Mayo v Kerry

The closer the game gets the more I'm believing Kerry will win. Fitzmaurice is as shrewd as they come and I've seen Horan fail on the line one too many times.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 21/08/2014 14:21:02    1639956

ENDATRIBE.........settle! I know you're new around here but just settle.(don't have people laughing at ya)

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 21/08/2014 14:22:26    1639959

ass..ky

1639887 Mayo, always the bridesmaid, never the bride
Someday my prince will come!!

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 21/08/2014 14:34:21    1639968

God I wish I could have mayos confidence ,then again it's easy for them to be confident going in to a semifinal against a team in transisition , its the final they'l have the problem with. After watching the semifinal fro 2011 last night , we're miss 8 of that team the gooch is an awful loss he scored 1:07 in th game and one of the greatest goals ever, he won a high ball against cunniffe and hennely on the edge of the small square soloed out to the 13 then soloed back in and burried the ball in the roof of the net. What a goal, on another note I hope Martin crane isn't commentating .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/08/2014 14:56:33    1639990

Greenandred
Jd didnt play against Clare

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 21/08/2014 15:27:38    1640017

clondalkindub and endatribe, some of us Cíarraighe can recognise top quality winderry-uppery when we see it. Kudos. Keep fishing like this the net will snap with the weight of the shoal!

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 21/08/2014 15:46:19    1640040

Big match is getting closer time to call it....

I have been doing a good bit of reading up about this game surprised enough with the stats...O'Conner is Mayo's top scorer in the championship to date 2-23 of which only 0-7 is from play, 2-5 of which was against New York. Mayo rely a lot from free's for there scores. Mayo top scorer from play is mcloughlin with 0-8, A Moran has scored only 0-7. There lack of real top forward who will get 7/8 pts a game from play will cost them again. You could have the same argument against Kerry take O'Donaghue out and Kerry could struggle for scores. I think this is a real 50/50 game. IF Kerry keep there discipline and not give mayo handy scores from Free's they have classier forwards and a stronger bench I would give them the nod by 3 to 4pts.

If it turns into a physical battle then Mayo would have the edge.

I think at the end of the day Kerry have a couple of top Forwards that Mayo don't and score might come a bit easier to them.

Kerry to win by 4pts

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 21/08/2014 16:30:55    1640073

Really looking forward to this one. Almost impossible to call. Kerry have coped with the loss of Cooper and have a crafty and potent set of forwards, JOD doesn't need asking twice. May are still v strong at the back though and have a good spread of scorers up front but also in the half back line. But then you've got the O'Sheas. If Aidan has a good game he could be the difference. But Maher and Sheehan are no dummies, and Buckley will give Kerry plenty of presence. I can't call it.

Mayo by 1.

No, Kerry.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 21/08/2014 16:44:16    1640084

JacktheDub

You have forgotten that before last years final Dublins top scorer was Cluxton. Oh but of course I forgot that Dublin have the best scoring forwards in the country and Mayo have none.

Read what you want from stats. Mayos scores come from everyone bar the fullback just like Dublin and they shoot 50% average (just like Dublin) but Dublin have scoring forwards and Mayo don't. Funny that. (Check out Dontfoul if you don't believe me.

You are right about Kerrys forwards though they are the best in the country (shoot around 60%). But you can't kick points if you haven't got the ball. Mayos strength is in getting primary possession and producing turnovers (just like Dublin) and that's where the game will be won or lost. If Kerry break even for possession they will win if Mayo dominate possession the sheer volume of chances will ensure victory.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 21/08/2014 16:47:51    1640087

Ah sure look it, no qualms at all as I say about all this Dublin Region v Mayo talk. Tompkins clearly looking to stoke the fire in the Mayo bellies. We'll gather up a few footballers around the Kingdom and send them up to Croker on Sunday. Sure we'll see how we get on.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 21/08/2014 17:58:03    1640129

Don't mention brides or bridemaids, we're robbed out the door with invites to weddings, 40 euro tickets for Sundays game, Bryan Adams tickets for Castlebar 50 euro each last monday and if Mayo win on Sunday its 80 euro tickets for the final, at least we can travel by train to the game. Ahhh! no trains running either, suppose have no choice but drive and starve until we arrive back to Mayo, can't get a decent meal outside of Connaught. aaaa turkey and ham with spuds, making me hungry already

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 21/08/2014 18:54:25    1640156

How many are expected to attend this weekends Semi.?

Mayo will surely outnumber the Kerry support ?

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 21/08/2014 19:13:02    1640165

Fionn the Mayo CC have approx 15,000 tickets sold and when you add in tickets bought elsewehere (Super Value, ticket,aster etc) you might be looking at 18,000 plus the large amount of Mayo people based in Dublin and elsewhere, probably around 20-25,000 Mayo fans I would imagine.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 21/08/2014 19:19:51    1640170

endatribe
kerrys shortcomings will be exposed by this ruthless Mayo machine.

Good man enda, that post brightened up my day to no end!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/08/2014 19:42:15    1640180

Ive a feeling Kerry might just sneak it,but Mayo have serious power in their team and if the rough Kerry up early they will put them off their game,which is lovely kick passing into space and into the chest of their brilliant forwards........Im sure the room Kerry have gotten this year wont be allowed on Sunday,but if Mayo arent on their game the will be beaten.

HEAD = Mayo by 2

GUT = Kerry by 1

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 21/08/2014 20:55:09    1640211

Just swen the kerry team, safe to say we have by far the best bench in yhe country, laden with all stars!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 21/08/2014 21:14:14    1640222

Very interesting team named by Kerry. Keeping Declan and Darran Sullivan on the bench as well as Sheehan, and Young is a big call. I'm sure Fitzmaurice has a shrewd plan in store but I have to say I was not anticipating this line up. It's going to be some game.

Keane16 (Kerry) - Posts: 306 - 21/08/2014 21:26:21    1640228

Declan O'Sullivan, Killian Young and Sheehan dropped. 12 All Irelands starting and 20 on the bench!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 21/08/2014 21:29:22    1640229

Apparently Declan's knees are banjaxed, needs to take pain killing injections before games. I wonder is Fitzmaurice counting on Kerry being there or thereabouts with 20-25 to go and then spring the likes of Declan, Darran, Sheehan, Young and Donaghy from the bench.

Fading has been a big problem for Kerry over last 2-3 years and by having these lads to come in could give them a crucial second wind. Big gamble though considering the inexperience of the team.

Keane16 (Kerry) - Posts: 306 - 21/08/2014 21:51:53    1640254

Keane16

Apparently Declan's knees are banjaxed, needs to take pain killing injections before games. I wonder is Fitzmaurice counting on Kerry being there or thereabouts with 20-25 to go and then spring the likes of Declan, Darran, Sheehan, Young and Donaghy from the bench.

Fading has been a big problem for Kerry over last 2-3 years and by having these lads to come in could give them a crucial second wind. Big gamble though considering the inexperience of the team.

Don't know about The dodgy knees but I'd agree its a gamble to leave out the experienced lads aiming to bring them in to close out the game. Mayo always make a big push either side of half time and Kerry could be chasing the game by the time the senior lads enter the fray.

Mayo tend to fade out in the last quarter when they are leading (don't really use the bench) so if Kerry are thereabouts by 55 mins it will have been a good decision by Fitzmaurice.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 22/08/2014 08:16:25    1640267