Donegal v Dublin

Jack O'Connor couldn't believe his eyes as he observed the 2011 All-Ireland semi-final between Donegal and Dublin.

Having guided Kerry through to the decider the previous weekend, the then Kingdom boss was in Croke Park to check out the prospective opposition. What unfolded was a dour defensive struggle, with just 14 points in total scored as the Dubs stumbled through...

"It was the most surreal game that I was ever at. I think after about 15 or 20 minutes there was sustained booing coming from the crowd. I'd never seen that previously.

"Donegal did something that day that had never been seen in Croke Park before. They basically parked the bus on Dublin and said, 'let's see you break this down'.

Let's really hope we don't get a repeat performance of that rubbish in the game this Sunday....
Not holding my breath though...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 29/08/2014 09:28:27    1643843

Whats the neutral view, Predictions are following usual lines. Donegal lads tipping Donegal and Dubs tipping Dubs.

What do the neutral's think the score/Outcome will be?

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 29/08/2014 10:48:43    1643914

Listening to a pod cast yesterday Oisin Mcconville was on saying he thinks Donegal will have 15 players in there own half for nearly all the game he said if you thought '11 was bad you ain't seen nothing yet.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2014 12:42:45    1644028

Alright Wayno can't wait pal buzzing for it, how was the holidays did you pull? Actually tell me you pulled every night? Sundays suppose to be a scorcher so I'm very happy with that I always think we play better in the sun.

Howiye Clondalkin me oul flower

Yea looking forward to it myself. Excitment is flowing through the veins.

And c'mere to me, What young fella goes on holiday and doesnt pull a fine bit of tail? ;)

Goes without saying pal.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/08/2014 13:06:16    1644058

Hahahaha good stuff Wayne, Can't wait for Sunday this team will not let us down.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2014 13:12:18    1644065

waynoI

Alright Wayno can't wait pal buzzing for it, how was the holidays did you pull? Actually tell me you pulled every night? Sundays suppose to be a scorcher so I'm very happy with that I always think we play better in the sun.

Howiye Clondalkin me oul flower

Yea looking forward to it myself. Excitment is flowing through the veins.

And c'mere to me, What young fella goes on holiday and doesnt pull a fine bit of tail? ;)

Goes without saying pal.

Ha ha, I pity you young lads, there were no iPhones or mobiles full stop in my day, we could do what we wanted on holiday, thank God :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 29/08/2014 13:16:51    1644071

Ha ha, I pity you young lads, there were no iPhones or mobiles full stop in my day, we could do what we wanted on holiday, thank God :D

You still sending letters to pen-pals realdub are ye ? :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/08/2014 13:34:39    1644089

Hahahaha good stuff Wayne, Can't wait for Sunday this team will not let us down.

No they won't.

You will be proven right. We will win on Sunday. Might not be easy but we will win and thats all that matters.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/08/2014 13:35:34    1644091

I do not understand some of the flack donegal are getting regarding the 2011 semi. I would rather watch that than some of the one sided semi-finals there has been throughout the years. I am not a great lover of the Donegal system having suffered it three years in a row as a Tyrone supporter but if Donegal think this is the best chance of beating Dublin (which it is) then its up to Dublin to overcome that. I thought before the semi finals that both games in there own way will be worth looking forward to and I go for a Mayo v Donegal final.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 29/08/2014 13:45:25    1644098

Its very unlikely that there will be 15 players parked inside our own 45. Inside our own half possibly at times, but the reality of it is that we have got to expect dublin to convert much of their chances from distance. So the war could well be won or lost further out the pitch. What i am going to be very interested in seeing is how both teams cope with a slippery ball. there is nothing worse than trying to control a ball at high speed. It is something you can think about and talk about, but when it comes to actually doing it, it is a very different proposition indeed. I think that there will be many scores left behind due to the final pass not hitting the spot. It could well be a day where being 100% perfect in defense could have the edge over the game.

I really cant wait for the game now. I was very pessimistic about a week ago, but as we get closer to the game, the more I think that mcguinness will not be turning up for the craic.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 29/08/2014 13:46:44    1644099

really cant wait for the game now. I was very pessimistic about a week ago, but as we get closer to the game, the more I think that mcguinness will not be turning up for the craic.

What manager/team turns up to an all ireland semi final "for the craic"

Come on FFS its not exactly a shock that McGuinness will set his side up to win.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/08/2014 14:05:04    1644127

but if Donegal think this is the best chance of beating Dublin (which it is) then its up to Dublin to overcome that

Exactly.. Couldnt agree more, And we will overcome it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/08/2014 14:08:54    1644130

Yes Wayno, wanna be my penpal? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 29/08/2014 14:10:28    1644131

Donegalman

I really cant wait for the game now. I was very pessimistic about a week ago, but as we get closer to the game, the more I think that mcguinness will not be turning up for the craic.

Ah, another case of 'August All Ireland fever'... we're all prone to it, I've had some right doses of it myself in the past. Unfortunately there is no known cure just treat it with large doses of rationale along with twice daily reality checks - and whatever you do don't go for pints before the game it will only flair up and could prove fatal!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 29/08/2014 14:29:56    1644149

gaa confirmed this morning that sunday is sold out

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2014 16:14:25    1644218

Hill, thought it might Sell Out alright.

Gonna be some atmosphere - here's hoping the cheers don't get overtaken by a chorus of boo's like the last time we met in a semi. ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 29/08/2014 16:20:59    1644227

I can see only two outcomes,
(1) Donegal use the blanket and get beaten by a small margin ie between 1 & 4 points
(2) Donegal use the blanket and get hammered by 10 or more.
No need to worry about a draw.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 29/08/2014 16:21:42    1644229

Boo all you want Fionn the big yellow bus is coming.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 29/08/2014 17:48:22    1644283

After the Q/F's I really didn't see any chance for Donegal.

Here & now I think we have a chance as long as every player plays to 100%, something we haven't seen this year yet.

I am however old enough to remember 1992 when Donegal beat Mayo in a semi final that was one of the worst games ever seen in Croke Park. As a result they were given no chance against Dublin but went on to beat them well in the final

The same happened in 2012 when both Kerry & Cork were big favourites to beat us but in both cases the games were comfortable wins for Donegal.

The point I'm making is that past results & form are not necessarily a reliable guide to Sunday's game & while Dublin are deserved favourites, this is the game Donegal have been preparing for all year. They are comfortable with the way they play, they have faith in each other & are up for a scrap.

Looking forward to it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/08/2014 18:27:07    1644300

Fionn
You did not finish what Jack o Connor said.

The one thing that stood out for him was ::::::: you need ferocious courage to go with a game plan like that, to stick to it and get the players to stick to it
That takes some convincing
Wonder what convincing is Jimmy doing or has done?? Think we will see on Sunday :::::: Mentallt strong Donegal team , organised and effective blanket or defensive system, excellent discipline throughout the game, physical able to compete with all Dublin can throw at them , swift and deadly counter attack, ability to run and stay with Dublin for the 70 plus minutes and on the sideline THE SUPREME LEADER HIMSELF , who will mastermind and oversee the End of Dublin's run in this years championship.
Can't see nothing but a DONEGAL victory and us leaving CP with the sound of :::: Jimmy's winning matches or ::: LAS VEGAS IN THE HILLS OF DONEGAL

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/08/2014 20:12:52    1644353