Dubs to win back-to-back All-Irelands?

dublin will not be stopped this year [ or next year either maybe]

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2844 - 29/07/2014 10:59:30    1627800

Sorry but anyone who thinks Monaghan with 2 (at best) scoring fowards could beat Dublin is living in cloud cuckoo land IMO

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 29/07/2014 11:00:33    1627801

A this point of the championship it's very difficult to see who can beat them. If they play at their best or close nobody will beat them.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 29/07/2014 11:03:02    1627807

Armagh will come up trumps, under the radar and very little known about them... they have a great midfield and good mix of talent and ignorance.
I can see them lifting SAM this year, you heard it here first

Armagh haven't beaten anyone decent so far, Only Cavan, Tyrone, and Roscommon

We will see how they get on against Meath on Saturday evening.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/07/2014 11:34:08    1627827

I believe Kerryshire are going to win the All-Ireland despite the absence of the Gooch .

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 29/07/2014 12:09:18    1627841

Kerry, Mayo or Cork can beat Dublin. Be Dubs v one of them in the final. Anyone can win a high scoring match which it would be. Dubs v Donegal will be interesting if it happens but honestly don't see Donegal being either able to restict Dublin to 14/15 points or to score more than that. Of course anything can happen in any match.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/07/2014 12:10:30    1627842

waynoI
Every one of us "Dublin Region" fans where brought up at some point in our lives supporting "The Dublin Region" as a whole. Now i can't say with certainty, But i'd imagine the vast majority of our fans, will completely lose interest in going to games if "The Dublin Region" was split. We support the whole of "The Dublin Region", Not one half or the other.

Fair point. However, I would ask you to put the shoe on the other foot. All fans of other counties were brought up with the ethos of fair play and may the best team win, and let's call a spade a spade here, the way it is at present is far from fair or even. If this Dublin dominance is allowed to continue under those conditions then what is happening in leinster will happen throughout Ireland. Dublin winning 8 or 9 out of 10 AIs, hammering everyone, apart from the odd hiccup where the team doesn't play well and loses, as opposed to someone beating them, and what happens? Everyone else gets tired of watching a biased system churning out too many no-contest games and they stop going, not to mention what that would do to the gaa brand. Similarly, elite players of other counties will stop believing and the gap will just widen. Now there are 1.5 million people in Dublin, but there are over double that in the rest of the country. So you say losing the Dublin fans would be a disaster, but the way it is currently, you will lose over twice that many. I understand that splitting Dublin would be hard to accept for fans initially, of course it would. I don't believe it would be as bad as you seem to think, as the fans would soon see that they would still be very competitive (still 5 times the average population on each side don't forget) and would more than likely row in behind their side. Some mightn't, but you know, sometimes the best thing for everyone doesn't keep everyone happy. And it is the best thing, make no mistake, it would be the making the gaa in my opinion. You are removing a team that is too strong and adding 2 elite teams, and more challengers at the top is what the gaa needs, and then add to that another massive rivalry when the two Dublin teams square off against each other. I mean, people don't stop to consider, the northside Dublin team as it is, if they went into the game next week they would probably make the semi final, never mind how they would be with a bit of development. There is a bigger picture at play here as opposed to just winning AIs.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/07/2014 12:29:18    1627849

The Master, there may be 1.5 million or whatever amount of people in Dublin but we have half the amount of clubs as in Cork (around 100) so population is not a huge factor. Especially when you take into account that there are huge numbers of people who are not even Irish never mind Dubs living here. Dublin is massive city that does not have the same sort of community focus as rural counties. Our clubs are almost anonymous in many parts of the city where no-one knows one another. Dublin football dominance is temporary and looks like hurlers will never win AI so talk about splitting Dublin is ludicrous. If it happens I will never go to another county game.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/07/2014 12:46:18    1627857

Let me see, Can Dublin win back to back all Irelands?

Can Dublin, a county with the pick of a population of 1,200,000, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a county who receive massive financial backing, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team with a training regime consisting of 54 professional full time coaches, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team that has resources that would probably challenge those of Manchester United, possibly win All Irelands?

Can Dublin, a team who play every game at home, win All Irelands?

Can Dublin with all of these advantages, possibly beat teams who rely on amateur goodwill from their respective supporters?

I dunno lads, that is a tough question to answer.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/07/2014 12:55:59    1627862

Dear god not again...

Wayno for the love of Christ

Don't respond.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/07/2014 12:59:18    1627868

Wayno Armagh can only beat the teams that are put in front of them.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/07/2014 13:03:03    1627872

The Master surely you wait and see first if we do win 10 all Ireland's in a row and then start the debate, right now we've won two All Ireland's in 3 years both by 1 point. 1.5 million people don't play Gaa in Dublin we mainly pick from division 1 and some from division 2 in the Dublin senior league.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/07/2014 13:03:38    1627873

realman

Yes I agree,Monaghan the way they set-up have the potential to make it diffcult for the Dubs for a while,but they do not have enough threat in the forwards.. More of a chance of Kildare beating Monaghan than their is of the farney beating Dublin..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 29/07/2014 13:06:46    1627876

Bryanadams, great post, pretty much somes it........

The rest of us, haven't a chance

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 29/07/2014 13:13:26    1627882

Wayno Armagh can only beat the teams that are put in front of them.

Ah i know Ollie, What i said was in jest my friend!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/07/2014 13:17:26    1627885

Jim, My bad!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/07/2014 13:17:50    1627886

We might, we might not.

Funny seeing Meath posters saying that Dublin will defo win the All-Ireland, it's like the only way they can explain the hammering in the Leinster Final is that Dublin are shoe ins for the title.

The Leinster Final hammering is as much about Meath's awfulness as it is about Dublin's ability.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 29/07/2014 13:19:09    1627887

Dublin may well win this year and next year too. But no team can keep doing in for 9/10 years. The players will inevitably lose the hunger, which cant be understated as to how important that is. Another problem with successful teams is that the players become legends...and then their place in the team is almost guaranteed. This then stops younger, fresher, hungrier players from getting gametime and it takes years to rebuild from that. Kerry are an example of that I think - there were 9/10 of the 2005 team still starting in 2012. Tyrone have suffered too. Its not really that they are doing anything wrong, its just the cycle of a good team. Its not like in soccer where a manager can spend big money on a new player with top level experience to freshen up the team. In GAA the only way you get a player with top level experience is by giving them that experience and that takes time. When you have players with 3 or 4 all Ireland medals keeping these players from getting that experience then there comes a point where the system breaks down.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 29/07/2014 13:20:17    1627890

Can Dublin, a team that has resources that would probably challenge those of Manchester United, possibly win All Irelands?

.... I see

Man UTD signed a deal with Adidas lately for £750 million over 10 years... Dublin get €3.9 million from AIG to cover all codes at all age groups - men and women

Dublin's spend in 2013 on the footballers wasn't much more than what Mayo spent... look at the numbers

It's not our fault that Dublin as a county is far superior than the rest of the country combined.

The problem with the culchies is that they cant wait to get out of their respective counties...

They turn their back on their county quick enough and then bleat on about how strong Dublin is as they pop out Dublin born children...

So the problem has to start at source

Fact is... your county is weak because generations of your fellow county men and women have made it such....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/07/2014 13:21:06    1627893

MesAmis

We might, we might not.

Funny seeing Meath posters saying that Dublin will defo win the All-Ireland, it's like the only way they can explain the hammering in the Leinster Final is that Dublin are shoe ins for the title.

The Leinster Final hammering is as much about Meath's awfulness as it is about Dublin's ability.

_____

Very true that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/07/2014 13:22:07    1627894