Donegal v Dublin

We have one chance. To push up on Cluxtons kick outs. That is it, if we allow the ball to go short to the Dublin half backs or full backs, then it could be a long afternoon. Kerry and Mayo both did this last year, and each gave Dublin a hell of a game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/08/2014 12:32:10    1640804

Gary you honestly believe that Donegal will beat Dublin? Give me a break are people blind or what? Dublin will win this game cause we have the best team and bench and Donegal will not be able for what we are going to throw at them. Seriously Gary Donegal are not the team of '12 and will never reach that level again and this is a complete mismatch.

I honestly believe Donegal can beat Dublin, I have no doubt about that whatsoever.

Now In saying that, I'm not so blind as to think Dublin can't win. I just think Donegal have been gearing up for this game for quite a while now, and that a shock is on the cards.

There is constant chat about Donegal not reaching the performance level's of 2012, but I reckon their current squad is stronger and more versatile than the 2012 outfit.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 24/08/2014 12:45:29    1641055

GaryMc

I would agree that the squad is probably more rounded than the 2012 squad, but I think the key is that 1 or 2 key players are not at the level they were in 2012 - McFadden being a prime example.

I really feel his performance is key to Donegal winning this game as I can see Murphy playing deep and McBrearty and McFadden left quite isolated in the forward line. I expect Jimmy to revert to his 2011 approach and try to suffocate the Dublin forwards, force the play towards the sidelings and hunt in packs to turnover possession.

The key difference this time is that the link play of Donegal, with Ryan McHugh being particularly crucial, is much improved from that of 2011 which will add to Donegal's attacking impotence. Again, this suggests a good performance from McFadden is critical.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 24/08/2014 13:12:52    1641061

From our point of view its good to know that in 2011 we were down to 14 men after 57mins we were a point down 6 to 5 and won 8 to 6. But really everything from a Dublin point of view has changed dramactically.
We allowed the Donegal defence come out with the ball, that wont happen next week. We had scored 2 points after 40 mins , i dont see that happening . but it will be a battle and i think our lads are well up for this game.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/08/2014 14:34:29    1641082

It will take something special for it to live up to todays game.

Still, Doesnt bother me if it's a bore-fest, So long as Dublin win.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/08/2014 19:05:18    1641312

The postings here seem to range from Dubliners suggesting that Donegal should be grateful at being allowed to share the pitch with their county's juggernaut for seventy minutes to Donegal people girding themselves for the apocalypse and hoping for a defeat of less than ten points.
Many of these opinions seem based on the belief that the bookies are never wrong.

I've heard this type of talk often before, with the two most pertinent examples being after the awful 1992 Donegal v Mayo semi-final and before the Dublin v Mayo semi-final two years ago. Posters who have suggested that reasons besides the obvious skill of its players might explain part of Dublin's winning margins this year have been swatted aside as being disrespectful to this faultless behemoth that is destined to dominate football for the next ten years.

To repeat a few of the reasons suggested as being partly responsible for recent lopsided scores: the suicidal naivety of Leinster teams in trying to deal with the Dublin forwards by man-to-man marking alone; the instant effect that the injury to Colin Walshe - playing out of his skin - had on the effectiveness of the Monaghan defence; and the obvious Monaghan tiredness from the previous Saturday.

The Donegal defence will do for the full seventy-odd minutes what that of Monaghan accomplished so effectively for twenty-five and the team's underrated athleticism, stamina, skill and experience will finish the task. My only concern is that they will put so much into this game that they may be unable to conjure up a repeat in the AI Final.

A truer reflection of Donegal's dominance in both the Armagh and Monaghan games would have seen them winning by 6-8 points. They gifted a silly goal in both games, their shot selection in the Armagh game was, for such a usually disciplined team, the worst of the McGuinness era and Durcan's kick-outs did not have their usual high success in delivery. There was unusual lethargy in supporting team-mates with the ball and their patented swarming lacked its normal intensity. Despite these glitches, in both games they showed composure and resilience when the chips were down that bodes well for the semi-final.

By then, McGuinness will have corrected this waywardness and the following will unfold: Dublin will not score a goal, the "insane desire" referred to by Tomás Ó Sé will be rekindled in an enhanced 2014 version and the off-the-ball running that was so effective in the 2012 semi-final against Cork (and that we've only seen glimpses of against Derry and Antrim) will be resurrected in an even more expansive form. Lacey will be back to his 2012 best and the skill and pace of young O'Connor will be revealed to a Croke Park crowd for the first time. And then, there's Murphy…. Donegal will win by two points.

FredOnMuckish (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 24/08/2014 19:13:37    1641316

Ah mystic meg how are ye!:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/08/2014 19:22:13    1641326

waynoI

It will take something special for it to live up to todays game.

Still, Doesnt bother me if it's a bore-fest, So long as Dublin win.

It will be a different type of game but fascinating none the less. The fact the Dubs and Donegal are playing will mean the supporters will be much more vocal in their support no matter how low the scoring is. And Dublin fans will know not to expect a fast open game after what happened in 2011. I'm looking forward to your match more than the one today and I hope it lives up to the hype!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/08/2014 19:36:15    1641344

cavanman47

GaryMc

I would agree that the squad is probably more rounded than the 2012 squad, but I think the key is that 1 or 2 key players are not at the level they were in 2012 - McFadden being a prime example.

I really feel his performance is key to Donegal winning this game as I can see Murphy playing deep and McBrearty and McFadden left quite isolated in the forward line. I expect Jimmy to revert to his 2011 approach and try to suffocate the Dublin forwards, force the play towards the sidelings and hunt in packs to turnover possession.

The key difference this time is that the link play of Donegal, with Ryan McHugh being particularly crucial, is much improved from that of 2011 which will add to Donegal's attacking impotence. Again, this suggests a good performance from McFadden is critical.

I agree on Colm McFadden in particular cavanman47. However unlike 2 years ago, Patrick McBrearty has now stepped up to the mantle of being a top class forward and Donegal have alternative options in Brick Molloy and Darrach O'Connor, to suit their needs depending the opposition.

Odhran MacNiallais is the big addition this year, classy all round player who has along with R McHugh and D O'Connor, added greatly to Donegal's attack this year.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 24/08/2014 20:44:06    1641399

Not long to game now lads, can,t wait, have seen some good comments on how this game will go. Dublin being hot favorites is no surprise, but the margin that some Dublin posters think they will win by will not happen in IMO. For 20-25 minutes Monaghan held Dublin, once Dublin got they goals Monaghan had to chase game and were left more open. I believe Donegal will contain Dublin for a lot longer than that. If it is close with 50-55 minutes Donegal could very well win the game. Will take a lot to go right on the day for them for this to happen. Donegal can,t play ultra defensive football they need to play the way Mayo or Kerry play against Dublin to have any chance. A lot of posters saying that Donegal should push up on Cluxton's kick-outs, with Donegal normally having so many men back in defensive, can really only see Mc Fadden( if he starts) and Mc Breaty being the only two left up there, if this is the case pushing up on the kick-outs will not work. But knowing Jim Mc Guiness he will have ever aspect of Dublin's play looked at. First 15-20 minutes of the game will be very interesting.

aidan1000 (Leitrim) - Posts: 106 - 25/08/2014 16:29:05    1641849

The key to this game for us is the form of Colm McFadden. In 2012 he was within a hair's breadth of being Player of the Year & his shooting from distance allied to free taking from the left hand side was an integral part of our success.

JMcG can make all the plans he likes, every other player in the squad could be at 100%, they could spend six months in Johnstown House & he could have the players believing the sun rises in the east, but if Colm Anthony doesn't find something like his best form then our goose will be cooked.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/08/2014 16:54:28    1641868

FredOnMuckish
Welcome to my fellow mountain top man and I must say you sound a lot morepositivethan some of our fellow county posters.
The only thing that would worry me about this up coming game would be if Dublin hit an early scoring spree, get something like 10-12 points or even a couple of early goals then we could be in trouble. The tighter we keep the game , the less scores we concede then the longer the game goes on the better for us. To be honest I can see us getting a few goals next Sunday but we must stop Dublin scoring goals and concede as little points as we can. Yesterday's second half was immense but I can't see nothing like yesterday's game next Sunday. It will be probably brutal to watch , it will be a completely different experience for Dublin comparing to all the games they played this year.
Dublin are unbackable at odds of 1/10 which suggests they will win easily and that is the view of most people I talk to about the game. I dunno so much , I can see Donegal system causing Dublin a lot of problems , it's a massive ask on our players, they owe us nothing but I can see them playing their Hearts out on Sunday, it might not be good enough but I can still see Donegal winning Sunday, which in turn would be one of JMcG greatest feats. They way I am thinking and what I'm saying is solely based in my faith in ONE MAN :::: JIM MC GUINNESS

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 25/08/2014 17:03:07    1641879

On current form the game can go 1 of 2 ways - 1) Dublin start and get a goal or 2 early on and they will win handsomely.
2) Donegal keep the game a 1 score game for best part of an hour then the last 10-15mins Dublin get a few scores they need.

Something tells me current form is nothing to go by this weekend and we could be in for a surprise.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 25/08/2014 17:17:15    1641889

The form of Colm Mc Fadden has not been good since 2012, can see why Mc Guinness does not want to drop him but for him to have any say on Sunday's game would be a big turn around for him, can,t see it happening though, Donegal will need every chance they get early on if Mc Fadden is not on form or shooting poorly he has to be taken off in the first half.

aidan1000 (Leitrim) - Posts: 106 - 25/08/2014 17:49:44    1641911

Imagine if we ever played against a team with 14 men for a whole half , now I know we've so many advantages so playing against 14 men is never going to happen but imagine if it did.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/08/2014 17:50:08    1641912

Don't want to split hairs Muckoss but the last time I checked the sun does rise in the east.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 25/08/2014 18:56:47    1641951

Cleatus

Don't want to split hairs Muckoss but the last time I checked the sun does rise in the east.
------
It's a shame as I liked where he was going with that.

On the game, I think Dublin will go for shock and awe with an all out blitz for the first 10-15 mins hoping for an early breakthrough like in Omagh where they went 2-1 up inside 3 or 4 mins. I can see a lot of direct running by the Dubs with the wing backs joining in the sorties. The problem will be if this blitz doesn't yield enough scores, Donegal will bide their time and go through the phases to chip in with odd scores. This will keep them in touch and Dublin may become frustrated if forced to kick from distance under pressure. It could then go one of two ways, Donegal grind them down, utterly frustrate the Dubs and squeeze out a narrow win OR Dublin's bench will be unleashed to strike down on them with great vengeance and furious anger, will do the business and duly end JMcG's illustrious Donegal managerial career.

Either way it should be a fascinating contest.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/08/2014 19:14:51    1641966

We will be very lucky to get out of Dublin next weekend with a respectable scoreline to be honest, Dublin are like a tornado in full flight. They have pace to such am extent that we will struggle to contain them and the blanket defence will be ineffective against the marauding Dublin backs and forwards. It's impossible to simply get your match-ups right against Dublin, as they will attack you, one and all. We have achieved an Ulster title and for that, I'm grateful. The lads have done savagely well this year but this is one step too far.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 25/08/2014 20:11:53    1641993

Donegal_abroad

We will be very lucky to get out of Dublin next weekend with a respectable scoreline to be honest, Dublin are like a tornado in full flight. They have pace to such am extent that we will struggle to contain them and the blanket defence will be ineffective against the marauding Dublin backs and forwards. It's impossible to simply get your match-ups right against Dublin, as they will attack you, one and all. We have achieved an Ulster title and for that, I'm grateful. The lads have done savagely well this year but this is one step too far.

Dublin's system if unchecked allows them to rack up massive scores, and dispatch most oppositions with huge scorelines.

But most team's don't have the experience or depth in strength that Donegal have in their ranks, and I suspect the difference between the two won't be that big. I also reckon Jim McGuinness and the Donegal panel and coaching staff genuinely think they can win this game, and believe they have a plan that will not only frustrate Dublin, but will defeat them in their own back yard.

McGuinness and all his backroom staff over the past 4 years, have shown exceptional ability in getting tactics right against all big sides. Some will point to 2013, which I think was a blurry year and isn't reflective of this Donegal teams true ability.

Whether or not Donegal win, will depend on how quickly they settle. If they settle quickly, they will win. If they don't Dublin will likely edge ahead and win.

But anything can happen on the day, a lot could depend on referee descision's and the Impact that those have. I hope we have no sending off's or black cards, and get to see both sides go at it full tilt.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 25/08/2014 21:05:48    1642014

Cleatus

Just testing to see who is awake, alert & on the ball Cleatus, glad to see it's a Donegal man.

If JMcG and the boys are as sharp on Sun we will be home & hosed & the mods will be out on Mon morning collecting the bodies of dead Dublin posters!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/08/2014 11:18:26    1642137