Donegal v Dublin

The oracle up on the mountain gave the same forecast this morning as earlier in the week: Donegal by two. I considered pressing for more specific detail but didn't lest I get its dander up and it starts taking it out on the team. My bet is based on the staunch reliability of Saint Jim, the team and the oracle, much more assured bases than the lazy and repetitive gibberish about the match being churned out by our national newspaper columnists and TV pundits (with the honourable exceptions here of Alan Mulholland and Kevin McStay).
The tidy sum I'll be collecting on Monday will mean that the family holiday this year will be a week in Dubrovnik rather than a wet weekend in Bundoran.
Tir Chonaill Abu

FredOnMuckish (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 30/08/2014 20:14:15    1644795

FredonMuckish, where is Tir Chonaill, is that the auld kingdom that also included Fermanagh and north Leitrim?

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 30/08/2014 20:38:19    1644834

bangbang

Wee Jimmy Mc has been going around telling anyone who'll listen to him up in Donegal that they're going to hammer the Dubs. Fair play to him, brave man. I think those words might come back to haunt him, his career could be on the line in this game. 15 men behind the ball for Donegal isn't going to be pretty to watch.

bangbang you are so full of it.

JMcG doesn't go around talking about "hammering" anyone, least of all to anyone you would know.

"His career could be on the line" Funniest, craziest, silliest, stupidest, comment on HS this week.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/08/2014 20:41:36    1644841

I see Dublin are collapsing with the bookies, down from 1/10 to 1/6.

Huge amounts of money are piling in from Russia, Saudi & Wales.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/08/2014 21:24:13    1644918

Well the big day is finally here.

A nervous yet excited family Cleatus are heading for breakfast in our Dublin hotel.

I think most Donegal fans are going in hope rather than expectation. But we do have hope. We have a manager who has proven himself to be innovative, meticulous and driven. We have a group of really talented footballers who have given everything they have for Donegal over the last few years. Together they have delivered 3 Ulsters and an AI in 4 years. But they've done much more than that, they have put pride back in the Donegal jersey. They have given us so many great days out. Who could have expected all of this after 2010.

So how will today go? Will the team give us another great victory or will this talented Dublin team be too strong on the day. Or worse will we get the mauling the bookies, most pundits and practically all Dubs are predicting.

I don't know.

What I do know is the Donegal lads will give all for their jersey, manager and county. If it's not enough on the day then so be it. This group of players or Jim owe no one in Donegal anything.

So win lose or draw I'll be there at the end applauding them off the pitch.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 31/08/2014 08:22:36    1644991

Best of luck to both teams today. Hopefully a great game (with our shower winning out)

Safe journey down and back to all supporters travelling today.

Should be tactically amazing today.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/08/2014 09:43:13    1645026

maybe jim gavin should talk to his minor manager about playing football the "way they inherited it from previous generations". of course we all know that gavin is talking nonsense when gavin mentions this...dublin minors playing with 12 defenders and 2 sweepers...fair play to the donegal lads...doing their best to break down the bus in front of the goal...time to stop this nonsense about dublin teams playing open attacking football

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 31/08/2014 14:13:37    1645173

Brilliant stuff from the minors, in first ever final. One down, one to go, come on Donegal!

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 31/08/2014 14:51:27    1645188

Great result for the Donegal minors, fully deserved they were the better team throughout.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 31/08/2014 14:57:18    1645193

Pace and class they'll tear the blanket asunder

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/08/2014 15:38:54    1645205

Jesus they can play football when they abandon the blanket
Fair dues to them it's a great game

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/08/2014 16:06:41    1645211

Actually a good first half. Fair play to Donegal. They can play football when they want too. Can they do it??? I hope they can. Nothing would please me more than a Donegal win. But dubs have still got the bench to empty. I won't get ahead of myself just yet. Would love to be proven wrong about Dublin.
Ahh to hell with it. Come on the hills. :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/08/2014 16:14:08    1645212

Donegal just might,just might,stop the dublin hype train!! I would LUV it

arravale (Tipperary) - Posts: 244 - 31/08/2014 16:18:52    1645213

So would I!!!!

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 31/08/2014 16:28:29    1645219

Thought Dublin were going to run away with it early in but they're in for a real test now. Looking forward to second half.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 31/08/2014 16:30:22    1645220

Game on, Ryan McHugh you beauty! He was 80/1 for first goal...sickening.

Fascinating game, we will see what Dublin are truly made of nwo.

bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 31/08/2014 16:36:30    1645225

Come on Donegal; come on.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/08/2014 16:40:49    1645227

great game,, donegal are doing great against the best team of all time, the untouchables

arravale (Tipperary) - Posts: 244 - 31/08/2014 16:42:57    1645228

Referee doing his best for Dublin now.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 31/08/2014 16:51:44    1645231

Some very questionable decisions

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/08/2014 16:56:48    1645235