The Sky coverage hits home

1st row sports

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 09/08/2014 10:55:54    1633716

So far so boring, it won't last hopefully!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 09/08/2014 11:48:17    1633737

Lads very simple

Look at how the games are rating on Sky

Woeful compared to RTE / TV3

Meaning less people watching our games

Sky has brought nothing to the table apart from money

They have no intention of investing any further

Hence the bog standard coverage, nothing new, small scale.

They took the TV3 model, and made a lesser version

TV3's production was better and it was free, and it reached far more people

Sky are only interested in holding onto subscriptions in Ireland when soccer heads cancel their packages when Man UTD and Liverpool are over selling jerseys in Thailand.

Unfortunately that means less Irish people get to watch GAA now.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 09/08/2014 12:46:29    1633755

I couldnt care less who the commentator is..it can be to the tune of "white christmas" for all i care..i just hit the mute most times anyway.. maybe im a 3 trick pony!!! heee hawwwww

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 09/08/2014 14:47:12    1633800

terrible that the older, those who cannot travel etc are denied access to view our greatest sport. what a money grabbing shower we are.
Imagine someone who is ill today and cannot go to Croke Park or the pub. they have to put up with not seeing our native sport.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 09/08/2014 14:53:22    1633802

border Gael

Don't throw a wobbly if they Sky deal proves to be failure then it won't be renewed in 3 years time.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/08/2014 15:03:13    1633809

If they go to the pub they will see our native sport................bingeboozing!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 09/08/2014 15:05:42    1633811

Everyone of is here are on the net, have Google. Check my first post and take it from there, most of us are already.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 09/08/2014 15:23:45    1633818

God knows how the OP will feel when Sky get exclusive rights to ALL the games.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/08/2014 15:36:09    1633822

Jon, by then Croker will just be a rock/country and western concert venue, with the odd American football snoozefest thrown in just to aerate the ground with their studs!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 09/08/2014 15:43:25    1633823

The only winner is the Sell out crowd in Croke Park. For those not able to see this game, there is this yoke called the internet - where everything is free, amazing what you find on it if you look.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 09/08/2014 15:44:02    1633824

09/08/2014 15:36:09
joncarter
God knows how the OP will feel when Sky get exclusive rights to ALL the games.
We never will as Sky never will

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/08/2014 15:44:43    1633825

Not even the club championships are safe or indeed the finals on St. Patricks's day. Sky even has exclusive rights to any to their apropiate Replays

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2909 - 09/08/2014 15:45:08    1633826

I fully understand where your coming from but sky do offer a good service and at the end of the day RTE is not free.
You can get a Sub for sky sport's on your phone or tablet(android and apple) for 9.99 a month for all the sports channels or Just 4.99 for sky sports one and two, if you have certain a tariff on Vodafone it's free. This is combined with net flicks actually works out cheaper than a TV licence with far more on offer

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 754 - 09/08/2014 15:47:52    1633828

I wouldnt be so sure that the sky deal will be considered a failure when the contract is up. I usually roll my eyes at those who rant about the suits in Croke Park not caring about the grassroots, but in this case the head honchos in Croke Park really wont care in the slightest who misses the games.

As far as they are concerned the sky deal is great, as they get the €€€ like they did from TV3. Then they'll throw out a few token lines of "connecting with the diaspora" and "reaching further audiences" and show a few of those tweets of Brits watching hurling/football as evidence that sky is worth it. Before you know it they get another 3 years with more games.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1647 - 09/08/2014 16:36:31    1633838

Now you're talking Arock. Too few listening though.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 09/08/2014 17:18:07    1633854

Its mad ive lost so mush interest in gaa this year its unreal ,because were so much out of the loop now ,this could come back to kick the gaa in the ass and proper order if people do loose interest,there excuse was to let the people that have left the country see the games ,which is so not the case now ,anyone abroad could watch RTE online ,all the GAA have done was taking away the games from the people that helped build the organisation and that still lives in Ireland ,these days anyone who has or had sky are getting rid in aim to bring down there monthly bills - and a sky package with sports is nothing more than a rip off (from sky themselves)so i hope the ordinary people that's still in the country takes count of what the gaa has done here and hit them back where it hurts (and we all know where that is )maybe its time to move on and have new interests of a weekend now .

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 09/08/2014 17:27:08    1633859

Freetaker
I got one of those 4.90€ subs job on my Lap-Top here in Carlow Town. It was an absolute disaster with picture freezing up every minute and I certainly would not recommend it to my worst enemy.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4342 - 09/08/2014 17:47:40    1633867

Great POSITIVE coverage again from SKY today.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 09/08/2014 17:48:13    1633868

Everyone going on about how 'positive" Sky's coverage is.
It wasn't too long ago the same eejits were criticizing Sky for making out that poor soccer matches were exciting.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/08/2014 17:52:58    1633871