Club championships

Mes
we'll have to agree to disagree on this one kiddo.
Bosh
Fair play to you at least you can look past the Kerry begrudgery on here and be objective.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/12/2014 13:33:22    1675752

thata'boy Kingdomboy1... you fight our corner - 3 horse race now, Ulster winners the Rockies and the winner of the other semi - one change in 3, like I said last week madness for 9/1

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/12/2014 13:49:26    1675756

We'll keep her lit horse ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/12/2014 14:23:25    1675762

I would say that the ref in the Munster game was worse - he was fierce inconsistent, especially as regards the black card. I would say that he probably ended up favouring Nire a bit but luckily enough it wasnt a factor in the result in the end - but that was more a result of the Nire awful wastefulness in terms of point kicking.

The ref in the Ulster game seemed to have a very weird/strange interpretation of the tackle and what defenders were allowed get away with in terms of tackling - but he seemed to have the same weird interpretation throughout. Given the amount of blatant shirt-pulling that went on I'd say the ref had to have been a defender when he played and I'd also guess he wasn't blessed with pace.

Also he didnt seem to do anything about what looked like a serious amount of verbals - the fact that it was noticeable on television that players were jawing would lead me to believe there must have been an absolute reckless amount of it going on.

besidetheditch (Dublin) - Posts: 81 - 01/12/2014 17:39:17    1675808

We look to actually have two decent semi finals, stacks were fortunate to beat the Nire who missed too much chances and did not use the extra man as well as they should have. They will get it hard to beat slaughtneil. I suppose Corofin should win in Ruislsip, by a good margin.

The_True_Blue (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 02/12/2014 19:10:20    1676087

Kingdom Boy. I agree about the penalty, but Stack's first goal should have been prevented. 3 defenders around Stack's no 10,from a falling position he still squeezed it past the goalkeeper. The second goal came from a kick out straight to a Stack's forward. The Nire's inability to score even simple frees, and other chances has been covered already.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 03/12/2014 21:04:44    1676474

Thelongridge
I know what your saying but in saying that all goals are preventable but it takes a good player to take advantage of a mistake, and in fairness I'd say if o'callaghan hadn't scored that goal the ref would have had to give a penalty ( although he mightend have) also for the second goal stacks like Kerry put serious pressure on the kickouts and it paid off for them and Kerry in the allireland final and nearly worked against mayo in the replay, as for the nire missing all round them well that can happen when the pressure is on you it happend us against Armagh and Tyrone in the past.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/12/2014 10:31:33    1676516

Why is the Leinster football final not on this weekend? I don't get why it's not being played this weekend instead of dragging it out so close to Christmas like what happens if there's a replay?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/12/2014 11:45:51    1676537

Clondalkin
It's a strange 1 for sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/12/2014 13:23:43    1676585

I remember the leinster final was played in January, the bad weather of that winter postponed it twice.

The_True_Blue (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 04/12/2014 19:24:26    1676732

Forgot to put in 2010

The_True_Blue (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 04/12/2014 19:51:33    1676740

Clondalkin Dub.
The SH Final is on this Sunday, Kilcormac/Killoughey (Offaly) V Ballyhale Shamrocks(Kilkenny). Kilkenny's final was delayed, that might explain why the hurling decider is on Sunday. As for the football,Dublin's final was played on the October bank holiday, Rhode played the Offaly final in mid October, we could have played it earlier.
I recall Leinster finals played in December in both codes. The 1999 footbal final was played in late January, Eire Og from Carlow won that final.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 04/12/2014 21:15:34    1676761

Apart from the football, on Sunday next Kilcormac/Killoughey from Offaly, play Kilkenny champions Ballyhale Shamrocks in the Leinsrer Hurling Final. Ballyhale are favourites, it will be hard for KK in that game.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 04/12/2014 21:53:08    1676768

The only reason I can think of is that Tg4 want to get another weekend in of Gaa Beo otherwise I can't understand it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/12/2014 13:58:33    1676874

Well Kingdom Boy and Horse, I see the anti-Kerry bashing on here hasn't died down one iota since Sam made his way home. This place will probably go into meltdown once Kerry lose a league game next spring!!

That Dub's comments about 'two very average teams' should be put in the dictionary under the definition of a back handed compliment! If Kerry are very average what does that make Donegal, Mayo and Dublin fella?? A bunch of mediocre journeymen???

The Rock got the job done, that's all they need to do. They will win their semi final and then anything is possible. Fella's on here pontificating on the basis of seeing them in one game. The drawn Kerry final was a far higher standard than any of the club Q-F's, Semi-finals or Provincial finals in football I've watched over the past month. And if anyone questions the Rock's footballing ability I suggest they watch the first 20mins of the Kerry final replay.

Stacks have the in-form forward in the country, who is unmarkable when he is on song. They have talent right across the field and they have a grit and hardness that Crokes never possessed. They'll give any of the three left a game and I won't be surprised to see another All Ireland in Kerry by St Patrick's night.

All in all its a great time for Kerry football. Stacks and Ardfert winning the Munster, hopefully Brosna can make it a full hat-trick this Sunday. Munster and All Ireland titles in the bag for the minors and seniors.

We have a County Board dedicated to inter-county success with a chairman who has done monumental work in getting the best men in place at minor, U-21 and senior level. A huge investment in development squads is already bearing fruit and work on our centre for excellence on target for completion on time. Kerry despite its involvement in All Ireland's always manages its club competitions very well, they are wrapped up well in advance of most other places and we don't suffer the tensions between club and county other places are plagued by.

The minor set-up is now to the standard it should always have been, and I doubt Kerry will ever again go 20 years without wining the title. Darragh O'Se and Seamus Moynihan are just the kind of characters we need to drive the U-21 set up on and I think 2015 will be a big year for Kerry in this grade. Its only a matter of time before success comes given the investment happening.

As for senior, well sure what did this year prove only that we will never go away. We have another crop of players coming form the minors and Stack's impressive run and we have always had a great tradition of unearthing players coming from nowhere, a la Donagahy and Paul Murphy.

Great time to be a Kerry fan at both club and county level. Sorry lads, the rest if ye had yer chance for a bit of success for the couple of years we were struggling (by Kerry's high standards). We're back and will be for long time again.

As a contemporary says on here, winter well, because we certainly are!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/12/2014 14:52:00    1676898

Anyone wondering why Henry is the greatest of all time watch the Leinster hurling final , as jimmy McGee use to say "different class"

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/12/2014 15:43:26    1677216

Yep,Henry's still the king! KK's should've won it in normal time. Missed 3 or 4 scoreable frees. Ballyhale the best team in extra time.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 07/12/2014 16:14:17    1677220

The difference between the teams today was Ballyhale's TJ Reid. He was deadly from frees, Henry Shefflin was very ordinary today, Ger Healion at full back for KK outplayed him, Henry had to be switched out the field. Yes, KK should have won in normal time, the missed frees were costly, and Ballyhale finished extra time better. Well done to them.
There was bigger support for the Offaly champions today, they did their county and supporters proud.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 07/12/2014 20:01:29    1677264

The full back did well on him but to say he was ordinary is ridiculous he scored 3 of the best points you'll ever see no one else on that pitch could do that only The King. Hard luck to the Offaly team they were very unlucky in normal time not to win and as you said they did Offaly proud.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/12/2014 20:48:26    1677275

Anyone wondering why Henry is the greatest of all time watch the Leinster hurling final , as jimmy McGee use to say "different class"

Shefflin was poor in normal time & got cleaned anytime there was 50/50 balls.

He was a bit better in extra time but can only get scores when he drifts off into space & the ball is feed out to him on his own.

TJ was class, scored his frees, won ball in the air, set up scores & him dropping back in extra time was the winning of the game.

Thought Cha did well getting on ball & got himself into good positions but his striking let him down on a few occasions.

Kilcormac will be kicking themselves they didn't win it in normal time.

Dessie13 (Dublin) - Posts: 70 - 08/12/2014 09:24:29    1677306