Disrespect to national anthem

To be honest...

I think it's a bit much that the anthem is played before every single fecking game...

I get it... we're Irish... GRRRRRRRRR

IMO... Time to move on from it... play it at Semi-finals / Finals

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/07/2014 14:04:41    1627280

It only takes 1 minute. Those that disgree can catch up on the premier league on their iphones

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 28/07/2014 14:26:41    1627304

I reckon the whole National Anthem debate here is really tied into the mood of the nation as a whole, the financial mess and realisation that us Irish arent as great as we thought. Also finding out that Socrates never played for UCD/won the Sigerson/won 5 all-stars has dented the nations confidence. Dont get me started on Germanys green away jersey.

The National Anthem before a game is all part of the build up. We'd miss it if it was gone. Even every Champions League soccer game has an Anthem. The roaring at the end (or slightly before) is a release of tension and excitement - a compliment to the Anthem and the match ahead. It aint broke so no need to debate fixing it.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 28/07/2014 14:29:29    1627306

Like the name Wiseguy.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/07/2014 14:33:26    1627314

ged
County: Louth

It only takes 1 minute. Those that disgree can catch up on the premier league on their iphones

ged
Have you ever tried getting a 3g signal in Clones or Croke Park? The oul iPhone is about as much use as a sod of turf at a game.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/07/2014 14:40:41    1627324

HenryHill16

The National Anthem before a game is all part of the build up. We'd miss it if it was gone.

Ah I don't know if I'd miss it to be honest, it's ok before provincial and AI finals but sitting in a cold, damp Pairc Tailteann in the middle of january listening to some steward placing the needle on the gramophone to hear some crackling version of amhran na bhfiann with no words......I could survive without that!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/07/2014 14:46:01    1627332

Htaem,

Even worse when he plays it at the wrong speed!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/07/2014 14:48:35    1627333

Htaem

Ah I don't know if I'd miss it to be honest, it's ok before provincial and AI finals but sitting in a cold, damp Pairc Tailteann in the middle of january listening to some steward placing the needle on the gramophone to hear some crackling version of amhran na bhfiann with no words......I could survive without that!

Htaem, haha, yeah know what you mean, the only positive slant i can put on that one is that the standing up / sitting down motion keeps the blood circulating and will fend off frostbite for a few more minutes. Raises the point thou - is amhran na bhfiann not available on CD? hasnt anybody recorded a new version in the last 50 years?

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 28/07/2014 15:09:48    1627355

They should just do what they did in Carrick-on-Shannon last year when we played Laois. Forget to turn on the speakers until the last line.. Short and Sweet, everyone's a winner! Them Leitrim men had it sussed the whole time

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 28/07/2014 15:12:17    1627359

HenryHill16

Haha ye, good for the circulation and the exercise I suppose, always look for the positives :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/07/2014 15:20:33    1627366

ged
County: Louth

The removal of the angelus was being talked about last week on Joe Duffy. Add this to it and cover your passports in brown paper while you're at it. No pride.

The Angelus is a different thing. It is not irish. It is a particular relegion and as such has no place on a national broadcaster.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/07/2014 15:26:59    1627370

s goldrick

The Angelus is a different thing. It is not irish. It is a particular relegion and as such has no place on a national broadcaster.

Rubbish, many attempts have been made down the years to take the Angelus off the air and people of other denominations were amongst the most vocal calling for it's retention.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/07/2014 15:32:41    1627375

MuckrossHead

s goldrick

Rubbish, many attempts have been made down the years to take the Angelus off the air and people of other denominations were amongst the most vocal calling for it's retention.

really ?. why on earth would that be.have you got any proof to back up such an outlandish statement. please don't confuse nationality with relegion... that's where all the problems start.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/07/2014 15:47:07    1627386

s goldrick

really ?. why on earth would that be.have you got any proof to back up such an outlandish statement. please don't confuse nationality with relegion... that's where all the problems start.

In fairness Catholicism is our national superstition, sadly every country has one.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/07/2014 15:53:04    1627389

This is turning into a politics thread.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 28/07/2014 16:21:40    1627406

s goldrick

MuckrossHead

s goldrick

I was listening to Joe Duffy when they were on about it & the airwaves were full of Methodists, Jehovahs, Muslims, 7th Day Adventists & biggest of all the Hindus. They were all mad for the Angelus. The only crowd giving out were Catholics.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/07/2014 16:23:16    1627408

hurlingdub
Star Spangled Banner is played before ALL baseball and NFL games Mes Amis. And lord forbid you disrespect that! We are falling over ourselves backwards to get rid of our culture and history and heritage. If people don't like who we are then they know what to do

Agreed but like everything else the national culture and identity is being eroded away not just in Ireland. Sure aren't public schools int he US not allowed to pledge allegiance to the flag anymore?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 28/07/2014 16:35:52    1627413

Joe Duffy? Ah jayyysusss

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 28/07/2014 16:35:54    1627414

RebelCork

This is turning into a politics thread.

Well it always was in fairness, as soon as someone mentions anthems or flags or religion etc then politics is inevitable.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/07/2014 16:38:29    1627415

realdub

Joe Duffy? Ah jayyysusss

Ah in fairness it's the best comedy show on radio, if you're retired and love complaining about anything, absolutely anything, then ring Joe.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/07/2014 16:44:06    1627417