Donegal v Dublin

we do not know what it's like to loose an All Ireland.

Lol very good :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 19/08/2014 21:48:32    1639116

A week and a half to go til we end Jim Mc's reign as Donegal manager.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2014 14:07:27    1639335

A week and a half to go til we end Jim Mc's reign as Donegal manager.

Or maybe a week & a half till you and the rest of the Dublin blowhards resign off HS!!!

P.S. before anyone goes into orbit I am referring only to the blowhards.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 14:19:39    1639353

Muck come on man lets get real here there's only going to be one winner , we showed against Monaghan what we do to blanket defences.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2014 14:32:44    1639369

Lockjaw
I will be 100% honest with you my old friend
Of course there are nerves, there are always nerves
of course there is a little voice saying "but but but"
of course
BUT
If i am to tell you the truth and I honestly mean NO offence atall , i cannot atall see Dublin not winning this and winning it well

Sorry man
I just think this Dublin team is going to go on to incredible things

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/08/2014 14:42:08    1639378

1639335 A week and a half to go til we end Jim Mc's reign as Donegal manager.

Nothing Dublin do will have any impact on Jims reign as manager. He is most likely going to be offered a full time role with Celtic. Even if we win Sam I expect him to leave. So I repeat Dublin are not going to end Jims reign. His reign will end at close of season.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 20/08/2014 14:54:35    1639389

Muck come on man lets get real here there's only going to be one winner , we showed against Monaghan what we do to blanket defences.

Ah clondalkin,

Your mind works in such a simple way.

You confuse favourtism with certainty.
You think that just because your team is better that you will inevitably win.
You think that what Monaghan's defence put in front of you bears any relation to what Donegal do apart from the silly title of "blanket".

Yes Dublin are favourites & rightfully so, but I would prefer to wait until the game is over before crowning any winners.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 15:00:44    1639399

I am now totally convinced that we will Ambush the Dubs on Sunday week, this team have been readying themselves for this challenge as where Dublin have not yet had a challenge....... Donegal to win by 2/3 pts, get on the 7/1 boys, this is free money......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 20/08/2014 16:44:02    1639481

I can see Dublin winning well, Equally i can see Donegal frustrating the life out of us. As is always the case in sport, It will all depend on the day and on that day, anything can happen. I still haven't watched our game with Monaghan back yet i will do so tonight at some point, But i do know that for 25 minutes or so it was very cagey and sloppy from our point of view (Dublin). Donegal are alot better than Monaghan in perfecting that kind of system so i expect the latter of the two scenarios to be the case come next Sunday.

Donegal get alot of criticism, But personally i have always been fascinated by their approach and wouldnt knock the way they play.. There is still this mindset among footballing purists if you like, that you have to play this entertaining game. Rubbish. Sport is about taking part and having fun, I get that. But part of enjoying sport as a neutral aswell as a fan of one particular side, is seeing different sides adopt different methods to win games. For the purists gaelic football is about you attack we attack, But the sport evolved for the better in my view when teams adopted different systems. It makes the game more interesting. Shootouts are brilliant, dodgey for the heart but they are still class and i do prefer an attacking shoot-out, But i love watching an attacking team trying to work out how to break down/beat such defensive tactics too. Or seeing the defensive skills of the game perfected in a more "negative" system. We (Dublin) did it (defeated a defensive system)against Monaghan, we've done it against Donegal too in the past, And while as a fan of the Dubs it can frustrate you, It does entertain in its own way. So i am not looking ahead to this game with a "jaysus this is going to be a defensive rubbish game and Donegal will bring it down to a horrible level" type attitude.

If Donegals defensive system beats our attacking system, Then fair play to them. But i am very confident that we will see off the Donegal challenge and progress. Regardless of the result, these two sides are very good playing their own individual system, One will win on the day and i cant wait. I hope its us

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2014 16:58:37    1639492

clondalkin there isn't enough egg in Ireland which I hope ends on your face Sunday week.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 20/08/2014 16:59:34    1639494

Good shout wayno.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 20/08/2014 17:06:38    1639506

BLANKET ATTACK V BLANKET DEFENCE

Both teams are going to be really pumped up for this game. Dublin are itching to finally get the "Donegal question" of their backs, while Donegal themselves are eager to finally put the 2011 game to bed.

Entering this tie, very few pundits and even fewer bookies are giving Donegal a chance of winning this game. The general consensus is that Donegal will be aiming for damage limitation, and will simply try and hold Dublin for as long as possible.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 20/08/2014 17:48:37    1639539

We got the donegal question answered in 2011 gary.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2014 18:01:53    1639544

We got the donegal question answered in 2011 gary

Ah yea but like all teams in any team sport, You can beat anyone thats decent once on a given day, you have to do it twice on the big stage to prove the first time wasnt a one time wonder so i do agree with Gary in that regard. But you are right too Jackeen, the one time we have come up against Donegal in the championship under Jim McGuinness, We've beaten them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2014 18:15:35    1639550

Ah Jayzus lads, I'm cringing at some of the posts from my fellow Jacks on here. I hope this is pure WUMing. I think this Donegal team deserves more respect. I'd also ask my fellow dubs to watch last year's AI final again. By 30 mins Mayo should have been out of sight by 8-1. This would have been virtually unrecoverable a la 2012 IMO. Cillian OConnor and a couple of others couldn't point to save their lives. We were absolutely brutal until Bernard popped up with that goal. The worrying thing is that the team that played that day is more or less the same as that which will start against Donegal. Granted Jim McG would have to turn his tactics on their ahead to adopt Mayo's approach but fellas here predicting that Dublin will annihilate Donegal only need to look at last year's final again to see our vulnerabilities all over the park. Dublin remain very beatable and I would agree that we have not been tested so far this year so would put health warnings all over any prediction of an easy Dublin win.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/08/2014 19:05:36    1639584

Good post wayno.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2014 19:08:28    1639587

Any news on injuries, i am presuming that both teams are 100% at full strength? I also read that Joe McQuillan is the ref, which is good news. He doesnt blow the whistle every 10 seconds, and at the same time, will implement the law when its necessary. Hopefully, really fingers crossed, the day will be fine and dry. Hard to beat a day in croke park at the end of the summer.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/08/2014 19:30:25    1639595

Gary I'm having a good laugh at your posts now. After the quarters your posts were saying that you couldn't see how Donegal would win and now you are saying they "can and will" win! I wish I shared your optimism but nothing has happened in the last couple of weeks to change opinions. We certainly can win but the bookies odds say it all - it will take a lot of things to fall into place nicely.

I don't follow your arguments on why we "will" win. Our system may have evolved but is it more effective? We haven't performed at the top of our game in 2 years now and theres nothing apart from the cliched "they will be up for this" argument to suggest that will change on the 31st. Any other argument like 'JMG has been planning for the Dubs all year' etc is just spurious. The fact of the matter is that we will need to play a whole lot better than we have to date this year and probably rely on the Dubs missing a few goal chances and a bit of luck thrown in for good measure.

I pray that it happens but I can't see any argument based on current logic to suggest we "will" win.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 20/08/2014 19:57:40    1639615

What's wrong with you Joxer do you not believe in our team? We will win not a doubt in my mind about that and we will win the all Ireland this year cause we are a country mile better than the rest. Cringe all you like but this team will not be beaten.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2014 20:11:28    1639627

What's wrong with you Joxer do you not believe in our team? We will win not a doubt in my mind about that and we will win the all Ireland this year cause we are a country mile better than the rest. Cringe all you like but this team will not be beaten.

--------
I hope you're right Clondalkin. I hope you're right. Take a look at last year's final again though , the full match, and tell me that that was the performance of a team that will whack a Donegal team playing at full tilt. No chance! If we play to our best I believe we will win so yes I believe in the team because I've seen them often enough to know that we are very good. But if we don't play to our best then we may well lose. Last year's AI final performance, our last real test, will not be good enough IMO.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/08/2014 21:00:14    1639650