Club championships

Beside the ditch
Conor lane from cork was the ref today and he has had better days for sure, the game was poor there was a lot of players slipping all over the field, a lot of unforced errors, but ye know what! The Rockies will probably go on to win the allireland now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2014 18:46:47    1675623

Not on today's display will Stacks win anything. I reckon the other provincial champs will beat them.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 30/11/2014 19:03:43    1675626

Hard to know really.On todays form i would have Stacks as 4th in the pecking order.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/11/2014 19:12:27    1675630

The long ridge
The Rockies aren't like other teams from Kerry, yes they can play beautiful football like the crokes but they can also play ugly as well and are away more physical than crokes.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2014 19:15:00    1675631

Would have to feel sorry for the nire they got themselves into a winning position twice and threw it away with soft goals given away their shooting was woeful must have been 15 at least? The Ulster final a higher standard and more enjoyable watch Shaughneil look good enough to beat stacks.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3760 - 30/11/2014 19:17:42    1675634

The analyser
I'm sorry but I don't think the stacks goals were soft, the penalty was stone wall and there should have been a second one neer the end and also the keeper shoud have been sent off for a second foot block and another thing the nires second goal should have been a free to donaghy for a punch to the face.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2014 19:48:17    1675643

The Nire keeper was at fault for at least 2-2 if they had a better keeper than him they would have won that Munster final. Stacks unlikely to go any further in truth they only got this far because Cooper was out injured. Derry side are decent but aren't at the level of the top two Corofin,Vincent's.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 30/11/2014 20:22:26    1675655

I was in Armagh today - a great Ulster Final - end to end stuff, great crowd, 9,500, great atmosphere, happy man!!

What can we say about the Derry champions, won the double and ran Cushendall to a replay in the Ulster SHC semi-final ... a great yr for them ....
just a side point of the 4 team playing in Armagh today 3 of them slaughneil, Inniskeen, and W-Point are dual clubs....

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 30/11/2014 20:39:53    1675664

I thought the refereeing in the Ulster final was absolutely brutal.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 30/11/2014 21:08:31    1675677

Icehonesty
Was the ref better or worse than the ref in the Munster final?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2014 21:16:34    1675681

The Ulster Final was an extremely enjoyable game of football. Well done to both teams and Congrats to Slaughtneil on their win.

It's hard to see past them as Stacks looked very poor and were blessed to come past the Nire imo. One thing is for sure but that Stacks will need an unbelievable improvement to beat the Derrymen.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 01/12/2014 09:49:04    1675703

Mes you think stacks were lucky! They played 3/4 of the game without their free taker and one of their main forwards , and the ref have them nothing and you reckon they were lucky. It'l be a tough game for stacks against slaughtneil but I bet theyl win it. It's gas after what happened in the allireland this year people still underestimate Kerry and our clubs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/12/2014 10:35:08    1675718

Congratulations to Slaughtneill, its a great story and a real community based club, and a great advert for the game in Ulster as both teams gave it their all right up to the final whistle.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/12/2014 10:36:43    1675719

Thought the Ulster Final was a decent game with some excellent high fielding and some nice scoring. The ref wasn't great but wasn't any better than the one in the Munster Final.
I thought the nire self destructed yesterday with that late goal. Donaghy was a bit of an embarrassment throwing himself around the place looking for frees etc. and him the biggest man on the pitch. Think Slaughtneill should beat Stacks who really aren't a great team.
Corofin will have nothing to lose against Vincents and I think that will be a really good game IF Corofin can keep it close.
At this stage its very hard to see Vincents not win another AI
Just to finish with a well done to Termon ladies in winning the All Ireland Club Ladies Title yesterday. Its the first All Ireland Club title I ever remember coming to Donegal so a big well done to the ladies.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 01/12/2014 10:39:46    1675723

KingdomBoy1

Mes you think stacks were lucky! They played 3/4 of the game without their free taker and one of their main forwards , and the ref have them nothing and you reckon they were lucky. It'l be a tough game for stacks against slaughtneil but I bet theyl win it. It's gas after what happened in the allireland this year people still underestimate Kerry and our clubs.

They were lucky in the sense that they were handed 2 goals by the Nire goalkeeper - that won't happen again in the semi-final

They were also lucky that the Nire's shooting was some of the worst I've seen in along time - if they give Slaughtneil that amount of space and easy chances then it won't matter how many lucky goals Stacks get gifted coz they'll be buried.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 01/12/2014 10:43:57    1675725

Sorry should say they were handed one goal by the Nire keeper and another after his defender made a hames of it after a short kick out.

He also kicked a couple of kick outs directly to Stacks players about 30 yards from goal which resulted in a couple of handy points.

I doubt the Derry lads will be as accommodating so Stacks will need an unbelievable improvement to beat them.

I'd also disagree that the ref gave Stacks nothing. I thought he made a number of strange looking decisions, some for Stacks and some for the Nire.

The sending off however was the completely the correct call. The height of stupidity from the Stacks player.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 01/12/2014 11:10:06    1675728

Tir Conaill Abu

Donaghy was a bit of an embarrassment throwing himself around the place looking for frees etc. and him the biggest man on the pitch.

I thought he got a serious amount of physical abuse in that match and got very little protection from the referee. As another poster alluded to, the second goal came from Donaghy getting punched in the face by the Nire Nr 8/9 and being dispossessed. That was a clearcut free for Donaghy. That was as clearcut a free as ive ever seen, the Nire man should have at least got a yellow, if not a red for that action.

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 01/12/2014 11:22:12    1675730

As things stand I'd have Corofin as favourites ahead of Slaughtneil overall.

Vincents/Rhode slightly ahead of Stacks imo even though they are yet to play their provincial final.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 01/12/2014 12:05:09    1675735

Stacks are 9/1 to win it, their rank outsiders according to the bookies and practically everyone else bar KingdonBoy.

They are comfortably the least impressive team of the likely semi finalists.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 01/12/2014 12:25:57    1675740

Kingdomboy is right don't write kerry or there club teams off Lady Luck has been very kind to them this year two very average teams somehow still winning , I give massive respect to the kingdom for that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/12/2014 13:24:53    1675751