Donegal v Dublin

spmccann
County: Dublin
Its funny looking at all the schadenfreude, being expressed towards Dublin. Well be back next year and the year after. No team has managed to put together back to back AIs in the last ten years. I hope the Donegal supporters enjoy their victory well won and well deserved. Well be back next year playing exciting football , we might even sort out our mid field which where we got killed. looking at the Donegal minor team they are going to be around for a few years too. Jim Gavin is a class act and Dublin are a class team but we were beaten today by a team whos courage, tenacity and will to win was epic. Weve had a great weekend of football.

Kerry won back to back in '07-'08

09KY36 (Kerry) - Posts: 329 - 31/08/2014 18:55:20    1645437

Have to admit I never thought Donegal would outscore us today.
But 3-14 is some achievement.

Hope some Donegal people had money on their team at 10/1.

Well done again.

Best of luck in the Final.

Hope ye go on and win it now.

Enjoy.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3735 - 31/08/2014 18:59:48    1645446

Its funny looking at all the schadenfreude, being expressed towards Dublin. Well be back next year and the year after. No team has managed to put together back to back AIs in the last ten years.
I hope the Donegal supporters enjoy their victory well won and well deserved. Well be back next year playing exciting football , we might even sort out our mid field which where we got killed. looking at the Donegal minor team they are going to be around for a few years too. Jim Gavin is a class act and Dublin are a class team but we were beaten today by a team whos courage, tenacity and will to win was epic. Weve had a great weekend of football.

Pull your neck in kid because the statement highlighted is wrong - Kerry did back to back All Ireland's in 2006/2007 and that falls within the last 10 years!

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 31/08/2014 19:01:29    1645451

Delighted for Donegal. This is a great result and an even better one for this forum. All this rubbish we had to listen to, from mostly non Dublin posters. Dublin are an excellent team but not the unbeatable team some people claimed they were. Cut their funding, split them in two etc etc etc. Dublin will be back next year, and at least they will get a fair shout on here instead if the rubbish we have been listening to.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 31/08/2014 19:01:44    1645452

Its funny looking at all the schadenfreude, being expressed towards Dublin. Well be back next year and the year after. No team has managed to put together back to back AIs in the last ten years.
I hope the Donegal supporters enjoy their victory well won and well deserved. Well be back next year playing exciting football , we might even sort out our mid field which where we got killed. looking at the Donegal minor team they are going to be around for a few years too. Jim Gavin is a class act and Dublin are a class team but we were beaten today by a team whos courage, tenacity and will to win was epic. Weve had a great weekend of football.

Pull your neck in kid because the statement highlighted is wrong - Kerry did back to back All Ireland's in 2006/2007 and that falls within the last 10 years!

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 31/08/2014 19:04:17    1645458

TheFlaker

Delighted for Donegal. This is a great result and an even better one for this forum. All this rubbish we had to listen to, from mostly non Dublin posters. Dublin are an excellent team but not the unbeatable team some people claimed they were. Cut their funding, split them in two etc etc etc. Dublin will be back next year, and at least they will get a fair shout on here instead if the rubbish we have been listening to.

Fair play Flaker!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 31/08/2014 19:10:18    1645469

MesAmis

TheFlaker

Fair play Flaker!

It does work both ways though, a few dubs did get a little carried away as well!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 31/08/2014 19:14:02    1645472

@09KY36 I stand corrected. that was a class Kerry team. But it still seems to be very hard for any one team to dominate like they did in the past.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 31/08/2014 19:20:02    1645481

Again thrilled for Donegal.
Mes. How poor was Dublin though when Donegal came at them?? Big players failed to produce for dubs today cluxton O'Gara brogans were all absent when needed.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/08/2014 19:21:50    1645484

TheFlaker

They did indeed!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 31/08/2014 19:22:12    1645485

Mes. How poor was Dublin though when Donegal came at them?? Big players failed to produce for dubs today cluxton O'Gara brogans were all absent when needed.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/08/2014 19:22:16    1645486

Big well done to Donegal, the better team definitely won today. Hope they go to win the final

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 31/08/2014 19:24:34    1645489

royaldunne

We missed Ger Brennan at CHB I think.

Don't think Dublin were all that poor to be honest. One team took their goal chances whilst another team didn't. Goals win matches at the end of it all.

Not overly disappointed as we've no complaints and this team isn't going away.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 31/08/2014 19:26:44    1645493

well done Donegal Minor s, Senior s, and to Declan, and Jim and all got to do with Donegal, cant believe it, 2 week s ago i did not think we had a chance, closer to today, i thought we had a chance, and if we stopped Dublin scoring goal s, kept with them then anything could happen, with out a doupt this Dublin team will be back, and i would still see them as 1 of the top teams, it s hard to win back to back Sams, i can see Dublin storming back next year, stronger than ever.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 31/08/2014 19:32:13    1645498

Well done to both teams, a great game so proud of Donegal against a team as formidaable as Dublin.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 31/08/2014 19:44:38    1645506

Putting in Toye seemed to help Donegal alot. They were down by 4 and within about 10 minutes time Donegal were ahead by 2 at the half.

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 31/08/2014 20:38:04    1645558

Fantastic display, all required ingredients on display, spirit, belief, pride in the jersey plus great footballers, jealous of course I am. Well done Donegal, but Dubs will learn and be back next year. Great final to look forward to

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 31/08/2014 20:48:23    1645572

Will be back were going nowhere, bad day at the office but will be ok.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2014 20:58:47    1645587

Delighted - great,weekend - perfect weather today and 2 super results. Hard luck to dublin . They were awesome in first 20 mins, Flynn was outstanding. Super tactic of switching wings with a long ball meant we had a lot if bodies on the hogan side when Flynn got the ball under the Cusack. Game was over if a Dublin took either of the goal chances. We found a totally new gear after Toye came in and everyone lifted their game by huge amounts. Even at that a Dublin had 4 very sloppy wides at the 55 minute mark which would have left it tight at the end. Respect to a dublin fans gracious in defeat ( some of it maybe due to Kerry being in the final !!) . Also respect to fans on the hill who stayed to a man through the closing minutes.

Dublin will be around for a while !

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 31/08/2014 21:00:37    1645591

Ccomhgairdeachas dun na ngall, great display, your big shots stood up to be counted when they were needed, great heart and never-say-die spirit by our lads. Two of the best points I've seen in years from Dermo. Next year for the double!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 31/08/2014 21:09:16    1645602