Mayo v Kerry

20/08/2014 21:58:51
legendzxix

There can't be any qualms at all about all this talk of a Mayo v Dublin Region final.

I said it to you before give it up with your 'sure am I not a funny little Kerry man with me smart alec quip' about the 'Dublin region' Its offensive especially coming from a Kerryman. Give it up.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 21/08/2014 08:34:12    1639704

Mayo will need to put in a big performance to win this..Mayo's lineup will be very important and interesting.. I think higgins might be deployed on Declan O sullivan.. If O sullivan wanders back higgins has the ability to do damage at the other end.. Cunniffe cud be on JOD.. Cafferkey on Geaney.. Barrett might sweep in front if selected..

Big call with Vaughan for me.. Hes not tight enough in defence.. He could also be used as a sweeper but more likely to be either used as a runner at mf with SOS or not selected at all.. Jason Gibbons could be drafted in.

Also cud AOD be put in at 14 for a period?

Donnacha walsh will try and put keegan on back foot like he did with Jack McCaffrey last year..

Kerrys MF can win this for them..

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 21/08/2014 08:47:27    1639706

Everything happens for a reason, the rail strikes for next sunday and the all ireland final proves that mayo, kerry and donegal aren't going to win SAM. give it to dublin and let us save the petrol money. option 2 is to switch the games to the whest and see will the strikes still go ahead when dublin fans wont be able to use the trains

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 21/08/2014 08:48:40    1639707

Neither team will beat the Dublin region in the final, but they could potentially offer a challenge for forty minutes or so.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 21/08/2014 08:51:39    1639708

Just a quick correction London lost 4 All Irelands in a row 1900-1903, 3 in a row Galway 1940-42, a few 2 in a rows. Check up the 1910 final Kerry refused to travel as the railways wouldn't reduce the price of rail tickets. Now that,s what i call a county team and not this crowd of sheep we now call our GAA players who wouldn't say boo to a ghost. Imagine if Mayo and Kerry refused to travel to Croke Park on Sunday what would happen, both teams would sneak up hoping to catch the other team out

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 21/08/2014 09:08:53    1639711

legendzxix

There can't be any qualms at all about all this talk of a Mayo v Dublin Region final.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/08/2014 09:19:59    1639718

bryanadams

1639708 Neither team will beat the Dublin region in the final, but they could potentially offer a challenge for forty minutes or so.
Thanks bryan, this is exactly what we need to be hearing. Keep it up.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 21/08/2014 09:49:37    1639731

Usually great craic before and after the game with the Mayo people.
I suppose mayo will have the Big Tree taken over but I will pop in to say hello win or lose!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 21/08/2014 09:56:05    1639736

O'Donoghue is unreal. Even if we put six men on him we'd do well to keep him to single figures on Sunday. The great defenders from Clare, Cork and Galway couldn't tame the beast. What chance have against him? Our lads will hardly sleep before Sunday from worrying about the havoc that The Legion man will wreak upon us.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7347 - 21/08/2014 10:11:40    1639747

bluedubstar,

if we were to win on Sunday and ye absolutely annihilated us in the final, it would be no small consolation to me that i won't be near as sickened as our aforementioned village 'wit'

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 21/08/2014 11:26:13    1639794

All this talk of james O Donohue is missing the point,Kerrys glory days are over and one man is not going to save them on sunday.Keegan will put manners on JOD and kerrys shortcomings will be exposed by this ruthless Mayo machine. Stop living in the past lads, wake up and smell the reality of Mayos future dominance. Mayo by 5 or 6

endatribe (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 21/08/2014 12:03:56    1639830

Mayo's future dominance??

When Kerry do the double on Sunday I'm sure you'll retract this statement, this isn't the greatest Kerry team ever they are in a state of rebuilding yet they find themselves 70 mins away from an all Ireland final. For all their 'dominance' I think Mayo would take this year in year out.

As for the Kerry minors, they are a very special group of players, will take a very good minor side to stop them. The horizons for Kerry football are very bright whatever the results sunday, with Tommy Walsh and The Gooch back next year, even the mighty Dublin will fear them.

Hobo (Kildare) - Posts: 79 - 21/08/2014 12:38:21    1639854

Future dominance??? You've been playing with same team for last 4 seasons. If Mayo win this year, they wont' be back for another 3-4 years competing. If they lose, it will take them a decade to rebuild; however this year finishes for Mayo it will be the end of this present team and set up. The future is Kerry lad, come 2015/6 we will be unstoppable!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/08/2014 12:39:06    1639855

endatribe

All this talk of james O Donohue is missing the point,Kerrys glory days are over and one man is not going to save them on sunday.Keegan will put manners on JOD and kerrys shortcomings will be exposed by this ruthless Mayo machine. Stop living in the past lads, wake up and smell the reality of Mayos future dominance. Mayo by 5 or 6
___
Just love this. Fair play to ye for not playing the usual game. Unfortunately don't think it's going obe as easy as you think

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/08/2014 12:45:38    1639865

Mayo, always the bridesmaid, never the bride!!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 21/08/2014 13:08:09    1639887

TheHermit
Future dominance??? You've been playing with same team for last 4 seasons. If Mayo win this year, they wont' be back for another 3-4 years competing. If they lose, it will take them a decade to rebuild; however this year finishes for Mayo it will be the end of this present team and set up. The future is Kerry lad, come 2015/6 we will be unstoppable!!

A common misconception. We have 2 old players in the squad and they aren't even the leading lights, we have some excellent youngsters that very nearly forced their way in this year, despite the strength of the team at present, we have an all Ireland winning minor squad and another in an ai semi final. Mayo aren't going anywhere hermit. Even if we fell away for a year, these lads will be back and it is going to take a serious team to stop the likes of keegan, AOS, COC, Hennelly, Vaughan, Freeman, Doherty and mcloughlin when they actually do reach their peak.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/08/2014 13:18:01    1639895

Tommy Walsh and the gooch are going to bring kerry up to ,Mayos level????? The O Shea brothers will swallow Walsh whole and the Gooch might never return to PAST glories,sure he is almost over the hill anyway. Mayo v Donegal in final. Dublins money and Kerrys "tradition" will make it all the more sweeter when SAM lands in Castlebar come september

endatribe (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 21/08/2014 13:23:03    1639902

endatribe

1639902 Tommy Walsh and the gooch are going to bring kerry up to ,Mayos level????? The O Shea brothers will swallow Walsh whole and the Gooch might never return to PAST glories,sure he is almost over the hill anyway. Mayo v Donegal in final. Dublins money and Kerrys "tradition" will make it all the more sweeter when SAM lands in Castlebar come september [/i]

Only S.A.M. that will be landing in Castlebar September will be one from a misplaced rocket launcher :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/08/2014 13:44:08    1639918

endatribe, County: Mayo,Posts: 2.

Make sure to pull the curtains back and brush the teeth after you wake up.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 21/08/2014 13:56:12    1639932

Fair play to Mayo - after last years final i heard ppl say that they will be broken and will not come be back from this, etc. But look at them now, in the semi's and have played great stuff this year. Quality and committed players, like the other three teams left in the championship.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 21/08/2014 14:08:59    1639943