Dubs to win back-to-back All-Irelands?

Kildare have a population of over 200,000 it's a footballing mad county that doesn't play hurling yet it will never win an all Ireland cause they've no heart. 1.5 million to pick from hahaha give me a break over half the people here wouldn't be able to tell you bernard brogan from Paul Flynn ffs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/07/2014 13:23:40    1627897

Bryanadams, you have beaten us in championship about 4 times in 120 fkn years. Is that your excuse? What did you do with all the money you got from the horsey set? You be better off sticking to the horses. Only thing you were ever good at :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/07/2014 13:35:58    1627906

1627893 Can Dublin, a team that has resources that would probably challenge those of Manchester United, possibly win All Irelands?

.... I see

Man UTD signed a deal with Adidas lately for £750 million over 10 years...

Exactly, Thank you for reinforcing my point, Manchester United are playing teams in the premiership and champions league who have similar resources.

Now, if we are to compare United with Dublin's unfair advantages, United with all these resources would have to be playing against the teams in the Manchester pub league, oh and playing every game at Old Trafford.

United 15-0 Dog and Duck..

Wow , what a great victory for United. lol

Jeez, come on now, be a man and admit it.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/07/2014 13:39:07    1627909

Man UTD signed a deal with Adidas lately for £750 million over 10 years... Dublin get €3.9 million from AIG to cover all codes at all age groups - men and women

Ye poor lambs. How do ye manage?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 29/07/2014 13:44:44    1627913

Kildare have a population of over 200,000 it's a footballing mad county that doesn't play hurling yet it will never win an all Ireland cause they've no heart. 1.5 million to pick from hahaha give me a break over half the people here wouldn't be able to tell you bernard brogan from Paul Flynn ffs.

Doesn't play hurling. We are currently cupholders in hurling or maybe you have trouble taking notice of things like the Christy Ring cup?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 29/07/2014 13:45:59    1627914

waynoI

Wayno Armagh can only beat the teams that are put in front of them.

Ah i know Ollie, What i said was in jest my friend!!

Wayno have you seen my Meath mate Betty around the big Smoke? Have not seen since the Leinster Final.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/07/2014 14:24:57    1627936

Doesn't play hurling. We are currently cupholders in hurling or maybe you have trouble taking notice of things like the Christy Ring cup?

Not to mention the O Byrne Cup (last 2 years running)

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 29/07/2014 14:28:56    1627940

Surely if the population figure is misleading for Dublin due to the amount of non-nationals and folk that have moved up there from the country, then the same principle also applies to counties like Kildare and Meath. I mean satellite towns / towns along the commuter belt like Maynooth, Celbridge, Leixlip, Ashbourne, Ratoath and Dunboyne have seen big increases in their populations over the last decade or so, but I'd wager that a good percentage of that is made up of people moving out of Dublin into the suburbs and people also moving from other parts of the country.

Dublin don't have over a million to pick from just like there's no way Kildare or Meath have circa 200,000 to pick from.

There's also a decent argument to made for horse racing to be considered the bigger sport in both counties too. Similar to how a lot of people in Dublin mightn't be able to tell Bernard Brogan or Paul Flynn apart, there's plenty of people I know who are more likely to recognise Ted or Ruby Walsh than they are a Kildare footballer.

As for not playing hurling well it's already been pointed out that we're Christy Ring champions, and we've also just won our third under 21 title in a row too, along with that there was a camogie All Ireland won last year followed up with another Leinster win this year. We might be footballing mad but unfortunately in terms of national trophies we're only successful with the small ball.

The population or playing numbers thing isn't a decisive factor for Dublin, and there's certainly plenty of competition from other sports. But let's at least be consistent in not making population an important factor in relation to other counties or ignore the competition football faces with other sports either.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 29/07/2014 14:52:34    1627955

Go back to january i said Dublin were unbeatable i said it during league i said it before championship god damn it i said it before Leinster final. Nothing to do with explaining Leinster final . that performance was meath fault Dublin did what they had to. But ill say it again. Dublin are unbeatable ,:ni matter what bus is packed systems blah blah blah. They won't be beat. Fact. And any dub that says otherwise is either lying or playing cute hoor. No one will get within 5 points of them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/07/2014 15:07:42    1627964

Aido69

Not to mention the O Byrne Cup (last 2 years running)

A

Sure any team can look good in the warm weather.

It's the cold January afternoons and evenings that provide the real entertainment.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 29/07/2014 15:09:27    1627967

What was Dublin's population between 1996 and 2010?
Kerry and Tyrone must have has massive populations back then to be so successful.

Kilkenny must have about 2 million people down there?

Crossmaglen must be the only club with a bit of money in Ulster and their parish must be rammed with people to win so many titles?

Or maybe these counties and clubs put in the hard work and graft and had a long term plan in place to get the best results. Along with some naturally gifted players coming in the same generation. sure what do I know?!

Anyway the question is will the Dubs do 2 in a row, I think there is a good chance of it. But for all of Dublin's double figure wins the performance that has impressed me most is Kerry's in the Munster Final. People may say Cork were poor but Kerry's 2 man full forward line and support runners were superb.

Dublin and Kerry are my 2 favourites.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 29/07/2014 15:18:52    1627973

Between posters saying that joe McMahon has more skill than Dermot Connolly to a Kildare posters saying they've to compete with horse racing I think I'm going to go insane.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/07/2014 15:34:20    1627991

The problem with the culchies is that they cant wait to get out of their respective counties...

They turn their back on their county quick enough and then bleat on about how strong Dublin is as they pop out Dublin born children...

So the problem has to start at source

Fact is... your county is weak because generations of your fellow county men and women have made it such....

Dublin deserve everything coming ... we're not forcing companies to attach themselves to Dublin GAA

They see how popular GAA is in Ireland - Dublin is the biggest and most marketable brand in the GAA

Hence revenue being generated which is then pumped back into Dublin GAA

Our success in this sector is because of what we are... we have grown our own advantages by being Dublin.

How is that unfair?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/07/2014 15:37:15    1627993

hurlingdub, for some reason, the admins don't want to allow me to point out that cork is a massive county and so will have lots of small gaa clubs, while Dublin have less clubs with each having numerous mens teams, which debunks this idea of cork having more players because they have more clubs. Dublin have by far the most players and the league structure shows this. fFr what reason this is deemed inappropriate Im not sure.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/07/2014 15:38:39    1627994

an Dublin, a team that has resources that would probably challenge those of Manchester United, possibly win All Irelands?

.... I see

Man UTD signed a deal with Adidas lately for £750 million over 10 years... Dublin get €3.9 million from AIG to cover all codes at all age groups - men and women

Listen the above point was to point out your rather ludicrous exaggeration about Dublin's finances

We have more clubs, players than any other county apart from Cork

Cork getting the most central funding by the GAA in 2013 - justifibly so... makes sense... the more players, clubs

The greater the expense

It costs a lot of money to run Dublin GAA

Thankfully our draw is great and we can attract the likes of Vodafone / AIG to help fund such a massive undertaking

But again.. it doesn't happen by accident - it happens because we are Dublin.

Being ourselves is classed as unfair by the culchies... ..

So in order for fairness we cant by unified or be attractive to companies.

And they talk about fair play... Dublin have done NOTHING wrong apart form being Dublin.

You want fairness... there's no such thing folks...

There is always someone on top... sorry it's not you..but face the facts

It never will be... life is unfair... get used to it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/07/2014 15:44:24    1627999

Sam heading back to the kerry region! Donegal or monaghan not good enough to win Ai this year! Mayo should be in with a shout also. Very hard to see the dubs having the hunger to retain it! Congratulations to the kingdom! champions elect! natural order restored!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 29/07/2014 15:46:03    1628000

No surprise it's Mayo and Kildare on whinging about Dubs have this and Dubs have that. Begrudgery is alive and well and living in Ireland.
What else do you do but complain about a successful team and try to discredit their achievements.
I suppose Kerry and Kilkenny came in for your griping when they were on top for so many years.
Loosers maintality.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 29/07/2014 15:53:19    1628007

Will Dublin do back to back? Yes they probably will but they will get a few scares along the way. They will beat Donegal after a fierce battle in the semi. I think Kerry would be in a better position this year to beat Dublin than any other team if it came down to it. Dublin have Mayo's number and they know it. Cork have gone back a bit this year. Kerry ran Dublin close last year. Kerry have a better panel this year, they look fitter and are playing better football.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 29/07/2014 15:57:46    1628011

1627999 Dublin, a team that has resources that would probably challenge those of Manchester United, Dublin get €3.9 million from AIG

It costs a lot of money to run Dublin GAA, we can attract the likes of Vodafone / AIG to help fund such a massive undertaking

Being ourselves is classed as unfair by the culchies... ..

And they talk about fair play..

You want fairness...

It never will be...

Thanks again for further reinforcing my argument, and for being man enough to admit that Dublin have huge advantages over the other teams in the championship.

Well done, Jeez, if only more of the dubs were like this man, who at least has the balls to admit Dublin's unfair advantages are akin to United playing every game at home against pub teams in Manchester.

Come on now dubs, there is really no need to get your knickers in a twist, just because people point out the truth.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/07/2014 16:23:52    1628033

Who, me? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 29/07/2014 16:32:51    1628040