Mayo v Cork

jimski

Love all the Donegal posters above calling Mayo cynical. Don't judge everyone by your own standards lads!

The kildare game that we beat u in was 3 years ago. get over it.

I thought that Mayo were marginally better in a very good game. I hope that Mayo can get to the final again, for the pure curiosity factor. Seriously, they have got to win an all ireland eventually.

I didnt think that mayo were cynical today bar a few desperate tackles at the end. And the ref awarded frees for them anyway, so the books balanced.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 03/08/2014 20:41:13    1630953

It's all kicking off now! From the Examiner online;
Mayo manager James Horan offered no handshake to Cork manager Brian Cuthbert following his side's one point win over the Rebels at Croke Park.
And Horan later accused the Rebel management of "disgraceful" behaviour after two Mayo players were accused in the lead-up to the game of being "very good at tactical fouling".
Selector Ronan McCarthy had made the comments, naming Cillian O'Connor and Kevin McLaughlin, while Cuthbet himself had described the Mayo players as "streetwise" and called for strong refereeing of the clash of the Munster and Connacht sides.

"Our character was challenged in the lead-up to this game by the Cork management, which I think is unprecedented in gaelic football, where a management team name players and take the integrity of two of our players and of our team," said Horan.
"I think it's disgraceful, and they should be ashamed of what they have done.
Does that make victory sweeter for us? It probably does."
The Mayo boss continued: "I just think it's a new low when you have opposition management naming specific players and taking their integrity and their good name.
"We coach and we try and play as well as we can all the time within the rules of the game, and to come out and say that is just not good enough at this level."
When his comments were put to Cuthbert, he replied: "James is entitled to his opinion, and the best of luck to Mayo going forward."

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/08/2014 21:35:25    1631000

Mayo were flying and Horan took of Andy Moran, who seemed to be playing very well at that time, another case of poor substitutions from Horan.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 04/08/2014 10:11:59    1631039

We played badly but we won. After a first half of league round intensity the second half was a dinger, right down to the wire. Where Vaughan pulled that point from I'll never know, I still maintain the man should never be put in scoring positions, very inconsistent. Anyways I shook his hand in Flannery's last night, a cracker of a point he kicked.Kerry looked good in patches against Galway. O'Donoghue is a natural but naturals can be curtailed with less time and space.As Bertie used to say, nearly, feck all done, loads to do. Well done to our minors too. They played sone great stuff.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 04/08/2014 10:17:43    1631041

Mayo won and should have won by more so they should be concerned about not killing off the game. I didn't see a lot of cynicism from Mayo either, they did what they needed to do and they shouldn't be castigated for that.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/08/2014 10:55:08    1631063

I thought Cork were their own worst enemy yesterday. jow many posessions did they lose coming out of defence instead of using a longer ball out of defence. It was obvious that Mayo were pressing them high up the pitch and they just didn't react. They also abandoned the longer ball to the full forward line that was doing well for them in the first half which I couldn't understand.
Mayo played well below their standards and would expect them to beat Kerry.
I thought the ref had a poor game and wasn't sore enough on constant Mayo fouling. Jason Doherty must have given away 7 or 8 fouls and interrupted nearly every free when being taken yet the ref took no action.
Right now I'd say it's hard to see past a repeat of last year's final and a repeat of the result. Dublin are at least as good as last year whilst Mayo haven't shown so far that they have improved at all.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 04/08/2014 11:02:09    1631066

I didn't enjoy that game too much yesterday, but we were playing a talented side who'll still be in most people's top 5 for next year, so once they didn't turn up disorganised like the Munster final it was always going to be difficult to beat them. That said we made life hard for ourselves, backing off the kickouts again in the second half, when we should just have kept squeezing them. How often do teams get caught when they think they can defend a lead? Cork's goals came from turnovers, which Kerry will be equally good at engineering/finishing. Our subs, Harrison apart, did very little to put us on the front foot, and Enda Varley will probably want to forget this game. The 2 O'Shea boys stood out, and all of the starting forwards had their moments. While the ref had a tricky job, especially in the context of the pre-match nonsense, Mayo only got a couple of scorable frees as opposed to 6 or 7 for Cork. The time thing from what I understand was a question about injury time, which was answered as 2 mins, with Cork taking this as still 2 mins left. The better team got over the line, but only barely... lots to improve on if we're to get the better of Kerry.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/08/2014 11:32:22    1631087

Tir Conaill Abu

I thought Cork were their own worst enemy yesterday. jow many posessions did they lose coming out of defence instead of using a longer ball out of defence. It was obvious that Mayo were pressing them high up the pitch and they just didn't react. They also abandoned the longer ball to the full forward line that was doing well for them in the first half which I couldn't understand

Good analysis actually. It was the most frustrating part of the game from a Cork point of view. Damien Cahalane and Aidan Walsh were the worst culprits. I give them both high marks for effort but much fumbling and misplaced passes cost us dearly. Neither are sharp enough for this level. They have big decisions to make. Mark Collins and the O'Driscolls were effective but were playing in unfamiliar positions. In the second half, nobody knew what they were doing and the game passed them by. I thought our full back line wasn't too bad despite the high scores conceded - the pressure on them came from further out the field.

This year is another year squandered and has a very familiar bitterly disappointing feeling to it. We started really well. We found some very good players (which is stil a positive), Colm O'Neill was returning, we seemed to end our lethargic style over the last few years, UCC won the Sigerson, we won Munster under 21 and still March not not ended. What followed was a total lack of confidence and we ended the season without confidence and without a plan.

On a side note - it is a bit disappointing that James Horan did not shake Cubby's hand. What happened during the week was (unfortunate) gamesmanship (probably best avoided) but nothing more. Horan's words about Cork management being a 'disgrace' and questioning the 'integrity' of players is moral outrage gone mad. Still best of luck to Horan and Mayo for the rest of the year.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/08/2014 12:06:57    1631117

Mayo won, so James Horan had the opportunity to be dignified and and magnanimous. Instead he choose to act like a toddler in a tantrum.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 04/08/2014 15:53:46    1631301

Damothedub
Great second half , I am genuinely going to wet myself laughing at the backtracking by Mayo posters re the last kick of the game , will they justify the refs timekeeping ?

No it was wrong this time like it was wrong the last time. The player should be left in no doubt what time is left, end of story.

Hard luck to cork. The game was actually very much like the AI final last year. Some bad decisions but ultimately the better team won out.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/08/2014 17:14:24    1631348

I am not a fan of James Horan but he was right not to shake the Cork managers hand, GAA managers or players should never criticize opposing teams or players, there is enough of that nonsense going on in soccer in England. It looks bad for our game. The Cork management should come out and make an apology somewhere along the lines of 'if what we said offended people then we are sorry, it wasn't meant to offend anybody' and that would be an end to it. If the Cork management don't make some sort of apology then this will rumble on and on and into next years national league and championship and could cause trouble in the stands between fans like in soccer. This also feeds into the pre match talks to get the team pumped up for the game, 'did you hear what was said about ye, go out there and shut him up once an for all, make it count on the scoreboard'. A bad call by the Cork management, played straight into Mayo hands

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/08/2014 17:16:26    1631350

Well done Mayo. I really hope they go all the way and I think they will.

In Cork, I suppose Cuthbert has to stay on now. I think it was unfortunate that Cork coasted so well in the league because it seemed like the way forward tactically. But when those naive tactics collapsed in the heat of championship football at least Cuthbert changed things and it worked progressively better in the last two matches. So he has earned year two. But how has a squad with Cadogan, Shields, Walsh, Kerrigan, O Neill, Goulding, Kelly etc all in their prime along with a constant conveyer belt of underage talent become also rans? Maybe these new tactics carried over to next year will be the key to resurrecting our golden generation while there's still (fading) hope

findra (Cork) - Posts: 40 - 04/08/2014 17:23:29    1631357

bennybunny

Tir Conaill Abu

This year is another year squandered and has a very familiar bitterly disappointing feeling to it. We started really well. We found some very good players (which is stil a positive), Colm O'Neill was returning, we seemed to end our lethargic style over the last few years, UCC won the Sigerson, we won Munster under 21 and still March not not ended. What followed was a total lack of confidence and we ended the season without confidence and without a plan.

Agreed, Cork are a very under achieving footballing county. I watched the game yesterday, and was struck by how well able cork were for mayo physically. They are the biggest team in the country and they were playing very good stuff for about 15 minutes. Then mayo got back to grips with them and they took over. The long ball worked a treat for cork, as did their diagonal ball into the full forward, it is an aspect of football that we dont see enough, as it opens up the entire play when it is done well. I hope cork can get back in business next year, they have a lot to offer the championship.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/08/2014 17:26:44    1631360

All credit goes to the mayo players for hanging on when out on their feet at the end. James Horan still hasn't learned you need to get your subs in between 45 and 55 mins even if lads are playing well (dublin do it everyday). Some strange decisions with subs. Chris Barrett got skinned by everyone he marked and the less said about Varley the better.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 04/08/2014 17:58:24    1631372

I agree with all you say Riverboy except the trouble between fans bit... it'll never be part of our culture and besides, when are the Mayo football supporters likely to encounter the Cork hurling fans?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/08/2014 18:25:58    1631389

riverboys

I am not a fan of James Horan but he was right not to shake the Cork managers hand, GAA managers or players should never criticize opposing teams or players, there is enough of that nonsense going on in soccer in England. It looks bad for our game. The Cork management should come out and make an apology somewhere along the lines of 'if what we said offended people then we are sorry, it wasn't meant to offend anybody' and that would be an end to it. If the Cork management don't make some sort of apology then this will rumble on and on and into next years national league and championship and could cause trouble in the stands between fans like in soccer. This also feeds into the pre match talks to get the team pumped up for the game, 'did you hear what was said about ye, go out there and shut him up once an for all, make it count on the scoreboard'. A bad call by the Cork management, played straight into Mayo hands

You are naive. James Horan had the chance to the bigger man. Despite winning, he chose not to do a simple sporting decent thing. Nobody is saying what Cork management said is right. However, if Mayo people get offended by such silly trivial comments, then they must have a very soft centre indeed. There will be no apology from Cork as there is none needed. Ronan McCarthy did not set a precedent in what he said- it has been going on for decades. It is sad that Horan has to feel he needs to take a moral high ground on this issue. He would want to take a good look at himself if he can't be sporting enough to shake a mans hand.

It is also very said that Mayo people feel he was right to do what he did. Humble in victory....

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/08/2014 19:10:02    1631416

Benny, I think we can all agree that what was said and not done by both managements is regrettable, but JH gave his response when the result was known and after one of the named players was targeted for fairly rough treatment, with little protection from the officials, so he really can't be castigated for being a little annoyed. Neither O'Connor nor McLoughlin would feature very highly in anyone's rogues gallery, so the only true motivation for singling them out was to put pressure on them. The guys who did this showed scant regard for sportsmanship, or for the good relations and respect that has always existed between the counties. I'm sure the will is there to put this right and move on.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/08/2014 20:06:23    1631450

Wouldn't be beyond Horan to make comments about other teams in a less than complimentary way.No he didn't mention names but last person to be getting precious about remarks.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 04/08/2014 20:27:52    1631475

Pericles

Benny, I think we can all agree that what was said and not done by both managements is regrettable, but JH gave his response when the result was known and after one of the named players was targeted for fairly rough treatment, with little protection from the officials, so he really can't be castigated for being a little annoyed

I agree with that. Nobody should castigate him for being annoyed. Nobody was asking him to hug and kiss Cuthbert either though. His comments about Cork being a disgrace came a good while after the game when he had time to reflect. They were completely unwarranted. Ultimately they backfired on McCarthy and Cubby. They no doubt were used by JH to motivate his team. Why continue with it when the dust had settled? It was a game with a bit of needle but nothing over the top. If you want to win the All-Ireland, you will be getting it a lot more physical than the meek effort that Cork put up. It was not a very physical game. Long periods were played at a pedestrian enough pace.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/08/2014 20:50:22    1631501

benny, maybe he decided to continue when the dust had settled because he genuinely felt it was a step too far? I can see his point. Talking in the press goes on, but singling out players individually (and lets be honest, neither guy he named are dirty players), where both players were then targeted themselves by Cuthbert's own team, is a bit nasty. I think he just felt he had to defend his players from criticism they probably didn't fully deserve. Especially when, they themselves were targeted off the ball and there wasn't a word said about it by any commentator. I don't like to see a refusal of a handshake, and maybe that was a mistake in the heat of the moment, but I don't blame him for responding.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/08/2014 10:06:29    1631604