Donegal v Dublin

http://gaeliclife.com/columnists/joe-brolly/

Brolly's latest piece.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/08/2014 09:52:49    1642788

It seems he is more interested to get the fact across that he likes to cycle around donegal than anything else. Harmless enough stuff, but in fairness, it is what is felt on the ground. No hype whatsoever this year. Nobody talking about the game. Nobody expecting anything. It is a dream preparation for a team so that box is ticked. The other ones have to be ticked too!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/08/2014 10:16:44    1642802

Alright Wayno can't wait pal buzzing for it, how was the holidays did you pull? Actually tell me you pulled every night? Sundays suppose to be a scorcher so I'm very happy with that I always think we play better in the sun.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/08/2014 10:41:28    1642827

The Dublin Donegal rivalry is getting serious! check it out hilarious stuff!

http://livegaelic.com/craic/video-dublin-donegal-battle-anchorman-style/

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 27/08/2014 12:04:04    1642870

Sunday cant come quick enough. Im enjoying the banter with my Dublin cousin though. He's already asked me to look for a ticket for him from my club for the Final!!

irishtom (Donegal) - Posts: 219 - 27/08/2014 12:13:43    1642876

Ha ha floops that's class :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/08/2014 13:14:12    1642922

My last post on Here before the Big game.The banter is Good on this thread' but I have to say Im getting a bit bored of some of the over opinionated'backtracking posts by some on here and sometimes it is nothing more than stating the obvious. Some cant seem to help themselves.

We' the family are heading down early Saturday morn' and will spend the Day in the Capital and get a Good nights kip before the matches.

It should be some spectacle with a great contrast of Colours and a Great day For The Donegal and Dublin Supporters.
To be Honest I not overly Sure What Jim and Donegal have planned but I expect they have something up there Sleeves that is going to Shock a fair few people'Dublim have a great Team but there is "No Flys" on our Boys either.

Win,lose or draw we will be cheering This team off the pitch and are thankful for the Joy they brought to all in our beautiful County over the last few years. I have a good feeling about this one all the same.

Best of Luck to You Dub boys' We are bringing the best team in Ulster and The best fans in Ulster "bar none" and lets hope the GameS Are hard Fought affairs With Donegal Wins of course.

See youse there lads.

Up Donegal.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 27/08/2014 13:15:50    1642925

Just read Brollys piece..Whats new..A Derryman in Love with Donegal.

In fairness' Who can Blame them.!!

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 27/08/2014 13:24:56    1642938

Calling all Dubs turn on tg4 immediately and it will bring a big smile to your face.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/08/2014 20:09:24    1643198

clondalkin

good game so far but would like to see kev mac coming in he could run at them

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/08/2014 20:20:17    1643203

Haha , Hill is it a bit weird that I'm watching it in Irish when I've still the whole game recorded in English still on my sky plus box?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/08/2014 20:35:30    1643211

Clondalkindub

That was a lucky AI. Kerry were robbed. The better team lost. That was never a free. Only played a minute of extra time. Love it.

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 27/08/2014 20:36:50    1643212

tg4 have a cross between gaa fball and rugby on at the moment

thebadbounce (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 27/08/2014 20:44:42    1643215

thebadbounce

You're not wrong, Kerry were very lateral that day.
Thanks for that clondalkin, forgot how brilliant that was!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/08/2014 21:05:46    1643227

clondalkin

haha no must have been like watching a new version of the match for you haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/08/2014 21:11:18    1643230

thebadbounce

You're not wrong, Kerry were very lateral that day.
Thanks for that clondalkin, forgot how brilliant that was!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/08/2014 21:11:32    1643231

I cannot see Donegal having any chance on Sunday in the senior game as Dublin have far too much to offer and we are not at a level that is near 2012 and sadly I do not feel we will reach it either. Would that have been enough? I've no idea but it would not have been a 10/1 Donegal team.
Donegal need to be scoring in the 18-20 points range to have any hopes and to be honest they might be lucky to get 50% of that.
Colm will no doubt start and he is just not getting the rub of the green; I cannot see that changing against a team of Dublin's calibre.
Some comfort of us getting some marginal success can be got from watching some of the tactics employed by Cork last year as Hurley got a good bit of change so that could be an option with a goof fielder on the edge of the square.

Best of luck to all fans travelling from whatever part of the country your in, lets hope the rain stays away as I think it is forecast to and lets hope this Donegal team give their all, if they do they they have truly given us a remarkable journey and it has been great for someone who has been too used to being a long suffering fan.

Best of luck to our minor team, they are a truly brilliant side and I would be hopeful we could sneak that one. If we do I really think they could beat Kerry in the final.

Final prediction and one of these really, really pains me but I am a realist:
Dublin seniors by 10-14.
Donegal minors by 1-3

MrHomie (Donegal) - Posts: 10 - 27/08/2014 21:23:33    1643239

Read a good article in the Irish News today.

Dublin are a brilliant , exciting. Attacking force, but-as they showed in the closing stages of last years AI final they can be cynical
They also appear to have borrowed a certain technique from New Zealand rugby union team:: the practice of accidentally ( on purpose) of blocking off someone who is attempting to tackle their player in possession
This often occurs just after a ball has been off loaded to a dub in a good shooting position preventing the opposing player from blocking his shot or closing him down sufficiently to make him pass rather than shoot.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 27/08/2014 22:05:42    1643267

What you claim Dublin do is a black card offence Sam. And yet strangely Dublin have had no black cards as far as I am aware! There are other teams you might know whose tactics have more to do with rugby!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/08/2014 08:09:23    1643269

Do you have a link to that article sam. I'd like to read it in full.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/08/2014 08:34:57    1643271