Mayo v Cork

The carnage at the end was ridiculous.

Idiotic is how i'd describe the last passage of play.

There is two minutes added on. You get a free after two and a half minutes of injury time. Why in heavens name do you ask the ref anything ? Its a no brainer you put your laces through the bloody thing.

Its purely stupidity. Same way it was stupidity when Cillian O'Connor took a point in last years all ireland final, Same way it was stupidity when Bernard Brogan went for a point instead of just lobbing it in, in 2010 against Cork.

Anyways... Fair play to Mayo. Noone can argue that the better team won.

Really looking forward to the double header next week. Hopefully Dublin and Armagh prevail but if its donegal, fine :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/08/2014 18:09:20    1630788

If Cadogan were to be sent off for an elbow, then send Seamus O Shea off for doing it to Fintan Gould. Either that or leave both of them on. If Thomas Clancy gets black card for cynical fouling then Kevin McLoughlin should also get one.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/08/2014 18:09:27    1630789

Mayo just scrape through, full back line will cost them against Kerry, also Mayo cannot put away a team, apart from Donegal last year, at this stage looks like Kerry Dubs final

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 03/08/2014 18:10:32    1630792

The Cork's players' reaction implies to me that the ref obviously misinformed them as to how much time was left. They're naive though, they've been in the game long enough to know never to believe anything a referee tells them.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/08/2014 18:12:52    1630794

Love all the Donegal posters above calling Mayo cynical. Don't judge everyone by your own standards lads!

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 03/08/2014 18:23:32    1630801

Another very enjoyable game today, Mayo make things very difficult for themselves but great credit to them for the character shown. They really need to start going for goal when the opportunity presents itself rather than taking the handy point, as happened a number of times today. Vaughan got a crucial score at the end but his scoring conversion rate is quite poor and you would wonder if he really should be shooting as often as he does.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 03/08/2014 18:25:14    1630803

If Cadogan were to be sent off for an elbow, then send Seamus O Shea off for doing it to Fintan Gould. Either that or leave both of them on. If Thomas Clancy gets black card for cynical fouling then Kevin McLoughlin should also get one.

Cork lost, get over it.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 03/08/2014 18:31:54    1630810

Better team won. Seems to be some disharmony in Cork. We'll probably hear more over the winter. The dual players have now spent two weeks playing football ahead of a hurling semi-final. Seems a very strange decision when all wasn't well in the camp, and chances of winning the AI were very very low. JBM will have to carefully analyse whether or not they're up to scratch. We can't afford passengers against Tipp.

The shenanigans at the end were disgraceful. The ref may have made an error, but he wouldn't be abused like that in any other sport. I'm not sure that fining Cork (having never fined anyone else) would be fair. But an apology from the Cork County Board would be a positive step. CCB have often taken the lead on things in the past. Why not do it here?

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 03/08/2014 18:32:43    1630811

Should have been a load of black cards, particularly to Mayo I felt. And the last 15 mins proved Cork management right- the amount of fouling (both punished and unpunished by the ref) was unreal.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 03/08/2014 18:58:42    1630836

I have no doubt about

There will be many a happy Cork Hurling fan with Mayo winning today

Kind of a sad state of affairs.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/08/2014 19:03:11    1630841

Neither side will be too happy today.. Mayo were and are not ruthless enough.. Had plenty opportunities to hit cork for a couple of goals at the start of the 2nd half.. cork were on the ropes and mayo need to go for the ko sooner.. They seemed to either subsequently tire or switch off and allow cork to creep back in and build up momentum.. Cork should have caught them out.. Mayo had a massive wide count and the fb line looked very shakey.. Massive improvement required in those 2 areas.. Aidan o Shea was immense throughout.. Finally I thought thr referee was so bad it wasn't even funny.. Inconsistent.. There was a little needle in it but some of the decisions added to the growing frustrations.. The scenario at the end summed up his day

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 03/08/2014 19:10:19    1630851

Culchie, if the ref misled the Corkkmen about the amount of time left, then I think its asking an awful lot for them to stay calm. Theyre only human, and its not like they shot the guy.
To be honest I thought the ref looked quite embarrassed at the end. id say he knew he was in the wrong. Maybe the CCB should apologise to the ref, and vice versa?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 03/08/2014 19:13:28    1630852

How he didn't give a free to O Neill when he was taken out I never know, it was as clear a free you'll ever see.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/08/2014 19:18:08    1630859

Correct Wayno.Pure stupidity on Corks behalf.Even if there was 30 seconds left,by the time the goalkeeper kicked it out,and the midfielders grappled for the ball,there wouldnt have been enough time to manouvre an equalising point.O Neill would have known what Michael Meehan did to Cork last year.Low probability of scoring a goal,but with so many bodies on the line,they could have gotten in each others way,and the ball could ricochet anywhere.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/08/2014 19:21:50    1630861

I don't agree I think if the ref told O'Neil he was going to play another minute then he was right to go for the score. How many times have players scored goals at an angle from 13 metres Meehan is the only one I have seen doing it and that was when the game was over. The probability of Cork winning the resulting kick out and getting a score when Mayo were gone ultra defensive is far higher then O'Neil scoring a goal from the free . Obviously if the ref didn't say there was time left it would have been worth going for but not if he said there was sufficient time left for Cork to get another score.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 03/08/2014 19:38:56    1630887

Yes dubshurling i understand what your saying.But if the ref said there was 1 minute left(and we dont know what was said),by the time the goalkeeper tees the ball up,wastes a few valuable seconds and launches it 50/60 yards,the minute is nearly gone already.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/08/2014 19:45:58    1630896

Cork have no one to blame but themselves. Far too much ball given away freely. You can't keep doing that and expect to win. A typical team-in-transition display. Only hope they can learn from it, as Cork footballers are not normally good learners.

Great grit shown by Cork to pull themselves back into it twice, but nerves of iron and balls of steel by Mayo to hold firm.

Go on and win the title now, Mayo.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 03/08/2014 19:52:33    1630902

Having a few pints here in Dublin and will enjoy the night. I have no problem saying we were cynical but cork dragged us into that sort of game. Lots of niggles and hits of the ball. If cork played football in the first half and not a 13 man defence they could have been a few points up. Cork fans around me didn't seem too bothered which was unusual but we are through and underdogs v Kerry which will suit us. I really though Aidan o se pulled us ove the line in the end...anyone agree? Can't see us winning Sam but sure live in hope....more tomorrow when I'm home save and sound.

On a side note a family I know got bad news this morning to say their daughter was killed in a car crash this morning near knock airport...a lovely family they are and football is only a game...makes you think. Safe travelling everyone this weekend. Mind yerselfs.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 03/08/2014 20:24:03    1630933

It is unfair to say Colm O'Neill was naive. He probably knows that we were injury time but he is not wearing a watch. He also knows the probability of scoring a goal is very very low. He knows the probability of scoring a point and reducing to score to one is very very high. He also knows that referees in GAA have a reputation of "playing for a draw". He also knows that it is a minimum of two minutes. He also knows that Domhnall O Donovan got a point against Cork last year-well into the third minute. It was therefore logical for him to ask the referee. Given by the reaction of the Cork players at the end suggests that he was misled. That is a pity.

I agree with Culchie. The Cork players should not abuse the referee regardless of his performance. An apology may be in order. Referees should clarify some of his decisions as well.

Also agree with Midleton. We cannot blame the referee for losing. Some of our turnovers were abysmal. Some of the fumbling and nervousness made us look like a team that did not train together
. We still lack a coherent game plan. It was not as shambolic as the Munster final.

I wish Mayo the best. i hope ye win.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/08/2014 20:32:59    1630945

Lads whinging about what the ref did or did not say; please refer to my original post; never believe a word a ref tell you. They will tell you anything to keep you happy and get you off their back.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/08/2014 20:39:18    1630952