Dubs to win back-to-back All-Irelands?

Bryanadams,

For the laugh, just point out how a county like Donegal with fewer people and fewer resources beat Kildare in 2011, and won the All Ireland in 2012!?

Don't reference Dublin please! Just tell me how that happened when all the advantages were against them!?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/07/2014 16:48:00    1628050

Bryanadams

We have built our own advantages - I for one am very proud of what we've done here in Dublin

Why wouldn't I be...

Even the central funding was based on a Dublin proposal

A strategic plan put together by Dublin... for the betterment of Dublin GAA

I make no apologies for our success. Why would I... it was a masterful piece of work by the Dublin CB and co

Culchies talk about fairness... give me a break

What's more fair than Dublin being Dublin... and taking advantage of our image

There's a reason why Kildare is sponsored by Brady's Ham and Dublin is sponsored by AIG

That's life man... someone will always be on top

But a wee bit of perspective is needed... Dublin GAA is a far bigger entity compared to other structures seen around the country

Apart from Cork who justifiably received more central funding than any other county in the country

This takes money to run... because of Dublin being Dublin, being what we are... we attract additional funding

Because it's needed to keep the progress going.

What do you want us to do... feel bad about it...

I think not... GAA has never been bigger in Dublin, it's incredible to see the growth in the sport

I really think it's just an easy excuse to belittle Dublin GAA

We're getting abuse for just being Dublin... :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/07/2014 16:49:04    1628051

The problem with the culchies is that they cant wait to get out of their respective counties...

They turn their back on their county quick enough and then bleat on about how strong Dublin is as they pop out Dublin born children...

Bloody hell jimbo, what is biting you these days. You really seem to have a bee in your bonnet about something. Talk to someone, go for a walk, kick the dog, do somethin do anything but get over this.

The other point I would make is that when I think of some of the innocent posts that have been shot down in the recent past by mods, to see that comment about "popping out Dub born children" getting through is more than hard to take. More than referees need to show some consistency!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/07/2014 17:01:01    1628060

jimbo

You are not getting abuse for "just being Dublin". You are getting abuse for being an unholy pain in the ass.

You dress everything up as a Dublin V Culchie thing when it is nothing of the sort.

Now don't get me wrong, there are a couple of prize whingers on here, fair enough, but the whole issue of funding is a debate that is worth having & I can see the point some others are making.

I am on record here as congratulating Dublin on what they have done to promote GAA over the last few years, what has been done is an example to us all. Neither do I begrudge you any success that comes your way because of the hard work that has been put in. All the funding in the world won't beat hard work, dedication & a refusal to lie down. Neither am I the only culchie that feels this way.

In Donegal, GAA is humming at the moment but if it is of any consolation to you, our success has also attracted a fair bit of begrudgery from the lily livered & the work shy.

This is what happens when you are doing well, people take pot shots at you. Count it as the price you have to pay to be successful & be damn grateful that you live in an era when Dublin are doing so well.

In other words jimbo cheer up a bit!!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/07/2014 17:37:46    1628073

Bryanadams
We have built our own advantages - I for one am very proud of what we've done here in Dublin

Not true at all. Wasn't bertie sending money their way because they weren't getting anywhere and the sport was on the wane in the city? Talk about revisionism. Then you talk about 'some teams always being on top' and the natural order of teams - there was an order, and Dublin weren't in it. Christ above, you might want to actually find out the facts before you start climbing the ladder up onto that horse.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/07/2014 17:38:13    1628074

29/07/2014 16:48:00
JayP

1628050 Bryanadams,

For the laugh, just point out how a county like Donegal with fewer people and fewer resources beat Kildare in 2011, and won the All Ireland in 2012!?

Don't reference Dublin please! Just tell me how that happened when all the advantages were against them!?
29/07/2014 16:49:04

1628051 Bryanadams

We have advantages -

What do you want us to do... feel bad about it...

I really think it's just an easy excuse to belittle Dublin GAA

How is pointing out the enormous advantages that Dublin have, belittling or abusing Dublin?

In fairness, if all Dublin GAA supporters, and the Dublin CB acknowledged the huge advantages they enjoy over other counties, there would be nothing for people to complain about.

For example, if ye win the All Ireland this year, how about the captain's speech begins with, we have won this All Ireland with the advantage of playing every game on our home ground. Hip Hip Hooray for the Home team.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/07/2014 17:57:05    1628088

Brian...it is a huge hpnour for counties to play in Croke Park (Gaillimh Abu), even for Dublin. The Dubs are the best team in Ireland and i'd say they will do the back to back in September. Big games have to be showcased in big venues like HQ

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 29/07/2014 18:20:08    1628101

Never denied we hav

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 29/07/2014 18:27:44    1628106

Never denied we have advantages but once we start losing again no one will give two f&€ks about them!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 29/07/2014 18:29:14    1628108

bryanadams

Let me see, Can Dublin win back to back all Irelands?

Can Dublin, a county with the pick of a population of 1,200,000, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a county who receive massive financial backing, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team with a training regime consisting of 54 professional full time coaches, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team that has resources that would probably challenge those of Manchester United, possibly win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team who play every game at home, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin with all of these advantages, possibly beat teams who rely on amateur goodwill from their respective supporters?

I dunno lads, that is a tough question to answer.
hehehe Loadsa money!!! That's us Dubs. We're bigger, and richer, and more populous and better looking than the rest of the country. God love ye poor disadvantaged rustics!! That's why ye all want to move here.

Oh, and our footballers are also the most gifted and they are led by the cleverest manager. To paraphrase Wordsworth, "Bliss was it in that dawn to be alive; and to be a Dub was very heaven!!" Woohoo.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 29/07/2014 18:33:47    1628110

"The cute self-deceiving talkers of the South, who look to the East for a sign"

How right Donagh MacDonagh was when he penned those lines! Knew about them all too well even back then!

Yawn!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 29/07/2014 18:34:21    1628111

I quite like the term 'Dublin Region', I think it sounds good!.....Im from Lucan which has always been regarded by its natives as being a 'better place' of 'county status' and not with a postcode attached to it and therefore should have been declared a county of its own with the foundation of the state, so I agree that Lucan is part of the 'Dublin Region'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 29/07/2014 18:45:55    1628114

Lads...

All I have to say is.....

Dublin were asleep for long enough

Dublin awoke, came up with a plan..got it funded (as is open to any county)

It's not our fault you hate yourselves.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/07/2014 18:47:28    1628115

bryanadams

Can Dublin, a county with the pick of a population of 1,200,000, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team with a training regime consisting of 54 professional full time coaches, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team that has resources that would probably challenge those of Manchester United, possibly win All Irelands?

Can Dublin with all of these advantages, possibly beat teams who rely on amateur goodwill from their respective supporters?

That original post of mine was just so good, it deserves to be posted again, lol

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/07/2014 19:02:30    1628123

This thread really is bringing out the worst in some people.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/07/2014 19:14:39    1628128

I didn't think it was that good bryanadams. If anything it makes you sound petty.
Not too long ago Kildare were beating Dublin regularly, and they still had the population etc back then, now if ye kept the scoreline respectable ye would consider it a good days work.
You say that other counties rely on "amateur goodwill"?. I think that the problem is that other counties aren't good enough to beat the Dubs and its as simple as that.
If population and financial backing etc were so important why haven't Galway won a game in Croke park since 2001? Not saying they don't make a difference, just saying that attributing all of Dublins success to these advantages, most of which they still had when they weren't any good, is unfair.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 29/07/2014 19:22:21    1628132

I could understand counties like Leitrim and Longford been jealous of dublins resources but a county like Kildare with one of the largest picks in the land whinging , why have a county like Kildare only won 2 leinster titles since 1956 and no all Ireland since 1928? these are the questions bryan adams should be asking ,

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 29/07/2014 19:37:17    1628145

Again what a pile of Cxxp some people talk.

I have been Going to see Dublin for 25 years and we were the laughing stock of the country between 1996 to 2010.

The Dubs were the butt of every joke. Dub's "Arnott" able to win outside Dublin there was none of the total horse sxxt being spoken about when the Dubs were getting there arses handed to them in the All Ireland series.

It was the same nonsence patronising crap "Ah are the Dubs great lads" they participated in a great game of football but were just not good enough to get over the line ( Tyrone '05, Mayo 06, Kerry 07 ). There great lads 80000 at leinster finals but could win nothing outside leinster.

This comes down to simple begrudgery and jealously.

I have seen enough dark days over the years were we couldn't even win a leinster between 1996 and 2001 to enjoy our current success all the more and long may it last.

The day will come were Dublin will be knocked of there perch like everything nothing lasts forever but for know to hell with the begrudgers

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 29/07/2014 19:46:31    1628152

bryanadams

bryanadams

That original post of mine was just so good, it deserves to be posted again, lol

Ur right to congratulate yourself and re-post it. Begrudgyery expresses itself in myriad ways, mon ami.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 29/07/2014 19:50:52    1628155

bryanadams

A couple of questions for you,

How did Donegal, a county with a small population & limited resources win an AI in 2012 & be in the running again in 2014?

How did Mayo, a county with a small population & limited resources get to 3 finals in a row?

How did Kerry, a county with a small population & limited resources have so much success?

How does Kilkenny, a county with a small population & limited resources do so well?

I could ask these same questions about Clare, Tyrone, etc etc

How come all these counties can do so well & yet Kildare, a county comparable in population & resources do nothing?

Could it be that these others organise themselves, graft & refuse to take no for an answer?

Maybe Kildare should look at these counties & gain inspiration from them as opposed to looking at Dublin, going into a funk & whinging about all & sundry.

Life isn't fair, ask some of the poor people in Palestine, all you can do is play the hand you are dealt.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/07/2014 20:11:58    1628173