Galway v Kerry

Reminded me of the kerry cavan game last year, kerry got through without leaving second gear! Keeps kerry under the radar for the time being, we wont find out much about kerry until the semi!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 03/08/2014 15:47:58    1630642

Hahahaha I was lol at that one aswell Wayne I love Joe, the lads keep telling him to shut up I wish they'd shut up and let Joe talk all afternoon.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/08/2014 15:48:15    1630643

Kerry desperately need Sheehan back the next day, they struggled for possession badly around midfield and the half-forward line. I thought that was one of the better games of the year, some incredible skills but let down by some poor decision making. The James Donohughe dummy solo is a thing of real beauty.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 03/08/2014 15:51:37    1630649

Kerry were never going to play well today afters a months lay off and playing opposition they knew they could beat in second gear. Expect kerry to turn in a huge performance in the semi.

Traleenative (Kerry) - Posts: 44 - 03/08/2014 15:55:25    1630654

poor enough game today bar the display of o donoghue at times..conroy disappointing considering iv been very impressed with him this year..kerry didnt play all that well and conceded 2 goals very easily yet won comfortably...overall decent year for galway and something to build on..armstrong should have started arguably..been impressed whenever he came on

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 03/08/2014 15:56:50    1630656

Kerry are just delaying the inevitable, there is no All Ireland in that team. As for ourselves, no plan, clueless and our "experienced" players didn't step up to the mark.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 03/08/2014 17:05:01    1630704

Hard luck to Galway, ye came at us hard in the second half fair play to ye, ye'l be disappointed for sure but the future is bright for ye.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/08/2014 17:31:20    1630728

ahsure the jameshoran poster of Galway, bitter little man, anyway Galway are building nicely and play a lovely brand of football, it wont be too long before they will be dining at the top table again with the other top teams.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 03/08/2014 18:31:36    1630809

not long back from croker. kerry deserved to win and more efficient in their shooting. those with ridiculous insults to galway having no brain etc very typical of the not so funny armchair fan. we have a future with the average age of our staring 15 only 22. yes we were somewhat naive and our shooting let us down with twice as many wides as kerry but we are in a better situation than a year ago. I don't buy the rubbish of kerry in 2nd gear. arrogance at its best. in farness most kerry folk appreciate good football and realise our tradition in that as well. as for brolly's comments which I have not yet heard but heard the reports of what do you say to a guy who in my opinion seems to be holding a grudge after we beat his native ciunty in 1998 and 2001.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 03/08/2014 20:50:38    1630969

I call it as I see it mlcollins, Kerry aren't good enough to win an All Ireland this year.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 03/08/2014 21:06:20    1630980

no issue with result. more efficient team won. kerry may very well win sam. not impressed with those ridiculous comments about galway not having a brain. armchair fans at their best. average age of galway starting 15 eas 22. they have a future.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 03/08/2014 21:38:41    1631005

Kerry have no chance of winning a all Ireland this year, not having a dig at Galway but they our a poor team and only in last 5 mins did Kerry kill them off, Dublin will beat them in first gear.

knowtherules (UK) - Posts: 181 - 04/08/2014 09:41:21    1631030

Knowtherules
Maybe you should Knowthefixtures kid, Kerry are playing mayo next not Dublin.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/08/2014 11:12:22    1631071

I think Kerry need to improve allot, but thats possible

As for Galway - they stuck at it which was good. They never really looked like a team who were there to win the game. There's some really fine footballers but the work rate is not even close to what it needs to be.

Some more quality into the panel and you never know - would be great to see Galway back competing cause they play football with such style.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 04/08/2014 14:18:49    1631226

Watched that game with interest.I have to laugh at the inane comments about teams playing in 1st 2nd or any other gear. Rubbish! Galway won more than enough possession yesterday to win the game and could have won the game with a bit more cuteness, plus their experienced players didn't play at all.
Kerry might just beat Mayo but they won't win Sam.No chance.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 04/08/2014 14:59:49    1631264

What is this thing about Galway not looking like they were there to win the game all about? Brolly said it yesterday and some posters are repeating it here today. Galway dominated possession yesterday, something that is difficult to do without a very high workrate, but just didn't have an idea how to score enough against a Kerry defence that pulled additional men back. When a team are physically small like Galway are, they can look very short on ideas against such tactics but it is no reflection on how much they wanted to win.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 04/08/2014 15:22:05    1631276

Was at the match. I thought Kerry were weak apart from O'Donaghue and Geaney although Kerry did get the tactics right. Gave away very few frees - just made Galway try toscore from awkward angles. There was a twirl in the wind on the hill16 end. Kerry got a few otherwise scorable wides because of it in the second half too. I would be very surprised if Mayo don't beat Kerry. Felt there was a calmness about them this year.

I would be interested to hear what Kerry think of their goalie. He fluffed a few times which will be punished against stronger opposition.

GoWestLiam (Galway) - Posts: 95 - 04/08/2014 18:54:20    1631405

i would argue that point soma...there is something to what brolly said..galway did play well out the field at times though i agree and kerry were very poor in the middle third for large periods..galway lacked a lot of conviction at times going forward taking speculative shots and looking out of the game in large periods..despite the scoreline appearing close at times..it never really felt like the result was ever in doubt and kerry often looked like they were going through the motions...bit harsh on galway to say the wanting to win bit on galway as of course they did but i would argue they never looked like they fully believed they had much chance despite putting up a decent display at times..inexperienced side though and something to build on for next year

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 04/08/2014 19:09:57    1631415

I wasn't jumping on the Brolly bandwagon - I was thinking it well before he made the comment. I remember thinking the previous night that Monaghan still meant business, even when the 2 goals were score against them in the first half. There was a directness about their play, an eagerness in their body language. This is something I thought Galway lacked.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 04/08/2014 20:52:18    1631505

Ah I am not sure Fabio. I would say Galway were hoping Kerry would play a more traditional style rather than dropping an extra couple of players back in defence like they did - I only say this because I find it hard to believe Galway would have started a lad as small as Cummins if they thought they would be facing a more packed defence. Galway had neither the physique to take on the Kerry defence, or the space to implement the style they were hoping to play, which meant instead they had to resort to long-range shooting from half chances. This makes a side look clueless but I am not sure they had any other option with the players they had available, it was only when Armstrong came on that they could change things a little. The fact that Kerry did not concede a single scoreable free until late in the first half, despite the ball being inside their 65 metre line for much of the time, shows how easy it is for teams to defend against physically small sides when they drop extra players back.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 04/08/2014 21:04:41    1631519