Mayo v Kerry

Well in the phsycological battle it's Eamon fitzmaurice 1 James horan 0, both managers were supposed to name their teams at 9 last night and Eamon named his at 8 and horan is waiting till today, that shows fear to me and says horan has a lack of confidence in him self and his team that he had to wait to see what the Kerry team was before he could pick his own, as for our team selection I was a bit baffled at first, I was expecting 3 changes just not the 3 that happened but in fairness to Eamon I'm sure he's picking on form in training but I think the lack of a natural free taker might cost us but I'm glad Eamon is going for youth this game will do the young lads the world of good and I think we might get a draw at least on Sunday.
An Riocht Abu.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2014 08:18:23    1640268

Not a starting team that would have me breaking the speed limit to get to Dublin to see! But hopefully Eamon knows what he is doing.
Declan got his knee worked on after the Galway game but thought he might be fit to start...looks like not!

Well we know we have the calvary to come in but hopefully those injuns from Mayo wont have us ransacked and left before our calvary arrives

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/08/2014 08:24:33    1640269

Well in the phsycological battle it's Eamon fitzmaurice 1 James horan 0, both managers were supposed to name their teams at 9 last night and Eamon named his at 8 and horan is waiting till today, that shows fear to me and says horan has a lack of confidence in him self and his team that he had to wait to see what the Kerry team was before he could pick his own, as for our team selection I was a bit baffled at first, I was expecting 3 changes just not the 3 that happened but in fairness to Eamon I'm sure he's picking on form in training but I think the lack of a natural free taker might cost us but I'm glad Eamon is going for youth this game will do the young lads the world of good and I think we might get a draw at least on Sunday.
An Riocht Abu.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2014 08:33:27    1640273

Definitely advantage Mayo after seeing the Kerry team named. Could understand dropping Young for Crowley and Declan looked to be struggling against Galway but cant't understand how Sheehan was left out (unless injured). For freetaking and leadership Sheehan defo worth his place - even if they wanted to go with Moran/Maher at MF could have used him at 11. Serious lack of leadership in the middle 8 for Kerry now - moran, maher and buckley must stand up Sunday. If we hold our own or even manage to win the game then theres great encouragement there for the future. Btw really hoping we can get O'Brien on the ball and get him running directly at the Mayo goal - good bet for first goalscorer!!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 22/08/2014 09:36:38    1640291

An Riocht Abu.
Dummy Kerry team. I doubt Horan will be reading too much into that Kerry lineup

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 22/08/2014 09:50:12    1640295

KingdomBoy1
Well in the phsycological battle it's Eamon fitzmaurice 1 James horan 0, both managers were supposed to name their teams at 9 last night

Mayo minor and senior teams were never to be announced yesterday. Teams will be announced at lunchtime today, same as before the Cork game.
If you are counting the timing of naming of teams as a phsycological battle then maybe you really are worried.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 22/08/2014 09:54:10    1640296

Mayo will finally beat Kerry and by 5/6 points.

Can't see Kerry staying with them.

LordLizzie (USA) - Posts: 23 - 22/08/2014 10:49:24    1640328

KingdomBoy1
Well in the phsycological battle it's Eamon fitzmaurice 1 James horan 0, both managers were supposed to name their teams at 9 last night

I work with one of the lads on the panel and he says the team was picked on Monday, players told who is playing on Tuesday. There will be a few upset players if the BS you talking is correct.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 22/08/2014 10:55:44    1640330

If that's the starting team we'll be waiting another year for Sam.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 22/08/2014 11:05:51    1640344

Have to say confidence of us winning has taken a little hit after seeing the team. Dummy teams are not Fitzy style so would indicate Decland and Sheehan are judged not to be fit enough to play 50-55 minutes. His obviously trusting in youth and hoping we're still in game around 50min mark so he can start emptying the undoubted quality and experience on bench to help us over the line.

Big gamble, but after seeing what Fitzy has achieved in last two years with a team going through serious rebuilding, I have complete faith in him and his team.

I'm going to call it; Kerry to tear out of the traps and build up a good 5-6 point lead by half time. Mayo to fight back and bring it back to 1-2 point game by about 55min, Fitzy to empty the bench to drive Kerry over line in final quarter to win out by 3-4 points.

An Riocht Abu and Kerry 4 SAM!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/08/2014 11:10:24    1640345

Legendzxix

Ah sure look it, no qualms at all as I say about all this Dublin Region v Mayo talk. Tompkins clearly looking to stoke the fire in the Mayo bellies. We'll gather up a few footballers around the Kingdom and send them up to Croker on Sunday. Sure we'll see how we get on.

Gas. I'll throw the boots into the car, give me a shout if we're short.

FullyForward (Kerry) - Posts: 13 - 22/08/2014 11:27:31    1640361

Hermit, I would be stunned if that was the starting team if I am honest. Mayo's team is probably a dummy team also, but the fact that it started the last day out makes it a little more subtle.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/08/2014 11:29:51    1640362

I ventured onto a Kerry fans forum to see what they are saying and most of them are sure they will beat Mayo and some slightly worried about their team selection but overall no fear at all (could you blame them considering they wipe us out nearly every time we play). Anyway I saw this comment and had to laugh:

Mayo have not been tested yet and as usual they are watching sports movies for feel good endings and professional sound bites "any given Sunday" "these men are like my brothers" etc etc etc.

Ha ha

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 22/08/2014 11:40:26    1640370

You will be alright in the jeans and runners fullyforward, don't worry about it!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/08/2014 11:44:56    1640374

The hermit is right , fitz doesn't do dummy teams, that'll be his starting 15 for sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2014 11:48:14    1640377

Yew_tree, I think a lot of Kerry people like myself will be quietly confident about Sunday. That's nothing much to do with our record against Mayo or any feeling that ye can't get the job done at this level, its more down to the natural confidence we have in playing in big games in the championship.

Players know that Kerry people, no matter what team they have, expect to be here every year, they expect to be able to win the All Ireland every year, they expect our boys to perform and be good enough to take on and beat everyone and anyone.

If we make it to the final, we won't fear whoever we meet that's the beauty (and curse sometimes) of the natural confidence of us Kerry 'animals'; nurtured by our winning tradition and the self-belief that we produce better players than anyone else.

You can question or decree it all you want, but that's the way Kerry people feel about their football.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/08/2014 12:14:53    1640390

TheHermit - And good for ye. That is what winning year after year brings. In our case disappointment follows more often than not. That said I would be also quietly confident we can finally beat Kerry again in Championship.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 22/08/2014 12:28:22    1640404

I wonder is this kerry side with one eye on the final? Dublin are famous slow starters and in many games use their bench to pull away from the opposition! Wont work against this kerry bench! With regards the mayo game think its a smart team by fitz, imagine johnny buckley will drop back as a third midfielder for alot of the game to combat mayos strenght their and u will get plent of running out of walsh and m.geaney on the wings! Seeious pace inside then and mayo defence will struggle to hold them! Think the team we have named will stay with mayo for the 50 and the bench will see us over the line!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 22/08/2014 12:35:22    1640413

Yerra you'll do it eventually Yew-Tree as surely as a tide comes in, but for obvious reasons I hope it isn't this Sunday!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/08/2014 12:36:01    1640414

Anyway we have named an unchanged team for Sunday:

Mayo (All-Ireland SFC semi-final v Kerry, 24/8/2014): Robbie Hennelly (Breaffy); Chris Barrett (Belmullet), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis); Lee Keegan (Westport), Tom Cunniffe (Castlebar Mitchels), Colm Boyle (Davitts); Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe), Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy); Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore), Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy), Jason Doherty (Burrishoole); Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber), Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen), Alan Dillon (Ballintubber).

This came as news to me as string rumours were circulating in Mayo that Gibbons and Freeman were to be brought in.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 22/08/2014 12:40:45    1640419