're ever likely to see!!

To the Dublin fans, bad luck. We saw last year how hard the back-to-back is to do. There are still All-Irelands in that team. I think a wee bit of a rethink on the defensive side of things might be needed but Gavin is a good manager and I'd be confident he can lead this team to future success. Another small wee bit of advice would be to tone down the uber confidence a wee bit. It's fair enough being confident in your team but some of the predictions here leading up to the match were a bit crazy. You were playing against a team who'd won an AI 2 years ago and against a manager who is rightly now regarded as one of the best ever.

Leads me on nicely to my last paragraph. Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy. Bravo! It is simply phenomenal what you've done for this county. The smiles oo everyone's faces leaving Croke Park yesterday said it all. A truly unforgettable day that will live long in the memory. Lets go now and win it!

Lastly, and this might be the most scary thing of all. Brendan Devenney was actually proven right!! Hon DV!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 01/09/2014 11:38:54    1645863

Let's have none of this "man for man Dublin are a better team" lark, if that was the case Dublin would have won end of. Donegal won because unlike other teams this year, my own included, Donegal believed they could beat Dublin even when they were under pressure in the first 20-25 minutes, that belief never wavered. Donegal are mentally strong and didn't let the theory that Dublin were almost unbeatable sink into their heads, other counties did and paid the ultimate price. The footballing tactics were the real difference yesterday, it was mental belief in their own ability and the belief that Dublin were 15 mortals like them that won the game so well for Donegal, and Dublin looked suprisingly ordinary against a team with that sort of belief. I don't think many will retire from Dublin, if any, although Cluxton is pushing on bit and even though he had a poor game by his standards yesterday he will be some loss when he does hang the boots up, he is crucial to Dublin and I don't think it a coincidence that when he is off colour the rest of the team is too

that may be your opinion but its niaeve to think self belief will win games and thta dublin believe in the hype. They were tactically on the pitch end of...

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 01/09/2014 11:43:57    1645870

Lockjaw

Well done lad, enjoy the success, very happy for you's, yesterday was a lesson for the rest on how to counter Dublin's pace, blitz attack and superb forwards. I can honestly say I totally wrote Donegal off when you's went 7-2 down so it was a great effort to comeback and win and also to stop Dublin getting goals, Jim and his players deserve huge respect for yesterday's performance, job very well done.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/09/2014 11:50:18    1645874

I really enjoyed yesterdays match, it was fascinating. I didnt see Donegal coming back into the game going 4/5 points down and I thought the flood gates would open to be fair in similar fashion to the Dublin v Monaghan show.

But Donegal showed their metal!!! That was the difference, it was a ahrd fought win and Donegal were savage. Big hits, good scores and aggression all over the park. I loved it!!

Well done Donegal....hope you go one further!

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 01/09/2014 12:18:24    1645896

that may be your opinion but its niaeve to think self belief will win games and thta dublin believe in the hype. They were tactically on the pitch end of...

Didn't say anything about Dublin believing in hype, they just couldn't respond to a team that had the belief to beat them. And belief doesn't do it all you have to play as well of course but belief carries you a long way and you must have it and that was proved yesterday

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/09/2014 12:20:19    1645899

Firstly, huge congratulations to Donegal and best of luck in the final. We got off to a superb start and the application in that opening quarter was the best I've seen yet from this Dublin side. We kicked some super scores but ultimately our lack of consistency in relation to our shot to goal ratio let us down severely. O'Gara should have gone for goal and Connolly just had to put that away. No excuses there, and no need to try to place the ball from point blank range either. Hit the ball hard and low to the corner and you will score more times than not. Had either of those chances gone in I would of expected a comfortable victory but at this level misses are punished and we got punished in spades.

Tactically we got it wrong yesterday after Donegal came into the game around the middle, the absence of a CHB was all too evident and never again do I want to see a team walk a goal into the Dublin net with this group of players. Jim must learn from that, we concede too many goals at present and a total of 6 in our last two semi finals is not sustainable. Donegal should of had 5 goals yesterday and a change of mindset is needed in our setup regarding how the concession of majors are viewed. Many said all week if we kept a clean sheet we would win, 17 points was enough of a return yet the goals allowed Donegal revert to type in a way we simply had no answer.

A lesson learned is a lesson worth experiencing and Jim must take greater stock of the opposition in future. Very little seperates the top sides as yesterday proved. This will undoubtably hurt the Dublin lads but undoubtably over 70 minutes we were soundly beaten and huge credit to Donegak for that.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 01/09/2014 12:54:45    1645939

Ha good man Muckross,i see your in fine fettle.What a team performance.This guy Jimmy yoou speak of,sure has that X factor.He is special.Sorry though,i just cant bring myself to join in singing that catchy song.That is where i draw the line!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/09/2014 13:04:37    1645950

Well done to Donegal. Honestly. Well done!!

When you are the better team and you lose a game by a point, It hurts. But when you ae soundly beaten by a better team on the day, You can quickly accept it and this is the case both last night and this afternoon.

I didn't and never have come on shouting from the rooftops that this is the best Dublin team ever, I did however claim that we WOULD win, But sport is such that any eventuality can happen on a given day, And so i wasn't shocked that we where beaten by a well oiled and hugely motivated Donegal side.

To your fans, Outstanding. Absolutely outstanding support. Created a fantastic atmosphere both inside and outside the ground yestrday. This sport honestly does make me so proud, even after defeat and under all the disappointment, To see fans of both sides and their respect to one another is something that has helped this morning.

As for Dubs fans, especially on here. Listen we will be back. No shame in losing a game against a good side like Donegal. We will take a bit of stick on here for a while but thats normal. Its just banter. Take it on the chin.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2014 13:09:09    1645955

Just a few words , no complaint with result , no complaint with ref , best team on the day won fair and square , I and realdub were some of the few that saw the threat that Donegal posed , and in earlier threads saw Donegal as a viable threat and predicted as such , at 20 or so minutes gone I felt we would win comfortably , but goal chances not taken meant game took on a new lease of life .
Had good craic with some lads from Donegal yesterday , heated words said during game and hands shook afterwards , all the best v Kerry . Will post on Dubs page feelings on performance etc .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/09/2014 13:15:09    1645958

To all the posters here who are given Kerry no chance Kerry have every
chance Dublin showed up thinking we will go through the paces and got caught
Donegal peaked yesterday to beat Dublin might not be as sharp for the final

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 01/09/2014 13:31:33    1645979

A fantastic game of football and everything good about the game was displayed. Congratulations to all Donegal supporters and best of luck in the final, lets hope for more of the same. And I must say Joe McQuillan gave a great display of control and judgement. You hardly new there was a ref at all which is one of the marks of a great game.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 01/09/2014 13:46:11    1645989

It was great to see this Dublin side put in their box yesterday, and they should be all the better for it going forward. Their reputation had vastly outgrown their net worth. When a team of serious 2012 champions like Donegal go into a semi-final game against 1/10 priced opposition, you know there's a market adjustment coming around the corner.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3446 - 01/09/2014 14:07:49    1646006

jonno I thought that McQuillan gave 1 or 2 questionable calls against us in the second half. His assistant on the Hogan Stand side also gave Dublin a line ball at one stage which was so obviously the wrong call it was unreal! Thankfully it didn't matter all that much.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 01/09/2014 14:09:37    1646009

Well done to Donegal on a fantastic performance and hard luck to Dublin. Dublin fans have watched this teamw in leinsters, leagues and all irelands and will in the not too distant future again so can't be too despondent. Donegal will be hard stop in this form but Kerry are Kerry in a final so will make for interesting viewing.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 01/09/2014 14:09:40    1646010

bisto kid

i have to say the leinster final had great football in it even though it was one sided, while ulster is pure scrap battles ,id like to adopt dublin /mayo style of football ,i wouldnt be that harsh on monaghan ,anyone that playes donegal looks bad becuase of the way donegal play ,i had to laugh at the donegal supporters when they let a big cheer at four or five donegal men taking the ball of one monaghan man as if that was great" thats crap to watch - wheres the one on one battles gone ? and whats worse this style of play is creeping outside of ulster too ,theres only one or two enjoyable games left now in the championship and theres no ulster teams in any of them. id love cavan to try and play like dublin they have set the bar to how our game should be played. dubs to win sam for the good of our game i think .

Ned_Stormcrow

ruanua

----
I agree disciplined turnover of the ball leading to counter attack must be removed from the game
Donegal must aspire to the purism of the game Cavan 2014 being a role model

Yeah. We'll see how good your disciplined turnovers are when the Dubs get at yous.

I reckon we did ok lads, what do you think???

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 01/09/2014 14:16:47    1646020