Dubs to win back-to-back All-Irelands?

avonali

1628155 bryanadams

bryanadams

Let me see, Can Dublin win back to back all Irelands?

Can Dublin, a county with the pick of a population of 1,200,000, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a county who receive massive financial backing, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team with a training regime consisting of 54 professional full time coaches, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team that has resources that would probably challenge those of Manchester United, possibly win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team who play every game at home, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin with all of these advantages, possibly beat teams who rely on amateur goodwill from their respective supporters?

I dunno lads, that is a tough question to answer.

That original post of mine was just so good, it deserves to be posted again, lol

Ur right to congratulate yourself and re-post

Cheers.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/07/2014 20:16:03    1628180

Don't mention it bud!
But if Kildare people put as much resources into their clubs as they do into their stud farms, stables and racecourses they might win the odd Leinster title or two; hey, they might even be able to raise a hurling team.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 29/07/2014 20:41:33    1628208

29/07/2014 19:14:39
MuckrossHead
This thread really is bringing out the worst in some people.

It has unfortunately. After a thread for all other provincial champions regarding winning Sam, I thought it was fair enough to ask - is the Dublin Region going to retain Sam? In fairness to some, they have been able to give an answer.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7859 - 29/07/2014 20:52:33    1628223

Bryanadams

A post worthy of the whingers and moaners on the Kildare GAA forum. It probably reads good to you as well, but has been pointed out all these advantages didn't effect, Armagh, Tyrone, Donegal, Kerry, Mayo, Cork over the last 20 years. You asked about lack of balls in one of your earlier gripes I suggest you look closed to home. You've your excuses made before your team cross the line. A real diehard

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 29/07/2014 20:53:28    1628225

MuckrossHead

to see that comment about "popping out Dub born children" getting through is more than hard to take

Those pesky Dubs with all their maternity wards eh?

Between posters saying that joe McMahon has more skill than Dermot Connolly to a Kildare posters saying they've to compete with horse racing I think I'm going to go insane.

Well the GAA in every county is in competition with other sports isn't it?

And considering the horse racing / breeding industry probably generates more money than any other sport I think it's fair to say it'll definitely have an impact in some if not all counties.

I mean if you're able to claim that "over half the people here wouldn't be able to tell you bernard brogan from Paul Flynn" then surely it's just as easy for me to claim that horse racing is massive in Kildare.

Like every county we can bring big crowds to Croke Park for All Ireland quarters or a semi final, but I reckon I know a lot more people likely to head to the Curragh or Punchestown for a day or two out during the year than they a Kildare match.

Some people will spend their time and money following Kildare teams, others will spend it going to the races. Some will tune into RTE / Sky or local radio to listen to a match, others will tune into RTE or Channel 4 etc for the racing. You could just as easily sub in other sports instead of horse racing and apply the same logic to any other county.

After all it's not as if competition between sports can be confined to how many kids want to play one particular sport over another.

It you genuinely don't think that Kildare, or indeed any other county, is competing with the richest sport in the country; which attracts crowds of over one million annually and is worth close to a billion to the economy then I guess we'll just have to agree to disagree.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 29/07/2014 21:07:03    1628234

i really cant see Dublin been stopped by any1 this year.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 29/07/2014 21:24:51    1628249

Jeez, having the truth pointed out, has really upset some of our Dublin friends on here.

Best of luck with the denial, and self delusion lads, it can't be easy convincing yourselves that Dublin don't have unfair advantages over other counties. lol

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/07/2014 21:29:41    1628254

Jaysus Mchugh11

Back on topic. Fair play to u. Bit of football to be played yet. Would you not prefer to have a moan about Dublins advantages. No? Probably because you won something of note in the last year or two. Hope to meet yous in semi.

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 29/07/2014 21:31:30    1628261

It wouldn't disappoint me to see them win back to back with the way they play.

It would disappoint me to see them do it without a challenge! I think Donegal will test them and no doubt Kerry/Mayo (I hope)

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 29/07/2014 21:37:39    1628268

Ah bryan

doubt there's to many upset Dubs here at all. League Titles, Leinster Titles, All Ireland Title will take the string out of most of things. You can't imagine. Who's lolly?
A..

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 29/07/2014 21:38:36    1628270

Kildare pop over 200,000 play nearly all there games in Croker have had massive money pumped into them North Kildare towns such as celbridge Maynooth leixlip etc is only 20 minutes from Croker so it's basically a home game for them- Monaghan pop of 60,000 barely every play in Croker have little money pumped into them and is two hours away from Croker so surely they shouldn't bother showing up Saturday???

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/07/2014 21:53:26    1628286

bryanadams

Jeez, having the truth pointed out, has really upset some of our Dublin friends on here.

Best of luck with the denial, and self delusion lads, it can't be easy convincing yourselves that Dublin don't have unfair advantages over other counties. lol
----------
'lol'….? Are you actually laughing though? More like whistling by the graveyard. Dublin fans are very happy thank you very much; far from being upset, we have to point out your self-delusional begrudgery to you. When do you ever talk about the quality of Dublin's players? Is that beyond you? What about the natural talent of players like Paul Flynn, Dermot Connolly, Cian O'Sullivan, James McCarthy, the Brogans, Cormac Costelloe etc.etc. You are delusional if you think that their excellence and success as footballers can be all explained away by 'huge' resources. Enjoy the races!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/07/2014 11:10:08    1628353

I cant understand this talk of Dublin having advantages, as in terms of winning AI, they have won 3 in the last 20 years, so if these advantages mattered, then they surely would have won more. It is simply that hard work has been put in behind the scenes to bring Dublin up to the level they are at.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1654 - 30/07/2014 12:54:30    1628418

Lets just add that one to the "excuses box" on the Dublin page and move on.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 30/07/2014 13:11:59    1628436

PK57
County: Louth
I cant understand this talk of Dublin having advantages, as in terms of winning AI, they have won 3 in the last 20 years, so if these advantages mattered, then they surely would have won more. It is simply that hard work has been put in behind the scenes to bring Dublin up to the level they are at.

Exactly PK, you would swear we won them every year for the past 20yrs the way same people go on.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 30/07/2014 13:14:16    1628439

Back to back All-Irelands? More like they are going to win the next 5 in-a-row. Incredible squad of players, astute manager and clear strategy going forward.It's up to every other county to develop a method to rise to that level. Population and structures are different, that's just the way it is. Counties such as Meath and Kildare could and should be competing with Dublin. Nothing got to do with population or players or anything like that. Dublin are making the right decisions at boardroom and executive level, counties such as Meath and Kildare are not. Mayo and Donegal have built foundations within their county boardroom with the correct decisions being made. And with respective panels of mostly decent players with a couple top, top players thrown in, they are challenging at the highest level.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 30/07/2014 13:49:05    1628464