Donegal v Dublin

Dublin have won 20 of 21 Championship games from 2011 to date.

They have won their 4 Championship games in 2014 by an average of 15 points, beating a Division 3 team by 16 points (Wexford) and 3 Division 2 teams (Laois, Meath and Monaghan) by 11, 16 and 17 points respectively.

They might just be unstoppable this year and the odds of 1/4 available seems like good value.

Donegal will do well to get within 7/8 points of them by the end of it.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 10/08/2014 14:34:00    1634295

foreverroyal

I don't think mayo would have any chance against dublin actually mayo won't get to have their songs this year as kerry should dispose of them with a bit of ease. If only we were in the west.
Donegal don't bring much of excitement to gaa folk but its effective but won't stop dublin. It may keep them quite for 30 mins. But then they will pull away and win by 10.

Great analysis there, no doubt you held no fear against Dublin. We may not be the best team that you have ever seen but we are head and shoulders above your county at the moment so get a grip good lad.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7910 - 10/08/2014 14:36:00    1634297

I can see Donegal giving us a game by being extremely defensive. If they can stop the goals they'll keep in touch as Dublin tend to not shoot that well from distance or under pressure, their outstanding attribute is having multiple options in good areas which exploits and creates space. However defensive you are it's just so difficult to stop the chances though, Monaghan looked rock solid at the back for 25 minutes but Dublin just have so many pacy runners who pick the right angles, and they always go for the net. Other teams tend to search for large areas of space whereas Dublin takes risks and pick passes into narrow pockets which is difficult but when it comes off several goal chances are created. With Dublin streets ahead of 2011 and Donegal seemingly declined you'd expect a hammering but I expect to see Jimmys most defensive side yet. He won't risk getting hammered like last season, Dublin should have too much though.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 10/08/2014 14:42:59    1634301

If Donegal had an on-form McFadden and Murphy playing inside I'd be a lot more worried that they can rack up a decent tally, as both can score from most areas inside the 45 when on form. A 2 man inside FF line of McBrearty and McFadden on current form doesn't worry me though.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 10/08/2014 14:46:01    1634303

I hope Dublin destroy Donegal as there a disgrace to the game with their diving and there style of game.

snipingfredo (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 10/08/2014 14:46:07    1634304

Garymc ,
Before the game with Monaghan people were saying that Dublin had not met a blanket defence or the physicality of Ulster football and that they would know they were in a game. Meath and Laois Posters were slagged for saying Dublin were very good prior to this game,
they said it because they seen it first hand.
People said Leinster was no preparation for the Dubs for when they would come up against a blanket defence and they werent tested, its the other way round.
Ulster gives defenders more time on the ball and because of sweepers and slow build up they have time to pick out their own players in defence. as Monaghan yesterday and Derry in league final found out that is no preparation for when the opposition like Dublin presses you man on man in your own half back line and chokes the life out of you.
Donegal will end up playing the game on Dublins terms, because we will just go man on man all over the pitch . Donegal put 14 men in their own half , we will have 14 players in their half and they wont get out with the ball .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/08/2014 14:50:55    1634308

10/08/2014 14:46:07
snipingfredo
County: Armagh

I hope Dublin destroy Donegal as there a disgrace to the game with their diving and there style of game.

I hope the media ban that armagh adapted extends to supporters like yourself.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/08/2014 15:27:44    1634325

Dublin put all that "Ulster" bullshyte to bed yesterday. The Emperor HAS no clothes :-)

BTW, where is Ulsterman? Has the Politburo of Ulster football not agreed a statement yet ????

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 10/08/2014 15:31:27    1634327

I jst think Gavin's too clever a manager to not win with this set of players at this stage. Last season the FB line and centre back were issues, they both look far stronger despite injuries to Brennan and O'Brien. The league was a disaster in terms of injuries but we pulled through, he's still got us evolving. The defence in particular has come of leaps and bounds.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 10/08/2014 15:53:07    1634337

Sniping fredo.

I agree. You sound a bit bitter though. But you are spot on regarding the diving.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/08/2014 15:58:39    1634342

Based on the last two years Donegal haven't got a forward who is in the top ten in the country. That includes Murphy.

Dublin by 6 - 10.

Donegal wil knock lumps out of them and try every cynical ploy in the book but they won't score more than 5 points from play.Dubs direct running will pay off into the second half.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/08/2014 16:02:07    1634344

daytona11

Based on the last two years Donegal haven't got a forward who is in the top ten in the country. That includes Murphy.

Dublin by 6 - 10.

Donegal wil knock lumps out of them and try every cynical ploy in the book but they won't score more than 5 points from play.Dubs direct running will pay off into the second half.

Murphy not in the top 10, are you in the pub?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7910 - 10/08/2014 16:18:10    1634347

daytona11

Basing this on what, Kildare under McGeeney in the quarter final of 2011? surly you have moved on from that, then again, possibly not.

I agree about Dublins running game, they are very strong and virtually unstoppable.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/08/2014 16:24:45    1634350

Are Donegal posters not embarrassed by there players diving and play acting in every game this year?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/08/2014 16:28:57    1634352

Ath Cliath
Good analysis and exactly what I noticed yesterday regarding the pressure the Dublin forwards put on Monaghan coming out of defence. Donegal like to hsnspass the ball out of defence before kicking into the forward line from midfield but we are in big trouble based on what I seen yesterday. Paul Flynn epitomises everything that is good about the modern half forward. Equally as good in both sides of the field.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 10/08/2014 16:49:03    1634361

snipingfredo
County: Armagh

Nothing I enjoy more than watching a bad loser letting himself down, both with his begrudgery and his bad spelling.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/08/2014 17:06:38    1634365

Are Donegal posters not embarrassed by there players diving and play acting in every game this year?

No more than Dublin posters are embarrassed by the antics of some of their players both on & off the field.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/08/2014 17:09:16    1634370

There is little point taking anything from the second half as Monaghan dropped their game plan once Dublin opened up a sizable lead. What's of note to me is two main issues from the first half. Firstly, Monaghans game plan worked very well for 25 odd minutes and I'd expect Donegal to replicate and better that. Dublin also got their defence in order with a sweeper, Maccer, sitting in front of Monaghans two forwards limiting them to one exceptional score and two soft frees. Duffy gave us a handy few frees too in fairness so it evened out. It will also be key against donegal in what will be a very tight first half to sweep up on Murphy and McFadden and not concede frees.

Secondly, Dublins full court press worked very well on Monaghans kickouts and when their defenders had the ball. We won all of our kickouts uncontested and a very healthy amount of Monaghans and really starved them of possession. I was hoping for these two facets of play and was delighted to see them work out as it's very hard to execute a defensive gameplan with little or no possession. Gavin has been ramping up his version of the full court press over recent games and it's working out a treat.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 10/08/2014 17:11:10    1634371

Donegalman,

I said in my original post that I was basing it on what happen over the last two years.Jimmy has a lot to answer for regarding Donegals decline over the last two years.

As we have seen from events of the past few weeks Ulster is probably just as easy for them to win as Leinster is for Dublin. Not much competition up there.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/08/2014 17:23:07    1634377

Posters on here giving out about the way Donegal play....bit of common sense like, what do ya want them to do play man to man against Dublin and get brutally destroyed? Dublin by 6 or 7 for me!!

Dave92 (Donegal) - Posts: 1 - 10/08/2014 17:23:25    1634378