Our sport on the National Broadcaster

its martin carney..are you suprised?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 04/04/2015 15:38:09    1710413

I thought in the wake of the St. Patrick's Day shambles when RTE News showed highlights of the Ulster Schools Rugby Union Final but did not show highlights of the corresponding Ulster Colleges Football Final that RTE had given assurances to rectify the situation. Clearly not. No mention at all on the early evening news of the All-Ireland Colleges Hurling Final won for the 20th time by St. Kieran's Kilkenny. The match was broadcast live on TG4 so it would have the easiest thing in the world for RTE News to get footage of the match. They have the technology but clearly unless it's schools rugby they don't have the interest. And remember this was an All-Ireland Final not just a Provincial Final.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 04/04/2015 21:09:07    1710589

Just home from Tuam at the under 21 Connaught final, an excellent game of football, showing everything that's good with football and a big crowd, i turn on Rte sports news not a mention of the game or a mention as Mediaman has said of the hurling schools final or the 4 different hurling finals or the Leitrim Waterford football final. It seems that the are going out of there way to avoid showing Gaa.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 04/04/2015 21:45:59    1710605

janesboro lots of rural gaa clubs get bigger support then travelled to Scotland to watch the irish womens rugby team. You are basically saying we should avoid Irish media completely, but even if we do we still have to pay the bloody license fee to Rte

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 04/04/2015 21:51:17    1710611

Last night (Saturday) RTE's 6.01 Sports News ran for 7 minutes and 13 seconds. Of that , 15 seconds or 3.4% was devoted to GAA matters. In fact just one result that of the Kerry Westmeath 2A Hurling Final was mentioned. The other 3 hurling league Finals, the Div.4 football match and the 2 All-Ireland Colleges Finals were completely ignored. Par for the course you might think. Still emboldened by hope I then watched the RTE 9 o'clock Sports News. It ran for 6 minutes and 30 seconds. This time in addition to ignoring the already mentioned games RTE then decided to drop even the Kerry Westmeath result and to make it a clean sweep they also failed to give the result of the Connacht U-21 Football Final. Leaving GAA matters with a grand total of 0% coverage. The ignored U-21 match was attended by almost 5,000 people in Tuam as compared to the few hundred who attended the Limerick Dundalk and Longford St Pats League of Ireland games for which of course RTE gave the full-time scores. The battle to highlight the abuse of 'our' games on the 'National Broadcaster' goes on.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 05/04/2015 19:40:09    1710925

13,000 in Castlebar, 10,000 in Clones, 8,000 in Navan (Div.2) 5,000 in Omagh. It's amazing the huge numbers of Irish people who still turn up at funerals.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 06/04/2015 12:44:01    1711183

Thanks for pointing out Meath are in Division 2.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 06/04/2015 13:52:03    1711232

ROS1 County: Roscommon
janesboro lots of rural gaa clubs get bigger support then travelled to Scotland to watch the irish womens rugby team. - I NEVER SAID THEY DIDNT - SEE BELOW - IN FACT ALL GAA CLUBS BET BIGGER SUPPORT THAN WENT TO SCOTLAND

You are basically saying we should avoid Irish media completely, but even if we do we still have to pay the bloody license fee to Rte- NEVER SAID THAT

ROS in your earlier post you said "Ormond if my local small rural Junior ladies football team were playing a important game in Glasgow, i have no doubt the would have brought a bigger crowd then the irish women s rugby team had"

My response was
How many people go to your club bring to womens matches- they must be well supported if they would bring big crowds to scotland?
How many people go to ladies football inter county game - when i watch them on Tg4 the crowds aint too spectacular?
How many travelling fans go to England when their clubs plays an ireland club quarter final or even when they play London in championship?
How many cork fans were are at 2013 hurling final replay - how many were at ladies football the day after - and bear in mind this was in the same stadium not 2 different cities like glasgow/edinburgh? How many dublin fans were at 2013 all ireland final - how many went to 2014 ladies final?

Would be asking a lot for fans to fork out to scotland to see you local ladies junior side

Separately congratulations to Roscommon on winning connacht 21s and on promotion to div 1 - John Evans et al - take a bow

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 06/04/2015 14:08:52    1711243

Is there nothing RTE Sport won't do to push rugby union to No.1spot in their website news. An online poll on Against the Head of full-backs over the last 20 years is regarded as the most important sports news of the night (as of 9 pm). Compare this to their treatment of the Cork Ladies team which was voted Team of the Year 2014 on RTE. Our National Broadcaster almost totally ignored what was a huge success not just for that team but for women's sport in general. The same programme ATH tonight also showed highlights of a challenge match between Munster and Connacht's second teams. Plenty of resources for rugby union but none for well attended, competitive football and hurling matches. You'd imagine somebody in RTE would by now be embarrassed by all of this bias. By the way expect the rest of this online rugby union poll to be given headline news in coming weeks.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 06/04/2015 21:40:54    1711438

RTE.ie website has NO MATCH REPORT of the All-Ireland Colleges A final yesterday. This is quite frankly scandalous. Especially considering the huge write ups they give to the provincial rugby finals. I'm really disappointed by this. A huge day for those men who played and no coverage on the national broadcaster website. Scandalous.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 12/04/2015 17:06:32    1713317

never mind the write ups for schools rugby

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 12/04/2015 17:54:16    1713343

When it comes to fair coverage of football and hurling the RTE website never fails to disappoint. At this stage that's a given. RTE television news isn't far behind though. Saturday's early evening news showed a few seconds of the All-Ireland Colleges Football Final. No prize for doing what a national broadcaster is supposed to do. Provide coverage of showpiece Irish sports events of that kind. By the late evening news however the decision was taken in RTE to drop even those few seconds of highlights. No other sport was treated in that way. Horse racing, golf, rugby union, athletics and soccer were all covered at least as well if not better on the Nine News as on the Six News. But the young footballers get dumped and once again football and hurling is pushed to the end of the bulletin. 'And finally GAA.' I think that's what I'll call my book.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 12/04/2015 20:05:13    1713420

It's almost 7 months now since RTE last showed any live football or hurling. In contrast RTE today completed a clean sweep of live rugby union coverage. In those 7 months RTE has shown live rugby union at 7 different levels. 6 Nations. Friendly internationals. Reserve team internationals. Women's internationals. U-20 internationals. Pro 12. And as of this afternoon club rugby in the form of the Bateman Cup Final played out in front of maybe 200 people. So rugby union at every level is catered for by RTE. Quite a contrast to football and hurling. Remember they decided not to cover any of the Subsidiary Competitions in January when there were no contractual issues. They could have covered the O'Byrne Cup Final or the McKenna Cup Final both of which attracted huge attention and large crowds. Where there a will there's a way. What next an AIL game live? We really are badly served by Rugby Telefis Eireann.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 18/04/2015 19:03:26    1715309

Fair points again media man. We got the clubs cup final in rugby union in all it's "glory" yesterday and boy it was truly God awful s***e. We'll probably get the final of The AIL too. RTE's bias is staggering.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/04/2015 13:19:23    1715412

mediaman County: Antrim

6 Nations. Friendly internationals. Reserve team internationals. Women's internationals. U-20 internationals. Pro 12. And as of this afternoon club rugby in the form of the Bateman Cup Final played out in front of maybe 200 people. So rugby union at every level is catered for by RTE. WELL THERE WAS MORE THE 200 AT IT AND GAA AT EVERY LEVEL IS COVERED BY TG4 RTE AND SKY

Quite a contrast to football and hurling. 30 ODD CHAMPIONSHIP MATCHES A YEAR PLUS THE SUNDAY GAME

What next an AIL game live? WHAT WOULD BE SO WRONG WITH THAT

We really are badly served by Rugby Telefis Eireann. - 30 PLUS CHAMPIONSHIP GAMES PER YEAR - YEAH THATS REALLY BRUTAL SERVICE AINT IT

IN NOTE THAT THE BBC NI WHICH IS THE PUBLIC SERVICE BROADCASTER UP YOUR NECK OF THE WOODS DOES NOT SHOW MCKENNA CUP OR NATIONAL LEAGUE OR CLUB GAA OR MUCH HURLING AND SHOWS A LOT OF ULSTER RUGBY - SO WHY ARE YOU NOT HAVING A POP AT THEM

19/04/2015 13:19:23
Greengrass County: Louth Posts: 3648
Fair points again media man. We got the clubs cup final in rugby union in all it's "glory" yesterday and boy it was truly God awful s***e.
WHAT WAS SO BAD ABOUT IT - PRETTY DECENT GAME I THOUGHT GOOD LINEOUTS - WELL WORKED TRIES BY CON - 2 VERY COMMITTED SIDES - POOR CROWD THOUGH WHICH NEVER MAKES IT A GOOD SPECTACLE - COMPARED TO BOTH EUROPEAN SEMIS

IF IT WHAT THAT BAD MAYBE YOU COULD HAVE SWITCHED STATION. TURNED OFF YOUR TV - OR MAYBE EVEN WATCHED THE UNDER 21 GAMES - I MEAN ITS NOT LIKE YOU WOULD EVER GET A BAD GAME IN ANY OTHER SPORT NOW IS IT

We'll probably get the final of The AIL too. RTE's bias is staggering. WHATS SO WRONG ABOUT SHOWING THE AIL FINAL

NEXT WEEK INSTEAD OF COVERING THE AIL SEMI FINALS THEY ARE DOWN (PER MY SKY BOX) TO SHOW SOME THING LIKE MARVEL SHIELDS - AT LEAST GREENGRASS AND MEDIAMAN WILL BE HAPPY OUT WATCHING THAT - I NOTE THAT THERE IS LEAGUE OF IRELAND SOCCER ON NEXT FRIDAY - HOW COME YE ARE BOTH NOT MOANING AND WHINGING ABOUT THAT- YE SHOULD JUST ADMIT AND SAY IT - YE HATE RUGBY - NOTHING WRONG WITH HATING RUGBY LOTS OF PEOPLE DO - BUT JUST COME OUT AND SAY IT

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 20/04/2015 09:55:32    1715636

I think the point the lads are trying to make is that for such a minority sport rugby get's a lot of coverage.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 20/04/2015 12:33:01    1715707

Janesboro are you Ormand without the BOLD?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/04/2015 12:53:11    1715717

mike i know its not as popular as gaa but it aint a minority sport either - they are just having a pop at rugby because it gets covered - the way they are going on you would think rte dont show any games on tv or covers nothing on radio - anyway back to nicky quaids injury!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 20/04/2015 13:19:39    1715725

witnof

Janesboro are you Ormand without the BOLD? - NO SIR

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 20/04/2015 13:20:23    1715726

Janesboro, I now pronounce thee CAPSLOCKTREATYMAN !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 20/04/2015 14:20:56    1715743