Mayo v Kerry

I heard the game could be called off with all this rain promised and the Volcano about to blow in Iceland...might be safer to stay at home.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 20/08/2014 11:58:07    1639242

yew-tree - wouldn't you think the GAA would have had a retractable roof over Croke Park in this day and age eh..??
Skinflints... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 20/08/2014 12:00:03    1639245

Fitzy is leaving it till tomorrow night to name his team, he usually names it on the Tuesday night, makes me think he has some trick up his sleeve, whatever it is lets hope it works out better than the few quid I put on the Galway rose!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/08/2014 12:28:35    1639269

that or an injury..

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 20/08/2014 14:00:49    1639333

Even doh I think Mayo will win I hope Kerry win cause it would be much easier for us to get tickets for the final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2014 14:03:21    1639334

jumping the gun a bit there Clondlakin, you've a game before the final yourselves and how would it be easier to get tickets if Kerry rather than Mayo are playing in it??? Do you think Kerry people just stay at home on All Ireland weekends, have you never walked passed the Gresham Hotel on the 3rd Sunday of September anytime in last ten years??!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/08/2014 14:07:57    1639336

The 2011 final was easy enough to get tickets but last years was nearly impossible, mate you's are all playing for runner up only 1 team winning Sam this year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2014 14:15:28    1639350

Keep talking lad, just keep talking! If I was you I'd be praying for a Mayo win, because if a Kerry/Dublin final comes about you'll be eating humble pie all winter...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/08/2014 14:30:47    1639365

No chance pal it's all over bar the shouting, The Dubs are unbeatable in 2014.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2014 14:51:57    1639385

No team is EVER unbeatable.. sure Dublin have not played a division team yet to get this far and Donegal applied wares in Div 2 also this year.... I'd have to agree with my fellow county man.. ye might be better served if Mayo win at the weekend.. but honestly head on the block time I honestly can see us winning by 3 or 4 points...

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 20/08/2014 15:07:04    1639404

Kerry yis have no chance against Mayo, Higgins marks JOD holds him to 2 or 3 points then who else will step up for Kerry? Honestly I see Mayo winning this by 6+. Dublin are unbeatable in this years champo

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2014 15:21:24    1639418

And that's why I think we have a great chance to go all the way this year, look at another trend being posted up today asking people to pick best 15 of 4 counties left and most only going for inclusion of Marc or James from Kerry. The rest of ye know nothing about this new Kerry team or the players we have unearthed in past 2 years. People are just looking at team sheets, seeing no Gooch, Tomas, Galvin etc etc and assuming that we have no quality players left simply because they havn't ever heard of or seen these guys in action.

I suppose it was the same in 1975 when Kerry and their young team of bachelors were being dismissed. My Clondalkin friend I guarantee you that over the next few years you will know all about the likes of Paul Geaney, Stephen O'Brien, Fionn Fitzgerald, Paul Murphy. Our next crop of legends are well into their development!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/08/2014 15:38:26    1639429

Dublin at 2/7 to win sam

Mayo & Kerry chasing runner up spot

(hee hee hee hee)

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 20/08/2014 17:06:37    1639505

Kerry yis have no chance against Mayo, Higgins marks JOD holds him to 2 or 3 points then who else will step up for Kerry? Honestly I see Mayo winning this by 6+. Dublin are unbeatable in this years champo

I don't think Higgins will mark JOD. Might see Cunniffe mark him...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/08/2014 17:51:35    1639540

100% Higgins will mark JOD

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2014 18:09:08    1639547

Dublin at 2/7 to win sam

Mayo & Kerry chasing runner up spot

(hee hee hee hee)

I agree :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2014 18:17:44    1639551

I can't see how Mayo can possibly win this game.They just don't have the forwards. From 1-11 they are as good anything in the country but the rest of the forward line is distinctly average. Or not as good as people think it is. Andy Moran wouldn't get on the Kerry panel. He's living off the performance against Roscommon who are a Div 3 team. Also do Mayo really want to be the first county to lose 3 All Ireland finals in a row?

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 20/08/2014 21:27:54    1639667

Just watching the KERRY mayo semifinal from 2011, the teams were ,
kealy
K young, M o'se, t O'sullivan
T o'se, e Brosnan, a O'mahony
A maher. B Sheehan
Darran O'sullivan dec O'sullivan d Walsh
Gooch k donaghy k o'leary

Mayo team
Hennely
T cunniffe g cafferkey k Higgins
R feeney d Vaughan t Mortimer
A O'Shea s O'Shea
K McLaughlin a Dillon a Moran
E varley a freeman c O'connor
Teams haven't changed that much for mayo also joe brolly said Aidan O'Shea can't run :-

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2014 21:54:17    1639686

There can't be any qualms at all about all this talk of a Mayo v Dublin Region final.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 20/08/2014 21:58:51    1639693

Sure ye were going to destroy us as well in 2009 clondalkin! Ye annihalated everyone who had come before u that year, kerry were on the way out, too many miles on the clock and gooch wasnt the player he once was, didnt really work out that way though did it! If teams start to think kerry will struggle forr scores when they have the likes of sheehan and dec o sullivan on their team, then you are just living in dreamland! If mayo try double mark JOD, then the other lads inside will run riot!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 21/08/2014 08:16:27    1639700