Donegal v Dublin

After a double victory today the question has to be asked.
SHOULD DONEGAL BE SPLIT IN TWO????
:).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/08/2014 17:20:02    1645283

Couldn't see this result. This was a different Donegal then 2012, more attractive more enjoyable. Fantastic performance, Dublin looked good early on, missed 2 goal chances, Donegal poached one just before half time and Dublin folded. Great great day for all Donegal people.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 31/08/2014 17:20:14    1645284

Donegal were unbelievable well done to them.I hope they can put in a performance like that in the final.I wanted Dublin to win because of the way they play but Donegal gave a complete performance which was better than any of their performances in 2012 and probably one of teh greatest performances of the century by any team.Neil Gallagher had an unbelievable game he'll surely get Man of the match.

Dublin didn't show Donegal enough respect in the game today.After they got the second goal Dublin should have tightened up for 10 minutes and kept the scores down.The third goal was the killer as it meant Donegal were always 3 or more points in front

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 31/08/2014 17:22:57    1645292

Finsceal

Great line from Brolly at half time 'the nightmare is upon Dublin.
Victories over the dismissive arrogance that preceded today are always the best.
Typical overhyped Dubs .. Good team just nowhere near as good as they think ..

I think they are a great side, but they are Dublin so I must delight in their demise.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 31/08/2014 17:23:00    1645293

Cleatus have a safe journey back. I'm delighted for you.
Hope you go on and win the final now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/08/2014 17:23:21    1645294

sickening

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 31/08/2014 17:23:40    1645296

One in the eye for the GAA, the obscene money that the Dubs have received but it cannot buy you guts.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 31/08/2014 17:23:59    1645297

Clondalkinddub, in my opinion Jim Gavin's approach has had a touch of naivety about it and I thought the space Dublin leave in their own half would get exposed eventually. Maybe I'm the wrong one and Dublin's all out approach has brought them loads of success in Jim Gavin's two years but he'll need a rethink next year. Donegal have shown Dublin aren't invincible and also exposed their defensive vulnerability. Naive tactics from Dublin and no better team than Donegal to take advantage.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 31/08/2014 17:24:26    1645301

ah edmund we are too long in the tooth to believe that. kerry as always will be well confident of winning the final. does not matter who ye play. on today donegal had that game won with 20 mins tp go. fantastic performance and will quiten plenty of doubters. the 5 in a row hype machine undone and just shows you never get ahead of yourselves when you are winning as you never know what is around the corner.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 31/08/2014 17:27:53    1645306

Two of my favourite teams and what a contest! Couldn't be happier for Donegal and commiserations to the Dubs. Who the hell saw that coming? What a great weekend, and the Sam for the Hills!!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 31/08/2014 17:29:54    1645310

Kiloughter - Oh they absolutely will be confident. No doubt. But big work needed to have a plan ready for Donegal. They have added quick incisive and deadly finishing to an always strong and deep defense. Will be an interesting game. No way Donaghy and O donoghue will get the space they got in the last 2 games and theyll have a plan developed for donaghy as well. Interesting

Edmundomee (Kerry) - Posts: 6 - 31/08/2014 17:35:12    1645317

How's your €700 investment doing Royaldunne? What bank was it you had that with?

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 31/08/2014 17:35:30    1645318

Give that McGuinness guy a knighting. That's as good a tactical masterclass as I've ever seen. Considering the task that was at hand for a Donegal team who everyone thought was well behind the 2012 version. It was poetry in motion with the turnovers and the rapid counter-attacks. Thats one of the greatest upsets in the history of the football championship. I take my hat off to Donegal. Well played lads.

As for Dublin, I know a lot of people will be putting the boot in but I've no doubt they will be back again stronger next year. When you're on a perch there's always someone thats going to shoot you off. It was inevitable some team would set up to beat Dublin.

The Dublin juggernaut has been beaten. As the saying goes,"To believe a thing impossible is to make it so." The ultimate ingredient for Donegal was belief.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 31/08/2014 17:36:48    1645323

Great to see the dubs get beat!

snipingfredo (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 31/08/2014 17:38:26    1645330

Glad I didn't invest it FP. Instead took a holiday.
Any chance Jim would come to the royal when your finished with him lads?? :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/08/2014 17:44:31    1645340

Well done Donegal.

Blew us away in 2nd half. Fair play to them.

Some turnaround after 1st 20mims.

Open us up so often and changed their tactics from the blanket we expected.
Jim Mc G is a genius.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 31/08/2014 17:54:19    1645356

That was the all Ireland final in all but name and what a performance by Donegal both on and off the field. A Kerry side coming through the easier side of draw and currently in transition will not beat this Donegal side.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 31/08/2014 18:13:35    1645384

snipingfredo
County: Armagh

1645330 Great to see the dubs get beat!

Glad your happy,have a nice day.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/08/2014 18:22:35    1645395

Have to admit I didn't see that result coming, couldn't see anything but a Dublin win but Donegal came to Croker today with something no other team playing Dublin had......belief that they could win. No count him Leinster or Monaghan really believed they could beat Dublin, they were mentally weak and lacked that belief that is so important in big games, and being a Meath man that's hard to say but true, Donegal believed they could win and frightened the absolute bejaysus out of the Dubs. It's a result and performance that gives hope to others in Leinster for 2015, the DVD of that Donegal performance will be played many times in many counties over the winter months

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2014 18:31:55    1645412

Its funny looking at all the schadenfreude, being expressed towards Dublin. Well be back next year and the year after. No team has managed to put together back to back AIs in the last ten years.
I hope the Donegal supporters enjoy their victory well won and well deserved. Well be back next year playing exciting football , we might even sort out our mid field which where we got killed. looking at the Donegal minor team they are going to be around for a few years too. Jim Gavin is a class act and Dublin are a class team but we were beaten today by a team whos courage, tenacity and will to win was epic. Weve had a great weekend of football.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 31/08/2014 18:39:05    1645421