Davy Fitz for another three years

I agree pope.I certainly dont rate Wexford or Dublin ahead of Clare,just because they got further in the championship this year.As you correctly say,these are just one off results,with a multitude of factors and reasons behind Clares early exit.Clare are a top team and i would expect them to figure prominently over the coming years.I certainly couldnt say the same for Dublin or Wexford.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/07/2014 20:19:56    1628184

Benedict where were u? The draw had nothing to do with it. Clare were draw against Dubin or Wexford. Dublin beat Wexford and Wexford beat Clare home and away. Wexford then couldnt give limerick a game. Results dont lie.

Absolutely nothing to do with a draw

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 29/07/2014 20:28:31    1628196

Luck of the draw, they were the luckiest team in the draw the last two years. If they got KK in Nowlan park, or like Galway getting Tipp in Thurles after two games V KK well then you could say luck of the draw but with all respect to Wexford they got them in Ennis. Yes Clare were worthy champions but as of now a lot of question marks hang over them. All very well saying they will win another few because they are so young, wasnt the same said in 2010 about Tipp. I think Davy is 100% the wrong man to bring this Clare team on and his madness and not been able to keep his calm on the sideline is steeping into the players, just look at Bugler the last day. He is rubbing everyone up the wrong way and I think he will be gone at the end of next year. Some calling him the next best manager to Coady is this for real after Davy came out blaming a journalist for ruining Clare hurling........... really lads does this sound like a top manager.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 29/07/2014 20:48:55    1628215

You're disillusioned and deluded Limerick fan. Wexford didn't beat Clare home and away as you said. It was draw in Ennis. Let's see if Wexford or Dublin do better in next year's championship than Clare. As usual, there seems to be a lot of bitterness down Limerick/Clare way. Twas the same 1994-1997, and Limerick were threatening all sorts on Clare in 1996, and of course delivered a famous point victory, but Clare won 2nil in that era on the only scoreboard that ever matters. The current generation of Clare hurlers lead Limerick 1nil right now, and unless LK knock off KK and CK/Tipp, that is how it shall remain.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3446 - 29/07/2014 21:05:56    1628233

Pope_Benedict - Your on the ball..

Reading the same auld dribble from Limerick lads all summer about Clare

What really seems to sicken them is Clare's ability to cross the line to the ultimate. Sadly, Limerick lads like to drag Clare down with their comments in a way to feel more at par!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/07/2014 13:28:42    1628450

Actually the vast of Limerick fans would have supported Clare in last years final and would support them again if they were playing any of the big three.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 30/07/2014 14:57:34    1628504

30/07/2014 13:28:42
Ban
County: Westmeath

Pope_Benedict - Your on the ball..

Reading the same auld dribble from Limerick lads all summer about Clare

What really seems to sicken them is Clare's ability to cross the line to the ultimate. Sadly, Limerick lads like to drag Clare down with their comments in a way to feel more at par!

Idiotic post of the day. Most Limerick people i know will support Clare and i have a fair few Clare friends who would like to see Limerick win the All Ireland now. People having a pop at Limerick this year and all they are doing is getting on with business. They are being underrated in every quarter of the media and that suits us just fine. A 24 point drubbing was not enough to gain respect, a senior and minor All Ireland it will have to be then.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 30/07/2014 15:22:44    1628527

29/07/2014 21:05:56
Pope_Benedict

You're disillusioned and deluded Limerick fan. Wexford didn't beat Clare home and away as you said. It was draw in Ennis. Let's see if Wexford or Dublin do better in next year's championship than Clare. As usual, there seems to be a lot of bitterness down Limerick/Clare way. Twas the same 1994-1997, and Limerick were threatening all sorts on Clare in 1996, and of course delivered a famous point victory, but Clare won 2nil in that era on the only scoreboard that ever matters. The current generation of Clare hurlers lead Limerick 1nil right now, and unless LK knock off KK and CK/Tipp, that is how it shall remain.

I suppose we lead 7-4 if that is the childish game you want to play.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 30/07/2014 15:25:06    1628528

I think that is a valid reply Hoover.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/07/2014 15:28:02    1628532

He'd need to sort out his selection policy. Jack Brown had a poor debut season. Gave away plenty of frees and too many cards. And Domhnall O'Donovan sitting in the bench... It's a sin.

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 30/07/2014 16:05:38    1628563

Hoover - your the expert that evaluates a 5 point defeat as an annihilated

I didn't realise anyone was having a pop at Limerick. I'd love nothing more than to see them win come September, I'm sure most neutrals feel the same.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/07/2014 17:28:18    1628625

Ban you obviously don't have a clue. Cork were 11 points up and cruised home. The game was over at the 50 mark that day. Any other thought is just way off the mark. Davy made a mess of it for the Clare lads this year. They are a good side and i have no doubt they will be back but poor defeats this year cannot be glossed over by talking about last year.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 30/07/2014 17:43:57    1628631

I probably don't have a clue Hoover

I grew up beside the County of Offaly who like myself respects the full time whistle - As a Limerick man and a person who feels in a place to judge peoples intelligence I sure your very aware of that fact

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/07/2014 20:40:01    1628726

Glad to see Fitzy get another three years, plenty of talent in current senior panel and after seeing tonight's U21 final against Cork there are lots more coming through.Clare will have big say in All Ireland over coming years. Pressure of second year got to some of their young panel this year.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 30/07/2014 21:33:26    1628748

Davy will have some talent to play around with next year now, The amount of top players he will have at his disposal now will be unreal! If he gets the lineouts and tactics right they will be hard stopped.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 738 - 01/08/2014 11:24:35    1629316

I think its fairly harsh from Clare fans to be turning against Davy at this stage, would the kind of success he achieved be possible for the county if yee had Mike McNamara or the Sparrow O'Loughlin still in charge? Clare will benefit from the year they had because it would have been difficult for any side to defend the title with a target on their back, let alone a team with an average age of 23

armchairpundit (Wexford) - Posts: 4 - 02/08/2014 16:18:24    1629889

Hoover78..... so just because wexford beat clare by 3 and limerick beat wexford by 24 points, limerick are 27 points better than clare? there was a lot of issues affecting clare this year, the dual player thing, last years celebrations running into this year, being all ireland champions means everyone wants to beat you, inexperience..... i think with the time between now and the championship next year these can be sorted out....
fact is limerick won munster last year and fair play to them but what they really want is liam, if ye beat kilkenny i would make ye favorites but for now im goin for cork

clare2013 (Clare) - Posts: 8 - 02/08/2014 16:20:09    1629890

02/08/2014 16:20:09
clare2013
County: Clare

Hoover78..... so just because wexford beat clare by 3 and limerick beat wexford by 24 points, limerick are 27 points better than clare? there was a lot of issues affecting clare this year, the dual player thing, last years celebrations running into this year, being all ireland champions means everyone wants to beat you, inexperience..... i think with the time between now and the championship next year these can be sorted out....
fact is limerick won munster last year and fair play to them but what they really want is liam, if ye beat kilkenny i would make ye favorites but for now im goin for cork

Where did i say Limerick were better than Clare? Do not put words into my mouth. What i said is Limerick comfortably beat a side that Clare struggled against. I think Clare struggled because they underrated Wexford and indiscipline, the manager has to take the blame for those issues. If you want me to be honest if we met ye this year i think we would have beaten ye. That does not make Clare a bad side, personally i think there are five teams ahead of everyone else at the moment and there is very little between any of them.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 02/08/2014 17:27:08    1629925

Good manager. Good news for Clare.
I said a few years ago when he left Waterford that we should have moved Heaven and Earth to get him. If ye guys in Clare don't want him send him up here ( no offence Anthony).

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/08/2014 17:53:14    1629938